or

Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

The Kings Hotel

No.32, Halls Road Egmore, Chennai City Center, Chennai, India 600008 (Show on map)

Book now!

The Kings Hotel Chennai - Meeting Room The Kings Hotel Chennai - Bar The Kings Hotel Chennai - Bar The Kings Hotel Chennai - Deluxe Room The Kings Hotel Chennai - Exterior The Kings Hotel Chennai - Lobby The Kings Hotel Chennai - Restaurant The Kings Hotel Chennai - Suite Room The Kings Hotel Chennai - Deluxe Room The Kings Hotel Chennai - Exterior The Kings Hotel Chennai - Appollo Hospital The Kings Hotel Chennai - Egmore Railway Station
Area: Chennai City Center Number of Rooms: 38
Free Wi-Fi

Recent customer reviews

Filter by Traveler Type

 

Good

7.2

based on
10 reviews

Value for Money
6.8
Location
8.0
Staff Performance
6.6
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
7.2
Room Comfort/Standard
7.2
Food/Dining
7.4
All reviews (10)
Sort by:
Md A. Families with young children Bangladesh, July 7, 2014
not satisfactory in all respects

only restaurant
4.3
I stayed the hotel for two nights.Receptionist not honest. Room service was bad. Can not understand English well.Overall I am unhappy.
Sreejith S. Business travelers India, October 20, 2013
Over all good

clean room, friendly staff, good break fast
7.3
Arun S. Families with older children India, September 1, 2013
great hotel within family budget

good staff pleasant stay
9.3
Exotic T. Business travelers Canada, June 7, 2013
Comfortable Stay!

Good Staff, Good Room, Good Location.
9.3
Everything was fine, except the free wi-fi internet, which was MUCH TOO SLOW to get anything done! You need to bargain a little bit, or book through Agoda, because their walk-in rates are pretty high!
Alex B. Couples United States of America, May 24, 2013
Decent place to sleep for area

central location, good indian buffet breakfast
6.3
It was ok. Most hotels in this area are overpriced. The room was somewhat dingy but decent to stay in for a cheap sleep in Chennai. The wifi was supposedly free but we could only get it to work on 1 of our 3 days there (despite numerous attempts of talking with the front desk and the manager.)
Sergey P. Couples Russia, January 25, 2013
A decent hotel with very friendly service

Great location - walking distance to the main museum in the city, several good restaurants around and, most importantly, has quiet rooms!
9.7
It is a 24-hour check-out hotel, which means that if you need to check out at 23:30 at night (like we did because most flights from Chennai to Europe are departing in the early hours) you can simply check in at 10 or 11 pm and then do not have to pay for an extra night. The receptionist gave us an extra 2 hr grace time. Importantly the hotel is in relatively quiet street and moreover most rooms look out into a quiet courtyard so you can enjoy good sleep. The buffet breakfast is quite good. One drawback is that you need to ask for everything which is not on the food counter (like scrambled eggs of fruit). Everything is included in the price but you don't know what else is available if anything at all. You just notice that some guests are having, say porridge, and than you start asking if you could have it as well. If you order a taxi from the hotel - make sure you insist that it should be a regular metered taxi. We discovered (in the middle of the night) that instead of a taxi we had a private car and the driver charged us twice as much (and naturally wanted even more).
Timothy C. Business travelers India, July 20, 2012
Horrible, Filthy and useless hotel. The worst!

nothing is good here.
2.3
I reached the hotel at 7 am. The receptionist made me wait for 20 mins in the dirty lobby to get a room. The guy was very rude and spoke bad English, which I couldn't understand. The room was filthy with no toilet papers and a dirty towel. I almost puked as I went into the restroom. I went to the so called "breakfast buffet". There was no toast. only idli and sambar. The guy next to me has to wait for 10 mins to get his plate as all the plates went for cleaning. The waiter answered him very rudely and there was fighting going on between them. Totally, I hated the stay at this hotel. I won't recommend this to any travelers.
Chandra S. Couples India, July 5, 2012
loved it

good locality.for my purpose the location is perfect.also its walkable distance from nearby market.the hotel staff was very good.there was no problem in our stay.i would reommend this hotel.
7.3
the stay was comfortable.the hotel staff was very cordial and nice.the food is good during breakfast.and also we ordered for dinner and it was fast in response.overall i would recommend this hotel for staying.its near malls and railway station.
Shopping Tip: express mall 3-4km and also spencer plaza.
Tobias M. Couples Germany, December 30, 2013
Angemessener Preis für durchschnittliche Leistung

Free WiFi, Lage, Bar im Haus
6.3
Das Hotel liegt an der eher ruhigen Hallsroad in Egmore. Die Zimmer waren groß und relativ sauber. In den Nähe gibt es an Ende der Straße Richtung Bahnhof eines der besten Veg-Restaurants der Stadt. Eigentlich war alles gut, bis in der zweiten Nacht ein unerträglicher Heizölgeruch im Zimmer und den Gängen wahrnehmbar war. Erst dachte ich ein Dieselfahrzeug oder Tank wäre ausgelaufen, aber es war nach Aussage der Rezeption "Pest Control" also Schädlingsbekämpfung. Dagegen ist zunächst ja nichts einzuwenden, aber es war auch für indische Verhältnisse so penetrant, dass in dieser Nacht an Schlaf nicht zu denken war. Folge Zombie-Zustand am nächsten Tag und höllische Kopfschmerzen von dem Zeug. Großes Minus für diee Aktion! Wäre das nicht gewesen, hätte das Hotel eine deutlich bessere Beurteilung bekommen.
Roman G. Solo travelers Russia, January 26, 2013
Хороший отель

Чистота
9.7
Это лучший отель в Индии среди той ценовой категории в которых мне приходилось останавливаться. Чистые и очень просторные номера.Отзывчивый персонал. Помогает решить множество вопросов - вызов такси,советы по лучшим достопримечательностям,по расположению ближайшего обменника и др.Быстрый интернет.Есть холодильник.Телевизор со спутниковыми каналами (русских нет). Завтраки однообразные,с индийской пищей.Ресторан в отеле работает только с 7 вечера.Готовят неплохо,обслуживают хорошо.Рядом с отелем национальный музей.
 

Book now!

Sale ends soon!

The Kings Hotel ChennaiThe Kings Hotel Chennai - Meeting RoomThe Kings Hotel Chennai - BarThe Kings Hotel Chennai - BarThe Kings Hotel Chennai - Deluxe RoomThe Kings Hotel Chennai - ExteriorThe Kings Hotel Chennai - LobbyThe Kings Hotel Chennai - RestaurantThe Kings Hotel Chennai - Suite RoomThe Kings Hotel Chennai - Deluxe RoomThe Kings Hotel Chennai - ExteriorThe Kings Hotel Chennai - Appollo HospitalThe Kings Hotel Chennai - Egmore Railway Station


AS-AGWEB-3B08