or

Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

The George Hotel

19-21 George Street, New Town, Edinburgh, United Kingdom EH2 2PB (Show on map)

Book now!

The George Hotel Edinburgh - Exterior The George Hotel Edinburgh - Exterior The George Hotel Edinburgh - Exterior The George Hotel Edinburgh - Lobby The George Hotel Edinburgh - Guest Room The George Hotel Edinburgh - Guest Room The George Hotel Edinburgh - Guest Room The George Hotel Edinburgh - Guest Room The George Hotel Edinburgh - Guest Room The George Hotel Edinburgh - Guest Room The George Hotel Edinburgh - Guest Room The George Hotel Edinburgh - Bathroom The George Hotel Edinburgh - Bar The George Hotel Edinburgh - Restaurant The George Hotel Edinburgh - Bar The George Hotel Edinburgh - Restaurant
The George Hotel Edinburgh - Restaurant The George Hotel Edinburgh - Restaurant The George Hotel Edinburgh - Restaurant The George Hotel Edinburgh - Meeting Facilities The George Hotel Edinburgh - Meeting Facilities The George Hotel Edinburgh - Meeting Facilities The George Hotel Edinburgh - View The George Hotel Edinburgh - Conference The George Hotel Edinburgh - Conference The George Hotel Edinburgh - Wedding The George Hotel Edinburgh - Wedding The George Hotel Edinburgh - Conference
Area: New Town Number of Rooms: 249
Free Wi-Fi

Recent customer reviews

Filter by Traveler Type

 

Fantastic

8.1

based on
147 reviews

Value for Money
7.4
Location
9.3
Staff Performance
8.0
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
8.4
Room Comfort/Standard
7.9
Food/Dining
7.6
All reviews (147)
Sort by:
Ciaran M. Couples Ireland, March 3, 2015
Fantastic

Comfortable bed brilliant room service location
9
James W. Couples United Kingdom, February 1, 2015
Birthday Present from the Kids

The best three things about the George hotel were the bed, the location and Staff
9
This is the second time we stayed in the George Hotel in Edinburgh and it was every bit as good as we remembered. The rooms are to a high standard, the staff were helpful, very polite and nothing was too much trouble for them. Look forward to our next visit
Tom R. Business travelers United Kingdom, January 11, 2015
This hotel trades too much on its past reputation

1. The staff.
5.7
My son and I came to Edinburgh to find him a flat so we chose a central location. Parking is a NIGHTMARE and this was not properly explained to us. Consequently, we spent disproportionate time hunting for parking. The hotel staff are great. Friendly and attentive. Our room was a dreadful room badly needing updating. This should have been explained to us, prior to booking it. On Sunday morning we had to come down for breakfast twice. Our first visit was 9.30 am. There were massive queues waiting to be seated. We were told it would only take a few minutes to resolve. We returned at 10.00am to a BIGGER queue. We joined the queue at 10.20 and were seated at 10.45. Breakfast ends at 11.00am. The breakfast was incomplete ( no sausage, no bacon, greasy eggs etc). Again we had to wait. The quality of the food was poor. The sausage in particular was tasteless. I asked for freshly cooked eggs as the ones I had were cold. This is supposed to be a 4 star hotel. NOT impressed. I have conveyed these same thoughts to the hotel management. They have responded saying they know of these problems and are to resolve them in the future. In my opinion they should not be booking up the hotel if they cannot cope with the volume. The hotel has offered me a free upgrade and free breakfast. I will not be staying there again.
Richard C. Couples United Kingdom, January 11, 2015
Let down by staff.

