or

Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

The Garden View – YWCA Hotel

1 Macdonnell Road, Central, Hong Kong Central / Sheung Wan Area, Hong Kong (Show on map)

Book now!

Formerly : Garden View International House Hotel

The Garden View – YWCA Hotel Hong Kong - Suite Room The Garden View – YWCA Hotel Hong Kong - Suite Room The Garden View – YWCA Hotel Hong Kong - Suite Room The Garden View – YWCA Hotel Hong Kong - Suite Room The Garden View – YWCA Hotel Hong Kong - Bathroom The Garden View – YWCA Hotel Hong Kong - Lobby The Garden View – YWCA Hotel Hong Kong - Exterior The Garden View – YWCA Hotel Hong Kong - View from Hotel The Garden View – YWCA Hotel Hong Kong - Facilities The Garden View – YWCA Hotel Hong Kong - Lobby The Garden View – YWCA Hotel Hong Kong - Fitness Room The Garden View – YWCA Hotel Hong Kong - Fitness Room The Garden View – YWCA Hotel Hong Kong - Lobby The Garden View – YWCA Hotel Hong Kong - Restaurant The Garden View – YWCA Hotel Hong Kong - Lobby The Garden View – YWCA Hotel Hong Kong - Swimming Pool
The Garden View – YWCA Hotel Hong Kong - Swimming Pool The Garden View – YWCA Hotel Hong Kong - Guest Room The Garden View – YWCA Hotel Hong Kong - Guest Room The Garden View – YWCA Hotel Hong Kong - Guest Room The Garden View – YWCA Hotel Hong Kong - Guest Room
Area: Hong Kong Central / Sheung Wan Area Number of Rooms: 141

Recent customer reviews

Filter by Traveler Type

 

Very Good

7.6

based on
1991 reviews

Value for Money
8.0
Location
7.4
Staff Performance
7.7
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
8.3
Room Comfort/Standard
7.8
Food/Dining
6.4
All reviews (1991)
Sort by:
Jun Z. Business travelers China, July 28, 2011
great location, but room too simple

good features
7.3
room was already at its very used stage, and too simple for this location, believe it need to be renovate.
Diane S. Groups Thailand, July 26, 2011
definitely not a good location, the rest just fine

everything just okay. it's close to the peak tram.
4.7
well, it's said on the website that it's a 7 min. walk from the mtr but they didn't mention that it's going to be an uphill slope. i was extremely exhausted climbing up the hill with my luggages. the rest is just fine. the service is just plain okay. and for some weird reason, maybe the person who stayed the night before me in my room tried to pull off a plank by writing the word 'die' on the mirror (you know when you use the warm water and the mirror will become foggy) and the maid probably didn't clean it properly. it crept me out so bad. ps. they do not provide liquid soap. that amazed me so much.
Sightseeing/Attractions Tip: For those travellers who wants to go to The Peak, this hotel is quite convenient because it's really close to the Peak Tram. However, it's a bit of an uphill slope so you might have to climb up and down. According to the reception, they said that there is no bus going to the city from the closest bus stop too.
Ibrahim A. Families with older children United Arab Emirates, July 25, 2011
Bad Location and small room

nathing i liked in this hotel
2
very far from Airport and market and tourist site, taf staff
Shopping Tip: very far from shopping and market
Susan L. Couples United States of America, July 24, 2011
Gorgeous, great value and service

Clean, friendly, central
9.3
My partner and I stayed here for one night at the end of our vacation. Hong Kong is super expensive, and we stayed at five other hotels during our 10 days in HK. Garden View was one of my favorites, not least because they upgraded us without cost to an apartment suite. Very clean and modern (think IKEA but better) design and furniture. The bathroom was massive, with bidet, bath, and shower. There was a small breakfast counter with stools, and a large comfortable living room area with fridge and TV (oh, also a TV in the bedroom). Front desk was very friendly, and let us keep out bags in reception all day before our evening flight. If we'd known about this place earlier, I would have tried to book it for the entire time we were there. Location was central but a small hike from the elevators. Given the heat, this could be difficult for some people, but it was fine for us. It is also close to the botanical gardens and zoo, which are pleasant to visit. We didn't try the restaurant.
Neil C. Solo travelers United Kingdom, July 17, 2011
Location great, and reasonably priced for HK

