My Account (sign in)

Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

The Garden View – YWCA Hotel

1 Macdonnell Road, Central, Hong Kong Central / Sheung Wan Area, Hong Kong (Show on map)

Book now!

Formerly : Garden View International House Hotel

The Garden View – YWCA Hotel Hong Kong - Suite Room The Garden View – YWCA Hotel Hong Kong - Suite Room The Garden View – YWCA Hotel Hong Kong - Suite Room The Garden View – YWCA Hotel Hong Kong - Suite Room The Garden View – YWCA Hotel Hong Kong - Bathroom The Garden View – YWCA Hotel Hong Kong - Lobby The Garden View – YWCA Hotel Hong Kong - Exterior The Garden View – YWCA Hotel Hong Kong - View from Hotel The Garden View – YWCA Hotel Hong Kong - Facilities The Garden View – YWCA Hotel Hong Kong - Lobby The Garden View – YWCA Hotel Hong Kong - Fitness Room The Garden View – YWCA Hotel Hong Kong - Fitness Room The Garden View – YWCA Hotel Hong Kong - Lobby The Garden View – YWCA Hotel Hong Kong - Restaurant The Garden View – YWCA Hotel Hong Kong - Lobby The Garden View – YWCA Hotel Hong Kong - Swimming Pool
The Garden View – YWCA Hotel Hong Kong - Swimming Pool The Garden View – YWCA Hotel Hong Kong - Guest Room The Garden View – YWCA Hotel Hong Kong - Guest Room The Garden View – YWCA Hotel Hong Kong - Guest Room The Garden View – YWCA Hotel Hong Kong - Guest Room
Area: Hong Kong Central / Sheung Wan Area Number of Rooms: 141

Recent customer reviews

Filter by Traveler Type

 

Very Good

7.6

based on
1991 reviews

Value for Money
8.0
Location
7.4
Staff Performance
7.7
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
8.3
Room Comfort/Standard
7.8
Food/Dining
6.4
All reviews (1991)
Sort by:
Ka Y. Couples Macau, May 26, 2012
Nice service but climb heel

Quiet, nice reception attitutes, overall comfortable
7
actually, the service and the hotel is good. except that the location is not so convenient, may be we arrive late 11:00pm at night, we find it quite difficult to find since there is not much people walk by around at that time (we ask a police and he don't know about the hotel but he know the street) and there seems many mini paths in reaching there (we lost in the middle). it is suggest to take taxi at the mtr station if it's late at night/raining/taking many luggage (i guess it take around to reach the hotel).
Jose I. Business travelers Philippines, May 11, 2012
near to business center

location is excellent
8.7
the place is good for business meeting rooms are great
Winston B. Solo travelers United States of America, May 11, 2012
Great location. Clean. Excellent service.

Out of hustle an bustle of town. Easy walk to Central. Supermarket downstairs.
8
Staff is friendly on arrival. Rooms are basic and clean. Gym and pool are and extra added feature. Frequent taxi and bus for easy transportation. If you choose to walk to tram, MTR or Pacific Place, pleasant walk down the hill through botanical gardens.
Maria C. Solo travelers Philippines, May 8, 2012
Good value for money

quiet neighborhood yet with public transpo access
7.3
The room I had at The Garden View YWCA Hotel did not have a garden view but it was clean, decent and simple. I felt very safe even if I was just travelling alone. No free wifi access in rooms or in lobby, only at the coffee shop. Noted a towel that had frayed edges which was swiftly replaced with newer ones upon request. Staff was polite but not too knowledgeable about restaurants and best transpo options. The YWCA Garden View Hotel in Mid Levels may not be at the Center of things of HK but its quiet neighborhood location and public transpo access made it well worth the visit. Just a HK$25-30 cab ride from the Airport Express Train Station and Macau Ferry Station, it also had access to Bus 12A which brought one down to Central area where one could do a lot of shopping or take the MTR to just about everywhere. It was also walking distance to the church and the Peak Tram.
Stanley T. Couples United Kingdom, May 6, 2012
Hotel in great location but csutomer service so so

Nice rooms, big for HK, reasonably priced, good location, clean.
7
booked this hotel due to location and price. was a bit skeptical towards the name ywca, but this was quickly overcame when entering the room. room was very clean, nicely laid out, bright with high ceilings. disadvantage would be that there are no security to restrict elevator access, meaning any random person can enter the hotel and onto any floor. customer service is relatively poor....poor manerisms. however, price is very reasonable for hk
Mark R. Solo travelers Australia, May 1, 2012
Simple but very nice

