or

Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

The Garden View – YWCA Hotel

1 Macdonnell Road, Hong Kong Central / Sheung Wan Area, Hong Kong (Show on map)

Book now!

Formerly : Garden View International House Hotel
The Garden View – YWCA Hotel Hong Kong - Suite Room The Garden View – YWCA Hotel Hong Kong - Suite Room The Garden View – YWCA Hotel Hong Kong - Suite Room The Garden View – YWCA Hotel Hong Kong - Suite Room The Garden View – YWCA Hotel Hong Kong - Bathroom The Garden View – YWCA Hotel Hong Kong - Lobby The Garden View – YWCA Hotel Hong Kong - Exterior The Garden View – YWCA Hotel Hong Kong - View from Hotel The Garden View – YWCA Hotel Hong Kong - Facilities The Garden View – YWCA Hotel Hong Kong - Lobby The Garden View – YWCA Hotel Hong Kong - Fitness Room The Garden View – YWCA Hotel Hong Kong - Fitness Room The Garden View – YWCA Hotel Hong Kong - Lobby The Garden View – YWCA Hotel Hong Kong - Restaurant The Garden View – YWCA Hotel Hong Kong - Lobby The Garden View – YWCA Hotel Hong Kong - Swimming Pool
The Garden View – YWCA Hotel Hong Kong - Swimming Pool The Garden View – YWCA Hotel Hong Kong - Guest Room The Garden View – YWCA Hotel Hong Kong - Guest Room The Garden View – YWCA Hotel Hong Kong - Guest Room The Garden View – YWCA Hotel Hong Kong - Guest Room
Area: Hong Kong Central / Sheung Wan Area Number of Rooms: 141

Recent customer reviews

Filter by Traveler Type

 

Very Good

7.6

based on
2060 reviews

Value for Money
8.0
Location
7.4
Staff Performance
7.7
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
8.3
Room Comfort/Standard
7.8
Food/Dining
6.4
All reviews (2060)
Sort by:
Myunggi K. Families with older children South Korea, May 3, 2011
The Garden View – YWCA Hotel

It is clean and friendly
8.7
It is close to botanical garden, easy to walk. It has a good price and good facilities. But breakfast buffet is very poor. recommend others don't use it.
Shopping Tip: Tongchong statation has a outlet. this outlet has many kind of famous brand shop.
Mandy Y. Solo travelers Malaysia, May 2, 2011
Simple Hotel

simple and clean
6
this hotel simple and clean but not accessible by walk, need to take a cab from Chong Wang.
Guo Y. Solo travelers China, May 2, 2011
Good experience

Hotel's location very good, near HK botanic garden so that we can walk in the early morning .
7.3
Thanks the receptionst Emily, you r friendly and helpful. Although there has some little thing happen , finally it's resolved by assistant manager.
Sightseeing/Attractions Tip: Pls make sure the date before going , becoz no refund on your booking once you have booked the hotel.
Wee Y. Couples Malaysia, May 2, 2011
great location but smaller rooms

clean and provides basic room ammenities
7.3
i have stayed in this hotel four times in the past year...location is good with 5 minutes cab ride to central.
Sightseeing/Attractions Tip: Peak is a must go..awesome views.
Dirk P. Solo travelers United States of America, May 2, 2011
Great Location

Location in Central, Restaurant, Gym, Pool
9.3
Nice stay as always. Rooms spacious and was upgraded to superior room with view of city and harbour. Location is great as the 13M bus takes one straight down the hill to central. Walking up the hill is good exercise and can stop by zoo on the way. Great value for Central although prices Charging for the internet a bit cheap as rates have gone up for the hotel. I think they could offer it free and not a problem for their finances. Safe secure place to store luggage if night flight and already checked out. Stay here and you wont be sorry.
Nightlife Tip: Walk down to Soho for a great dinner.
Ruth V. Solo travelers United States of America, April 30, 2011
Lovely hotel Good location

