Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

The Maxwell Hotel

N. Escario Street, Barangay Camputhaw, Fuente Osmena, Cebu City, Philippines (Show on map)

Book now!

The Maxwell Hotel Cebu City - Bathroom amenities The Maxwell Hotel Cebu City - Deluxe Family Room The Maxwell Hotel Cebu City - Guest room amenities The Maxwell Hotel Cebu City - Deluxe Matrimonial Room The Maxwell Hotel Cebu City - Bathroom amenities The Maxwell Hotel Cebu City - Deluxe Twin Room The Maxwell Hotel Cebu City - Superior Twin Room The Maxwell Hotel Cebu City - Lobby The Maxwell Hotel Cebu City - Superior Matrimonial Room
Area: Fuente Osmena Number of Rooms: 72

Recent customer reviews

Filter by Traveler Type

 

Good

7.1

from 117 reviews

Value for Money
7.4
Location
7.5
Staff Performance
7.1
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
7.3
Room Comfort/Standard
7.5
Food/Dining
5.6
All reviews (117)
Sort by:
Charles B. Solo travelers United States of America, February 28, 2013
lovly hotel

good sevice good people good food to
10
maxwell hotel great place great people too love that place .
Hotel Feature Tip: great hotel for the prices
Report this review
Stanley B. Couples Philippines, February 9, 2013
Not so great hotel with poor service

big toilet, easy to access location
4
I had great expectation for this hotel as it is priced a bit higher compared to Paragon Suites but I find some essentials lacking such as slippers (available for a fee), their WiFi is so slow so I had to request for a cable wire (Paragon's wifi is super fast), and what was the worse is that somebody opened the door as if no guest was staying in the room! Imagine my shock when the door suddenly opened even if I locked it! Based on this experience, I would not recommend this hotel to anybody. The staff did not apologize for their intrusion and just walked away when I checked why they opened the door. Breakfast is not good too, compared to other lesser-priced hotels I've stayed. I just felt the stay is not worth any of my money.
Travel tip: Maxwell Hotel has a lot to improve before I'd set foot on it again so my advice, don't go near it for now.
Report this review
Sarah A. Business travelers Philippines, January 9, 2013
nice hotel, staff are nice

very accessible to everything
7.7
I arrived at 9am, i thought that the front desk clerk would let me wait till 2pm for the check in time. Good,and kind as he was, they gave me the room immediately, which pleased me as i wanted to take a bath already. The room is clean, bathroom is big. Overall, you wont regret if you book in this hotel..i will stay in this hotel again.
Shopping Tip: ayala mall is just a few minutes taxi ride. ther are a lot of restaurants within walking distance from the hotel. take note of mcdonalds and zubu chon, u can just walk across the street.
Report this review
Neri D. Families with older children Philippines, January 5, 2013
Nice stay, lovely place.

just nearby mall and hospital
10
The place is just a five-minute drive to hospital where we have doctor's appointment the next morning. The hotel is very clean and foods are yummy so it helps us feel relax and healthy.
Report this review
Timothy D. Solo travelers United States of America, November 26, 2012
Decent play to stay a few days

new and clean
6.7
The hotel staff are generally nice, though they will call you around 11 am to ask when you are checking out - not very pleasant But there is a restaurant attached to the hotel though it has separate ownership. And, that's where you get a voucher for breakfast,and it is pretty small however the staff is decidedly rude. I've stayed at the Maxwell for a total of 4 days recently and every time I go to the restaurant I have a bad feeling. They don't smile and are pretty good at making you feel 'unwelcome.' Often the TV station is on a Filipino channel and well, its a hotel, most of us there don't speak their language. CNN would be a nice option. Anyway, Maxwell is OK - the restaurant is a real dive.
Report this review
Timothy D. Solo travelers United States of America, November 17, 2012
ok accomdations for a night

good location
5.7
OK place to stay a night. Hotel is just four years old. The drawbacks are: noisy and underpowered window air conditioning unit. No pool or gym, which is not a big deal for a short stay. Fair value for the money but if you search more, you can geta comparable room for less per night.
Report this review
Franz K. Solo travelers Philippines, November 14, 2012
Good location, the hotel is just okay

the hotel is still new
6.3
The hotel is new and the price is affordable & although i did find another hotel which was cheaper this hotel is cleaner and newer so i guess its ok. the proportion of their food however is very small but overall i had a pleasant stay at this hotel.
Report this review
Harri V. Solo travelers Australia, August 27, 2012
Good, very clean hotel.

Value hotel. Very clean hotel, staff friendly and efficient.
7.3
Over all I liked staying there. Great location for me , close to city centre and Malls. Only thing negative I found was very poor internet connection during my stay, do not rely always on connection if in need.
Shopping Tip: Walking distance to Ayala Mall
Report this review
David T. Couples United States of America, August 26, 2012
A cool little spot, the staff was A rate

The staff
7.3
The hotel in itself was alright but it was the staff who what made difference the smile, laugher & helpfulness is priceless. The room was clean & cleaned everyday we were there. The resturant downstars was clean as well & the food was pretty good. I didn't hit the bar but from what I saw would've been fun
Report this review
Arthur H. Solo travelers United States of America, February 23, 2012
nice room for 2 people very clean room

lobby and hallways very nice
8.7
the only thing the room needed was a small refrigerator to keep the water and drinks cold. maybe i will request one the next visit there. hope they can accomidate my request. it was great! stay for a week. cost was good for the week stay there.
Shopping Tip: ayala mall & sm mall great food, good places to shop for clothes, money changer in some stores there. plenty of choices to eat. buffet was great price was good. loved the mall but all the coffee was terrible tasting, even with sugar. over all it's a great place to site see and shop.
Report this review

Book now!

Sale ends soon!

The Maxwell Hotel Cebu City - FacadeThe Maxwell Hotel Cebu City - Bathroom amenitiesThe Maxwell Hotel Cebu City - Deluxe Family RoomThe Maxwell Hotel Cebu City - Guest room amenitiesThe Maxwell Hotel Cebu City - Deluxe Matrimonial RoomThe Maxwell Hotel Cebu City - Bathroom amenitiesThe Maxwell Hotel Cebu City - Deluxe Twin RoomThe Maxwell Hotel Cebu City - Superior Twin RoomThe Maxwell Hotel Cebu City - LobbyThe Maxwell Hotel Cebu City - Superior Matrimonial Room


Agoda.com is part of The Priceline Group, the world leader in online travel & related services.

AS-AGWEB-3B08