or

Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

The Maxwell Hotel

N. Escario Street, Barangay Camputhaw, Cebu City, Cebu, Philippines (Show on map)

Book now!

The Maxwell Hotel Cebu - Lobby The Maxwell Hotel Cebu - Reception The Maxwell Hotel Cebu - Reception The Maxwell Hotel Cebu - Reception The Maxwell Hotel Cebu - Restaurant The Maxwell Hotel Cebu - Lobby The Maxwell Hotel Cebu - Exterior The Maxwell Hotel Cebu - Exterior The Maxwell Hotel Cebu - Guest Room The Maxwell Hotel Cebu - Guest Room The Maxwell Hotel Cebu - Guest Room The Maxwell Hotel Cebu - Guest Room The Maxwell Hotel Cebu - Lobby The Maxwell Hotel Cebu - Reception The Maxwell Hotel Cebu - Superior Twin The Maxwell Hotel Cebu - Suite
The Maxwell Hotel Cebu - Exterior The Maxwell Hotel Cebu - Reception The Maxwell Hotel Cebu - Spa The Maxwell Hotel Cebu - Restaurant The Maxwell Hotel Cebu - Reception
Area: Cebu City Number of Rooms: 72

Recent customer reviews

Filter by Traveler Type

 

Good

7.0

based on
101 reviews

Value for Money
7.4
Location
7.5
Staff Performance
7.0
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
7.3
Room Comfort/Standard
7.5
Food/Dining
5.5
All reviews (101)
Sort by:
Sunshine A. Solo travelers Philippines, February 6, 2012
Nice Hotel with good service from its personnel

Best location and crew has a very good customer service
8
The hotel was able to meet my expectation as well as their crew. It was a nice stay for us.
Christopher B. Couples United States of America, January 24, 2012
nice hotel, good location

great shower
8.7
Its a good hotel, the location is across the street from McDonalds and a convenience store (kinda pricey) which was nice. We stayed in a suite, which was small for a suite (one room) but a large room. We stayed 2 nights and the first breakfast we had, we were late (after 10am) but they still gave us a small portion of scrambled eggs, sausage and rice. The next day we got there early enough for the small buffet, which was adequate. The staff were wonderful, helpful and respectful. we would stay there again. One thing that was also nice is the quiet location and no people outside asking for money or trying to sell you trinkets
Restaurant Tip: if you walk out of the hotel and turn left, go about 100mt you will find a resto called Ninoy's Payag. It is a British-type pub with excellent food and a good selection of drinks.
Robert N. Couples United States of America, November 16, 2011
small simple rooms

free internet in room, free breakfast, clean room
7.7
i stayed here for several days, its a small room but if u dont need much then its enough. if you have a room near the street its very noisy, i would ask for room away from the street, but either way you will hear noise at night because there is a bar/resto just below the hotel and they play music at night, the room i had 219 wasnt to bad for noise. the sound of the aircon blocks most of the noise. breakfast that is offered is small and simple, not much of a choice. your about 60 pesos from ayala mall and there is laundry service just a walking distance from hotel if you dont like to pay the high price of hotel laundry service.if you do order room service make sure to have your plates taken away soon as your finished or you will have a line of ants in your room. other then that i would stay here again, it was cheap enough only php per night.
Trevor S. Solo travelers Australia, November 10, 2011
good value

comfortable room, clean, good aircon
6.7
staff very friendly - although not always efficient (but it is the philippines). room a good size - and clean. shower ok. free internet. good location - not far to ayala mall. cafes next door and across the road - both with free wifi (although a busy road and can take a while to cross the road).
Shopping Tip: this hotel is a short taxi ride to Ayala Mall. this is a very modern shopping centre - decent shops and lots of places to eat and drink (coffee, meal and/or drink).
Myla V. Couples Philippines, September 20, 2011
Nice and clean hotel...friendly staff

Clean and comfortable rooms, just the right size and very near the business and commercial districts
9.7
We had a nice stay. Constructive tip - we hope they will include coffee/tea making facility (electronic kettle) in their room.
Jose J. Groups Philippines, September 18, 2011
New, clean, excellent value

Stylish rooms, spacious showers
9
This is a good value hotel in the heart of Cebu City. The rooms are clean, with comfortable beds and crisp white sheets. Every room has a TV set with cable. There's WiFi in the lobby. Complimentary breakfast is served in the adjacent restaurant. Good selection, but they only had instant coffee. If you want brewed coffee, you have to cross the street to a small cafe and buy a cup yourself.
Restaurant Tip: Maxwell Hotel is on the same street as ZUBOCHON, which serves what Anthony Bourdain calls "The Best Pig in the World."
Michael R. Solo travelers United Kingdom, September 9, 2011
Good value for money.