Close to the botanical gardens and the Hong Kong Park
9.3
Small but comfortable rooms. Great friendly service.
Sightseeing/Attractions Tip: Ten to twelve minute walk from the "escalator" street with it's cozy restaurants and shops. The journey to the "escalator" street takes you through the botanical garden which features a small zoo. In the opposite direction is the large Hong Kong Park, which for bird enthusiasts, has a large walk-through aviary. i
Roxana W. Solo travelers United States of America, April 29, 2011
Perfectly Adequate with Decent Location

decent location, gym, pool, clean rooms, comfy beds, air conditioned, awesome shower heads,
9
The hotel is a bit tough to find on your own, so a cheap cab from the Airport Express is recommended. It is right next to one of the tram stops on the way up to Victoria Peak. Not in any great neighborhood (no shops and restaurants right there), but it's right between Hong Kong Park and the Botanical Gardens. A five minute walk from the financial district/trolley/metro station. The pool is outdoors, and small, but fine. There's a small fitness room with treadmills, a bike, and some weight machines with a nice view of the city. There's a restaurant on the first floor with a breakfast buffet ($88HK). I didn't try it, since there are so many awesome breakfast places in the financial district, but I did have dinner there one night (not phenomenal). The staff was English-speaking and helpful. I got a wake up call the last night, and they called a cab for us. No problems. The room was clean, if small, but perfectly adequate. The bedding was nice, clean, and looked new. The shower head was awesome -- rain-like spout. I would stay here again, and I would recommend it to a friend! Not a luxury stay, but I did not feel like I missed out on anything.
Sean C. Solo travelers United States of America, April 27, 2011
Decent hotel located near Central

Near Central LKF, away from the crowdedness, gym
7
This is a basic hotel conveniently located at Mid-levels near Central. Closed enough to business districts while far enough from the pollution and bustling noise. Would recommend this for business travelers.
Nightlife Tip: Take a taxi to LKF. 5 minute ride.
Marguerite C. Solo travelers Australia, April 26, 2011
Very convenient location

very good value so close to central
8.7
I always stay at this hotel because it good value for money. No frills but clean and reliable. My only comment for improvement is that the room safe is too small for a laptop.
Shopping Tip: You can walk through the park to Pacific Place.
Jorge A. Families with young children Philippines, April 25, 2011
Great service

Easily accessible since there is a bus stop just outside hotel. Hotel staff very helpful and accommodating.
8
My family and I would definitely consider coming back to the hotel. The staff were very helpful with our requests like providing access to showers after we had checked out earlier in the day after coming from Ocean Park.
Travel tip: The hotel is very near Hong Kong Park. Buy take out food from the nearby Pacific Place and have a picnic at the park.

Book now!

Sale ends soon!

The Garden View – YWCA Hotel Hong KongThe Garden View – YWCA Hotel Hong Kong - Suite RoomThe Garden View – YWCA Hotel Hong Kong - Suite RoomThe Garden View – YWCA Hotel Hong Kong - Suite RoomThe Garden View – YWCA Hotel Hong Kong - Suite RoomThe Garden View – YWCA Hotel Hong Kong - BathroomThe Garden View – YWCA Hotel Hong Kong - LobbyThe Garden View – YWCA Hotel Hong Kong - ExteriorThe Garden View – YWCA Hotel Hong Kong - View from HotelThe Garden View – YWCA Hotel Hong Kong - FacilitiesThe Garden View – YWCA Hotel Hong Kong - LobbyThe Garden View – YWCA Hotel Hong Kong - Fitness RoomThe Garden View – YWCA Hotel Hong Kong - Fitness RoomThe Garden View – YWCA Hotel Hong Kong - LobbyThe Garden View – YWCA Hotel Hong Kong - RestaurantThe Garden View – YWCA Hotel Hong Kong - LobbyThe Garden View – YWCA Hotel Hong Kong - Swimming PoolThe Garden View – YWCA Hotel Hong Kong - Swimming PoolThe Garden View – YWCA Hotel Hong Kong - Guest RoomThe Garden View – YWCA Hotel Hong Kong - Guest RoomThe Garden View – YWCA Hotel Hong Kong - Guest RoomThe Garden View – YWCA Hotel Hong Kong - Guest Room

Customer Reviews - The Garden View – YWCA Hotel, Hong Kong

AS-AGWEB-3A08