Back to hotel info

Good 6.5
Based on 268 reviews

Recent customer comments

Filter by traveler type
Good



based on 268 reviews
  • Cleanliness 5.7
  • Facilities 6.9
  • Location 8.8
  • Room Comfort/Standard 6.0
  • Service 6.2
  • Value for money 6.6
  • Food/Dining 5.6

Takuya N. from Japan
Groups
Stayed 3 nights in February 2016
great
Service Kitchen Place
It was our first trip to Sydney and it was great one with The Grand Hotel. The place is perfect. It is so close to Wynyard Station and we could go to also Opera House on foot. The housekeepers ,probably they were japanese, were kind to us. they gave us Pringles and a lovely memo! haha thank you for a nice staying :)
Reviewed February 20, 2016

YOSHIHIDE M. from Japan
Solo travelers
Stayed one night in February 2016
too bad
location is good
Smells bad, Not clean, very noisy, staffs are not kind
Reviewed February 14, 2016

John C. from Philippines
Solo travelers
Stayed one night in February 2016
Pleasant short stay.
At the city, close to everything, quiet
Pleasant short stay.
Reviewed February 12, 2016

YEONSEONG K. from South Korea
Couples
Stayed 3 nights in November 2015
Not bad
location staff bar
Staff is friendly, but rooms are small, and dark. The place is quite old but in good condition and spotlessly clean!
Reviewed January 20, 2016

bernard L. from France
Solo travelers
Stayed 2 nights in December 2015
basic hotel
location cleanliness
convenient for one or two nights
Reviewed December 21, 2015

Janice F. from Australia
Families with older children
Stayed 2 nights in December 2015
Position Position Position
Great Position, Clean room, Lovely staff
For a budget Hotel we found the room clean and comfortable, bathrooms although shared were always being cleaned by staff. The free all day breakfast although we didn't use it much was very convenient and generous, with really good juice and fruit and real milk. Anyone looking for a budget hotel which ticks all the boxes choose THE GRAND HOTEL
Reviewed December 08, 2015

Neoh L. from Malaysia
Couples
Stayed 5 nights in November 2015
Excellent location, comfortable room.
Value for money, excellent location, comfortable room.
Our stay was absolutely awesome! The hotel is strategically located in the city within minutes walk away from almost everywhere. The Wynward station is just right across the road and makes it convenient to catch a train to almost anywhere. There is a breakfast room which provides breakfast cereals, fruits, milk, biscuits and breads 24 hours a day at no extra cost. It is overall value for money for the budget conscious and the best hotel in this range. There are 2 pubs at the lower floors and may be a bit noisy for some. By the time I got back to the hotel, I was too tired and the music didn't bother me at all.
Reviewed November 25, 2015

Darren O. from Australia
Solo travelers
Stayed one night in November 2015
We ended up in the Grand Hotel...
the location, the price and the room quality
It did what it said it would do on the box. A cheap cheerful, centrally located, budget-priced hotel perfect for my needs. will use again when the need arises.
Reviewed November 19, 2015

Prasanna S. from India
Families with young children
Stayed one night in October 2015
At the heart of the Sydney CBD
Located close to Darling harbour, Opera etc. Break fast available 24 hours ( free), and a fantastic bar...
It's a value for money offer in the heart the Sydney harbour / CBD area. Almost all museums, aquarium, zoo, hyde park, Sydney harbour, opera house, darling harbour in walking distance. Rooms were moderately clean, and common shower and rest room found to be okay. The only thing that the hotel need to improve is a separate check in place. One cannot go inside a busy bar counter to check in ( first time in my life I checked in a busy bar counter )... No indications mentioned at the entrance/ lift lobby about where the hotel is located. Some signage may help.
Reviewed October 27, 2015

John K. from Australia
Couples
Stayed one night in October 2015
Take earplugs and a sleep mask and it will be fine
The staff were friendly, the location was good, it was cheap
The carpet in our room had a large hole in it and smelled of urine. The window would not shut completely and the curtain did not cover the window so there was lots of street noise and light. The bed and bedding were clean and reasonably comfortable. The shared toilet and bathroom were clean. The breakfast room where you could help yourself to cereal or toast 24 hours a day was a nice touch.
Reviewed October 10, 2015