My Account (sign in)

Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

The Local Riverside

no.8, Street 144, Riverside, Riverfront, Phnom Penh, Cambodia (Show on map)

Book now!

The Local Riverside Phnom Penh - Hotel Interior The Local Riverside Phnom Penh - Superior balcony room The Local Riverside Phnom Penh - Guest Room The Local Riverside Phnom Penh - Superior balcony room The Local Riverside Phnom Penh - Guest Room The Local Riverside Phnom Penh - Guest Room The Local Riverside Phnom Penh - Guest Room The Local Riverside Phnom Penh - Penthouse shower The Local Riverside Phnom Penh - Deluxe Double Bathroom The Local Riverside Phnom Penh - Penthouse The Local Riverside Phnom Penh - Two king size beds The Local Riverside Phnom Penh - Hand basin The Local Riverside Phnom Penh - Public bathroom The Local Riverside Phnom Penh - Balcony/Terrace The Local Riverside Phnom Penh - Aussie Burger The Local Riverside Phnom Penh - Summer Roll
The Local Riverside Phnom Penh - Bar The Local Riverside Phnom Penh - Restaurant
Hotel Area: Riverfront Number of Rooms: 4
Free Wi-Fi

Recent customer reviews

Filter by Traveler Type

 

Good

7.5

based on
106 reviews

Value for Money
7.3
Location
8.7
Staff Performance
7.4
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
7.0
Room Comfort/Standard
7.7
Food/Dining
6.6
All reviews (106)
Sort by:
Oliver M. Couples Croatia, March 5, 2014
-

-
6.7
Soo T. Couples Ireland, February 25, 2014
Friendly staff

location, friendly staff and good air-condition.
6.7
We stayed only 1 nite. The room was clean with a king size bed and a step-up rather small bathroom. Would be good if there's a shelf to put the toiletries. The rooms are on the 2nd floor, rather steep steps -no lift. The ground floor is a pub/restaurant. Found out that the foreign owner stayed on the ground floor at the back. Helpful and friendly people. Nearby is the local market where you can get anything and the riverside where all the tourist restaurants are.
Natalie H. Couples United Kingdom, January 28, 2014
Basic accommodation with fab service and friendly

staff service friendliness
7.7
While the accommodation is basic, it's secure and in a great location. The room was clean and did the job. We arrived really late into Cambodia and went straight to this hotel, we were greeted by the owner. Everybody was really weloming, it was a quick stop over we left at 8am but our brief stay was great.
Travis M. Couples Australia, November 22, 2013
Nice staff

Staff, location
6.3
The staff here are very nice and accommodating but the hotel is not of a great standard. Our first night was fine in a room with no window. We were 'upgraded' the next night to the balcony room which was a downgrade in my eyes. Loud music and shouting could be heard all night from the surrounding bars and the bright lights shone through the wafer-thin curtains. It's in a handy location but probably wouldn't stay again.
Emylia A. Groups Malaysia, September 24, 2013
Lovely stay

Design,Location,Friendly and helpful staff/owner
7
we actually stayed here for the rest of our trip for 5 days! the room feels like home.. so relax.. the tv reception was nice. the aircond functioned well,we also have the balcony on the roof top all for ourselves
Yew C. Solo travelers Malaysia, September 13, 2013
great location

location, shopping and comfortable room
8.7
very central location and within walking distance to many local tourist attractions such as royal palace and riverside. the hotel can arrange tuk tuk for your visit to s-21 and killing field as well as russian market for USD15. we added independent monument, central market and wat pho for another USD5 since our day out ended earlier than expected. however, we only got to know these additional destinations cost extra as we thought USD15 was for whole day within the city. anyway, we are happy with the service so that doesn't matter. room has wifi at reasonable speed. our room doesn't have a window so there was no natural sunlight. high ceiling and strong hot shower with bath tub. great quality shampoo and shower gel provided as well
David B. Solo travelers United States of America, August 23, 2013
The room was comfortable though not well desined,

price, location, language
5.7
Had some problems with unwanted disturbance. Otherwise quiet
Jessica R. Couples United Kingdom, August 20, 2013
Mixed place is cambodia

Good location, helpful staff and comfy room
7.7
Close to local restaurants on the riverside, not much else to do. We spent our time visiting the local sights, even though it was rather sad it was good to see. The room is comfy although you can hear the noise from the other rooms, not great when the neighbour is retching! Ew! Having said that great value for money would only stay a couple nights as not much to do. Would go back for a short stay.
Fionn T. Couples United Kingdom, August 18, 2013
Fantastic, central, customer focused hotel!

Exemplary customer service, wonderful staff, and a room to die for!
10
My stay at The Local was simply fantastic, and I couldn't recommend the place more. Under new management since June 2013, Mikah and Tom are pulling out all the shots to make this a one-stop shop for all your needs in Phnom Penh. Right in the centre of the riverside, this hotel is excellently located yet somehow still manages to be in a quiet spot - perfect for nursing your jet-lag! Tom and Mikah were excellent hosts and did everything to make our stay more comfortable. When they heard that my girlfriend and I hadn't seen each other for months they upgraded our room to the penthouse suite for no extra charge, giving us loads of extra room and even a rooftop terrace to ourselves. The penthouse was gorgeous, very very clean, safe and secure and was completely private - in a word, it was perfect. The Local is in the heart of the riverside, which means almost all the main attractions are either walking distance, or 5 mins by tuk tuk. There are loads of great bars and restaurants nearby, with the owners making some good recommendations during our stay. There's even a Khmer market at the end of the road if you want an authentic Cambodian breakfast of your own! We had a great time at the local and also enjoyed supping cold ones with Tom and Mikah trading stories and hanging out. This is a great hotel and I can't wait to stay again. Thanks for everything guys!!
Molly E. Solo travelers Canada, August 7, 2013
A good base for visiting the city

Friendly, Clean, Great Location
9.3
This is just a small 4 room guesthouse that has recently changed ownership and in the process of upgrades. With that said my room though it had no window was very nicely decorated with all the amenities I could want. Bathroom was clean, on the new side and functional. The staff was very friendly and helped me with arranging tuk tuk drivers and bus tickets. The place is very safe and secure and you can tell the owners take pride in what they offer.

Book now!

Sale ends soon!

The Local Riverside Phnom PenhThe Local Riverside Phnom Penh - Hotel InteriorThe Local Riverside Phnom Penh - Superior balcony roomThe Local Riverside Phnom Penh - Guest RoomThe Local Riverside Phnom Penh - Superior balcony roomThe Local Riverside Phnom Penh - Guest RoomThe Local Riverside Phnom Penh - Guest RoomThe Local Riverside Phnom Penh - Guest RoomThe Local Riverside Phnom Penh - Penthouse showerThe Local Riverside Phnom Penh - Deluxe Double BathroomThe Local Riverside Phnom Penh - PenthouseThe Local Riverside Phnom Penh - Two king size bedsThe Local Riverside Phnom Penh - Hand basinThe Local Riverside Phnom Penh - Public bathroomThe Local Riverside Phnom Penh - Balcony/TerraceThe Local Riverside Phnom Penh - Aussie BurgerThe Local Riverside Phnom Penh - Summer RollThe Local Riverside Phnom Penh - BarThe Local Riverside Phnom Penh - Restaurant


AS-AGWEB-3C01