or

Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

The Local Riverside

no.8, Street 144, Riverside, Riverfront, Phnom Penh, Cambodia (Show on map)

Book now!

The Local Riverside Phnom Penh - Lounge The Local Riverside Phnom Penh - Penthouse shower The Local Riverside Phnom Penh - Deluxe Double Bathroom The Local Riverside Phnom Penh - Hand basin The Local Riverside Phnom Penh - View from Balcony Room The Local Riverside Phnom Penh - Bar The Local Riverside Phnom Penh - Pub/Lounge The Local Riverside Phnom Penh - Entrance The Local Riverside Phnom Penh - City view The Local Riverside Phnom Penh - Restaurant The Local Riverside Phnom Penh - Restaurant The Local Riverside Phnom Penh - Khmer BBQ The Local Riverside Phnom Penh - Open Show Kitchen The Local Riverside Phnom Penh - Live cooking The Local Riverside Phnom Penh - Restaurant The Local Riverside Phnom Penh - Food and Beverages
The Local Riverside Phnom Penh - Restaurant
Area: Riverfront Number of Rooms: 4
Free Wi-Fi

Recent customer reviews

Filter by Traveler Type

 

Good

7.3

based on
123 reviews

Value for Money
7.2
Location
8.7
Staff Performance
7.3
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
6.7
Room Comfort/Standard
7.4
Food/Dining
6.5
All reviews (123)
Sort by:
Rowhan G. Couples United Kingdom, February 16, 2015
Dungeon room

Good location on river front, one nice hotel employee nice banana split
5
Firstly, our tuk tuk couldn't find the hotel, as if wasn't well signposted. We checked in and were brought to a room on the second floor, which had no window or natural light at all! The air was stale from no light/ breeze and the room was really dirty. We asked to see a different room but they said we couldn't as the others were full - although we didn't see any other guests for the duration of our stay! They promised to clean it for us whilst we waited in the restuarant. We went and checked upstairs about 15mins later and nothing had even changed. It was finally cleaned after we complained again, but they did a poor job. We later discovered the 'double' bed was actually 2 singles pushed together which kept coming apart. The next day we asked for fresh towels, bed and a clean room - when we came back we had new towels but they hadn't even made the bed or put the bin out. If it wasn't for us having to pay upfront with the booking we would have gone elsewhere pronto, but unfortunately we were stuck there for the duration of our stay. Also, the bathroom was not completely closed off - it was like a public toilet cubicle in the sense that the walls of it did not reach the ceiling. The only thing that made this place even ok was one of the nice workers who was sweet to us. Would not recommend it though!!
Carrie G. Couples Australia, January 31, 2015
Dodgy plumbing

Location location location
7.3
Amber G. Couples United Kingdom, January 19, 2015
Basic but OK

Location, Resturant and Staff
6.3
The room was basic but ok, the bathroom was a bit dirty had a funny smell ehich carried throughout the room as they were literally together. Says free wifi but did not work for our whole stay in Local Riverside
Chris A. Couples United Kingdom, December 13, 2014
It's fine for a night

Staff. Location. Price.
7.3
As mentioned the price, location and staff were great. However, the hotel is currently next to building works so is very noisy, from around 7am to 5-6pm. Also, because of this the room smells very dusty and damp. I'm sure once the building work has been done the place would be pretty nice. Another thing worth mentioning is there was no windows and the toilet/shower is located in the room behind a glass door so not much privacy!
John G. Solo travelers United Kingdom, November 23, 2014
not good, smelly

good location by riverside,heart of tourist area
4.3
Pokey room,no windows,smelt very stale, room dirty , hairs and dust , above restaurant so corridors always smelt strongly of cooking, tv didn't work , staff not willing to change or help
Harley B. Solo travelers United States of America, August 18, 2014
Nice owner, but there are better options
4.3
From the start it was clear that things at this place were not going to go well...in front of the place there was a huge pile of construction materials and the building next door was being totally demolished--and this was 1 meter away!! Found the room a bit dingy, peeling paint and not well maintained...but the real issue was that the AC didn't work--even for 1-2 hours on the coolest setting (16C) the output was not even cool, let alone cold...owner suggested i put on the ceiling fan "to help" but that was no benefit....so 1 sleepless night later i checked out...there are MANY better choices in this city that are rated the same but are much cleaner, nicer, and better maintained...sorry but unless you wanted a hostel-type experience with a FAN room (which should be around $5 or less) then Id give this a miss...
Hanis F. Families with older children Singapore, June 16, 2014
Very basic hotel

Location,
5.7
Hotel room was very basic. Seemed dirty and reeked of cigarette smoke but location was very convenient. It was a 10-15 walk to central market and a 10 min walk to the Royal Palace. Right next to the river. There were coffee and tea facilities but no basic amenities such as soap. The building and the room looked very worn out. There was also some construction going on next door - very noisy! We couldn't sleep in at all. For Muslims, there are many halal eateries nearby and there is a market at the doorstep of the hotel where you can buy fruits.
Neraine A. Couples Philippines, March 26, 2014
Rundown but nice

Staff Location
6.7
Was a bit let down when we first saw the room, but for the price we paid I guess we should have spent more. Things started to turn around once we spoke to with the owner. He is very nice to talk to and will not hesitate to provide help in any way. All in all we still enjoyed our and stay but will probably go somewhere else next time we are in PP
Oliver M. Couples Croatia, March 5, 2014
-

-
6.7
Soo T. Couples Ireland, February 25, 2014
Friendly staff

location, friendly staff and good air-condition.
6.7
We stayed only 1 nite. The room was clean with a king size bed and a step-up rather small bathroom. Would be good if there's a shelf to put the toiletries. The rooms are on the 2nd floor, rather steep steps -no lift. The ground floor is a pub/restaurant. Found out that the foreign owner stayed on the ground floor at the back. Helpful and friendly people. Nearby is the local market where you can get anything and the riverside where all the tourist restaurants are.

Book now!

Sale ends soon!

The Local Riverside Phnom PenhThe Local Riverside Phnom Penh - LoungeThe Local Riverside Phnom Penh - Penthouse showerThe Local Riverside Phnom Penh - Deluxe Double BathroomThe Local Riverside Phnom Penh - Hand basinThe Local Riverside Phnom Penh - View from Balcony RoomThe Local Riverside Phnom Penh - BarThe Local Riverside Phnom Penh - Pub/LoungeThe Local Riverside Phnom Penh - EntranceThe Local Riverside Phnom Penh - City viewThe Local Riverside Phnom Penh - RestaurantThe Local Riverside Phnom Penh - RestaurantThe Local Riverside Phnom Penh - Khmer BBQThe Local Riverside Phnom Penh - Open Show KitchenThe Local Riverside Phnom Penh - Live cookingThe Local Riverside Phnom Penh - RestaurantThe Local Riverside Phnom Penh - Food and BeveragesThe Local Riverside Phnom Penh - Restaurant


AS-AGWEB-3B03