Sign in and see our lowest prices
×

or

Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

The Grand Daddy Hotel

38 Long Street, City Bowl, Cape Town, South Africa (Show on map)

Book now!

The Grand Daddy Hotel Cape Town - Bathroom The Grand Daddy Hotel Cape Town - Bathroom The Grand Daddy Hotel Cape Town - L’Apero The Grand Daddy Hotel Cape Town - Rooftop The Grand Daddy Hotel Cape Town - Sky Bar The Grand Daddy Hotel Cape Town - Rooftop The Grand Daddy Hotel Cape Town - Airstream Trailer Park The Grand Daddy Hotel Cape Town - Airstream Trailer Park The Grand Daddy Hotel Cape Town - Lunch on the roof The Grand Daddy Hotel Cape Town - Hotel Interior The Grand Daddy Hotel Cape Town - The Venue The Grand Daddy Hotel Cape Town - Exterior View The Grand Daddy Hotel Cape Town - Hotel Exterior The Grand Daddy Hotel Cape Town - Pub Lounge The Grand Daddy Hotel Cape Town - Hotel Interior The Grand Daddy Hotel Cape Town - Hotel Interior
The Grand Daddy Hotel Cape Town - Hotel Interior The Grand Daddy Hotel Cape Town - Hotel Interior The Grand Daddy Hotel Cape Town - Hotel Interior The Grand Daddy Hotel Cape Town - Hotel Interior The Grand Daddy Hotel Cape Town - Balcony Terrace The Grand Daddy Hotel Cape Town - Bathroom The Grand Daddy Hotel Cape Town - Bathroom The Grand Daddy Hotel Cape Town - Guest Room The Grand Daddy Hotel Cape Town - Guest Room The Grand Daddy Hotel Cape Town - Guest Room The Grand Daddy Hotel Cape Town - Guest Room The Grand Daddy Hotel Cape Town - Guest Room
Area: City Bowl Number of Rooms: 33
Free Wi-Fi

Recent customer reviews

Filter by Traveler Type

 

Fantastic

8.2

based on
17 reviews

Value for Money
8.0
Location
9.2
Staff Performance
8.1
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
8.0
Room Comfort/Standard
8.2
Food/Dining
7.6
All reviews (17)
Sort by:
Maurizio C. Business travelers Italy, June 20, 2014
Overrated

personnel, location, silence
7
The Hotel is in a nice old building, but it needs maintenance. The "superior" room I booked was rather small, had a window facing on the internal side and another window facing a concrete wall. The best feature is the personnel, friendly and ready to help.
Raphael H. Business travelers Switzerland, February 28, 2014
It was a nice hotel in the center

Trailer on the rooftop very nice idea
8
My stay was very nice at this hotel it is worth it every dollar I spend
Scott E. Families with young children Canada, December 19, 2013
An "okay" place to stay

Good restaurant; helpful staff; good location
8
We had originally booked the airstream but found it to be much too small for tow adults and a 10 year old child - might be okay for 2 adults with little luggage. We were offered a standard room at the same price but opted to pay extra for the deluxe room because it was a bit larger. We had hoped that the design sense that was used for the airstreams would also be found in the rooms but that was not the case - the room was comfortable enough but a bit tired looking. Staff were friendly and helpful. The hotel is in a good location for walking to nearby street markets and restaurants, but the area didn't feel very safe at night. It was not a bad experience but I might try a different hotel next time.
Cecile S. Solo travelers France, December 16, 2013
Great location. Extremely noisy at night,

staff - clean - good breakfast
7.3
Although staff was very helpful, location is great and rooms are clean and comfortable, it was impossible to sleep at night due to private parties happening on the roof of the hotel. 2 nights those were private parties (so not even possible to join in) and music was extremely loud. Impossible to sleep before the parties were over. 1 night is acceptable, 3 nights in a row was just unbearable. Note that I was expecting Long Street to be busy and noisy but that noise was coming from within the hotel and thus much higher than I had anticipated.
Salvador P. Families with older children Spain, December 2, 2013
Amazing stay, comfortable and friendly staff

Location, design and comfortable
8.7
My husband, my father and I went to Cape Town for three days and this was a very good election. The location is perfect in the most well know street of the city center. Close to waterfront (by car) and no far from the Table Mountain (by car). The room was very clean and staff was friendly with us. They change DSTV channel programmation for us! The worst was the garage. It is the rubish room.
David G. Couples Germany, October 29, 2013
Good and solide

Trailer, Trailer, trailer
5.7
Good stay in an a average hotel. Bad breakfast, bad service of not interested staff.
Mathias V. Business travelers Belgium, April 7, 2013
great stay

in lively long street nearby bars, restaurants etc, good atmosphere
8
Emily T. Couples Australia, February 5, 2013
This is the hotel we keep coming back to

Friendly staff, great location and comfortable
9.3
John S. Couples Australia, December 31, 2012
Funky hotel in great location.

