Sign in and see our lowest prices
×

or

Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

The George Hotel

19-21 George Street, New Town, Edinburgh, United Kingdom EH2 2PB (Show on map)

Book now!

The George Hotel Edinburgh - Exterior The George Hotel Edinburgh - Exterior The George Hotel Edinburgh - Exterior The George Hotel Edinburgh - Lobby The George Hotel Edinburgh - Guest Room The George Hotel Edinburgh - Guest Room The George Hotel Edinburgh - Guest Room The George Hotel Edinburgh - Guest Room The George Hotel Edinburgh - Guest Room The George Hotel Edinburgh - Guest Room The George Hotel Edinburgh - Guest Room The George Hotel Edinburgh - Bathroom The George Hotel Edinburgh - Bar The George Hotel Edinburgh - Restaurant The George Hotel Edinburgh - Bar The George Hotel Edinburgh - Restaurant
The George Hotel Edinburgh - Restaurant The George Hotel Edinburgh - Restaurant The George Hotel Edinburgh - Restaurant The George Hotel Edinburgh - Meeting Facilities The George Hotel Edinburgh - Meeting Facilities The George Hotel Edinburgh - Meeting Facilities The George Hotel Edinburgh - View The George Hotel Edinburgh - Conference The George Hotel Edinburgh - Conference The George Hotel Edinburgh - Wedding The George Hotel Edinburgh - Wedding The George Hotel Edinburgh - Conference
Area: New Town Number of Rooms: 249
Free Wi-Fi

Recent customer reviews

Filter by Traveler Type

 

Fantastic

8.1

based on
131 reviews

Value for Money
7.4
Location
9.3
Staff Performance
8.0
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
8.4
Room Comfort/Standard
7.9
Food/Dining
7.7
All reviews (131)
Sort by:
Eileen B. Groups United Kingdom, September 7, 2014
By George

Location, staff and food
8.3
Its a great hotel but the room was noisy and overly hot.
Lisa B. Couples Australia, September 3, 2014
Edinburgh easy

This hotel was in a great position, the staff were helpful and the rooms were compact but.lovely
8
The stay was mostly effortless. We had some trouble making the housekeeping staff understand we were out of tea and sugar but they were still lovely. The main strength of this hotel is it's location.
Lai Y. Families with older children China, August 27, 2014
Excellent

Staff are very helpful,location is excellent
10
Jennifer D. Couples Australia, August 18, 2014
Grand hotel

Staff; location; room
10
Only had one night at The George and loved it. As you walk off the street the Foyer is magnificent, but it's the staff who set this hotel above others. We got a super deal and didn't have breakfast, but I'm sure the meals would have been of a high standard. The corridors had the squeakiest floorboards we've ever encountered, but the carpets and furnishings are so plush that you don't notice them once in the rooms (we were on the 3rd floor). The room has enormously high ceilings, lovely comfy bed, beaut bathroom with all the trimmings, tea/coffee & jug .... would definitely recommend The George.
Val W. Couples United Kingdom, August 10, 2014
Good location for the Edinburgh tattoo

Centrally situated,
7
There were two things we were disappointed about- there was no dedicated disabled parking. We ended up parking in a bay over the road only to receive a parking ticket the next day, I had looked on comparison sites and thought I had got a good deal with agoda only to find I could have had a suite cheaper than the double room we were given right at the top of the main stairway, if I had booked direct. That said we had a great time in Edinburgh .
Julie G. Couples Australia, August 2, 2014
Great hotel

Location was excellent, central to everything.
8.3
Really good stay, bed was a little too soft for me but I am used to Asian style beds. I think breakfast should be included in the rate. But it was in a great location, central to everything.
Jeffrey C. Couples United Kingdom, August 2, 2014
air con big con

location, ambience,staff
6
all the hotel extractor fans and air conditioning fans were right outside our room, totally unsightly and night time could not sleep for the noise, complained at the time and got moved for the second night. This is not a budget hotel but our first room was not fit for purpose (ie sleeping), I did send an e,mail outlining my disapointment but didn't even get a reply
Nattalak R. Couples Thailand, July 28, 2014
Great service, worst WiFi access, no free water

Staff dressed up in traditional Scottish style, nice hotel's interior
6.3
Positive Really nice hotel, great service and dress up in traditional Scottish costume Warning !!!! WiFi: free only 45mins, then you have to wait for 3 hrs to access again. เล่นฟรีได้แค่45นาที แล้วต้องรออีก3ชั่วโมงถึงล็อกอินเล่นใหม่ได้ No free water bottle No fridge No minibar (ไม่มีตู้เย็น ไม่มีขนมและน้ำต่างๆให้ในห้อง) No bath (ไม่มีอ่าง) No air-con, only 1 mini fan ไม่มีแอร์มีแต่พัดลมตัวจิ๋วให้ Negative I booked for a double room, but I got 2 twin beds put together instead.
Anne R. Couples United Kingdom, July 25, 2014
Disappointing stay

Location, staff and food
6.7
Having stayed here 26 years ago and promising ourselves we'd return we felt very disappointed to be given a room with no view which was absolutely scorching hot even with the fan on and windows open. We couldn't sleep and asked to be moved. We were moved to a room which, though slightly cooler and with (noisy) air conditioning, overlooked dustbins and was close to a generator or vent that was very noisy. There was a lot of noisy activity from very early in the morning. We had a second sleepless night despite being exhausted from a trip to the Commonwealth Games Triathlon that day.
Shing Y. Families with older children Hong Kong, July 10, 2014
good location

clean and good location
8
good

Book now!

Sale ends soon!

The George Hotel Edinburgh - ExteriorThe George Hotel Edinburgh - ExteriorThe George Hotel Edinburgh - ExteriorThe George Hotel Edinburgh - ExteriorThe George Hotel Edinburgh - LobbyThe George Hotel Edinburgh - Guest RoomThe George Hotel Edinburgh - Guest RoomThe George Hotel Edinburgh - Guest RoomThe George Hotel Edinburgh - Guest RoomThe George Hotel Edinburgh - Guest RoomThe George Hotel Edinburgh - Guest RoomThe George Hotel Edinburgh - Guest RoomThe George Hotel Edinburgh - BathroomThe George Hotel Edinburgh - BarThe George Hotel Edinburgh - RestaurantThe George Hotel Edinburgh - BarThe George Hotel Edinburgh - RestaurantThe George Hotel Edinburgh - RestaurantThe George Hotel Edinburgh - RestaurantThe George Hotel Edinburgh - RestaurantThe George Hotel Edinburgh - Meeting FacilitiesThe George Hotel Edinburgh - Meeting FacilitiesThe George Hotel Edinburgh - Meeting FacilitiesThe George Hotel Edinburgh - ViewThe George Hotel Edinburgh - ConferenceThe George Hotel Edinburgh - ConferenceThe George Hotel Edinburgh - WeddingThe George Hotel Edinburgh - WeddingThe George Hotel Edinburgh - ConferenceThe George Hotel Edinburgh - ConferenceThe George Hotel Edinburgh - Exterior


AS-AGWEB-3C01