Clean, well maintained rooms, friendly helPful staff
9.7
i really enjoyed my stay at this hotel. from the moment i arrived the staff treated me like i was in a much more expensive place! the rooms are not large but for a couple, they are plenty big enough and comfortable. everything i needed was there and cheap taxis at the front door! bathroom/shower was very clean and maintained, location was not right in the city but i found that everything in hong kong is not very far away. it is definitely a place i would stay again when visiting hong kong, extremely great value for the price!
Melvin V. Families with older children Canada, April 30, 2012
Great rooms in a cool part of the city

Rooms are a good size for Hong Kong
8
this is quite a nice hotel in a fairly quiet area of hong kong. if you need to be close to the mtr this may not be the place for you as the metro is 15 minutes away. the hotel is next door to hk park and aviary which are both well worth a visit. my only complaints are the expensive breakfast and no free wifi. i had to pay for 24 hours of wifi; i felt like i was getting ripped off.
Blair H. Groups United States of America, April 29, 2012
Central HGK hotel with a great price

Location, staff
9.3
It was a little hard to walk to and from the hotel because of the way the roads are layered, not to mention the 45 degree angle monster hill. If you are coming and going during the day, cut through the Hong Kong Botanical and zoological gardens! Great value, clean, quiet, helpful staff.
Hotel Feature Tip: They charge for wifi but the restaurant downstairs has free wifi. The signal isn't great unless you are in the restaurant though, so you may want to buy a coffee or tea in order to sit by the router.
Yang S. Solo travelers China, April 24, 2012
Good location but little service

Location is very convenient
7.3
5-10min drive from central, so very convenient. room is spacious in hk standard. swimming pool starts to open, with quite comfortable experience. however, wifi is not provided in rooms, only in the hotel lobby charging per day! this is very expensive and inconvenient
Justin H. Business travelers United States of America, April 23, 2012
Economical and convenient location

Price and location
7.3
the hotel is located roughly 15 minutes by walk from central/admiralty stations. however it is an uphill climb and taking a taxi if you have luggage is recommended. internet is a separate cost (hk$100) for 24 hours. you can choose between using a lan cable in your room or the wifi network in the lobby only. cost for the lan and wifi is the same. you can choose to have one or both. picking up a taxi outside of the hotel is not too difficult during the day however very hard on sunday nights. the room size and amenities for the price was very reasonable. access to nightlife in lan kwai fong (lkf) is quite close in just a short taxi ride away. walking there is also an option. overall, i would stay at the hotel again especially if on a budget concerning hotel accommodations.

Book now!

Sale ends soon!

The Garden View – YWCA Hotel Hong KongThe Garden View – YWCA Hotel Hong Kong - Suite RoomThe Garden View – YWCA Hotel Hong Kong - Suite RoomThe Garden View – YWCA Hotel Hong Kong - Suite RoomThe Garden View – YWCA Hotel Hong Kong - Suite RoomThe Garden View – YWCA Hotel Hong Kong - BathroomThe Garden View – YWCA Hotel Hong Kong - LobbyThe Garden View – YWCA Hotel Hong Kong - ExteriorThe Garden View – YWCA Hotel Hong Kong - View from HotelThe Garden View – YWCA Hotel Hong Kong - FacilitiesThe Garden View – YWCA Hotel Hong Kong - LobbyThe Garden View – YWCA Hotel Hong Kong - Fitness RoomThe Garden View – YWCA Hotel Hong Kong - Fitness RoomThe Garden View – YWCA Hotel Hong Kong - LobbyThe Garden View – YWCA Hotel Hong Kong - RestaurantThe Garden View – YWCA Hotel Hong Kong - LobbyThe Garden View – YWCA Hotel Hong Kong - Swimming PoolThe Garden View – YWCA Hotel Hong Kong - Swimming PoolThe Garden View – YWCA Hotel Hong Kong - Guest RoomThe Garden View – YWCA Hotel Hong Kong - Guest RoomThe Garden View – YWCA Hotel Hong Kong - Guest RoomThe Garden View – YWCA Hotel Hong Kong - Guest Room

Customer Reviews - The Garden View – YWCA Hotel, Hong Kong

AS-AGWEB-3B02