Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

The Local Riverside

no.8, Street 144, Riverside, Riverfront, Phnom Penh, Cambodia (Show on map)

Book now!

The Local Riverside Phnom Penh - Lounge The Local Riverside Phnom Penh - Penthouse shower The Local Riverside Phnom Penh - Deluxe Double Bathroom The Local Riverside Phnom Penh - Hand basin The Local Riverside Phnom Penh - View from Balcony Room The Local Riverside Phnom Penh - Bar The Local Riverside Phnom Penh - Pub/Lounge The Local Riverside Phnom Penh - Entrance The Local Riverside Phnom Penh - City view The Local Riverside Phnom Penh - Restaurant The Local Riverside Phnom Penh - Restaurant The Local Riverside Phnom Penh - Khmer BBQ The Local Riverside Phnom Penh - Open Show Kitchen The Local Riverside Phnom Penh - Live cooking The Local Riverside Phnom Penh - Restaurant The Local Riverside Phnom Penh - Food and Beverages
The Local Riverside Phnom Penh - Restaurant The Local Riverside Phnom Penh - Lounge The Local Riverside Phnom Penh - Entrance through the Restaurant Dot Grill The Local Riverside Phnom Penh - Coffee Shop/Cafe The Local Riverside Phnom Penh - Bathroom, Penthouse The Local Riverside Phnom Penh - Deluxe Double
Area: Riverfront Number of Rooms: 4
Free Wi-Fi

Recent customer reviews

Filter by Traveler Type

 

Good

7.3

from 132 reviews

Value for Money
7.2
Location
8.7
Staff Performance
7.3
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
6.7
Room Comfort/Standard
7.3
Food/Dining
6.5
All reviews (132)
Sort by:
Glen R. Solo travelers New Zealand, May 31, 2015
Local Riverside Great location and Staff

Location, Staff and the Penthouse is spacious
8.3
The tariff was much reduced for the Penthouse due to the much taller building being built next door - this meant the great looking balcony could not be used from 7am to 5pm or so. Even with the new building having side skirting the debris showered down onto the balcony. Obviously there is noise associated with this activity and when you are in the shower etc which are external to the room and has a light roof construction you naturally wince when a piece off debris strikes it with a boom as frequently happens. Apart from that which is not the hotels fault the room was spacious, the staff were accommodating with pretty reasonable english. Access to the Riverside and other attractions in Phnom Penh is easy. Make sure you hand your key in at reception and ask for a clean as the dust from the debris does make it into the room as you need to go to the "annex" to use the shower etc.
Report this review
Tanya H. Families with older children Australia, April 9, 2015
Great location

Staff was lovely, location was great.
7.3
It was good for value and location. We were in penthouse. But building works were happening next door so not so safe on balcony. Overall was comfortable and location was awesome.
Report this review
Alexander S. Solo travelers Germany, March 9, 2015
Great stay at the centre

location, food, room
10
Great stay at riverfront. Clean rooms at great rate, helpful staff. Will be back!
Report this review
Rowhan G. Couples United Kingdom, February 16, 2015
Dungeon room

Good location on river front, one nice hotel employee nice banana split
5
Firstly, our tuk tuk couldn't find the hotel, as if wasn't well signposted. We checked in and were brought to a room on the second floor, which had no window or natural light at all! The air was stale from no light/ breeze and the room was really dirty. We asked to see a different room but they said we couldn't as the others were full - although we didn't see any other guests for the duration of our stay! They promised to clean it for us whilst we waited in the restuarant. We went and checked upstairs about 15mins later and nothing had even changed. It was finally cleaned after we complained again, but they did a poor job. We later discovered the 'double' bed was actually 2 singles pushed together which kept coming apart. The next day we asked for fresh towels, bed and a clean room - when we came back we had new towels but they hadn't even made the bed or put the bin out. If it wasn't for us having to pay upfront with the booking we would have gone elsewhere pronto, but unfortunately we were stuck there for the duration of our stay. Also, the bathroom was not completely closed off - it was like a public toilet cubicle in the sense that the walls of it did not reach the ceiling. The only thing that made this place even ok was one of the nice workers who was sweet to us. Would not recommend it though!!
Report this review
Carrie G. Couples Australia, January 31, 2015
Dodgy plumbing

