or

Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

The Nipah Chalet

Kampung Nipah, Pualu Tioman, Kampung Nipah, Tioman Island, Malaysia 268000 (Show on map)

Book now!

The Nipah Chalet Tioman Island - Guest Room The Nipah Chalet Tioman Island - Surroundings The Nipah Chalet Tioman Island - Surroundings The Nipah Chalet Tioman Island - View The Nipah Chalet Tioman Island - Beach The Nipah Chalet Tioman Island - Guest Room The Nipah Chalet Tioman Island - Guest Room The Nipah Chalet Tioman Island - Exterior The Nipah Chalet Tioman Island - Standard No View The Nipah Chalet Tioman Island - Chalet Seaview The Nipah Chalet Tioman Island - Dining Area The Nipah Chalet Tioman Island - Chalet Seaview The Nipah Chalet Tioman Island - Beach
Area: Kampung Nipah Number of Rooms: 7

Recent customer reviews

Filter by Traveler Type

 

Very Good

7.7

based on
70 reviews

Value for Money
8.3
Location
8.3
Staff Performance
6.1
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
6.3
Room Comfort/Standard
8.6
Food/Dining
8.3
All reviews (70)
Sort by:
Leon V. Couples Netherlands, October 15, 2012
Tremendous location with a very nice staff!

The relexed atmosphere
7.3
It could be a little bit cleaner. Espacially the beds could be a little bit cleaner. The food was really excellent. And the hosts were very nice.
Sightseeing/Attractions Tip: You should go snorkeling on the left side beach. I have seen a couple of sharkes and you might see some turtles as well.
Gary M. Couples United Kingdom, October 6, 2012
Okay location but very disappointing resort

The seaview was good
3
Don't stay here! The area was remote and quiet and the beach okay (but small), although there was litter around the resort, spoiling the feel somewhat. We were immediately disappointed with the resort when we pulled up in the boat - no effort had been made and it looked uninviting and basically a wreck. While we expected the room to be very basic, the shower wasn't working, nor was the wash basin. Though the resorts faces the beach, there is no easy access to the beach and you have to climb down a small drop which is annoying. There was no choice of food - just what the guy running it decided and it was v. expensive. The one time we did ate there it was 10 Euros for some noodles and fish for one person. Fortunately, the other resort in Nipah had a menu. Equally, on leaving we were charged 10 Euros for the return boat trip to the jetty - all other resorts do this for free. We had booked 6 days, but we left after two. The staff were friendly, but the place was awful.
Bruno B. Couples Portugal, October 1, 2012
It's a no go!

the surrounding nature
2.3
old shacks in a dirty and poor managed placed. we actually starve because there's no place to buy a snack in between meals. the chalet or what they call it are no better than a shacks made of sea delivered waste. In the shacks running water and light during the night is a joke. staff is not nice and even makes fun of you because you don't adapt to their lifestyle (is just that you were promised something with a good review). the beach as no facilities, people or places to dine. beach is nice but with rocks on the sand that can cut your feet. there's no walking path to access here so you always need the boat from the hotel and they will overcharge you. from the airport to the chalet, had to find a taxi boat that for a 20 min trip, 50 USD/person. it's a no go.
Choon S. Couples Singapore, September 29, 2012
Private place with hidden cost

privacy...
4.7
Do not mistaken this Nipah Chalet as the Bersatu Nipah Chalet. The living condition of this place is bare basic. No Hot water, No aircon. Budget travellers you do fine here. There is no Food Menu when dining. Always ask the cost per person per food. No ferry comes here so you need a speed boat which will cost you RM30-40 per trip! So check price before order anything! Nevertheless, Abbas (young owner) is a good fellow. Easy going and relax. One man show for everything. He's the guy you see when you check in, cooks for your food, takes you on his boat...
Sarah L. Couples Belgium, September 24, 2012
Beautiful location, Run with a smile, Great food