Staff polite and helpful.
9
taxi drivers know where to drop you off, my room was good value for money, you have to go out into a cafe next door for breakfast. after 24 hrs of travel a proper 1 hour massage is available but give the lady who comes to your room a tip peso they work hard and dont earn a lot. the bar has reasonable meals and the beers are cold and not bad prices but the live entertainment (solo singer guitarist) a little loud after a long flight. the rooms are basic, a telly,shower, toilet, basin etc.. i found the hotel clean comfortable and the staff helpful, you pay for what you get and for the price this hotel is excellent!!
Hotel Feature Tip: laundry done in 24 hrs all neat and hung on hangers and smelling clean and fresh .
Joanna C. Couples August 27, 2011
perferct location, but small rooms

friendly staff, very clean
8.3
we enjoyed our stay since this is our second time...
Mark A. Business travelers Philippines, August 25, 2011
Nice hotel that is near everything

kind hotel employees
7.3
its my 3rd stay with maxwell and so far everything went well. Employee staff continue to be friendly and accomodate evey request as possible.
Maria T. Groups Canada, August 23, 2011
Convenient Hotel

Easy public transport access, decent size rooms, near Ayala Mall, nice staff
7.7
I found out about this hotel thru Agoda. Read all the reviews, and I also tried to see the hotel's own website. It took me some time to find out the actual phone number of this hotel, since their main website is under construction, so I have to rely solely on the reviews and description at Agoda. For the main purpose of our trip, the location of this hotel was perfect since the person we were trying to get in touch with lives a on the same street. Since it was August, as expected, there were torrential rains, so the proximity to Ayala mall proved very convenient for us. The rooms were sufficient in size, since we basically just need a safe place to rest, though I noticed there seems no airconditioning along the hallyways, there is no vent in the bathroom, so expect fogging of your mirrors after a shower. We also took a city tour thru arrangements with front desk and it came out much cheaper had we gone thru a travel agent. If you want a hotel with more amenities, you will not be happy here, it only has a convenience store,spa shop, travel agency and Maxim's restaurant no swimming pools or gym, but then again, the purpose of our trip did not require those extra amenities. So if I have a chance to get back to Cebu, I will always consider this hotel again. Expect heavy traffic though during rush hour in front of the hotel, Escario street is a very street, so allocate enough time especially during rush hours. Also, the hotel was nice enough to accommodate our request for early check in and late check out.

Book now!

Sale ends soon!

The Maxwell Hotel CebuThe Maxwell Hotel Cebu - LobbyThe Maxwell Hotel Cebu - ReceptionThe Maxwell Hotel Cebu - ReceptionThe Maxwell Hotel Cebu - ReceptionThe Maxwell Hotel Cebu - RestaurantThe Maxwell Hotel Cebu - LobbyThe Maxwell Hotel Cebu - ExteriorThe Maxwell Hotel Cebu - ExteriorThe Maxwell Hotel Cebu - Guest RoomThe Maxwell Hotel Cebu - Guest RoomThe Maxwell Hotel Cebu - Guest RoomThe Maxwell Hotel Cebu - Guest RoomThe Maxwell Hotel Cebu - LobbyThe Maxwell Hotel Cebu - ReceptionThe Maxwell Hotel Cebu - Superior TwinThe Maxwell Hotel Cebu - SuiteThe Maxwell Hotel Cebu - ExteriorThe Maxwell Hotel Cebu - ReceptionThe Maxwell Hotel Cebu - SpaThe Maxwell Hotel Cebu - RestaurantThe Maxwell Hotel Cebu - Reception


AS-AGWEB-3B06