Back to hotel info

2015
Excellent 8.7
Based on 1981 reviews

Recent customer comments

Filter by traveler type
Excellent



based on 1981 reviews
  • Hotel Condition/Cleanliness 9.0
  • Facilities 8.5
  • Location 8.5
  • Room Comfort/Standard 8.9
  • Service 8.8
  • Value for Money 8.6
  • Food/Dining 8.3
Sort by

Jenny M. from Australia
Business travelers
Stayed 2 nights in September 2015
A truely magnificent grand hotel
The ambiance of the resturarts, courtyards, pool, passages and antiques were all outstanding.
My experience at the Phoenix was amazing. I have been in Indonesia for one year and was looking forward to being treated to the old world charm of a bygone era. The hotel is old, very old...this does not distract from anything but offers the charm of reading rooms and high ceilings and well established gardens, and an amazing collection of ceramics all tastefully placed alone corridors and outside lift doors. My room was tastefully decorated with interesting mirrors and lamps and the balcony with table and chairs, the bed comfortable and WiFi excellent. I booked the lowest rate room, it was old, the bathroom had not been refurbished but was totally functional. The only pboblem I had was the room leaked one night due to the airconditioning outlet. This was fixed promptly when I let them know. The breakfast was amazing.....Best yet....Every nationality was catered for... The evening meal (only ate once) was well presented and tasty, the service was excellent. The grand piano was a delightful addition as it was played superbly.
Reviewed October 04, 2015

Karen T. from Singapore
Groups
Stayed 3 nights in September 2015
Affordable luxury at its best
Heritage theme, wonderful breakfast & English speaking staff
Everything you can hope for in a short and relaxing getaway
Reviewed September 28, 2015

Hatim A. from Malaysia
Couples
Stayed 3 nights in May 2015
A classy heritage
Classy, clean and comfortable
Truly a remarkable experience. Fantastically decorated
Reviewed September 24, 2015

Hatim A. from Malaysia
Couples
Stayed 3 nights in May 2015
Touch of tradition
Fantastic decor, full of grandeur
Nothing short of pleasant. Totally enjoyed the stay. Great breakfast spread
Reviewed September 24, 2015

Vy C. from Malaysia
Groups
Stayed 2 nights in September 2015
Still OK but there are things to be improved
ambience, staff and quiet yet near to the city centre
This was my second stay at the hotel in a year. I still liked it. Staff was very friendly and accomodating. A beautiful hotel with character. Near enough to the city centre yet quiet. The breakfast, as before, had a good spread with very attentive staff. However, there are a few things which can be improved: 1. Offers on Agoda which said that rooms were 'two single beds', which we booked, somehow got translated to mean 1 King sized bed 'for two'. 2. the shaving razors are quite terrible and I hope they can try it out themselves and change this immediately. For a hotel this standard, toileteries too can be improved. 3. Whilst the breakfast spread was good and impressive with no sense of a rush, the food tends to run out (on both our stays within 1 year) by 9 am. By 9.30, many items are gone and plates left empty. Food does not seem to be replenished very well. This is a pity. 4. We had a few rooms with two adults to each room but somehow we are only given one access card. 5. There was a conference at the hotel and cutlery and plates, etc were left by the corridors overnight. This should not happen. Either it is fully laid out or kept away till the next day, not bits and pieces left. Please don't get me wrong. I would still go back there on my next trip but the above are some areas which I hope will be looked at.
Reviewed September 23, 2015

Widodo P. from Indonesia
Business travelers
Stayed 2 nights in September 2015
The breakfast is extremelly good
Breakfast, staff and the cleanlines
Unforgetable and definettly will come back and suggest all of our frinds to stay here
Reviewed September 22, 2015

Sylvia G. from Indonesia
Families with young children
Stayed 2 nights in September 2015
Fantastic
Food , clean, firiendly stagg
Great...we all are very very happy
Reviewed September 21, 2015

ANNA G. from Russia
Solo travelers
Stayed 3 nights in September 2015
Just a Perfect stay
Everything
Great
Reviewed September 19, 2015

Juan H. from Malaysia
Couples
Stayed 2 nights in August 2015
It is like staying in a muzium
Ambience, comfort and food
We were happy to stay here. The ambience is good. Hotel serves very good breakfast. With many variety of food. Guest can try out some traditional Indonesia food. It was a very good experience. Our room iis facing swimming pool, the pool night view is excellent with very quiet ambience. I definitely enjoy the stay. The room decoration is very special with Dutch and Indonesia style. It is a heritage hotel with very well maintain. Highly recommended and worth to stay in this lovely hotel
Reviewed September 18, 2015

Belinda B. from United States
Couples
Stayed 2 nights in September 2015
So Happy I Stayed Here!
Superb breakfast buffet; unique and very Indonesian style; varied and interesting nooks to read or relax throughout the hotel
The Phoenix is a gem of a hotel, with a small footprint but tons of charm! Conveniently located in central Yogyakarta, the hotel is full of character - beautiful examples of local crafts and craftsmanship abound, the food is excellent and varied, and the breakfast buffet contains so many delicious choices that it would take a week to sample everything! I deeply regretted having to leave after only two peaceful nights.
Reviewed September 08, 2015