or

Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

The Local Riverside

no.8, Street 144, Riverside, Riverfront, Phnom Penh, Cambodia (Show on map)

Book now!

The Local Riverside Phnom Penh - Interior The Local Riverside Phnom Penh - Superior balcony room The Local Riverside Phnom Penh - Guest Room The Local Riverside Phnom Penh - Superior balcony room The Local Riverside Phnom Penh - Guest Room The Local Riverside Phnom Penh - Guest Room The Local Riverside Phnom Penh - Guest Room The Local Riverside Phnom Penh - Penthouse shower The Local Riverside Phnom Penh - Deluxe Double Bathroom The Local Riverside Phnom Penh - Penthouse The Local Riverside Phnom Penh - Hand basin The Local Riverside Phnom Penh - Public bathroom The Local Riverside Phnom Penh - Balcony/Terrace The Local Riverside Phnom Penh - Aussie Burger The Local Riverside Phnom Penh - Summer Roll The Local Riverside Phnom Penh - Bar
The Local Riverside Phnom Penh - Restaurant
Area: Riverfront Number of Rooms: 4
Free Wi-Fi

Recent customer reviews

Filter by Traveler Type

 

Good

7.4

based on
112 reviews

Value for Money
7.3
Location
8.7
Staff Performance
7.4
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
6.9
Room Comfort/Standard
7.6
Food/Dining
6.6
All reviews (112)
Sort by:
David B. Solo travelers United States of America, August 23, 2013
The room was comfortable though not well desined,

price, location, language
5.7
Had some problems with unwanted disturbance. Otherwise quiet
Jessica R. Couples United Kingdom, August 20, 2013
Mixed place is cambodia

Good location, helpful staff and comfy room
7.7
Close to local restaurants on the riverside, not much else to do. We spent our time visiting the local sights, even though it was rather sad it was good to see. The room is comfy although you can hear the noise from the other rooms, not great when the neighbour is retching! Ew! Having said that great value for money would only stay a couple nights as not much to do. Would go back for a short stay.
Fionn T. Couples United Kingdom, August 18, 2013
Fantastic, central, customer focused hotel!

Exemplary customer service, wonderful staff, and a room to die for!
10
My stay at The Local was simply fantastic, and I couldn't recommend the place more. Under new management since June 2013, Mikah and Tom are pulling out all the shots to make this a one-stop shop for all your needs in Phnom Penh. Right in the centre of the riverside, this hotel is excellently located yet somehow still manages to be in a quiet spot - perfect for nursing your jet-lag! Tom and Mikah were excellent hosts and did everything to make our stay more comfortable. When they heard that my girlfriend and I hadn't seen each other for months they upgraded our room to the penthouse suite for no extra charge, giving us loads of extra room and even a rooftop terrace to ourselves. The penthouse was gorgeous, very very clean, safe and secure and was completely private - in a word, it was perfect. The Local is in the heart of the riverside, which means almost all the main attractions are either walking distance, or 5 mins by tuk tuk. There are loads of great bars and restaurants nearby, with the owners making some good recommendations during our stay. There's even a Khmer market at the end of the road if you want an authentic Cambodian breakfast of your own! We had a great time at the local and also enjoyed supping cold ones with Tom and Mikah trading stories and hanging out. This is a great hotel and I can't wait to stay again. Thanks for everything guys!!
Molly E. Solo travelers Canada, August 7, 2013
A good base for visiting the city

Friendly, Clean, Great Location
9.3
This is just a small 4 room guesthouse that has recently changed ownership and in the process of upgrades. With that said my room though it had no window was very nicely decorated with all the amenities I could want. Bathroom was clean, on the new side and functional. The staff was very friendly and helped me with arranging tuk tuk drivers and bus tickets. The place is very safe and secure and you can tell the owners take pride in what they offer.
Daniel W. Solo travelers United Kingdom, August 4, 2013
Good location, great value for money

Huge bed, location and helpful staff
9
Hotel has new owners and is an up an coming place to stay. Great location near the river, close to plenty of bars and restaurants that cater to all budgets. Only has 4 rooms currently so not loads of people there, while our room had no windows so no natural light. Wasn't a problem though. The room was still well furnished and we were more than happy with our say there.
Geert V. Families with young children Netherlands, July 18, 2013
fantastic place!

room, people and location
8.3
We stayed at The Local at the start of our holiday in Cambodia and decided to go back again after traveling the country. Friendly and family like people
Michael M. Couples Australia, May 24, 2013
Finally, someone knows how to make a mojito!

Clean, location, well priced
10
We extended our stay here because we really enjoyed this guesthouse. Beautiful, clean room rooms with a perfect location close to everything. We stayed in the penthouse room and then the balcony room because the penthouse was booked already. Can't complain about either room. I think there's two other rooms that don't have windows. The owner invited us to Khmer kickboxing stadium and this was not on our agenda however we had a very enjoyable day. The museum is very interesting and only a 10 minute walk away. If you stay here try the food. Western standards and BIG portions. The best food I have eaten since arriving in Cambodia. Very friendly regulars attend and the staff are faultless. I wish every place could be this consistent!
John S. Solo travelers Australia, May 1, 2013
Comfortable Hotel, Great Staff and Location

Location, staff and atmosphere
8.7
I enjoyed my stay at Local Riverside very much. The owner in staff were great and the owner in particular was very accommodating and a genuinely nice lady. I would recommend this hotel to anyone.It's in a wonderful location as well.
Tiang K. Solo travelers Malaysia, April 28, 2013
Relaxing,comfortable,quite and very good location

Good location to food and nightlife.Althought located next to bars the room are quite.
5.3
The check in was quick but was given a do and don't list to read.Arrived early and tired the list was a distraction.The don't was not strictly enforced too.The room was not available and had to wait until 12.00 noon before can occupy.The next day was up at 7.00am to go out for breakfast but the door was locked,although notice said door will be open at 7.00am.Have to ring bell to get attention.The delay caused me to miss my pickup at 8.00am.
Jonathan P. Solo travelers United States of America, April 23, 2013
Poor hotel

Cheap, close to the river, close to street food
2
I don't like to stay this hotel anymore. At 3am I hear a lady crying. For some reason my room 2nd floor have no room # what so ever.

Book now!

Sale ends soon!

The Local Riverside Phnom Penh - Two king size bedsThe Local Riverside Phnom Penh - InteriorThe Local Riverside Phnom Penh - Superior balcony roomThe Local Riverside Phnom Penh - Guest RoomThe Local Riverside Phnom Penh - Superior balcony roomThe Local Riverside Phnom Penh - Guest RoomThe Local Riverside Phnom Penh - Guest RoomThe Local Riverside Phnom Penh - Guest RoomThe Local Riverside Phnom Penh - Penthouse showerThe Local Riverside Phnom Penh - Deluxe Double BathroomThe Local Riverside Phnom Penh - PenthouseThe Local Riverside Phnom Penh - Hand basinThe Local Riverside Phnom Penh - Public bathroomThe Local Riverside Phnom Penh - Balcony/TerraceThe Local Riverside Phnom Penh - Aussie BurgerThe Local Riverside Phnom Penh - Summer RollThe Local Riverside Phnom Penh - BarThe Local Riverside Phnom Penh - Restaurant


AS-AGWEB-3B07