Location. Location. Location.
6.3
City centre location is very good. Hotel interior is very clean and pleasant. Room was a little noisy (generator noise) but ok. It's only let down by the staff. We were disturbed in our room by reception asking for payment for room service we had ordered earlier in the evening, rather than allowing us to settle up at check-out. At no point did they ask how the food was. If they had I would have had the chance to let them know it was cold and under cooked. When I mentioned at check-out that I thought this had been rude I was told "there's nothing I can really do about it". When we stopped into the hotel bar for a night cap I chose one their single malts, which came in a tumbler. I asked the bar tender if I could have it in a correct glass, to which he replied "no". Just "no". I asked if he had even a brandy bowl, as it would be more suitable, to which he rolled his eyes and turned round to get one without saying a word. It seems that this hotel relies on it's location to bring in the custom, without much thought for customer care.
Finbar K. Couples United Kingdom, December 15, 2014
George Edinburgh

location, service, friendlyness
8.7
The only down side was the room previously stayed in was a lot bigger with a wet room so was a little down heartened with room 99. Having said that, the stay was good.
Amornphimon C. Couples Thailand, December 14, 2014
Great

Great
9.3
Anthony S. Couples United Kingdom, November 26, 2014
Average

Comfort, Clean and good food
8.3
Check in a bit of a farce. Arrived early at @ 2-15pm accepted room was not ready as check in was to be 3pm. At 4-30pm still waiting for room to be prepared?? Apart from distant parking everything else was ok.
Rajesh P. Couples India, November 13, 2014
Hotel George

Location, Concierge Customer assistance.
6
I was offered a lousy room with a worm (centipede?) crawling on the floor. Later on the room was changed with customer assistance guy who was cooperative. No fridge in room was another drawback. Repetitive & boring breakfast everyday.
Rosemary A. Couples United Kingdom, November 1, 2014
Visit

Situation Exterior Price
7
Room tired. Water pipes on show in bedroom, bedcover had seen better days. Towels and robes tired and did not smell particularly fresh. No heating - was told they would send up a heater, it never arrived! Very disappointed.
Annabel O. Couples United Kingdom, October 27, 2014
Our stay at the George Hotel

1. Friendly and helpful staff. 2. Its central position in town. 3. Cleanliness of the rooms
7.7
We arrived on the Friday morning and were promptly and efficiently looked after by the reception staff who were able to give us our room straight away. The room was quite small but beautifully quiet with double glazing which kept out the street noise. However, was difficult to get air into the room as we generally sleep with the window slightly open and this wasn't possible. The bathroom was extremely clean but it would have been nice to have a towel rail to warm the towels. For breakfast there was an excellent buffet with a wide range of fare including some delicious haggis. Unfortunately it was very busy in the dining room so we had to queue for a table although this was dealt with efficiently. I noticed afterwards that there was a warning in the room about congestion in the dining room for breakfast giving a traffic light system indicating off-peak serving times. We had to check out incredibly early on Monday morning, around 4.30am but there were at least three people on duty in the lobby and our pre-ordered taxi was waiting for us on the door step. A very pleasant stay.

Book now!

Sale ends soon!

The George Hotel Edinburgh - ExteriorThe George Hotel Edinburgh - ExteriorThe George Hotel Edinburgh - ExteriorThe George Hotel Edinburgh - ExteriorThe George Hotel Edinburgh - LobbyThe George Hotel Edinburgh - Guest RoomThe George Hotel Edinburgh - Guest RoomThe George Hotel Edinburgh - Guest RoomThe George Hotel Edinburgh - Guest RoomThe George Hotel Edinburgh - Guest RoomThe George Hotel Edinburgh - Guest RoomThe George Hotel Edinburgh - Guest RoomThe George Hotel Edinburgh - BathroomThe George Hotel Edinburgh - BarThe George Hotel Edinburgh - RestaurantThe George Hotel Edinburgh - BarThe George Hotel Edinburgh - RestaurantThe George Hotel Edinburgh - RestaurantThe George Hotel Edinburgh - RestaurantThe George Hotel Edinburgh - RestaurantThe George Hotel Edinburgh - Meeting FacilitiesThe George Hotel Edinburgh - Meeting FacilitiesThe George Hotel Edinburgh - Meeting FacilitiesThe George Hotel Edinburgh - ViewThe George Hotel Edinburgh - ConferenceThe George Hotel Edinburgh - ConferenceThe George Hotel Edinburgh - WeddingThe George Hotel Edinburgh - WeddingThe George Hotel Edinburgh - ConferenceThe George Hotel Edinburgh - ConferenceThe George Hotel Edinburgh - Exterior


AS-AGWEB-3A04