My Account (sign in)

Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

The Garden View – YWCA Hotel

1 Macdonnell Road, Central, Hong Kong Central / Sheung Wan Area, Hong Kong (Show on map)

Book now!

Formerly : Garden View International House Hotel

The Garden View – YWCA Hotel Hong Kong - Fitness Room The Garden View – YWCA Hotel Hong Kong - Guest Room The Garden View – YWCA Hotel Hong Kong - Superior Room The Garden View – YWCA Hotel Hong Kong - Superior Room The Garden View – YWCA Hotel Hong Kong - Swimming Pool The Garden View – YWCA Hotel Hong Kong - Suite Room The Garden View – YWCA Hotel Hong Kong - Suite Room The Garden View – YWCA Hotel Hong Kong - Suite Room The Garden View – YWCA Hotel Hong Kong - Suite Room The Garden View – YWCA Hotel Hong Kong - Suite Room The Garden View – YWCA Hotel Hong Kong - Bathroom The Garden View – YWCA Hotel Hong Kong - Restaurant The Garden View – YWCA Hotel Hong Kong - Swimming Pool The Garden View – YWCA Hotel Hong Kong - Fitness Center The Garden View – YWCA Hotel Hong Kong - Lobby The Garden View – YWCA Hotel Hong Kong - Lobby
The Garden View – YWCA Hotel Hong Kong - Lobby The Garden View – YWCA Hotel Hong Kong - Lobby The Garden View – YWCA Hotel Hong Kong - Hotel Reception The Garden View – YWCA Hotel Hong Kong - View from Hotel
Hotel Area: Hong Kong Central / Sheung Wan Area Number of Rooms: 141

Recent customer reviews

Filter by Traveler Type

 

Very Good

7.6

based on
1920 reviews

Value for Money
8.0
Location
7.4
Staff Performance
7.7
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
8.3
Room Comfort/Standard
7.8
Food/Dining
6.4
All reviews (1920)
Sort by:
Liqun W. Couples China, January 2, 2011
Great view and location

Great location, nice garden view
7.3
located in central, hong kong island. easy to access shopping malls and dining area in admiralty and causeway bay. but need taxi or bus trasportation to subway station. the room faces the botanic garden and signature buildings in central. nice to stand by the window and enjoy the view. room is small but clean and the staff is friendly and helpful. room rate is reasonable considering the location
Masaki M. Families with older children Japan, December 31, 2010
The room was clean and good location

Good location, reasonable price
7.3
There is a supermarket next to the hotel, very conconvenient. I got many chocolates, food, soap, shampoo we don't have in Japan there. It is also very good to see the life in Hong Kong.
Achidej P. Couples Thailand, December 26, 2010
Good view hotel with Central view area

Greenery view from hotel , the park , nice and nice
9
i like this hotel, the rate is not too expensive via agoda, plus extra view of central with the big garden (zoo), great location to central area by taxi only 5 minutes. comfortable room.
Sightseeing/Attractions Tip: Opposite the hotel is the zoo of hk, just cross the road, u'll see nature just on your eyes.
Robert M. Solo travelers New Zealand, December 24, 2010
Clean hotel but no WiFi

The hotel was very new-looking and clean. The view was good. They provided me with an international plug for my phone.
6.3
i would like there to be wifi for my iphone. many people are using smart phones these days, and these devices depend on wifi when you are in a foreign country. there was wifi in the hotel restaurant but not in the rooms. the staff were helpful and provided maps. it is reasonably near the lan kwai fong nightlife area, about 15 minutes' walk or so.
Ryan T. Couples Australia, December 21, 2010
hong kong hotel

clean
7.3
the garden view is an ok hotel to stay in quite cheap for hong kong standards. the location is ok for the peak tram and the botanical gardens, and the restaurant and nightlife areas of soho and lau kong fong but we would probably have preferred to be in kowloon. the supermarket next door is a great bonus though. it is a bit of a walk up a big hill from the ferry and metros. like others said the beds were incredibly hard, but the room was quite nice furnished and clean. it is a bit noisy with some kind of air con that runs automatically. we would have liked to got breakfast included but there is a cheap canteen in the building. also we thought there should be free wifi, but there is a computer on the first floor you can use for free. overall it is a quite good hotel, but a little far from the action for us.
James S. Solo travelers United Kingdom, December 20, 2010
Affordable Centrally Located Hotel

