Sign in and get better rates!
×

or

Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

The Garden View – YWCA Hotel

1 Macdonnell Road, Hong Kong Central / Sheung Wan Area, Hong Kong (Show on map)

Book now!

Formerly : Garden View International House Hotel
The Garden View – YWCA Hotel Hong Kong - Suite Room The Garden View – YWCA Hotel Hong Kong - Suite Room The Garden View – YWCA Hotel Hong Kong - Suite Room The Garden View – YWCA Hotel Hong Kong - Suite Room The Garden View – YWCA Hotel Hong Kong - Bathroom The Garden View – YWCA Hotel Hong Kong - Lobby The Garden View – YWCA Hotel Hong Kong - Exterior The Garden View – YWCA Hotel Hong Kong - View from Hotel The Garden View – YWCA Hotel Hong Kong - Facilities The Garden View – YWCA Hotel Hong Kong - Lobby The Garden View – YWCA Hotel Hong Kong - Fitness Room The Garden View – YWCA Hotel Hong Kong - Fitness Room The Garden View – YWCA Hotel Hong Kong - Lobby The Garden View – YWCA Hotel Hong Kong - Restaurant The Garden View – YWCA Hotel Hong Kong - Lobby The Garden View – YWCA Hotel Hong Kong - Swimming Pool
The Garden View – YWCA Hotel Hong Kong - Swimming Pool The Garden View – YWCA Hotel Hong Kong - Guest Room The Garden View – YWCA Hotel Hong Kong - Guest Room The Garden View – YWCA Hotel Hong Kong - Guest Room The Garden View – YWCA Hotel Hong Kong - Guest Room
Area: Hong Kong Central / Sheung Wan Area Number of Rooms: 141

Recent customer reviews

Filter by Traveler Type

 

Very Good

7.6

based on
2020 reviews

Value for Money
8.0
Location
7.4
Staff Performance
7.7
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
8.3
Room Comfort/Standard
7.8
Food/Dining
6.4
All reviews (2020)
Sort by:
Taka N. Business travelers Japan, September 10, 2011
Nice staff & cozy room

Clean, friendly staff, especially in the night time and safe
7.3
Late check in is accepted. Smooth Internet connection. A bit far from the central of the city but only 5mim by a cab. OK size of the room as a hotel in HK.
Shopping Tip: 1min walk to a super market which opens until 11pm.
Jean Y. Business travelers France, September 8, 2011
Reasonable 3 stars hotel

Location. Value
7
I stayed for one night in the ywca hotel garden view on weekday. The hotel is rather easy to find but a bit far from Central or Wanchai (20 mn walk). So you will end us using the taxi. THe main point of the hotel is his attractive value. It is hard to find a decent hotel in HK for less than 1000 HK$ during the peak tourist season. Rooms are rather small but not too small.THey are very clean. Some are very bright due to the great windows facing the harbor and the views are stunning. the front desk staff was very efficient and friendly. would definitely recommend to stay here for a budget consciour traveller
Maria L. Groups United States of America, September 4, 2011
Great location. Good buffet breakfast.

Clean and attractive rooms and bathrooms. Nice lobby. Helpful staff.
7.3
The hotel has a nice location. It is near the Botanical and Zoological Garden. The buffet breakfast was good. The rooms and bathrooms were clean and attractive. The lobby was nice. The staff was helpful. There was a small refrigerator, bottled water and tissue paper in the room/bathroom. However, the Chinese food at the restaurant was mediocre. The beds did not have a top sheet underneath the comforter.
Sightseeing/Attractions Tip: The Botanical and Zoological Garden is nearby. It is a nice place to visit.
Juu A. Solo travelers Malaysia, September 4, 2011
Nice hotel with great service

It's situated at a quieter part of Central which was refreshing
8.7
The staff were very helpful & prompt. Rooms were neat & tidy not as small as I'd imagined. Would stay here again.
Wanlapatch P. Couples Thailand, August 31, 2011
good view hotel

view, temperature
8.3
i think if you look for hotel that has good view to see hong kong. this is you answer. you can make you lover surprise for the best view when you see outside from your windows in your room. and the good service from hotel make me very very very happy. this is the good hotel for you and you family.
Jacob D. Couples Australia, August 31, 2011
good hotel with great view

view from the upper floor, pool.
7.7
stayed for 1 night as a stop over, the hotel was good, clean and staff were helpful. I would recommend this hotel, but book the room with a view, its worth the extra money.
Sightseeing/Attractions Tip: 12A bus takes you to MTR central station
Mariana A. Solo travelers Sweden, August 31, 2011
Good value for money...dreadful front desk staff

