Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

The Grand Hotel

30 Hunter Street, Sydney CBD, Sydney, Australia

Recent customer reviews

Filter by traveler type

 

Good

6.5

based on 262 reviews

203 reviews in English

Value for Money
6.6
Location
8.8
Staff Performance
6.1
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
5.6
Room Comfort/Standard
6.0
Food/Dining
5.6
All reviews (262)
Sort by:
Annemarie M. Solo travelers United Kingdom, April 8, 2016
Would stay again
6
Great budget accommodation in the city with WiFi and breakfast. Nothing fancy but perfect for of you want budget accom in the city
Report this review
Katherine S. Groups United States of America, March 30, 2016
The Grand Hotel has a lot of heart!
6
We loved our stay at the grand hotel. It is within a couple blocks of the train station and about seven blocks from the harbor, so transportation was made easy. It is also by far the cheapest (and best value) hotel in the area. A heads up - if you are arriving late in the day, check-in is at the bar. The elevator is also a little finicky. We stayed in a triple room. It was simple, without AC, and there was a little noise outside, but overall what we needed and expected. Our favorite part of the stay was visiting the kitchen area. It is set with a corner window that overlooks the city. The view is serene and the breakfast cereals were a pleasant surprise. If we ever have the opportunity to visit Sydney again, we will absolutely stay here!
Report this review
Hanz C. Groups Philippines, February 28, 2016
Quick Visit to Sydney
5.3
Location was perfect!
Report this review
Takuya N. Groups Japan, February 19, 2016
great

Service Kitchen Place
9
It was our first trip to Sydney and it was great one with The Grand Hotel. The place is perfect. It is so close to Wynyard Station and we could go to also Opera House on foot. The housekeepers ,probably they were japanese, were kind to us. they gave us Pringles and a lovely memo! haha thank you for a nice staying :)
Report this review
Yoshihide M. Solo travelers Japan, February 13, 2016
too bad

location is good
4.3
Smells bad, Not clean, very noisy, staffs are not kind
Report this review
John C. Solo travelers Philippines, February 11, 2016
Pleasant short stay.

At the city, close to everything, quiet
6
Pleasant short stay.
Report this review
Bernard L. Solo travelers France, December 19, 2015
basic hotel

location cleanliness
6
convenient for one or two nights
Report this review
Janice F. Families with older children Australia, December 7, 2015
Position Position Position

Great Position, Clean room, Lovely staff
9.3
For a budget Hotel we found the room clean and comfortable, bathrooms although shared were always being cleaned by staff. The free all day breakfast although we didn't use it much was very convenient and generous, with really good juice and fruit and real milk. Anyone looking for a budget hotel which ticks all the boxes choose THE GRAND HOTEL
Report this review
Yeonseong K. Couples South Korea, November 21, 2015
Not bad

location staff bar
7
Staff is friendly, but rooms are small, and dark. The place is quite old but in good condition and spotlessly clean!
Report this review
Darren O. Solo travelers Australia, November 18, 2015
We ended up in the Grand Hotel...

the location, the price and the room quality
8.3
It did what it said it would do on the box. A cheap cheerful, centrally located, budget-priced hotel perfect for my needs. will use again when the need arises.
Report this review
1 - 10 of 203 reviews Next page
The Grand Hotel SydneyThe Grand Hotel Sydney - 30 Knots BarThe Grand Hotel Sydney - 30 Knots BarThe Grand Hotel Sydney - 30 Knots BarThe Grand Hotel Sydney - 30 Knots BarThe Grand Hotel Sydney - 30 Knots BarThe Grand Hotel Sydney - 30 Knots BarThe Grand Hotel Sydney - 30 Knots BarThe Grand Hotel Sydney - 30 Knots BarThe Grand Hotel Sydney - Westfield ShoppingThe Grand Hotel Sydney - Sydney Opera HouseThe Grand Hotel Sydney - Guest RoomThe Grand Hotel Sydney - Breakfast RoomThe Grand Hotel Sydney - Guest RoomThe Grand Hotel Sydney - Guest RoomThe Grand Hotel Sydney - Balcony/TerraceThe Grand Hotel Sydney - Balcony/Terrace


Agoda is part of The Priceline Group, the world leader in online travel & related services.

AS-AGWEB-3B05