My Account (sign in)

Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

The Garden View – YWCA Hotel

1 Macdonnell Road, Central, Hong Kong Central / Sheung Wan Area, Hong Kong (Show on map)

Book now!

Formerly : Garden View International House Hotel

The Garden View – YWCA Hotel Hong Kong - Suite Room The Garden View – YWCA Hotel Hong Kong - Suite Room The Garden View – YWCA Hotel Hong Kong - Suite Room The Garden View – YWCA Hotel Hong Kong - Suite Room The Garden View – YWCA Hotel Hong Kong - Bathroom The Garden View – YWCA Hotel Hong Kong - Lobby The Garden View – YWCA Hotel Hong Kong - Exterior The Garden View – YWCA Hotel Hong Kong - View from Hotel The Garden View – YWCA Hotel Hong Kong - Facilities The Garden View – YWCA Hotel Hong Kong - Lobby The Garden View – YWCA Hotel Hong Kong - Fitness Room The Garden View – YWCA Hotel Hong Kong - Fitness Room The Garden View – YWCA Hotel Hong Kong - Lobby The Garden View – YWCA Hotel Hong Kong - Restaurant The Garden View – YWCA Hotel Hong Kong - Lobby The Garden View – YWCA Hotel Hong Kong - Swimming Pool
The Garden View – YWCA Hotel Hong Kong - Swimming Pool The Garden View – YWCA Hotel Hong Kong - Guest Room The Garden View – YWCA Hotel Hong Kong - Guest Room The Garden View – YWCA Hotel Hong Kong - Guest Room The Garden View – YWCA Hotel Hong Kong - Guest Room
Area: Hong Kong Central / Sheung Wan Area Number of Rooms: 141

Recent customer reviews

Filter by Traveler Type

 

Very Good

7.6

based on
1991 reviews

Value for Money
8.0
Location
7.4
Staff Performance
7.7
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
8.3
Room Comfort/Standard
7.8
Food/Dining
6.4
All reviews (1991)
Sort by:
Fang J. Families with older children United States of America, August 18, 2012
Good price, good location

位置優越, good enviroment
10
i booked the hotel for my friend's family coming from china. her main interest is shooping and taking her son to disney. she mentioned that there's a bus rout right next to the hotel which is very convenient. i tried to reach her through hotel front desk a couple of times, the staffs sounded pleasant and helpful.
Hotel Feature Tip: No free Wifi
Elizabeth K. Solo travelers United Kingdom, August 17, 2012
Good location,

well maintained rooms and good price
7
Service minimal but price good however problem not having wireless in the rooms and inadequate ways to connect
Sebastian N. Solo travelers Finland, August 16, 2012
Good location and nice place

Location and big rooms for hong kong standard
8
when i came to the hotel they upgraded my room for free! the hotel is located very well, it is about dollars from the airport express and also easy to walk to places from the hotel. the facilities and food wasnt bad either at it, they have tooth brushes and all the things you need. im strongly dissapointed in the hotel because they dont even have free wifi for guests, all other hotels i been to hong kong has free internet! i dont understand why they ask for an extra dollars per day, everyone needs to use internet!! specially on a business trip....apart from that the hotel is good.
Sarah H. Families with young children United States of America, August 16, 2012
Clean Hotel with Helpful Staff

clean rooms, helpful staff, swimming pool
8.3
we stayed here for one night with our 2 young kids. we paid for an extra bed and then slept the other one with us. the staff was friendly and helpful in finding restaurants and transportation to get around. we enjoyed the swimming pool, which is perfect for young kids as it is quite shallow on one end. it is up the hill in mid-levels, so if you want to walk, be prepared for quite a hike. there are easy busses (12a from admiralty station or 1a from central) that can get you there and back from the mtr. the rooms were clean and neat, and seemed recently remodeled. we had no complaints and would stay here again. the price seemed reasonable too.
Terrance K. Families with young children United States of America, August 14, 2012
Nice hotel, friendly service

