or

Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

The Maxwell Hotel

N. Escario Street, Barangay Camputhaw, Cebu City, Cebu, Philippines (Show on map)

Book now!

The Maxwell Hotel Cebu - Lobby The Maxwell Hotel Cebu - Reception The Maxwell Hotel Cebu - Reception The Maxwell Hotel Cebu - Reception The Maxwell Hotel Cebu - Restaurant The Maxwell Hotel Cebu - Lobby The Maxwell Hotel Cebu - Exterior The Maxwell Hotel Cebu - Exterior The Maxwell Hotel Cebu - Guest Room The Maxwell Hotel Cebu - Guest Room The Maxwell Hotel Cebu - Guest Room The Maxwell Hotel Cebu - Guest Room The Maxwell Hotel Cebu - Lobby The Maxwell Hotel Cebu - Reception The Maxwell Hotel Cebu - Superior Twin The Maxwell Hotel Cebu - Suite
The Maxwell Hotel Cebu - Exterior The Maxwell Hotel Cebu - Reception The Maxwell Hotel Cebu - Spa The Maxwell Hotel Cebu - Restaurant The Maxwell Hotel Cebu - Reception
Area: Cebu City Number of Rooms: 72

Recent customer reviews

Filter by Traveler Type

 

Good

7.0

based on
98 reviews

Value for Money
7.3
Location
7.4
Staff Performance
7.0
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
7.3
Room Comfort/Standard
7.5
Food/Dining
5.6
All reviews (98)
Sort by:
Trevor S. Solo travelers Australia, November 10, 2011
good value

comfortable room, clean, good aircon
6.7
staff very friendly - although not always efficient (but it is the philippines). room a good size - and clean. shower ok. free internet. good location - not far to ayala mall. cafes next door and across the road - both with free wifi (although a busy road and can take a while to cross the road).
Shopping Tip: this hotel is a short taxi ride to Ayala Mall. this is a very modern shopping centre - decent shops and lots of places to eat and drink (coffee, meal and/or drink).
Myla V. Couples Philippines, September 20, 2011
Nice and clean hotel...friendly staff

Clean and comfortable rooms, just the right size and very near the business and commercial districts
9.7
We had a nice stay. Constructive tip - we hope they will include coffee/tea making facility (electronic kettle) in their room.
Jose J. Groups Philippines, September 18, 2011
New, clean, excellent value

Stylish rooms, spacious showers
9
This is a good value hotel in the heart of Cebu City. The rooms are clean, with comfortable beds and crisp white sheets. Every room has a TV set with cable. There's WiFi in the lobby. Complimentary breakfast is served in the adjacent restaurant. Good selection, but they only had instant coffee. If you want brewed coffee, you have to cross the street to a small cafe and buy a cup yourself.
Restaurant Tip: Maxwell Hotel is on the same street as ZUBOCHON, which serves what Anthony Bourdain calls "The Best Pig in the World."
Michael R. Solo travelers United Kingdom, September 9, 2011
Good value for money.

Staff polite and helpful.
9
taxi drivers know where to drop you off, my room was good value for money, you have to go out into a cafe next door for breakfast. after 24 hrs of travel a proper 1 hour massage is available but give the lady who comes to your room a tip peso they work hard and dont earn a lot. the bar has reasonable meals and the beers are cold and not bad prices but the live entertainment (solo singer guitarist) a little loud after a long flight. the rooms are basic, a telly,shower, toilet, basin etc.. i found the hotel clean comfortable and the staff helpful, you pay for what you get and for the price this hotel is excellent!!
Hotel Feature Tip: laundry done in 24 hrs all neat and hung on hangers and smelling clean and fresh .
Joanna C. Couples August 27, 2011
perferct location, but small rooms

friendly staff, very clean
8.3
we enjoyed our stay since this is our second time...
Mark A. Business travelers Philippines, August 25, 2011
Nice hotel that is near everything

kind hotel employees
7.3
its my 3rd stay with maxwell and so far everything went well. Employee staff continue to be friendly and accomodate evey request as possible.
Maria T. Groups Canada, August 23, 2011
Convenient Hotel

Easy public transport access, decent size rooms, near Ayala Mall, nice staff
7.7
I found out about this hotel thru Agoda. Read all the reviews, and I also tried to see the hotel's own website. It took me some time to find out the actual phone number of this hotel, since their main website is under construction, so I have to rely solely on the reviews and description at Agoda. For the main purpose of our trip, the location of this hotel was perfect since the person we were trying to get in touch with lives a on the same street. Since it was August, as expected, there were torrential rains, so the proximity to Ayala mall proved very convenient for us. The rooms were sufficient in size, since we basically just need a safe place to rest, though I noticed there seems no airconditioning along the hallyways, there is no vent in the bathroom, so expect fogging of your mirrors after a shower. We also took a city tour thru arrangements with front desk and it came out much cheaper had we gone thru a travel agent. If you want a hotel with more amenities, you will not be happy here, it only has a convenience store,spa shop, travel agency and Maxim's restaurant no swimming pools or gym, but then again, the purpose of our trip did not require those extra amenities. So if I have a chance to get back to Cebu, I will always consider this hotel again. Expect heavy traffic though during rush hour in front of the hotel, Escario street is a very street, so allocate enough time especially during rush hours. Also, the hotel was nice enough to accommodate our request for early check in and late check out.
Ramon L. Couples Philippines, August 21, 2011
Great location, room size is acceptable.

Convenience of booking and location of hotel.
9
Please staff and overall, our stay was excellent. The convenience of getting a cab was also noticeable. Although the rooms my to several be considered not as spacious, for us travelling couple, it was more than good enough! The breakfast that went with the stay was satisfactory for Filipino travellers. For Catholics, very convenient to a church, about just 100 meters away! Overall, very pleasant stay!
Ma S. Solo travelers Philippines, July 11, 2011
Great location

service with a smile
6.7
1) Hotel attendants were friendly and helpful. 2) Room was a bit small , but comfortable bed and I was able to sleep well. 3) Needs improvement and more detailed cleaning in the lavatory/bathroom especially where the toilet is concern.
Mark A. Business travelers Philippines, July 7, 2011
nice and cozy hotel

friendly staff
7.7
staff was accomodating. though my second stay in july had a breakfast delay as the cook was not yet around at 7am. so i had to wait for another 40min for him to arrive and have my breakfast.

Book now!

Sale ends soon!


AS-AGWEB-3C02