the hotel's loation and the spacious and clean rooms
5.3
i have visited this hotel at the end of august for 5 nights. the hotel is excellent located!! clean and spacious. cons: the staff at the reception. dreadful staff which make you unwelcome, when you approach them they don’t know how to get rid of you. i asked how can i reach macao. the answer was ‘’take a taxi to the ferry’’…my answer was ‘’what about the metro, instead of taxi?’’ and the reply was ‘’it’s too complicated for you to take the metro’’. of course it was not, but the staff don’t know how to get rid of you. you can see in their looks that they hate you for bothering them. another thing; the hotel has brochures with sightseeing tour operators which are not displayed anywhere- unless you ask for it. i could have make cheap trips properly arranged if i would have known that those brochures exist. probably the hotel doesn’t get any commission and that’s the reason they don’t display the brochures. lovely situated hotel and good value for money.. but will not return since the reception staff were dreadful.!!!
Hotel Feature Tip: when coming out of the MTR central station get out via exit D1- exactly in front of the exit there is the bus station for buss 12A, 12 which leaves you in front of the hotel, so you don’t need to take a taxi on your way up.
Elaine L. Business travelers Hong Kong, August 29, 2011
Clean, Neat, Quiet in Central
9.3
i enjoy my stay in this hotel. the room is compact with basic furniture in contemporary style. gym is cute. swimming pool is too small to swim. location is close to central. you can reach central or admiralty mtr stations easily by taking a public bus. very convenient. not much commercial places around but a supermarket with international supply can make you happy! there is only 1 chair in the room. good for solo traveler. one mirror above the table with lights around is good for make-up. however, due to the fan shape of the room (the hotel is a cylinder tower!), there is some strange reflection from the mirror when you move around the room. room is a bit dark in general. fixed shower head above but it'd be nice to have hand shower. overall impression is value for money and i'll stay there again.
Virginia H. Solo travelers Canada, August 24, 2011
Good location near the Botanical Gardens

near gardens
7.3
Good accommodations near the Botanical gardens and the Tram to the Peak. Nice, clean, and comfortable room. The staff were friendly and helpful. The pool was clear and relaxing. Restaurant not very good.
Sightseeing/Attractions Tip: Take a morning walk in the gardens. Definitely a great way to start the day.
Roy R. Couples Philippines, August 10, 2011
Small but lovely little room

Clean, comfortable
8.3
the staff were very helpful. it was a bit hard to find as only two city buses that we knew of passed by the area. we had to take a cab going there on our first day. after getting our bearings though, we had no problems. it's walking distance from central, but quite a long walk. over all, very comfortable, highly recommend
Travel tip: Take a cab. It's not that expensive since it's very near. Save yourself the hassle

Book now!

Sale ends soon!

The Garden View – YWCA Hotel Hong KongThe Garden View – YWCA Hotel Hong Kong - Suite RoomThe Garden View – YWCA Hotel Hong Kong - Suite RoomThe Garden View – YWCA Hotel Hong Kong - Suite RoomThe Garden View – YWCA Hotel Hong Kong - Suite RoomThe Garden View – YWCA Hotel Hong Kong - BathroomThe Garden View – YWCA Hotel Hong Kong - LobbyThe Garden View – YWCA Hotel Hong Kong - ExteriorThe Garden View – YWCA Hotel Hong Kong - View from HotelThe Garden View – YWCA Hotel Hong Kong - FacilitiesThe Garden View – YWCA Hotel Hong Kong - LobbyThe Garden View – YWCA Hotel Hong Kong - Fitness RoomThe Garden View – YWCA Hotel Hong Kong - Fitness RoomThe Garden View – YWCA Hotel Hong Kong - LobbyThe Garden View – YWCA Hotel Hong Kong - RestaurantThe Garden View – YWCA Hotel Hong Kong - LobbyThe Garden View – YWCA Hotel Hong Kong - Swimming PoolThe Garden View – YWCA Hotel Hong Kong - Swimming PoolThe Garden View – YWCA Hotel Hong Kong - Guest RoomThe Garden View – YWCA Hotel Hong Kong - Guest RoomThe Garden View – YWCA Hotel Hong Kong - Guest RoomThe Garden View – YWCA Hotel Hong Kong - Guest Room

Customer Reviews - The Garden View – YWCA Hotel, Hong Kong

AS-AGWEB-3C08