or

Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

The Garden View – YWCA Hotel

1 Macdonnell Road, Hong Kong Central / Sheung Wan Area, Hong Kong (Show on map)

Book now!

Formerly : Garden View International House Hotel
The Garden View – YWCA Hotel Hong Kong - Suite Room The Garden View – YWCA Hotel Hong Kong - Suite Room The Garden View – YWCA Hotel Hong Kong - Suite Room The Garden View – YWCA Hotel Hong Kong - Suite Room The Garden View – YWCA Hotel Hong Kong - Bathroom The Garden View – YWCA Hotel Hong Kong - Lobby The Garden View – YWCA Hotel Hong Kong - Exterior The Garden View – YWCA Hotel Hong Kong - View from Hotel The Garden View – YWCA Hotel Hong Kong - Facilities The Garden View – YWCA Hotel Hong Kong - Lobby The Garden View – YWCA Hotel Hong Kong - Fitness Room The Garden View – YWCA Hotel Hong Kong - Fitness Room The Garden View – YWCA Hotel Hong Kong - Lobby The Garden View – YWCA Hotel Hong Kong - Restaurant The Garden View – YWCA Hotel Hong Kong - Lobby The Garden View – YWCA Hotel Hong Kong - Swimming Pool
The Garden View – YWCA Hotel Hong Kong - Swimming Pool The Garden View – YWCA Hotel Hong Kong - Guest Room The Garden View – YWCA Hotel Hong Kong - Guest Room The Garden View – YWCA Hotel Hong Kong - Guest Room The Garden View – YWCA Hotel Hong Kong - Guest Room
Area: Hong Kong Central / Sheung Wan Area Number of Rooms: 141

Recent customer reviews

Filter by Traveler Type

 

Very Good

7.6

based on
2073 reviews

Value for Money
8.0
Location
7.4
Staff Performance
7.7
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
8.3
Room Comfort/Standard
7.8
Food/Dining
6.4
All reviews (2073)
Sort by:
Elaine L. Business travelers Hong Kong, August 29, 2011
Clean, Neat, Quiet in Central
9.3
i enjoy my stay in this hotel. the room is compact with basic furniture in contemporary style. gym is cute. swimming pool is too small to swim. location is close to central. you can reach central or admiralty mtr stations easily by taking a public bus. very convenient. not much commercial places around but a supermarket with international supply can make you happy! there is only 1 chair in the room. good for solo traveler. one mirror above the table with lights around is good for make-up. however, due to the fan shape of the room (the hotel is a cylinder tower!), there is some strange reflection from the mirror when you move around the room. room is a bit dark in general. fixed shower head above but it'd be nice to have hand shower. overall impression is value for money and i'll stay there again.
Virginia H. Solo travelers Canada, August 24, 2011
Good location near the Botanical Gardens

near gardens
7.3
Good accommodations near the Botanical gardens and the Tram to the Peak. Nice, clean, and comfortable room. The staff were friendly and helpful. The pool was clear and relaxing. Restaurant not very good.
Sightseeing/Attractions Tip: Take a morning walk in the gardens. Definitely a great way to start the day.
Roy R. Couples Philippines, August 10, 2011
Small but lovely little room

Clean, comfortable
8.3
the staff were very helpful. it was a bit hard to find as only two city buses that we knew of passed by the area. we had to take a cab going there on our first day. after getting our bearings though, we had no problems. it's walking distance from central, but quite a long walk. over all, very comfortable, highly recommend
Travel tip: Take a cab. It's not that expensive since it's very near. Save yourself the hassle
David G. Couples Australia, August 9, 2011
Lovely hotel beautifully located

Very friendly accomodating staff
8.3
we had a wonderful stay,the rooms are clean & the service is terrific,the staff couldn't have been more helpful.it was also great to be located just adjacent to the botanical/zoological gardens & so close to victoria peak
Brenton S. Solo travelers Australia, July 30, 2011
Great location and fantastic room