Location location location
7.3
Report this review
Amber G. Couples United Kingdom, January 19, 2015
Basic but OK

Location, Resturant and Staff
6.3
The room was basic but ok, the bathroom was a bit dirty had a funny smell ehich carried throughout the room as they were literally together. Says free wifi but did not work for our whole stay in Local Riverside
Report this review
Chris A. Couples United Kingdom, December 13, 2014
It's fine for a night

Staff. Location. Price.
7.3
As mentioned the price, location and staff were great. However, the hotel is currently next to building works so is very noisy, from around 7am to 5-6pm. Also, because of this the room smells very dusty and damp. I'm sure once the building work has been done the place would be pretty nice. Another thing worth mentioning is there was no windows and the toilet/shower is located in the room behind a glass door so not much privacy!
Report this review
John G. Solo travelers United Kingdom, November 23, 2014
not good, smelly

good location by riverside,heart of tourist area
4.3
Pokey room,no windows,smelt very stale, room dirty , hairs and dust , above restaurant so corridors always smelt strongly of cooking, tv didn't work , staff not willing to change or help
Report this review
Harley B. Solo travelers United States of America, August 18, 2014
Nice owner, but there are better options
4.3
From the start it was clear that things at this place were not going to go well...in front of the place there was a huge pile of construction materials and the building next door was being totally demolished--and this was 1 meter away!! Found the room a bit dingy, peeling paint and not well maintained...but the real issue was that the AC didn't work--even for 1-2 hours on the coolest setting (16C) the output was not even cool, let alone cold...owner suggested i put on the ceiling fan "to help" but that was no benefit....so 1 sleepless night later i checked out...there are MANY better choices in this city that are rated the same but are much cleaner, nicer, and better maintained...sorry but unless you wanted a hostel-type experience with a FAN room (which should be around $5 or less) then Id give this a miss...
Report this review
Hanis F. Families with older children Singapore, June 16, 2014
Very basic hotel

Location,
5.7
Hotel room was very basic. Seemed dirty and reeked of cigarette smoke but location was very convenient. It was a 10-15 walk to central market and a 10 min walk to the Royal Palace. Right next to the river. There were coffee and tea facilities but no basic amenities such as soap. The building and the room looked very worn out. There was also some construction going on next door - very noisy! We couldn't sleep in at all. For Muslims, there are many halal eateries nearby and there is a market at the doorstep of the hotel where you can buy fruits.
Report this review

Book now!

Sale ends soon!

The Local Riverside Phnom Penh - RestaurantThe Local Riverside Phnom Penh - LoungeThe Local Riverside Phnom Penh - Penthouse showerThe Local Riverside Phnom Penh - Deluxe Double BathroomThe Local Riverside Phnom Penh - Hand basinThe Local Riverside Phnom Penh - View from Balcony RoomThe Local Riverside Phnom Penh - BarThe Local Riverside Phnom Penh - Pub/LoungeThe Local Riverside Phnom Penh - EntranceThe Local Riverside Phnom Penh - City viewThe Local Riverside Phnom Penh - RestaurantThe Local Riverside Phnom Penh - RestaurantThe Local Riverside Phnom Penh - Khmer BBQThe Local Riverside Phnom Penh - Open Show KitchenThe Local Riverside Phnom Penh - Live cookingThe Local Riverside Phnom Penh - RestaurantThe Local Riverside Phnom Penh - Food and BeveragesThe Local Riverside Phnom Penh - RestaurantThe Local Riverside Phnom Penh - LoungeThe Local Riverside Phnom Penh - Entrance through the Restaurant Dot GrillThe Local Riverside Phnom Penh - Coffee Shop/CafeThe Local Riverside Phnom Penh - Bathroom, PenthouseThe Local Riverside Phnom Penh - Deluxe Double


Agoda.com is part of The Priceline Group, the world leader in online travel & related services.

AS-AGWEB-3A06