or

Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

The Garden View – YWCA Hotel

1 Macdonnell Road, Central, Hong Kong Central / Sheung Wan Area, Hong Kong (Show on map)

Book now!

Formerly : Garden View International House Hotel

The Garden View – YWCA Hotel Hong Kong - Suite Room The Garden View – YWCA Hotel Hong Kong - Suite Room The Garden View – YWCA Hotel Hong Kong - Suite Room The Garden View – YWCA Hotel Hong Kong - Suite Room The Garden View – YWCA Hotel Hong Kong - Bathroom The Garden View – YWCA Hotel Hong Kong - Lobby The Garden View – YWCA Hotel Hong Kong - Exterior The Garden View – YWCA Hotel Hong Kong - View from Hotel The Garden View – YWCA Hotel Hong Kong - Facilities The Garden View – YWCA Hotel Hong Kong - Lobby The Garden View – YWCA Hotel Hong Kong - Fitness Room The Garden View – YWCA Hotel Hong Kong - Fitness Room The Garden View – YWCA Hotel Hong Kong - Lobby The Garden View – YWCA Hotel Hong Kong - Restaurant The Garden View – YWCA Hotel Hong Kong - Lobby The Garden View – YWCA Hotel Hong Kong - Swimming Pool
The Garden View – YWCA Hotel Hong Kong - Swimming Pool The Garden View – YWCA Hotel Hong Kong - Guest Room The Garden View – YWCA Hotel Hong Kong - Guest Room The Garden View – YWCA Hotel Hong Kong - Guest Room The Garden View – YWCA Hotel Hong Kong - Guest Room
Area: Hong Kong Central / Sheung Wan Area Number of Rooms: 141

Recent customer reviews

Filter by Traveler Type

 

Very Good

7.6

based on
2003 reviews

Value for Money
8.0
Location
7.4
Staff Performance
7.7
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
8.3
Room Comfort/Standard
7.8
Food/Dining
6.4
All reviews (2003)
Sort by:
Andre L. Families with young children Brazil, April 13, 2012
Good hotel

Very organized, clean and friendly staff
7.3
The location was good, with a short ride from the hotel tou reach the pier and a big mall.
Bogomir K. Business travelers Austria, April 13, 2012
Very good location

The botanical garden is just 1 minute around the corner
6.3
Beside the good location the rooms are reasonable. Unfortunately the bed is hard as a board. Most of the Asians rather like it, for me as an European it's a challenge to get a sleep.
Travel tip: Soho with a great choice of restaurants is only a walking distance away.
Eugenie D. Solo travelers France, April 13, 2012
Good value for the money

Great location, comfortable room
8.7
i enjoyed my stay at the garden view. the room was perfect: comfortable, spacious enough, good features... the only defect i will point out is there are no wifi connections in the rooms, but a ethernet one. the location is great. i have been able to spend all my stay without taking buses or subway, from soho to causeway bay, so easy. if you don't like walking, taxis are easy to find and there is also a small bus that is often passing by. there is a supermarket next to the hotel that is very convenient when you don't want to go to the restaurant all the time. gorgeous park across the road. unfortunately, the swimming pool was closed when i stayed there. i will definitely come back to this hotel for my next stay in hk if the rates remain the same.
Kenneth Y. Couples United States of America, April 12, 2012
Great location but small rooms

Clean, mid-level desirable location, feel safe, good view, across from Botanical Garden. Quiet
9
will stay here again. reasonably priced.great location for shopping, just above central district, east pacific shopping ctr. easy to find taxi, mini-bus. across from zoo and botanical garden. walking distance to central as well. safe and nice view. hk is a great shopping place but the prices may not be 'cheap'. lots of shops competing against each other. nice expensive shops as well as less expensive ones.
Sightseeing/Attractions Tip: great location for shopping, just above central district, east pacific shopping ctr. easy to find taxi, mini-bus. across from zoo and botanical garden. walking distance to central as well. safe and nice view. hk is a great shopping place but the prices may not be 'cheap'. lots of shops competing against each other. nice expensive shops as well as less expensive ones.
Jeffrey C. Couples United States of America, April 12, 2012
Nice staff but small rooms

