or

Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

The Local Riverside

no.8, Street 144, Riverside, Riverfront, Phnom Penh, Cambodia (Show on map)

Book now!

The Local Riverside Phnom Penh - Lounge The Local Riverside Phnom Penh - Penthouse shower The Local Riverside Phnom Penh - Deluxe Double Bathroom The Local Riverside Phnom Penh - Hand basin The Local Riverside Phnom Penh - View from Balcony Room The Local Riverside Phnom Penh - Bar The Local Riverside Phnom Penh - Pub/Lounge The Local Riverside Phnom Penh - Entrance The Local Riverside Phnom Penh - City view The Local Riverside Phnom Penh - Restaurant The Local Riverside Phnom Penh - Restaurant The Local Riverside Phnom Penh - Khmer BBQ The Local Riverside Phnom Penh - Open Show Kitchen The Local Riverside Phnom Penh - Live cooking
Area: Riverfront Number of Rooms: 4
Free Wi-Fi

Recent customer reviews

Filter by Traveler Type

 

Good

7.3

based on
116 reviews

Value for Money
7.2
Location
8.7
Staff Performance
7.3
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
6.8
Room Comfort/Standard
7.5
Food/Dining
6.5
All reviews (116)
Sort by:
Chris A. Couples United Kingdom, December 13, 2014
It's fine for a night

Staff. Location. Price.
7.3
As mentioned the price, location and staff were great. However, the hotel is currently next to building works so is very noisy, from around 7am to 5-6pm. Also, because of this the room smells very dusty and damp. I'm sure once the building work has been done the place would be pretty nice. Another thing worth mentioning is there was no windows and the toilet/shower is located in the room behind a glass door so not much privacy!
John G. Solo travelers United Kingdom, November 23, 2014
not good, smelly

good location by riverside,heart of tourist area
4.3
Pokey room,no windows,smelt very stale, room dirty , hairs and dust , above restaurant so corridors always smelt strongly of cooking, tv didn't work , staff not willing to change or help
Harley B. Solo travelers United States of America, August 18, 2014
Nice owner, but there are better options
4.3
From the start it was clear that things at this place were not going to go well...in front of the place there was a huge pile of construction materials and the building next door was being totally demolished--and this was 1 meter away!! Found the room a bit dingy, peeling paint and not well maintained...but the real issue was that the AC didn't work--even for 1-2 hours on the coolest setting (16C) the output was not even cool, let alone cold...owner suggested i put on the ceiling fan "to help" but that was no benefit....so 1 sleepless night later i checked out...there are MANY better choices in this city that are rated the same but are much cleaner, nicer, and better maintained...sorry but unless you wanted a hostel-type experience with a FAN room (which should be around $5 or less) then Id give this a miss...
Hanis F. Families with older children Singapore, June 16, 2014
Very basic hotel

Location,
5.7
Hotel room was very basic. Seemed dirty and reeked of cigarette smoke but location was very convenient. It was a 10-15 walk to central market and a 10 min walk to the Royal Palace. Right next to the river. There were coffee and tea facilities but no basic amenities such as soap. The building and the room looked very worn out. There was also some construction going on next door - very noisy! We couldn't sleep in at all. For Muslims, there are many halal eateries nearby and there is a market at the doorstep of the hotel where you can buy fruits.
Neraine A. Couples Philippines, March 26, 2014
Rundown but nice

Staff Location
6.7
Was a bit let down when we first saw the room, but for the price we paid I guess we should have spent more. Things started to turn around once we spoke to with the owner. He is very nice to talk to and will not hesitate to provide help in any way. All in all we still enjoyed our and stay but will probably go somewhere else next time we are in PP
Oliver M. Couples Croatia, March 5, 2014
-

-
6.7
Soo T. Couples Ireland, February 25, 2014
Friendly staff

location, friendly staff and good air-condition.
6.7
We stayed only 1 nite. The room was clean with a king size bed and a step-up rather small bathroom. Would be good if there's a shelf to put the toiletries. The rooms are on the 2nd floor, rather steep steps -no lift. The ground floor is a pub/restaurant. Found out that the foreign owner stayed on the ground floor at the back. Helpful and friendly people. Nearby is the local market where you can get anything and the riverside where all the tourist restaurants are.
Natalie H. Couples United Kingdom, January 28, 2014
Basic accommodation with fab service and friendly

staff service friendliness
7.7
While the accommodation is basic, it's secure and in a great location. The room was clean and did the job. We arrived really late into Cambodia and went straight to this hotel, we were greeted by the owner. Everybody was really weloming, it was a quick stop over we left at 8am but our brief stay was great.
Travis M. Couples Australia, November 22, 2013
Nice staff

Staff, location
6.3
The staff here are very nice and accommodating but the hotel is not of a great standard. Our first night was fine in a room with no window. We were 'upgraded' the next night to the balcony room which was a downgrade in my eyes. Loud music and shouting could be heard all night from the surrounding bars and the bright lights shone through the wafer-thin curtains. It's in a handy location but probably wouldn't stay again.
Emylia A. Groups Malaysia, September 24, 2013
Lovely stay

Design,Location,Friendly and helpful staff/owner
7
we actually stayed here for the rest of our trip for 5 days! the room feels like home.. so relax.. the tv reception was nice. the aircond functioned well,we also have the balcony on the roof top all for ourselves

Book now!

Sale ends soon!

The Local Riverside Phnom PenhThe Local Riverside Phnom Penh - LoungeThe Local Riverside Phnom Penh - Penthouse showerThe Local Riverside Phnom Penh - Deluxe Double BathroomThe Local Riverside Phnom Penh - Hand basinThe Local Riverside Phnom Penh - View from Balcony RoomThe Local Riverside Phnom Penh - BarThe Local Riverside Phnom Penh - Pub/LoungeThe Local Riverside Phnom Penh - EntranceThe Local Riverside Phnom Penh - City viewThe Local Riverside Phnom Penh - RestaurantThe Local Riverside Phnom Penh - RestaurantThe Local Riverside Phnom Penh - Khmer BBQThe Local Riverside Phnom Penh - Open Show KitchenThe Local Riverside Phnom Penh - Live cooking


AS-AGWEB-3A06