Location, price
8.3
we've been coming to hong kong monthly for the past 12 years. this was the first time we've stayed at the ywca. the rooms are small, like most rooms in hk, but clean and comfortable. we had a view of the mountains which was nice. the front desk (zoe) was extremely helpful with directions and suggestions for dinner. the wifi was slow and not complementary (for 24 hours). i would like to see this changed as most hong kong hotels offer free wifi. we were having to do business at the us consulate which is a 5 minute walk, so the ywca was in a perfect location for what we needed. overall, a pleasant stay!
Kevin G. Solo travelers Singapore, August 13, 2012
You get what you pay for but gym is under utilized

Not that cheap
4.3
hotel is not as convenient and is tucked away in a residential area. room was adequate, but house keeping was slow. of the five days i stayed, i had to ask them to make my room three times. only two lifts, so waiting time was longer than expected. being summer, i wanted ice, but none was available, as hotel restaurant was third party/outsourced so no ice was available. no plate or knife available, so buying fruits and eating in the room was very difficult.
Hotel Feature Tip: Think twice
Mary R. Groups United States of America, August 13, 2012
Great Value

Good fitness facilities
8.7
This hotel is a great value but is a little far outside the center of the city. You have to be prepared to hike up the hill or take cabs to get anywhere, though it is close enough that they are usually quite cheap.
Sightseeing/Attractions Tip: Very short walk from the Peak Tram; you can get on/off at the Macdonnell road stop and bypass all the lines at the base.
Terrance K. Families with young children United States of America, August 12, 2012
Nice hotel with friendly service

Location, price
8.3
we've stayed in hong kong many times over the last 12 years and this was my first at the ywca. i would say that the rooms are small, but clean and comfortable. the front desk was extremely helpful with directions and suggestions for dinner. the wifi was slow and not complementary ($hk for 24 hours). overall we enjoyed the hotel as we had business at the us consulate, which is about a 5 minute walk from the hotel. we would stay there again because of the location and the price. much cheaper than other hotels on hong kong island or kowloon.
Dennis S. Couples United States of America, August 11, 2012
No complaints

clean, reliable, location, friendly
7.7
Excellent. Only shortcoming is that there was no wifi in the room. otherwise - great stay
Satian T. Solo travelers Thailand, August 11, 2012
Friendly and helpful staffs.

Good location. Room is clean. Cosy and quiet
8
I stayed only overnight. It is convenience to travel around with plenty of taxis. Front staffs are very helpful and friendly.

Book now!

Sale ends soon!

The Garden View – YWCA Hotel Hong KongThe Garden View – YWCA Hotel Hong Kong - Suite RoomThe Garden View – YWCA Hotel Hong Kong - Suite RoomThe Garden View – YWCA Hotel Hong Kong - Suite RoomThe Garden View – YWCA Hotel Hong Kong - Suite RoomThe Garden View – YWCA Hotel Hong Kong - BathroomThe Garden View – YWCA Hotel Hong Kong - LobbyThe Garden View – YWCA Hotel Hong Kong - ExteriorThe Garden View – YWCA Hotel Hong Kong - View from HotelThe Garden View – YWCA Hotel Hong Kong - FacilitiesThe Garden View – YWCA Hotel Hong Kong - LobbyThe Garden View – YWCA Hotel Hong Kong - Fitness RoomThe Garden View – YWCA Hotel Hong Kong - Fitness RoomThe Garden View – YWCA Hotel Hong Kong - LobbyThe Garden View – YWCA Hotel Hong Kong - RestaurantThe Garden View – YWCA Hotel Hong Kong - LobbyThe Garden View – YWCA Hotel Hong Kong - Swimming PoolThe Garden View – YWCA Hotel Hong Kong - Swimming PoolThe Garden View – YWCA Hotel Hong Kong - Guest RoomThe Garden View – YWCA Hotel Hong Kong - Guest RoomThe Garden View – YWCA Hotel Hong Kong - Guest RoomThe Garden View – YWCA Hotel Hong Kong - Guest Room

Customer Reviews - The Garden View – YWCA Hotel, Hong Kong

AS-AGWEB-3B01