Located in a nice quiet area on Hong Kong Island
7.7
I really loved the location of this hotel. There was a nice outdoor basketball court adjacent to the hotel, where I was able to excersice and play with the locals. I enjoyed the chinese restaraunt next to the lobby, the food was fabulous. I will definately stay here again.
Yann P. Couples Canada, April 9, 2012
Cheap place on the island

Cheap
4.3
The hotel is a little run down and the service is not the best, there was a lot on complication with the check-in process which may have been from a new employee. The rest of the stay was ok in terms of service. The rooms are quite large for Hong Kong island standards with a nice and large bathroom. The view from the hotel can be very nice if you stay on the park side of the hotel. The bed was VERY hard and made it difficult to sleep. It's also worth pointing out that there is no internet service in the hotel, none in the lobby and none in the rooms. The hotel is a short 20 min walk to central HK and a 5 minute walk to the Peak tram. Beware if you are not in good shape as there are a lot of steep hills and step along the way. The hotel is in a location that can be challenging to those traveling with elderly and children.
Chung M. Couples United Kingdom, April 9, 2012
Clean, comfortable, overpriced though!

Location, comfortable
7.3
15 minute walk to central mrt 5 minutes to peak tram next door to botanical gardens supermarket right nextdoor (called fusion) good location, but as it is quite far up a hill, we took a taxi home most nights (they're cheap).
Dipankar M. Groups India, April 9, 2012
Lovely hotel with all amenities

Located in a quiet area but easily accessible to all main areas
10
hotel is located in a very posh and quiet location and very cheap when compared to the facilities provided. very close to victoria's peak.
Helen M. Families with older children Philippines, April 8, 2012
Clean hotel but small rooms

The hotel offers a quiet and comfortable stay.
7.3
the hotel is situated in the midlevels. taxis are just stationed outside the hotel so it is easy to move around. there are a few buses that service the area. to go to causeway bay, though, you need to walk a few meters down the road to get bus 28. (in coming back, one needs to walk back to the hotel. everytime i walk up and down to kennedy road, it seems i am in san francisco. right beside the hotel, there are buses 12a which could bring one to the central.) from our room, we could see hongkong zoological and botanical garden.
Sightseeing/Attractions Tip: If you just walk down, you will see the Peak Tram station. There is also a church around the area. We attented the Easter Sunday mass at 10:00 a.m. and saw a lot of fellow Filipinas who are commemorating Easter Sunday Mass.
Mikhail L. Couples Russia, April 8, 2012
Absolutely general hotel

Free landline phone
5.7
The hotel is far away from the central. It takes about 10 minutes to get there, but it is on the hill, so it feels like half an hour to get there. Wi fi is not free as it is written, it costs 100 HK per day. It is actually possible to use wi Di for free only if you rat in the restaurant in the hotel. So... Nothing special.
Travel tip: If you just need one night stay it is ok.

Book now!

Sale ends soon!

The Garden View – YWCA Hotel Hong KongThe Garden View – YWCA Hotel Hong Kong - Suite RoomThe Garden View – YWCA Hotel Hong Kong - Suite RoomThe Garden View – YWCA Hotel Hong Kong - Suite RoomThe Garden View – YWCA Hotel Hong Kong - Suite RoomThe Garden View – YWCA Hotel Hong Kong - BathroomThe Garden View – YWCA Hotel Hong Kong - LobbyThe Garden View – YWCA Hotel Hong Kong - ExteriorThe Garden View – YWCA Hotel Hong Kong - View from HotelThe Garden View – YWCA Hotel Hong Kong - FacilitiesThe Garden View – YWCA Hotel Hong Kong - LobbyThe Garden View – YWCA Hotel Hong Kong - Fitness RoomThe Garden View – YWCA Hotel Hong Kong - Fitness RoomThe Garden View – YWCA Hotel Hong Kong - LobbyThe Garden View – YWCA Hotel Hong Kong - RestaurantThe Garden View – YWCA Hotel Hong Kong - LobbyThe Garden View – YWCA Hotel Hong Kong - Swimming PoolThe Garden View – YWCA Hotel Hong Kong - Swimming PoolThe Garden View – YWCA Hotel Hong Kong - Guest RoomThe Garden View – YWCA Hotel Hong Kong - Guest RoomThe Garden View – YWCA Hotel Hong Kong - Guest RoomThe Garden View – YWCA Hotel Hong Kong - Guest Room

Customer Reviews - The Garden View – YWCA Hotel, Hong Kong

AS-AGWEB-3C02