Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

The George Hotel

19-21 George Street, New Town, Edinburgh, United Kingdom EH2 2PB (Show on map)

Book now!

The George Hotel Edinburgh - Exterior The George Hotel Edinburgh - Exterior The George Hotel Edinburgh - Exterior The George Hotel Edinburgh - Lobby The George Hotel Edinburgh - Guest Room The George Hotel Edinburgh - Guest Room The George Hotel Edinburgh - Guest Room The George Hotel Edinburgh - Guest Room The George Hotel Edinburgh - Guest Room The George Hotel Edinburgh - Guest Room The George Hotel Edinburgh - Guest Room The George Hotel Edinburgh - Bathroom The George Hotel Edinburgh - Restaurant The George Hotel Edinburgh - Meeting Facilities The George Hotel Edinburgh - Meeting Facilities The George Hotel Edinburgh - Meeting Facilities
The George Hotel Edinburgh - View The George Hotel Edinburgh - Conference The George Hotel Edinburgh - Conference The George Hotel Edinburgh - Wedding The George Hotel Edinburgh - Wedding The George Hotel Edinburgh - Conference The George Hotel Edinburgh - Conference The George Hotel Edinburgh - Exterior The George Hotel Edinburgh - Guest Room The George Hotel Edinburgh - Guest Room The George Hotel Edinburgh - Interior The George Hotel Edinburgh - Guest Room
Area: New Town Number of Rooms: 249
Free Wi-Fi

Recent customer reviews

Filter by Traveler Type

 

Fantastic

8.1

based on
155 reviews

Value for Money
7.3
Location
9.3
Staff Performance
8.0
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
8.4
Room Comfort/Standard
7.8
Food/Dining
7.5
All reviews (155)
Sort by:
George B. Couples United Kingdom, May 24, 2015
Ok

Location, clean, location
6.7
Joe C. Couples United Kingdom, May 23, 2015
Beware the bathroom floors

Very helpful staff ; breakfast
7.7
Caveat emptor, of course, so when you pay not quite top-dollar via a fill-the-rooms website, you should not expect quite top-dollar. However, to be placed in a room where the grouting has come away from between the bathroom floor tiles to the extent where one can see the tile spacers is not really acceptable. That was a potential accident waiting to happen. The room itself (311) would not have been out of place in a well-appointed dungeon. If you are ever offered it, don't take it. Ask if someone could pull your toe-nails out instead. On the plus side, as soon as I went down to reception and pointed out the flawed floor, I was rehoused. It took a while to sort out, but it was done unquestioningly and ungrudgingly and with the help of a very attentive receptionist. Breakfast on the Saturday morning was excellent : £10 a head for as much as you could eat, basically. I gave up after about half a pig.
Deborah F. Couples United States of America, May 14, 2015
Good value

Location Staff value
9
Good
Aileen T. Groups United Kingdom, May 13, 2015
Great location; shame about the service.

Location, location, location
6
Mead W. Couples United Kingdom, April 15, 2015
very good lication

location, staff and clean
7.7
overall fair. room is a bit small. mattress a bit worn down n hollow in the middle. location is excellent. staff r really helpful.
Lui J. Groups Hong Kong, April 3, 2015
Great value for money

Location of the hotel, nice odour of shampoo and shower gel
8.7
Kyle Y. Business travelers United Kingdom, April 2, 2015
bad hotel

location
4.7
bad. the rooms are small. the television options substandard. the mattresses horrific. the food in the restaurant was remarkably the worst feature of all. i will not stay there again.
Ciaran M. Couples Ireland, March 3, 2015
Fantastic

Comfortable bed brilliant room service location
9
James W. Couples United Kingdom, February 1, 2015
Birthday Present from the Kids

The best three things about the George hotel were the bed, the location and Staff
9
This is the second time we stayed in the George Hotel in Edinburgh and it was every bit as good as we remembered. The rooms are to a high standard, the staff were helpful, very polite and nothing was too much trouble for them. Look forward to our next visit
Tom R. Business travelers United Kingdom, January 11, 2015
This hotel trades too much on its past reputation

1. The staff.
5.7
My son and I came to Edinburgh to find him a flat so we chose a central location. Parking is a NIGHTMARE and this was not properly explained to us. Consequently, we spent disproportionate time hunting for parking. The hotel staff are great. Friendly and attentive. Our room was a dreadful room badly needing updating. This should have been explained to us, prior to booking it. On Sunday morning we had to come down for breakfast twice. Our first visit was 9.30 am. There were massive queues waiting to be seated. We were told it would only take a few minutes to resolve. We returned at 10.00am to a BIGGER queue. We joined the queue at 10.20 and were seated at 10.45. Breakfast ends at 11.00am. The breakfast was incomplete ( no sausage, no bacon, greasy eggs etc). Again we had to wait. The quality of the food was poor. The sausage in particular was tasteless. I asked for freshly cooked eggs as the ones I had were cold. This is supposed to be a 4 star hotel. NOT impressed. I have conveyed these same thoughts to the hotel management. They have responded saying they know of these problems and are to resolve them in the future. In my opinion they should not be booking up the hotel if they cannot cope with the volume. The hotel has offered me a free upgrade and free breakfast. I will not be staying there again.

Book now!

Sale ends soon!

The George Hotel Edinburgh - ExteriorThe George Hotel Edinburgh - ExteriorThe George Hotel Edinburgh - ExteriorThe George Hotel Edinburgh - ExteriorThe George Hotel Edinburgh - LobbyThe George Hotel Edinburgh - Guest RoomThe George Hotel Edinburgh - Guest RoomThe George Hotel Edinburgh - Guest RoomThe George Hotel Edinburgh - Guest RoomThe George Hotel Edinburgh - Guest RoomThe George Hotel Edinburgh - Guest RoomThe George Hotel Edinburgh - Guest RoomThe George Hotel Edinburgh - BathroomThe George Hotel Edinburgh - RestaurantThe George Hotel Edinburgh - Meeting FacilitiesThe George Hotel Edinburgh - Meeting FacilitiesThe George Hotel Edinburgh - Meeting FacilitiesThe George Hotel Edinburgh - ViewThe George Hotel Edinburgh - ConferenceThe George Hotel Edinburgh - ConferenceThe George Hotel Edinburgh - WeddingThe George Hotel Edinburgh - WeddingThe George Hotel Edinburgh - ConferenceThe George Hotel Edinburgh - ConferenceThe George Hotel Edinburgh - ExteriorThe George Hotel Edinburgh - Guest RoomThe George Hotel Edinburgh - Guest RoomThe George Hotel Edinburgh - InteriorThe George Hotel Edinburgh - Guest RoomThe George Hotel Edinburgh - InteriorThe George Hotel Edinburgh - Pub/LoungeThe George Hotel Edinburgh - Food and BeveragesThe George Hotel Edinburgh - Pub/Lounge


AS-AGWEB-3A07