or

Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

The Gate Hotel

80 - 81 Parnell Street, Dublin City Center, Dublin, Ireland (Show on map)

Book now!

Area: Dublin City Center Number of Rooms: 21

Recent customer reviews

Filter by Traveler Type

 

Fantastic

8.3

based on
11 reviews

Value for Money
8.5
Location
9.1
Staff Performance
7.8
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
7.5
Room Comfort/Standard
8.9
Food/Dining
8.0
Solo travelers (11)
Sort by:
Zoran T. Solo travelers Croatia, August 25, 2014
Excelent value for money hotel

Friendly staff, large room, excellent breakfast, good location
9
This hotel is located close to city centre with close by Air Coach bus stops going/coming from airport. I got huge room with true Irish breakfast in nearby pub. Only downside were that nearby pub as it was loud in the evening and no internet in the room. Other then that, very friendly staff making this hotel great budget accommodation.
Eardley M. Solo travelers Sri Lanka, November 14, 2013
Very pleasant short stay

Friendly staff, good breakfast, easy access to public transport
8.3
Very pleasant though it was short. Worth the money
Jon F. Solo travelers Australia, November 6, 2013
"I Felt That I Was Family"! !

Wonderful Full Irish Breakfast!, Economical and Snug Single Room, unbelievably Friendly Staff!
10
For my first visit to Ireland, The Gate Hotel was a most wonderful welcome. The friendly ambience was perfect intro to Dublin. For the budget-conscious, this is a must-stay hotel. Centre of Dublin, easy walking distance to all major Dublin sightseeing and shopping, (if your lazy, the excellent Irish bus snd tram systems are only 2 minute walk away. The single room is small but very comfortable, with a double bed, tea-making facilities, shower in small en-suite bathroom made a perfect recovery den from sightseeing, shopping and Temple Bar bar-hopping. Of all the AGODA hotels that I have used in the past four years, (I even used 2 hotels on my way to Dublin, The Gate in Dublin for 7 nights and two hotels on my return trip to Australia), The Gate Hotel has to be my best experience of all. "I Felt That I Was Family"! If money is a main consideration this is the great pocket-sized friendly Dublin hotel for you!
Reshef Z. Solo travelers Israel, July 12, 2013
close to the center of town

large room,secure place,great location
8
the hotel is located very close to the main street in town,so it is a few minutes walk from major attraction,shops and the like. please be aware that the room has no AC, therefore in the summer time,i was there during July,the room can get hot during the day.as well,it is above a load local bar,that plays rock music,so if you are a light sleeper,take this into account.
Huey M. Solo travelers Singapore, September 18, 2012
Great Location but noisy

IT is barely 50 steps to O'Connell Street that has shopping centres, banks, restaurants, post office, etc
7
The location of the hotel is really good. About 1 min walk to the bus stations that takes you to the Dublin Airport and City Hop on-off tour. Stayed in the hotel twice, before and after a tour, and left my luggage at the hotel. The staffs are rather helpful. As it is a budget hotel, there is no air-con. Both rooms I stayed in faced Parnell Street hence it's noisy, especially over the weekend where there were many pedestrians talking/hanging outside the hotel till early morning (around 4 am).
Sightseeing/Attractions Tip: The tourist office along O'Connell Street (about 5 min walk from the hotel) offers several day tours to other parts of Ireland at good rates. I visited Cliff of Moher and Blarney Castle at Cork for less than 100 Euro. The historical walk from the Trinity College (about 10 - 15 walk from the hotel) is also informative and interesting.
Huey M. Solo travelers Singapore, September 10, 2012
Great Location but noisy

The hotel is located barely 20 meters from the corner of parnell Street & O'Connell Street - very near to the bus station to the airport, tourist office and shopping area.
6.3
The Hotel has a great location. Very near to city and can take the Air Coach to Dublin Airport easily. It is also near the Taxi Rank (taxi stand) and tourist office and a couple of shopping centres. However, it's a basic budget hotel and hence has no air-con. The room I stayed was facing Parnell Street (main road), hence, it is pretty noisy (traffic and pedestrians).
Hsiu-Min L. Solo travelers Taiwan, July 9, 2011
Good location
7.7
The location is very good, very close to O'Connell St, good for shopping. The room is in OK condition. The breakfast they provided was very good. My stay was comfortable in genearl.
Jason M. Solo travelers United Kingdom, June 16, 2011
value for money accomodation & excellent location

The cost, the location, the comfy bed!
9
If You want to leave more cash in your pocket to enjoy the sights of Dublin, then this hotel is for you! its a total bargain, I ordered a single room, but had a double when i arrived, the bed was super comfy! It had a TV, tea/coffee, radio alarm etc. If your a hotel snob, then this place is probably not for you as the decor isnt that great & a bit shabby in places, but for value for money it fantastic its bang slap in the middle of the city centre. If your a light sleeper make sure you take your ear plugs as there is a rock bar downstairs, I was right abouve it, but if ur on the floors above you'll be fine. All in all id stay here again for sure, it was a ttotal bargain compared to Dublin prices
Neneng R. Solo travelers Indonesia, June 7, 2011
Great location, near by main street of Dublin

Clean and with very helpful staff.
9
The price is relatively cheap, service is good and my room is clean with shower room inside.
Nightlife Tip: tehera are many bars, restaurants and shopping centre around
Cristian M. Solo travelers Chile, November 26, 2014
buena ubicación buen desayuno

calida de habitaciones, limpieza, desayuno incluido
10
La estadía fue muy buena, su ubicación es céntrica, lo único malo es el ruido de los autobuses y vehículos en la calle aunque sólo fue hasta las 23:00 que es muy aceptable. La entrada al hotel es bastante descuidada por estar al frente a un paradero de bus, pero no le hace justicia al interior del hotel.

Book now!

Sale ends soon!


AS-AGWEB-3C01