Friendly staff, great rooms and food.
10
We recently stayed at The Grand Daddy Hotel for five nights and were very we chose to stay there. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The rooms were really clean and nicely decorated. They had all the necessary facilities and our bedroom and bathroom were spacious.The breakfast buffet was yummy with quite a varied choice from cooked breakfast to continental. Other meals taken within the hotel were also very good. Our room was one floor below the quirky trailer park and bar on the roof but we were not disturbed by sound. A nice touch was the jubes left on our pillows in the evenings. The hotel is centrally located so a short walk to many of the museums etc in the city centre.
Restaurant Tip: Roberto's Portuguese restaurant with very friendly staff is a few doors down the street in case you wish to try somewhere else to eat (for variety not that we were unhappy with the meals in the hotel).
Charles P. Solo travelers Ireland, December 11, 2012
Quirky but well-positioned hotel

Very good location in centre, comfortable, with friendly and helpful staff
7.3
as mentioned, there are many positive aspects to this hotel: location, service, decor. their wifi policy is a bit strange: one must get vouchers from reception that quickly expire and must constantly be replaced. also, the bathrooms could use one or two more fittings: e.g., if i am to hang up my towel if i want to reuse it, there has to be somewhere to hang it.

Book now!

Sale ends soon!

The Grand Daddy Hotel Cape TownThe Grand Daddy Hotel Cape Town - BathroomThe Grand Daddy Hotel Cape Town - BathroomThe Grand Daddy Hotel Cape Town - L’AperoThe Grand Daddy Hotel Cape Town - RooftopThe Grand Daddy Hotel Cape Town - Sky BarThe Grand Daddy Hotel Cape Town - RooftopThe Grand Daddy Hotel Cape Town - Airstream Trailer ParkThe Grand Daddy Hotel Cape Town - Airstream Trailer ParkThe Grand Daddy Hotel Cape Town - Lunch on the roofThe Grand Daddy Hotel Cape Town - Hotel InteriorThe Grand Daddy Hotel Cape Town - The VenueThe Grand Daddy Hotel Cape Town - Exterior ViewThe Grand Daddy Hotel Cape Town - Hotel ExteriorThe Grand Daddy Hotel Cape Town - Pub LoungeThe Grand Daddy Hotel Cape Town - Hotel InteriorThe Grand Daddy Hotel Cape Town - Hotel InteriorThe Grand Daddy Hotel Cape Town - Hotel InteriorThe Grand Daddy Hotel Cape Town - Hotel InteriorThe Grand Daddy Hotel Cape Town - Hotel InteriorThe Grand Daddy Hotel Cape Town - Hotel InteriorThe Grand Daddy Hotel Cape Town - Balcony TerraceThe Grand Daddy Hotel Cape Town - BathroomThe Grand Daddy Hotel Cape Town - BathroomThe Grand Daddy Hotel Cape Town - Guest RoomThe Grand Daddy Hotel Cape Town - Guest RoomThe Grand Daddy Hotel Cape Town - Guest RoomThe Grand Daddy Hotel Cape Town - Guest RoomThe Grand Daddy Hotel Cape Town - Guest RoomThe Grand Daddy Hotel Cape Town - Guest RoomThe Grand Daddy Hotel Cape Town - Guest RoomThe Grand Daddy Hotel Cape Town - Guest RoomThe Grand Daddy Hotel Cape Town - Guest RoomThe Grand Daddy Hotel Cape Town - Guest RoomThe Grand Daddy Hotel Cape Town - Guest roomThe Grand Daddy Hotel Cape Town - Guest RoomThe Grand Daddy Hotel Cape Town - Afrofunk ExteriorThe Grand Daddy Hotel Cape Town - Interior ViewThe Grand Daddy Hotel Cape Town - Moontides InteriorThe Grand Daddy Hotel Cape Town - InteriorThe Grand Daddy Hotel Cape Town - ExteriorThe Grand Daddy Hotel Cape Town - Guest RoomThe Grand Daddy Hotel Cape Town - ExteriorThe Grand Daddy Hotel Cape Town - InteriorThe Grand Daddy Hotel Cape Town - Guest Room

Customer Reviews - The Grand Daddy Hotel, Cape Town

AS-AGWEB-3C02