or

Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

The Garden View – YWCA Hotel

1 Macdonnell Road, Central, Hong Kong Central / Sheung Wan Area, Hong Kong (Show on map)

Book now!

Formerly : Garden View International House Hotel

The Garden View – YWCA Hotel Hong Kong - Suite Room The Garden View – YWCA Hotel Hong Kong - Suite Room The Garden View – YWCA Hotel Hong Kong - Suite Room The Garden View – YWCA Hotel Hong Kong - Suite Room The Garden View – YWCA Hotel Hong Kong - Bathroom The Garden View – YWCA Hotel Hong Kong - Lobby The Garden View – YWCA Hotel Hong Kong - Exterior The Garden View – YWCA Hotel Hong Kong - View from Hotel The Garden View – YWCA Hotel Hong Kong - Facilities The Garden View – YWCA Hotel Hong Kong - Lobby The Garden View – YWCA Hotel Hong Kong - Fitness Room The Garden View – YWCA Hotel Hong Kong - Fitness Room The Garden View – YWCA Hotel Hong Kong - Lobby The Garden View – YWCA Hotel Hong Kong - Restaurant The Garden View – YWCA Hotel Hong Kong - Lobby The Garden View – YWCA Hotel Hong Kong - Swimming Pool
The Garden View – YWCA Hotel Hong Kong - Swimming Pool The Garden View – YWCA Hotel Hong Kong - Guest Room The Garden View – YWCA Hotel Hong Kong - Guest Room The Garden View – YWCA Hotel Hong Kong - Guest Room The Garden View – YWCA Hotel Hong Kong - Guest Room
Area: Hong Kong Central / Sheung Wan Area Number of Rooms: 141

Recent customer reviews

Filter by Traveler Type

 

Very Good

7.6

based on
2000 reviews

Value for Money
8.0
Location
7.4
Staff Performance
7.7
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
8.3
Room Comfort/Standard
7.8
Food/Dining
6.4
All reviews (2000)
Sort by:
Elizabeth G. Couples United States of America, January 22, 2012
Beautiful area on the hill near the Zoo

clean, not too small by hk standards, friendly staff
8.3
we've been to hk many times but this is the first time we stayed in this area and it was nice to see something a little different. because the hotel is on a high hill, our on foot excursions were good exercise. the zoo across the road is a nice morning walk or a dawdle if you've got kids. there's a supermarket downstairs for self-catering, and a taxi ride to the island hotspots is cheap and quick. the internet connection was fast and reliable, for an extra hk per day.
Charlie L. Solo travelers Hong Kong, January 21, 2012
Cozy hotel at a convenient location

Central location, yet quiet
8.7
The hotel was cozy and conveniently located. Weather-proof parking was an extra bonus. Environment was clean and tidy. Service was warm and professional. Basics were all available inside the room. Mini-bar very competitive price. It would be ideal if the TV was larger and the sound proof between rooms improved.
Suk J. Solo travelers South Korea, January 20, 2012
Ok not bad money for value execpt high season

restaurant
6.7
2 nights stay has a good restaurant at the bottom no room service though, close by residentioal heart of hong kong
Nightlife Tip: lkf
Cheah F. Solo travelers Malaysia, January 13, 2012
Great location and clean room

Central and hillside view
7.7
Easy access by cab from city. Good size room for single traveller and clean room
John D. Couples Australia, January 13, 2012
Average hotel, not very good service.

Clean and spacy room.
6
We stayed there 5 nights. There was no wi-fi in the room. One day the lift was out of order, and there was no water to shower. we were not informed about it. We had to walk down 13 floors. No body was there to guide us and no boby bothered to apologise.
Travel tip: Nothing is special about this hotel.
Fung L. Couples Australia, January 9, 2012
Service is very good

closed to some top end restaurants and park
9.3
Over all is good but only the last day it don't have water service and no lift working as well. It make us not convenience. It would let the guest know the pool is not open during that time before we arrival.
Restaurant Tip: vegetarian restaurant on the next building at 3/F is very good!!
Ling K. Families with older children United States of America, January 1, 2012
Good location but expensive for what it is

