My Account (sign in)

Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

The Gong

Jalan. Pantai Suluban, Uluwatu, Bali, Indonesia 80364 (Show on map)

Book now!

The Gong Bali - Entrance The Gong Bali - Hotel Exterior The Gong Bali - Swimming Pool The Gong Bali - Swimming Pool The Gong Bali - Garden The Gong Bali - Garden The Gong Bali - Hotel Exterior The Gong Bali - Swimming Pool The Gong Bali - Garden The Gong Bali - Hotel Exterior The Gong Bali - Swimming Pool The Gong Bali - Hotel Exterior
Hotel Area: Uluwatu Number of Rooms: 12

Recent customer reviews

Filter by Traveler Type

 

Very Good

7.6

based on
38 reviews

Value for Money
8.0
Location
7.8
Staff Performance
7.3
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
7.4
Room Comfort/Standard
8.0
Food/Dining
7.1
All reviews (38)
Sort by:
Jonah E. Families with young children United States of America, March 16, 2014
Close to uluwatu surf and temple

Really friendly staff with good English and nice happy and helpful attitude
8.7
We were worried that it would be too far from the beach and temple. It was a nice walk to both and we were carrying a baby. 15 mins to beach and 20 to temple. This is the only place I dare ride a scooter on the road as they are fairly tame and deserted compared to the rest of Bali. Scooter rentals are just next door for $5US dollars per day if you don't want to walk. The scooters also have surf racks on them if you have your board. They have very little petrol in them but if you run out, just buy a vodka bottle with petrol in it from the many side of the road stands displaying it. The gong was a good deal and satria bungalows is directly across the street down a little dirt road if gong doesn't have enough rooms. My two sisters stayed there. The staff at the hotel were fantastic, smart, talkative and informative. Their English is quite good and the conversation about culture and religion were enlightening. This is a bit hard to find as are most of the bungalows, since there are so many. The room was clean and a mosquito net was provided. The whole bathroom was concrete including the sink. The bed was comfortable.
Azlaidee A. Couples Singapore, February 19, 2014
Best hospitality I get in Bali!

Location,peaceful and best staffs and owner!
10
Just awesome...Owner and staff were all friendly,treat you like family.I will definitely stay here again if I will be in Uluwatu.The best in Uluwatu even thought its not a resort.
Clare R. Couples Australia, January 31, 2014
lovely pool & gardens, very clean all round

The manager was very good
8.7
Claudia M. Families with older children Sweden, January 4, 2014
Family budget hotel

Friendly, cozy, good atmosphere
6.3
This is a friendly nice backpacker style hotel, nothing fancy but really cozy and good atmosphere. There is about 15 min walking distance to the very good surf beach. A small restaurant up from but we didn't eat there as there are so many options around with great views and food. Can gladly recommend this hotel
Fei S. Groups Malaysia, December 28, 2013
Perfect!

Spacious, very nice, comfortable!
9.3
Our stay was perfect! Staffs were really helpful and nice. Highly recommend this place to everybody.
Susan S. Solo travelers United States of America, December 18, 2013
easy to find basic hotel near temple & beaches

the location, pool, & people: the balinese family running the place as well as the international traveller group
7
perfect location, nice crowd, nice pool, but no air conditioning (rainy season it would have been nice) or towels in the room. missed the towel!
Ross T. Couples Ireland, November 30, 2013
Pleasant but basic, staff friendly & VERY relaxed

Quiet, remote, good food in and around
6.7
If you're looking for a place to escape for a few days, hang out without being bothered and keep things simple then look no further. As backpackers, this place was not ideal...we stayed three nights and wanted to see as much as possible in that time. The location is very out of the way, not near much besides the Firedance, which is well worth a look. Even an ATM is a trek away. Staff were nice but were quite tardy, again this meant lost time for us. We had to ask several times for room service/ towels and there was only one person working there who could book a boat to Gili so we had to wait around for a couple of hours one night for her to come back. You don't need to go far for food, the food in The Gong is also fine.
Danielle J. Groups Australia, November 23, 2013
The Gong is worth every dollar.

price, people, location
9.7
I really enjoyed staying here. It felt like a proper road trip, friends together, beach holiday. The staff were super friendly and helpful. I was worried about the cold water BUT the water wasn't really that cold anyway and it was probably better for me when I stepped out of the shower because it was so warm anyway. I will definitely stay here again - there isn't many rooms so I will be disappointed if it gets popular and I can't get a room though.
Judith C. Couples Australia, October 24, 2013
Great family run hotel. Couldn't be more helpful

Friendly staff. Relaxed atmosphere. Feeling of well being
9.7
The family run hotel was excellent. It exudes an ambience of traditional Balinese home stays in a beautiful garden setting with a lovely pool. The staff were extremely helpful and the food delicious. Great value for money. We will be back!
William M. Solo travelers United States of America, September 20, 2013
felt like family

friendly staff convenient location pool
10
Loved my stay at the Gong. Felt like family. I enjoyed the fast check in, great breakfast, and lunch. The pool was great! Location was very convenient for visiting family members! Staff should be applauded very attentive and friendly would love to stay again!!!

Book now!

Sale ends soon!

The Gong BaliThe Gong Bali - EntranceThe Gong Bali - Hotel ExteriorThe Gong Bali - Swimming PoolThe Gong Bali - Swimming PoolThe Gong Bali - GardenThe Gong Bali - GardenThe Gong Bali - Hotel ExteriorThe Gong Bali - Swimming PoolThe Gong Bali - GardenThe Gong Bali - Hotel ExteriorThe Gong Bali - Swimming PoolThe Gong Bali - Hotel Exterior


AS-AGWEB-3C03