Safe location that is right next to the gardens.
9.3
fantastic view of the city and no noise from the street below or other rooms. this was my first time using agoda and i will use them again. i will definitely stay at the ywca garden view again.
Jun Z. Business travelers China, July 28, 2011
great location, but room too simple

good features
7.3
room was already at its very used stage, and too simple for this location, believe it need to be renovate.
Diane S. Groups Thailand, July 26, 2011
definitely not a good location, the rest just fine

everything just okay. it's close to the peak tram.
4.7
well, it's said on the website that it's a 7 min. walk from the mtr but they didn't mention that it's going to be an uphill slope. i was extremely exhausted climbing up the hill with my luggages. the rest is just fine. the service is just plain okay. and for some weird reason, maybe the person who stayed the night before me in my room tried to pull off a plank by writing the word 'die' on the mirror (you know when you use the warm water and the mirror will become foggy) and the maid probably didn't clean it properly. it crept me out so bad. ps. they do not provide liquid soap. that amazed me so much.
Sightseeing/Attractions Tip: For those travellers who wants to go to The Peak, this hotel is quite convenient because it's really close to the Peak Tram. However, it's a bit of an uphill slope so you might have to climb up and down. According to the reception, they said that there is no bus going to the city from the closest bus stop too.
Ibrahim A. Families with older children United Arab Emirates, July 25, 2011
Bad Location and small room

nathing i liked in this hotel
2
very far from Airport and market and tourist site, taf staff
Shopping Tip: very far from shopping and market
Susan L. Couples United States of America, July 24, 2011
Gorgeous, great value and service

Clean, friendly, central
9.3
My partner and I stayed here for one night at the end of our vacation. Hong Kong is super expensive, and we stayed at five other hotels during our 10 days in HK. Garden View was one of my favorites, not least because they upgraded us without cost to an apartment suite. Very clean and modern (think IKEA but better) design and furniture. The bathroom was massive, with bidet, bath, and shower. There was a small breakfast counter with stools, and a large comfortable living room area with fridge and TV (oh, also a TV in the bedroom). Front desk was very friendly, and let us keep out bags in reception all day before our evening flight. If we'd known about this place earlier, I would have tried to book it for the entire time we were there. Location was central but a small hike from the elevators. Given the heat, this could be difficult for some people, but it was fine for us. It is also close to the botanical gardens and zoo, which are pleasant to visit. We didn't try the restaurant.
Neil C. Solo travelers United Kingdom, July 17, 2011
Location great, and reasonably priced for HK

Location, big windows, rainforest shower
8
Hotel prices are crazy in HK but this is definitely the best option for "better than guesthouse" but "don't need five star luxury". I didn't use the pool(very small, and not particularly attractive) but everything else was excellent in the hotel. The bath tub is pretty tiny, but the shower is excellent. This is my second stay there, and will definitely stay there again next time
Sightseeing/Attractions Tip: The 12A bus runs from Admiralty MTR to the hotel and is an easy option to use instead of taxis - if you don't want to walk up the hill!

Book now!

Sale ends soon!

The Garden View – YWCA Hotel Hong KongThe Garden View – YWCA Hotel Hong Kong - Suite RoomThe Garden View – YWCA Hotel Hong Kong - Suite RoomThe Garden View – YWCA Hotel Hong Kong - Suite RoomThe Garden View – YWCA Hotel Hong Kong - Suite RoomThe Garden View – YWCA Hotel Hong Kong - BathroomThe Garden View – YWCA Hotel Hong Kong - LobbyThe Garden View – YWCA Hotel Hong Kong - ExteriorThe Garden View – YWCA Hotel Hong Kong - View from HotelThe Garden View – YWCA Hotel Hong Kong - FacilitiesThe Garden View – YWCA Hotel Hong Kong - LobbyThe Garden View – YWCA Hotel Hong Kong - Fitness RoomThe Garden View – YWCA Hotel Hong Kong - Fitness RoomThe Garden View – YWCA Hotel Hong Kong - LobbyThe Garden View – YWCA Hotel Hong Kong - RestaurantThe Garden View – YWCA Hotel Hong Kong - LobbyThe Garden View – YWCA Hotel Hong Kong - Swimming PoolThe Garden View – YWCA Hotel Hong Kong - Swimming PoolThe Garden View – YWCA Hotel Hong Kong - Guest RoomThe Garden View – YWCA Hotel Hong Kong - Guest RoomThe Garden View – YWCA Hotel Hong Kong - Guest RoomThe Garden View – YWCA Hotel Hong Kong - Guest Room

Customer Reviews - The Garden View – YWCA Hotel, Hong Kong

AS-AGWEB-3A07