Location
7.7
The location is great in fall and winter when it is not hot and humid. Convenient supermarket nearby. Near the peak tram bus stop, and nice view of Botanical Gardens. But, the rooms (even deluxe)are small and given the room rates, internet should be free. But it is not - internet in the room is not wireless but using ETHERNET. On top of that, it is HK100 per day or HK300 for two weeks. In winter, there is no swimming pool as the pool is not filled. On top of that, the rate charged by Agoda is 42% HIGHER than the walk-in rate which I found surprising. WHY THE HUGE DIFFERENCE?
Nisa S. Families with older children Thailand, December 26, 2011
Godd location, freindly and helpfull reception

location on the hill. not far from mrt
7.3
this hotel is located on the hill. even it is not on the top hill but you can feel the fresh air up there! size of the room is relatively reasonable (in comparison to the hotel in town). but it's best not more than 4 people (2 adult, 2 kids).
Sightseeing/Attractions Tip: from the hotel, walking down the hill (about 10 minutes) to the tram station to the peak (the highlight of hk. you might experience long queue, but it's worth!
Tingting W. Families with young children China, December 22, 2011
Good location and clean rooms

Good location, clean and not so small rooms.
8.7
Everyday we only need to walk 10 min downslope to the mtr stationand 5 min to the peak tram station. It is very convenient. However every time we return to the hotel, we need to take a taxi upslope for about 3min as it is very tiring. The rooms are very clean and tidy and are bigger than our expectations, but with little tv channels. Overall, it was a good travelling experience.
Danielle V. Families with young children Philippines, December 19, 2011
Nice hotel and clean

Hotel is new and neat, room is complete with appliances.
8.3
the garden view is near to central station, just 10mins cab. i didn't see any near bus station, and because we have kids, we always take a cab going to the central station. very near also to hong kong ferry terminal, if you are planning to go to macau. it's only 10minutes walk to the peak tram station. there's a zoo just across the street. since it's in a residential area, there are only a few groceries around, and restaurants are very far. so, you better eat somewhere else before going to the hotel, especially if it's already late. the surrounding is not a typical hong kong that's very busy, it's very quiet at night.taxi stand is just outside the hotel.
Sightseeing/Attractions Tip: The zoo across is nice to visit, the peak tram station is just 10 minutes walk.

Book now!

Sale ends soon!

The Garden View – YWCA Hotel Hong KongThe Garden View – YWCA Hotel Hong Kong - Suite RoomThe Garden View – YWCA Hotel Hong Kong - Suite RoomThe Garden View – YWCA Hotel Hong Kong - Suite RoomThe Garden View – YWCA Hotel Hong Kong - Suite RoomThe Garden View – YWCA Hotel Hong Kong - BathroomThe Garden View – YWCA Hotel Hong Kong - LobbyThe Garden View – YWCA Hotel Hong Kong - ExteriorThe Garden View – YWCA Hotel Hong Kong - View from HotelThe Garden View – YWCA Hotel Hong Kong - FacilitiesThe Garden View – YWCA Hotel Hong Kong - LobbyThe Garden View – YWCA Hotel Hong Kong - Fitness RoomThe Garden View – YWCA Hotel Hong Kong - Fitness RoomThe Garden View – YWCA Hotel Hong Kong - LobbyThe Garden View – YWCA Hotel Hong Kong - RestaurantThe Garden View – YWCA Hotel Hong Kong - LobbyThe Garden View – YWCA Hotel Hong Kong - Swimming PoolThe Garden View – YWCA Hotel Hong Kong - Swimming PoolThe Garden View – YWCA Hotel Hong Kong - Guest RoomThe Garden View – YWCA Hotel Hong Kong - Guest RoomThe Garden View – YWCA Hotel Hong Kong - Guest RoomThe Garden View – YWCA Hotel Hong Kong - Guest Room

Customer Reviews - The Garden View – YWCA Hotel, Hong Kong

AS-AGWEB-3A08