Clean, well furnished, good value, safe area, helpful staff
8
I was really pleased with this hotel. Despite being comparatively cheap (for Hong Kong), the room was of a good standard. None of the Hong Kong attractions were very far away.
Sightseeing/Attractions Tip: If you have time you should walk up to "the Peak". Wonderful views of Hong Kong Island. It is also a good escape from the crowds.
Judy T. Solo travelers United States of America, December 19, 2010
Great location and nice room (I had an upgrade)

Nice clean updated room
8.3
I had a very pleasant stay. They upgraded my room so it was a decent-sized room (unlike the last time I stayed there). There is a hot pot for tea (very good tea) or coffee. The gym is good with treadmills, ellipticals, weight machines. You need to bring your own water and towel though.
Ronnie G. Couples Singapore, December 19, 2010
Great Hotel with with easy access to Central

The rooms are decently large and the room is clean
9.3
The hotel is location is great, at mid level, and access was easy by many transports including the great exercise of walking from Central to the hotel. In addition, if you take the tram to the peak, you can request to stop at Macdonald road and walk to the hotel. The room which we stayed in on the 12 floor, was sufficiently large, bright and was very clean. I would recommend short term travelers to stay in this hotel.
Sightseeing/Attractions Tip: You can take a walk in the morning or early evening to the Botanical Garden, very relaxing place. YOu can take the end exit of the garden and walk to see the Governor's house, quite an estate but will be nice if they allowed visitors inside. The longest travelator or escalator from Queens Road does not bring you anywhere close to the hotel but is an experience.
Ryan T. Couples Australia, December 18, 2010
Hong Kong Hotel

price
5.7
the garden view is an ok hotel to stay in quite cheap for hong kong standards. the location is ok for the peak tram and the botanical gardens, and the restaurant and nightlife areas of soho and lau kong fong but we would probably have preferred to be in kowloon. the supermarket next door is a great bonus though. it is a bit of a walk up a big hill from the ferry and metros. like others said the beds were incredibly hard, but the room was quite nice furnished and clean. it is a bit noisy with some kind of air con that runs automatically. we would have liked to got breakfast included but there is a cheap canteen in the building. also we thought there should be free wifi, but there is a computer on the first floor you can use for free. overall it is a quite good hotel, but a little far from the action for us.
Bernhard B. Business travelers Germany, December 17, 2010
Nice business hotel

good location in central, big rooms clean
8
east nice stay located in centralk business distriuct, good for shopping near to major offices easy transporation by taxi bus mrt and others, hotel is located in very good location
Shopping Tip: Central

Book now!

Sale ends soon!

The Garden View – YWCA Hotel Hong KongThe Garden View – YWCA Hotel Hong Kong - Fitness RoomThe Garden View – YWCA Hotel Hong Kong - Guest RoomThe Garden View – YWCA Hotel Hong Kong - Superior RoomThe Garden View – YWCA Hotel Hong Kong - Superior RoomThe Garden View – YWCA Hotel Hong Kong - Swimming PoolThe Garden View – YWCA Hotel Hong Kong - Suite RoomThe Garden View – YWCA Hotel Hong Kong - Suite RoomThe Garden View – YWCA Hotel Hong Kong - Suite RoomThe Garden View – YWCA Hotel Hong Kong - Suite RoomThe Garden View – YWCA Hotel Hong Kong - Suite RoomThe Garden View – YWCA Hotel Hong Kong - BathroomThe Garden View – YWCA Hotel Hong Kong - RestaurantThe Garden View – YWCA Hotel Hong Kong - Swimming PoolThe Garden View – YWCA Hotel Hong Kong - Fitness CenterThe Garden View – YWCA Hotel Hong Kong - LobbyThe Garden View – YWCA Hotel Hong Kong - LobbyThe Garden View – YWCA Hotel Hong Kong - LobbyThe Garden View – YWCA Hotel Hong Kong - LobbyThe Garden View – YWCA Hotel Hong Kong - Hotel ReceptionThe Garden View – YWCA Hotel Hong Kong - View from Hotel

Customer Reviews - The Garden View – YWCA Hotel, Hong Kong

AS-AGWEB-3B08