or

Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

The Malla Hotel

GPO Box 787, Lekhnath Marg, Thamel, Kathmandu, Nepal (Show on map)

Book now!

The Malla Hotel Kathmandu - Interior The Malla Hotel Kathmandu - Deluxe Room The Malla Hotel Kathmandu - Deluxe Room The Malla Hotel Kathmandu - Bathroom The Malla Hotel Kathmandu - Reception The Malla Hotel Kathmandu - Interior The Malla Hotel Kathmandu - Interior The Malla Hotel Kathmandu - Interior The Malla Hotel Kathmandu - Meeting Room The Malla Hotel Kathmandu - Swimming Pool The Malla Hotel Kathmandu - Swimming Pool The Malla Hotel Kathmandu - Garden The Malla Hotel Kathmandu - Garden The Malla Hotel Kathmandu - Exterior The Malla Hotel Kathmandu - Exterior The Malla Hotel Kathmandu - Exterior
The Malla Hotel Kathmandu - Exterior The Malla Hotel Kathmandu - Exterior The Malla Hotel Kathmandu - Exterior The Malla Hotel Kathmandu - Exterior The Malla Hotel Kathmandu - Hotel Exterior The Malla Hotel Kathmandu - Swimming Pool The Malla Hotel Kathmandu - Garden The Malla Hotel Kathmandu - Guest Room The Malla Hotel Kathmandu - Guest Room
Area: Thamel Number of Rooms: 125

Recent customer reviews

Filter by Traveler Type

 

Pleasant

6.3

based on
12 reviews

Value for Money
4.8
Location
8.2
Staff Performance
6.3
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
6.0
Room Comfort/Standard
6.3
Food/Dining
6.0
All reviews (12)
Sort by:
Friedrich H. Couples Germany, October 28, 2013
For Nepal, it's a 5* hotel. In Europe, maybe 2-3*.

Clean and safe (for Nepal terms).
6
Ok. Value for money not good, but there's little choice in Kathmandu. Either backpacker or you pay 200 US for a night. Breakfast buffet ok, but not great. Strange that WiFi is not included in room rate (2 US per hour extra charge).
George B. Business travelers United Kingdom, October 25, 2013
A quiet and friendly hotel

Attentive staff, Beautiful garden, good internet
7.7
My memory of this hotel is sitting in its cool and quite garden and being able to work on my laptop in the fresh air owing to its good wifi. The garden is full of birds and I had an owl outside my window every morning. The staff are very attentive especially the doormen, bellmen and receptionists.
John E. Solo travelers United States of America, February 22, 2013
great staff, beautiful garden

Great staff, eager to please; beautiful garden, excellent, reasonably-priced spa
9.7
This was my second visit to the Malla Hotel. I liked it so much the first time; I was eager to return. The staff is the best feature. They are so eager to please, making the stay so pleasant. The rooms facing the garden offer a beautiful view of a well-kept lawn with flowers in bloom. Electrical blackouts are a reality of Kathmandu, and the hotel coped even better this visit, for their generator prevented the loss of electricity. Another great feature is the spa; for steam baths, saunas, and massages are reasonably-priced. My room this time needed a bit of refurbishing. A paint job and attention to the care of the furniture would be nice, but this is a minor point. When in Kathmandu, the location (near Thamel), the excellent staff, and the good food and spa make the Malla a great choice.
Gunnar H. Couples Norway, December 3, 2012
lovely hotel

Nice garden, central location, close to Thamel, shopping areas and good restaurants
8.7
We stayed at Malla for 9 days, service ok, breakfast good. WiFi connection poor to rooms, ok in lobby area. Family friendly, good swimming pool. restaurants ordinary. A very good, honest jewel dealer in the lobby area. Malla has an ambience rarely found in more modern hotels. Will certaily stay there at next visit
Jack M. Couples United States of America, October 20, 2012
dated hotel needs update,paint carpet ect

good staff, nice garden
5.3
this used to be good hotel, now only one restaurant previously 4 .restaurant served only buffey style with some kitchen equipment nonfunctional{ tandoor oven] Ihave been to Katmandu 14times in the past 30 years .
Hotel Feature Tip: would not stay there again price way to high for what you get. there are much better hotels for the money in katmandu
Anil T. Business travelers India, August 24, 2012
Good location