Location, big windows, rainforest shower
8
Hotel prices are crazy in HK but this is definitely the best option for "better than guesthouse" but "don't need five star luxury". I didn't use the pool(very small, and not particularly attractive) but everything else was excellent in the hotel. The bath tub is pretty tiny, but the shower is excellent. This is my second stay there, and will definitely stay there again next time
Sightseeing/Attractions Tip: The 12A bus runs from Admiralty MTR to the hotel and is an easy option to use instead of taxis - if you don't want to walk up the hill!
Foong J. Groups Singapore, July 13, 2011
Great location with great rooms

clean and big rooms, convient
8.3
had stayed in the same hotel for 7 days. as two separate bookings was made and there was upgrading,downgrading and addition of beds, the hotel service was so good that there were no addition reminder were needed from us to them. is so easy to get taxis and mini bus outside the hotel to central or ifc, just minutes away and cheap. there is a chinese restaurant that served food and just next to the hotel, you can buy things from the petrol station near to the hotel.
Nayoung C. Business travelers South Korea, July 13, 2011
clean and spacious room with a great view

very nice and convenient enviornment
8.7
best choice with my budget HKD20 around from the central by taxi and there is a convenient mini bus line big supermarket nearby old bldg but clean and well managed
Matthias S. Solo travelers Germany, July 11, 2011
Friendly Hotel with a view

nice location, close to central, nice skyline view, friendly staff
8
We spend 3 nights at the YWCA hotel. The hotel is clean an the rooms are quite nice. if you are lucky you have a nice skyline view and/or a view on the zoological garden. Centrals party discrtict is within walking distance. Although they only have wifi which you have to pay for - you can use the free wifi from the zoological garden on the other side of the street.
Nightlife Tip: Take a taxi or walk over to lan quai fong for all the nightlife spots you need :)
Ronald V. Solo travelers Netherlands, July 10, 2011
Fine location

Location, location
7.7
I booked a superior room, they were sold out, so I got an upgrade to suite on 16th floor, the seize of an apartment with great view of residential neighbourhood (in which 16th floor is peanuts, rest of the towers is much higher, very impressive)! Interior is somewhat spartan. Pool is on 6th floor, OK, big enough but desperately in need of some investment in atmosphere, you don't really go sun bathing there, I haven't seen beds.....hotel should really do something about the pool.
Sightseeing/Attractions Tip: Just outside hotel: walk through the Hong Kong Botanical Gardens, walk towards Fringe Bar and you're on Hollywood Road, best area to spend your day + night shopping, clubbing restaurants, sightseeing, Asian antiques and art galleries; you can also walk down towards escalators to see lower and higher parts on the hill.
Amanda K. Groups United States of America, July 8, 2011
Decent Value for Hong Kong

Good location in Central Hong Kong. It's easy to get a taxi outside the hotel, even in the early morning hours.
8.3
The room is small! But it's decent, clean, and has everything you'll need for a short stay. If you'll need a business center, you should know that there is only one computer available for use in the hotel (and it's not easy to find).
Travel tip: The metro is excellent. No reason not to take the train from the airport to downtown HK.

Book now!

Sale ends soon!

The Garden View – YWCA Hotel Hong KongThe Garden View – YWCA Hotel Hong Kong - Suite RoomThe Garden View – YWCA Hotel Hong Kong - Suite RoomThe Garden View – YWCA Hotel Hong Kong - Suite RoomThe Garden View – YWCA Hotel Hong Kong - Suite RoomThe Garden View – YWCA Hotel Hong Kong - BathroomThe Garden View – YWCA Hotel Hong Kong - LobbyThe Garden View – YWCA Hotel Hong Kong - ExteriorThe Garden View – YWCA Hotel Hong Kong - View from HotelThe Garden View – YWCA Hotel Hong Kong - FacilitiesThe Garden View – YWCA Hotel Hong Kong - LobbyThe Garden View – YWCA Hotel Hong Kong - Fitness RoomThe Garden View – YWCA Hotel Hong Kong - Fitness RoomThe Garden View – YWCA Hotel Hong Kong - LobbyThe Garden View – YWCA Hotel Hong Kong - RestaurantThe Garden View – YWCA Hotel Hong Kong - LobbyThe Garden View – YWCA Hotel Hong Kong - Swimming PoolThe Garden View – YWCA Hotel Hong Kong - Swimming PoolThe Garden View – YWCA Hotel Hong Kong - Guest RoomThe Garden View – YWCA Hotel Hong Kong - Guest RoomThe Garden View – YWCA Hotel Hong Kong - Guest RoomThe Garden View – YWCA Hotel Hong Kong - Guest Room

Customer Reviews - The Garden View – YWCA Hotel, Hong Kong

AS-AGWEB-3C08