Away from the crowds, back to basics
7.7
At our arrival on Tiomand we didn't knew we had to get off at the first jetty and from there still had to go a bit by motor boat. (Our advise call Abbas from The Nipah so he comes to pick you up as the hiring of this small boat costs about the same as the ferry from Mersing to Tioman. Around 60MYR) As we were the only ones to go that direction (all the other tourist head the other way)we didn't know what to expect. The location was amazing (right at the twin peaks), but at first hand we were a bit disappointed about the bungalow. As they had big tidal waves the days before our arrival a lot of the property got damaged(part of the restaurant and bungalows that are standing in the sea). It didn't take too long though before we started to actually fall in love with this little gem. Yes it could need a big restoration and maybe Abbas could work on actually having a menu to choose from. But with his 23 years old, long dreadlocks and a huge smile he made our stay really wonderful. He makes a sublime Fresh Curry!!! mmm You ask Abbas what you need/want and if he can he will have it done. (and he surprised us every time again whit the things he manages to pull out of his hat) The beaches are yours alone and there is some nice snorkelling just in front. We really regretted we only had planned 2 nights. Next time we go for a week ... at least
Hotel Feature Tip: Less suitable for families with very young children.
Mohd R. Groups Malaysia, September 17, 2012
nice chalet with good services

nice view, so privacy
8
this location suitable for honeymoon,who need privacy, fresh, and relax. this location also got a nice view beach,waterfall,climbing and jungle tracking, but the coast noticeable changes that is eroded result world climate change.
Sightseeing/Attractions Tip: nice view at kg nipah,
Lin C. Solo travelers China, September 15, 2012
Good place to relax

Food and Sunshine
9
The accomodation was pretty basic, but it's a good place to relax at the beach. The food was great, Abbas is good at cook, for both local food and western food. No hot water, not too much choice for drink. They have normal drinks like water, beer, coca, 100 plus and some fruit drinks.
Nightlife Tip: No night life at Nipah, just lazy afternoon and mistical night. And the ferry do not reach Nipah directly, so you might need to ask Nipah Chalet to pick you up when you have your ferry schedule. They charge around 25-35 per person for one way.
Bjoern D. Solo travelers Denmark, August 30, 2012
Peaceful place and lovely host

Location and peace
7.7
This is a very basic chalet. If you are looking for nightlife and entertainment this is not the place! The young owner who runs this place is a lovely guy, but patience is needed. Things wont happend immediate! The beach is wondeerful, some of the best I have seen in Asia. A towel and a book is a good way to spend a day on Nipah Beach Chalet.
Mandy H. Couples United Kingdom, August 27, 2012
Just chill out

Stunning natural beach location
7.3
laid back place. just go with the flow. only an exhilarating 7 min boat ride from tioman's ferry jetty, but wonderfully remote and unspoilt. very basic accommodation. some rooms don't even have sinks. the owners were on site for part of our stay... we very much enjoyed their warm and interesting company.
Sightseeing/Attractions Tip: Don't head for the waterfall without detailed directions or guide. It is not as straightforward as you may be led to believe!
Bjoern D. Solo travelers Denmark, August 27, 2012
Beautiful place and very laid back

Location
6.7
A very peacefull place and a great chap that owns the place

Book now!

Sale ends soon!

The Nipah Chalet Tioman Island - The FacadeThe Nipah Chalet Tioman Island - Guest RoomThe Nipah Chalet Tioman Island - SurroundingsThe Nipah Chalet Tioman Island - SurroundingsThe Nipah Chalet Tioman Island - ViewThe Nipah Chalet Tioman Island - BeachThe Nipah Chalet Tioman Island - Guest RoomThe Nipah Chalet Tioman Island - Guest RoomThe Nipah Chalet Tioman Island - ExteriorThe Nipah Chalet Tioman Island - Standard No ViewThe Nipah Chalet Tioman Island - Chalet SeaviewThe Nipah Chalet Tioman Island - Dining AreaThe Nipah Chalet Tioman Island - Chalet SeaviewThe Nipah Chalet Tioman Island - Beach


AS-AGWEB-3C05