Back to hotel info

Excellent 8.1
Based on 626 reviews

Recent customer comments

Filter by traveler type
Excellent



based on 626 reviews
  • Cleanliness 8.4
  • Facilities 8.0
  • Location 7.5
  • Room Comfort/Standard 8.6
  • Service 8.4
  • Value for money 8.3
  • Food/Dining 7.5
Sort by

Shirley H.
Australia
April 25, 2012
Very atmospheric hotel but a bit tired
Quirky, other worldly, big grounds with lots of pools, lounges and secluded spots
Enjoyed the staff very much and our rooms were lovely. I really wish it were better maintained, with more thorough grounds maintenance and a refresh of all the fabric fittings it would be supurb. The staff were wonderful and friendly and the free shuttle bus was a terefic facility.

LIM H.
Malaysia
April 22, 2012
Elegant splendour
Beautiful facilities, very kindly and helpful wait staff
we really enjoyed our stay at the mansion. it was very quiet and had a nice setting to relax in. it is about a 15 minute drive from the centre of ubud. the rooms are large and tastefully decorated. the breakfast and food in general was very good. other guests we spoke to were very happy staying there. it is a quaint somewhat different style resort.

Rajan B.
India
April 17, 2012
A True Mansion
Swimming pools, gardens, rooms, transport
Fantastic boutique hotel with excellent facilities. We stayed in one of the deluxe rooms which had a jacuzzi outside for 3 nights. Very nice rooms with bath and very comfy beds. Great detailed art work around the hotel. Its like no hotel I have been to before. It is about 10-15 mins from Central Ubud but the hotel has an excellent free shuttle service and also organise taxis for $5. Very helpful staff. Amazing ambience. Will visit again.

JULIO G.
Spain
April 13, 2012
lovely hotel and even lovelier staff!!
facilities, staff, free shuttles to/from ubud, peace!
great hotel with very good location (free shuttle to/from ubud every 2hr) the perfect place to find a bit of peace!

Didier R.
France
April 11, 2012
Great hoetl, calm and beautiful
Staff kindness, area
the hotel is a great one with private bungalows, in the middle of a nice vegetation, 2 nice pools, a spa... there is a calm and nice atmosphere to rest here. the staff is very nice and helpful. breakfast is quite ok, and you can even take it on the terrace just in front of the pool. rooms are ok (big enough and clean). on the negative side: - the hotel is not in ubud, but 15min drive from there. free shuttles are provided by the hotel, but only every 2 hours - the restaurant is ridiculously expensive (for ubud). we have not tested it but it is really worth going to ubud to have dinner

Cristiano S.
Australia
April 11, 2012
Lovely hotel with beautiful rooms and gardens
Rooms, gardens, swimming pools
Absolutely beautiful hotel with a great location. Only complaints were the terrible pressure in the shower and the fact that i was not aware that we had to pay for the spa outside our room after being told it was ours. Will be going back!

Timothy C.
United States
April 08, 2012
Relaxing and charming hotel with great landscaping
Large and comfortable bed, shady pools, friendly staff
The landscaping and design of the hotel is really like a mansion. It really felt like it was our very own mansion in Bali. We requested a second floor room and it had a terrace, great view of the pool and garden, a large canopy bed, and was central to all the services. The staff was friendly and service-oriented. The Balinese dinner was delicious and was brought out with traditional fanfare! We are also able to tour the volcanoes and northern country in one full day. We missed the free shuttle from Ubud, but the staff made amends by sending us a car and reimbursing us for taxi fare -- all without question. If you book through Agoda, verify that the hotel will pick you up from the airport and look for the sign when you arrive.

Peter H.
Australia
April 01, 2012
Very unique hotel with a vast art collection.
Beautiful grounds and swimming pools, very attentive staff.
this is quite a different experience to the run of the mill hotel. the mansion itself contains a myriad of paintings, sculptures, massive mirrors, antique objects, even a designer handbag display! it's kind of like walking into the mind of an eccentric, extremely wealthy woman, a bit like a mad hatters tea party. the rooms are all different too, the grounds are very tranquil and lush, with three pool areas, one of those being enormous. the breakfasts were great in the expansive dining rooms, with many staff all attentively waiting to serve you. we walked into ubud one day, the roads were a bit steep in places, but amazing jungle scenery, take your camera! we enjoyed our stay here, i would recommend it to anyone looking for a different experience to the usual hotel style. the shuttle bus service runs to a timetable, make sure you take the card with the times on it.

Phillip C.
Australia
March 19, 2012
Luxurious and friendly
Friendly service, quiet and helpful
very good service, welcoming a guided tour on arrival highlighted the lovely grounds with picturesque pools and restaurant. the foyer area showcases luxuriant art works. the villa room where we stayed was nicely appointed thouugh the spa was not functioning and needed work. the complimentary afternoon tea and 15 minute massage was great. unfortunately the hotel restuarant was expensive and hotel locality is too far from ubud but there is a free shuttle every 2 hrs. overall enjoyed the quite environment, the pools, the friendly service and the non hectic surrounds.

vincent T.
United Kingdom
March 19, 2012
nice hotel but bit older
nice location and grounds
stayed for a few days but put in older room tv was bad and kept losing signal