Location is convenient
3.3
I was made to feel they were doing me a favour by giving me a room. Check-in took 25 minutes. The room was not 4-5 star variety at all. No kettle or crockery. No drinking water but they said they provide a bottle in the room. 20 minutes later the housekeeping person got a tampered cap bottle obviously refilled with tap water. Made a bit of noise to get a sealed bottle. They gave me one but then the next day they said it was only for the 1st check-in day. The AC crashed. Insisted it was working fine as the fan was working but I knew the compressor wasnt. Two hours later they changed my room.I was to extend my stay but was glad to get out of there to another hotel.
Avikal A. Families with young children India, August 18, 2012
Shame on name of 5 star property

Great location, but everything is avoidable
4
The Hotel is at great location right on start of Thamel, but it is a real shame, on name of 5 star tag. Nothing either the rooms, AC, bathrooms, service, staff attitude, is good and 5 star. In Dubai this would be a 2 star property. Avoidable.
Hotel Feature Tip: better avoid this hotel
Tan K. Solo travelers Malaysia, June 5, 2012
i really had a nice stay

warm hospitality
8.7
the hotel is good despite of the electrical power failure for a few times but i know this has nothing to do with the management but the government instead
Klaus J. Business travelers Austria, October 26, 2013
Zentrale Lage, jedoch sehr ruig gelegen

Lage / Garten / Personal
7.3
Personal sehr hilfreich in allen Belangen, Schöner Garten, Zentrale Lage.
Yuzo Y. Business travelers Japan, January 27, 2013
タメル地区の北端にあって静かなホテル

タメル中心部に近く、大きな庭園があって比較的静か、ゆったりとした大型ホテル
4
タメル地区へのアクセスが便利でありながら、とても静かでゆったりとしたホテルです。ただし、サービスと部屋や施設のグレード感からすると、やや値段が高すぎるのではないかという印象があります。レストランの食事も少し割高で、カトマンズでは無料のケースが多いWIFIも有料です。ゆったりとした滞在を好まれる方にはおすすめですが、コストパフォーマンスという点では少し劣ります。

Book now!

Sale ends soon!

The Malla Hotel Kathmandu - HotelExteriorThe Malla Hotel Kathmandu - InteriorThe Malla Hotel Kathmandu - Deluxe Room The Malla Hotel Kathmandu - Deluxe Room The Malla Hotel Kathmandu - BathroomThe Malla Hotel Kathmandu - ReceptionThe Malla Hotel Kathmandu - InteriorThe Malla Hotel Kathmandu - InteriorThe Malla Hotel Kathmandu - InteriorThe Malla Hotel Kathmandu - Meeting RoomThe Malla Hotel Kathmandu - Swimming PoolThe Malla Hotel Kathmandu - Swimming PoolThe Malla Hotel Kathmandu - GardenThe Malla Hotel Kathmandu - GardenThe Malla Hotel Kathmandu - ExteriorThe Malla Hotel Kathmandu - ExteriorThe Malla Hotel Kathmandu - ExteriorThe Malla Hotel Kathmandu - ExteriorThe Malla Hotel Kathmandu - ExteriorThe Malla Hotel Kathmandu - ExteriorThe Malla Hotel Kathmandu - ExteriorThe Malla Hotel Kathmandu - Hotel ExteriorThe Malla Hotel Kathmandu - Swimming PoolThe Malla Hotel Kathmandu - GardenThe Malla Hotel Kathmandu - Guest RoomThe Malla Hotel Kathmandu - Guest Room


AS-AGWEB-3B04