Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

The Marcel at Gramercy Hotel

201 East 24th Street, Gramercy, New York (NY), United States 10010

Recent customer reviews

Filter by traveler type

 

Very good

7.8

based on 35 reviews

28 reviews in English

Value for Money
7.4
Location
8.2
Staff Performance
7.8
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
8.4
Room Comfort/Standard
8.3
Food/Dining
6.7
All reviews (35)
Sort by:
Shuzhen L. Business travelers Singapore, April 21, 2016
Not bad
4
If you are not fussy, this is a good option to explore NYC.
Report this review
Shuzhen L. Business travelers Singapore, April 21, 2016
Not bad
4
everything was alright, good as a base to explore NYC.
Report this review
Balazs L. Couples Hungary, February 6, 2016
Sweetspot in Manhattan
6.7
The hotel is superbly located: major subway lines are easily accessible. Our rooms was kept clean and tidy, no flaws on that part. Staff is super easy and helpful. A quick hint for non-US travellers : skip the continental breakfast. It's not gonna do you any good. Overall this is a place I'll be returning to.
Report this review
Jamie C. Groups Singapore, January 3, 2016
Comfortable and convenient

Location is convenient. Service was ok. Lots of food options nearby.
7
It was relatively comfortable. The hotel is conveniently located, and has a good view of Empire State Building from the open-air balcony. However, there were a lot of additional charges, e.g. for wifi in the room
Report this review
Rama T. Couples Singapore, December 30, 2012
Great location but small rooms

Convenient location, friendly service staff
7.7
From the moment you step into the lobby, there's a cool vibe about the place. The fireplace and seating areas in the lobby were gorgeous and helped the ambiance. The staff were warm and friendly and were always on hand to help throughout our stay. The Superior King room we booked was, unfortunately, really small. There was barely room with our 3 suitcases. We would have expected the room to be slightly bigger. The room was adequately equipped with the usual amenities. Proximity to a main road also meant that sometimes there were cabs honking, police sirens especially on a Fri or Sat. Perhaps this was because our room partially faced the street.
Report this review
Melissa L. Couples United States of America, November 10, 2012
Lovely hotel, but the room are very small.

Great location, bed is very nice.
7.3
I would like to come back if it wasn't that expensive, way over price for a small room like that.
Restaurant Tip: Plenty of restaurants around there, close to subway.
Report this review
Margaret N. Families with older children United States of America, October 21, 2012
Great location, friendly service

All the hotel employees were very friendly and helpful. The lounge on the 10th floor was nice, especially with the outside deck.
8.3
The location is great! It was just a short walk to the subway station and even shorter to the bus stop to go cross town. We were able to get anywhere we wanted easily. The service was prompt and friendly. My daughter required ice for a medical condition and a bucket of ice was brought up every time we called. We did have some trouble with the air conditioner and were offered another room without delay. The only con was the lack of free wi-fi. You can use the computers in the lounge free of charge, but it would have been much more convenient to use our own laptops.
Restaurant Tip: The Sunburst Cafe at 206 3rd Ave has free wi-fi and great food!
Report this review
Penelope N. Solo travelers Australia, October 13, 2012
A few ups and downs this time

Chic place, nice staff, good breakfasts
7.7
Booked a king bed but was given a queen although the person ahead of me was upgraded. Mentioned this to a relative who is NYC lawyer and went into full complaint mode. I was given the better room the next day and apparently will get a refund for the first night, but one way and another - did I mention cold water in the first shower? - I never did really relax after my 24 hour journey the way I hoped. I've been to the Marcel 6 or 7 times now and am positive about it on the whole. Breakfasts are still nice. View from L 10 lovely.
Hotel Feature Tip: If suffering insomnia, don't put cranberry juice with vodka. Not the best drink. Tasted awful. And I still tossed and turned. Not the bed's fault, the beds are good.
Report this review
Angela L. Groups Canada, September 27, 2012
Good hotel but small room

Nice new decor, modern clean bathroom
6.7
Great location, but room is small and air-noisy. Didn't get a good night sleep because of this. We actually paid to upgrade to a double. So the total cost for the room. Not worth what we got. Could have easily stayed at a better hotel for the price we paid.
Report this review
Stefanee L. Solo travelers Australia, September 24, 2012
Lovely hotel in convenient location

Nice rooms, clean and easy walk to everything
6.3
Nice hotel that is in a convenient location and easy walk to most of the big stores and tourist must-see photo stops. Only downside is that there is no free wifi in the hotel, although there are two computers with Internet access for use. Great rooftop to look out onto a gorgeous city skyline. Plenty of cheap eats close by and supermarkets/drugstores.
Report this review
1 - 10 of 28 reviews Next page
The Marcel at Gramercy Hotel New York (NY) - ExteriorThe Marcel at Gramercy Hotel New York (NY) - InteriorThe Marcel at Gramercy Hotel New York (NY) - Standard Double BedThe Marcel at Gramercy Hotel New York (NY) - LobbyThe Marcel at Gramercy Hotel New York (NY) - LobbyThe Marcel at Gramercy Hotel New York (NY) - InteriorThe Marcel at Gramercy Hotel New York (NY) - LobbyThe Marcel at Gramercy Hotel New York (NY) - LobbyThe Marcel at Gramercy Hotel New York (NY) - BathroomThe Marcel at Gramercy Hotel New York (NY) - Guest RoomThe Marcel at Gramercy Hotel New York (NY) - Guest RoomThe Marcel at Gramercy Hotel New York (NY) - Guest RoomThe Marcel at Gramercy Hotel New York (NY) - InteriorThe Marcel at Gramercy Hotel New York (NY) - Guest RoomThe Marcel at Gramercy Hotel New York (NY) - Guest RoomThe Marcel at Gramercy Hotel New York (NY) - Guest RoomThe Marcel at Gramercy Hotel New York (NY) - Guest RoomThe Marcel at Gramercy Hotel New York (NY) - Guest RoomThe Marcel at Gramercy Hotel New York (NY) - InteriorThe Marcel at Gramercy Hotel New York (NY) - Guest RoomThe Marcel at Gramercy Hotel New York (NY) - Guest RoomThe Marcel at Gramercy Hotel New York (NY) - Guest RoomThe Marcel at Gramercy Hotel New York (NY) - Guest RoomThe Marcel at Gramercy Hotel New York (NY) - BathroomThe Marcel at Gramercy Hotel New York (NY) - Guest RoomThe Marcel at Gramercy Hotel New York (NY) - InteriorThe Marcel at Gramercy Hotel New York (NY) - Guest RoomThe Marcel at Gramercy Hotel New York (NY) - Guest RoomThe Marcel at Gramercy Hotel New York (NY) - Guest RoomThe Marcel at Gramercy Hotel New York (NY) - Guest RoomThe Marcel at Gramercy Hotel New York (NY) - Food and BeveragesThe Marcel at Gramercy Hotel New York (NY) - BathroomThe Marcel at Gramercy Hotel New York (NY) - Guest RoomThe Marcel at Gramercy Hotel New York (NY) - Food and BeveragesThe Marcel at Gramercy Hotel New York (NY) - EntranceThe Marcel at Gramercy Hotel New York (NY) - Guest RoomThe Marcel at Gramercy Hotel New York (NY) - Bathroom


Agoda is part of The Priceline Group, the world leader in online travel & related services.

AS-AGWEB-3A04