Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

The Local Riverside

no.8, Street 144, Riverside, Doun Penh, Phnom Penh, Cambodia

Recent customer reviews

Filter by Traveler Type

 

Very good

7.2

based on
145 reviews

107 reviews in English

Value for Money
7.1
Location
8.7
Staff Performance
7.4
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
6.5
Room Comfort/Standard
7.2
Food/Dining
6.4
All reviews (145)
Sort by:
Farah N. Solo travelers Malaysia, December 23, 2015
Good location, helpful staff

Location, price, nice staff
6.7
I chose The Local because of the location. It was right on the touristy riverside (not directly opposite the river, but it was the third building on the street from the riverfront), is a walking distance to the Royal Palace, Silver Pagoda, National Museum (5-minute walk), and a walking distance to the night market (15-minute walk). This is a small hotel (4 rooms in total) run by a friendly guy named Yat. For the price that I paid (balcony room), I didn't expect much going in. The size of the room was fine, the bathroom, although rather small, has a bathtub which I liked. There was no breakfast included, but I never had an issue finding food as the hotel was located among restaurants, bars, and supermarkets. The room and the bathroom were not very clean, the bathtub is old and there was some (perhaps irremovable) stain on the it and on the sink, however, this didn't bother me so much. BUT, on my second morning, I woke up to two cockroaches and a baby centipede having a night safari in the bathtub. I found another cockroach the following morning. The "rain shower" didn't work so well as it was placed rather close to the wall, and directly above the slope on the bathtub so I couldn't really stand properly.
Report this review
Jihan M. Couples Philippines, November 10, 2015
Stay only for the location

Location, nice staff
7
We stayed at the penthouse. The flight of stairs are steep and it looked dangerous. It may not have been a problem if they had an elevator. I won't recommend this hotel if you don't exercise. Climbing to the rooms can be exhausting. The rooms are also a bit dusty. If you have allergic rhinitis like me, I recommend you bring anti-histamine. I had a good night sleep once I took one. One thing that bothered me the most though was their bathroom! It rained the night we stayed there, then the next morning when we checked, all our toiletries were soaked from the rain. There was probably a leak or something on ceiling. It was disappointing. I feel bad for the staff. They were all nice.
Report this review
Timothy H. Solo travelers United States of America, November 9, 2015
Great place

The staff the location. Atmosphere
9.3
I had a very enjoyable experience
Report this review
Pookie H. Couples Thailand, September 19, 2015
good

clean,staff,location
6
Good
Report this review
Wilson C. Groups Malaysia, September 1, 2015
Phnom Penh Trip

Location only
5
The stay here is bad as there is a construction still ongoing just beside the hotel. There are no basic toiletries provided and the room is very dark and dirty. The hotel gate will close at 11pm and I was lucky to go back on time or else I will need to stay outside. However, the staff there is friendly and the wifi is acceptable.
Report this review
Nithiyaraja S. Business travelers Malaysia, August 27, 2015
Horrible place
3
It was a horrible experience. The room looked more like a barn then a room. The toilet was dirty, the stairway to the room floor was extremely dangerous.
Report this review
Victoria B. Families with young children Australia, August 10, 2015
Warm welcome for mum & toddler on a budget!

Lovely staff, very friendly with children, great central location
8.3
My 15 month toddler and I arrived at The Local after a 5 hour bus trip and the staff were genuinely warm and welcoming. They took the baby from my arms and played with her, heated up a bottle of milk, took us to drop off our laundry, and fulfilled my request for a small mattress on the floor. The location is great if you want to be on the river as it's located on a sidestreet just around the corner from the riverfront bars and restaurants. We didnt eat in their grill downstairs as it was a bit pricey. There are only 4 rooms in the hotel and our one was cute and shabby but quite small and probably the worst mattress I've had so far in Cambodia - the springs were literally poking through. But for $18 a night, with fridge, kettle, bath tub for the baby to splash in, tv and air con, plus the added bonus of very nice staff (this really makes a difference when traveling alone with kids) I'd definitely recommend The Local Riverside. Thanks!
Report this review
Jonny W. Solo travelers United Kingdom, July 25, 2015
Good guest house

Location, room facilities and staff
7
Good guesthouse but badly let down by the slow building work next door. It wasn't noisy but just creates loads of dust everywhere, especially on the balcony to the double room. It's not the hotels fault but I would not stay here until the building work is finished next door, or at least screened off better.
Report this review
Glen R. Solo travelers New Zealand, May 31, 2015
Local Riverside Great location and Staff

Location, Staff and the Penthouse is spacious
8.3
The tariff was much reduced for the Penthouse due to the much taller building being built next door - this meant the great looking balcony could not be used from 7am to 5pm or so. Even with the new building having side skirting the debris showered down onto the balcony. Obviously there is noise associated with this activity and when you are in the shower etc which are external to the room and has a light roof construction you naturally wince when a piece off debris strikes it with a boom as frequently happens. Apart from that which is not the hotels fault the room was spacious, the staff were accommodating with pretty reasonable english. Access to the Riverside and other attractions in Phnom Penh is easy. Make sure you hand your key in at reception and ask for a clean as the dust from the debris does make it into the room as you need to go to the "annex" to use the shower etc.
Report this review
Tanya H. Families with older children Australia, April 9, 2015
Great location

Staff was lovely, location was great.
7.3
It was good for value and location. We were in penthouse. But building works were happening next door so not so safe on balcony. Overall was comfortable and location was awesome.
Report this review
1 - 10 of 107 reviews Next page
The Local Riverside Phnom Penh - RestaurantThe Local Riverside Phnom Penh - Pub/LoungeThe Local Riverside Phnom Penh - EntranceThe Local Riverside Phnom Penh - City viewThe Local Riverside Phnom Penh - RestaurantThe Local Riverside Phnom Penh - RestaurantThe Local Riverside Phnom Penh - Khmer BBQThe Local Riverside Phnom Penh - Open Show KitchenThe Local Riverside Phnom Penh - Live cookingThe Local Riverside Phnom Penh - RestaurantThe Local Riverside Phnom Penh - Food and BeveragesThe Local Riverside Phnom Penh - RestaurantThe Local Riverside Phnom Penh - LoungeThe Local Riverside Phnom Penh - Entrance through the Restaurant Dot GrillThe Local Riverside Phnom Penh - Coffee Shop/CafeThe Local Riverside Phnom Penh - RestaurantThe Local Riverside Phnom Penh - BathroomThe Local Riverside Phnom Penh - Guest RoomThe Local Riverside Phnom Penh - Guest RoomThe Local Riverside Phnom Penh - Guest RoomThe Local Riverside Phnom Penh - Guest RoomThe Local Riverside Phnom Penh - Guest Room


Agoda.com is part of The Priceline Group, the world leader in online travel & related services.

AS-AGWEB-3B05