My Account (sign in)

Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

The Langham Sydney Hotel

89-113 Kent Street, Circular Quay, Sydney, Australia (Show on map)

Book now!

Formerly : The Observatory Hotel

The Langham Sydney Hotel Sydney - Grand Langham City View Room The Langham Sydney Hotel Sydney - Observatory Suite The Langham Sydney Hotel Sydney - Langham Bathroom The Langham Sydney Hotel Sydney - Langham Bathroom The Langham Sydney Hotel Sydney - Lobby The Langham Sydney Hotel Sydney - Lobby The Langham Sydney Hotel Sydney - Galileo Restaurant The Langham Sydney Hotel Sydney - Globe Bar The Langham Sydney Hotel Sydney - Meeting Room The Langham Sydney Hotel Sydney - The Drawing Room The Langham Sydney Hotel Sydney - Galileo Restaurant The Langham Sydney Hotel Sydney - Observatory Suite The Langham Sydney Hotel Sydney - Langham Suite The Langham Sydney Hotel Sydney - Junior Suite The Langham Sydney Hotel Sydney - Grand Langham Harbour View Room The Langham Sydney Hotel Sydney - Pet Friendly
The Langham Sydney Hotel Sydney - Swimming Pool The Langham Sydney Hotel Sydney - Fitness Room
Hotel Area: Circular Quay Number of Rooms: 96

Recent customer reviews

Filter by Traveler Type

 

Fantastic

8.9

based on
69 reviews

Value for Money
8.2
Location
8.8
Staff Performance
9.3
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
9.1
Room Comfort/Standard
9.4
Food/Dining
8.4
All reviews (69)
Sort by:
Nigel P. Couples New Zealand, March 14, 2014
Pleasant

The room, the staff and the hotels character
7.7
Ok but not great. Its in a slightly isolated area but that wasn,t a problem for us.
Alexandru S. Business travelers Switzerland, December 10, 2013
OK overall, but extremely expensive, not impressed

Well equipped fitness, nice traditional looking hotel, friendly staff
7.7
THE GOOD 1) Located in The Rocks area, near major Sydney attractions such as Harbour Bridge and Opera. 2) The rooms were kept clean at all times. 3) Beds are comfortable and super large (I've never seen a bed this size in my life!). Great pillows as well. Bathroom is also a plus. 4) Well equipped fitness and nice internal pool (although I have not tried it). 5) Staff is friendly and eager to help, good concierge information and advice. 6) Nice and comfy looking overall, traditional style. THE BAD 1) I have been in many 5 stars hotels over the world but this one is extremely pricey with a very low value for money overall. 2) Rooms look a bit old and the carpet being worn + lamps are not helping to the image either. Parts of the walls in our room were dirty or stained. The hotel also smells like an old and decrepit building. 3) Very far from any public transportation (bus or train) and when we left for the airport we needed to walk over 500m with our luggage to get to the nearest train station (roads are extremely busy during top hours and taxi could take an eternity in Sydney, so train is the only option). 4) WiFi is not entirely free...it is true that you can become a member and subscribe to their database and you will get free WiFi, however this creates an additional step. 5) I was astonished to find that they charge Credit Card fee to their already inflated prices! 6) Surrounding are not nice, placed on a very small and ordinary road, in front of constructions. 7) Far from any good restaurants.
Perry N. Couples Australia, December 1, 2013
Very pleasant

Location, staff and amenities.
7.7
Sadly, we only stayed for one night as we had an engagement to attend in Sydney. The staff on arrival were extremely courteous and friendly. The room was very well appointed although a little dated. I would recommend friends to stay at the Langham if price wasn't an issue. Overall, I was very happy with our one night stay and would stay again without a second thought.
Georgia S. Groups Australia, November 25, 2013
Best hotel in Sydney.

Comfortable, open windows, great pool/spa/sauna, great staff.
10
I have stayed at the Langham Hotel many times, I love it. Big comfortable rooms, beautiful antique furniture and amazing paintings/prints. The staff are very helpful and friendly. The location is great, close to the Rocks and the Quay. The pool/spa/sauna/gym is excellent. High tea and cocktails are great, good breakfast. Overall a great hotel.
Mervyn S. Families with older children New Zealand, November 3, 2013
Comfortable, tired decore, bit out of the way

Gracious, lovely dining areas, staff attentative
7
Generally good. Room good size as was travelling with one of my adult children. A little out of the main route for taxis and transport. Hotel probably due a freshen up in terms of décor. Staff attentative.
Clark T. Couples United States of America, October 13, 2013
OUTSTANding

Staff
8
Will return. Will retirn. Will return.Will retutn Will return Will return Will return
Sandra W. Couples Australia, October 6, 2013
We really enjoyed our stay

The friendly and attentive staff, the comfort level and the cleanliness of the rooms was exceptional and the valet parking made it very easy
8.7
The friendliness of the staff, the comfort of the room and the quality of the breakfast ranked with the best we have experienced.
Stephen L. Couples Australia, September 29, 2013
The best hotel in central sydney

The rooms, the spa and the breakfast buffet
10
A fantastic mini break in our own city. Loved every minute. So comfortable and relaxing.
Philip S. Couples Australia, September 21, 2013
Superb stay!

Decor, position and great staff
9.3
We have stayed at the Langam before and thiroughly enjoyed our time. We love the position particularly around the Rocks area. We are locals that have rediscovered our area. We have travelled extensively overseas and would highly recommend this hotel and area for international travelers. A quite area to recharge but not too far from the city excitement!
Rohan D. Couples United Kingdom, August 12, 2013
Great staff but lacked the touches

Staff, location, nice rooms
8.3
Good hotel, staff were really attentive on the main desk. I used to stay when it was the Observatory and there is obviously some cost cutting, no bowl of fruit, breakfast is a full buffet rather than ordering hot from the menu. I had a terrible time with room service which took over an hour and was then wrong.

Book now!

Sale ends soon!

The Langham Sydney Hotel SydneyThe Langham Sydney Hotel Sydney - Grand Langham City View RoomThe Langham Sydney Hotel Sydney - Observatory SuiteThe Langham Sydney Hotel Sydney - Langham BathroomThe Langham Sydney Hotel Sydney - Langham BathroomThe Langham Sydney Hotel Sydney - LobbyThe Langham Sydney Hotel Sydney - LobbyThe Langham Sydney Hotel Sydney - Galileo RestaurantThe Langham Sydney Hotel Sydney - Globe BarThe Langham Sydney Hotel Sydney - Meeting RoomThe Langham Sydney Hotel Sydney - The Drawing RoomThe Langham Sydney Hotel Sydney - Galileo RestaurantThe Langham Sydney Hotel Sydney - Observatory SuiteThe Langham Sydney Hotel Sydney - Langham SuiteThe Langham Sydney Hotel Sydney - Junior SuiteThe Langham Sydney Hotel Sydney - Grand Langham Harbour View RoomThe Langham Sydney Hotel Sydney - Pet FriendlyThe Langham Sydney Hotel Sydney - Swimming PoolThe Langham Sydney Hotel Sydney - Fitness Room


AS-AGWEB-3A03