Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta

Jalan Jenderal Sudirman No. 9, Yogyakarta City Center, Yogyakarta, Indonesia 55233

Recent customer reviews

Filter by Traveler Type

 

Excellent

8.7

based on
1888 reviews

1336 reviews in English

Value for Money
8.7
Location
8.5
Staff Performance
8.8
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
9.0
Room Comfort/Standard
8.9
Food/Dining
8.3
All reviews (1888)
Sort by:
Anna G. Solo travelers Russia, September 18, 2015
Just a Perfect stay

Everything
10
Great
Report this review
Vy S. Groups Malaysia, September 18, 2015
Still OK but there are things to be improved

ambience, staff and quiet yet near to the city centre
8.7
This was my second stay at the hotel in a year. I still liked it. Staff was very friendly and accomodating. A beautiful hotel with character. Near enough to the city centre yet quiet. The breakfast, as before, had a good spread with very attentive staff. However, there are a few things which can be improved: 1. Offers on Agoda which said that rooms were 'two single beds', which we booked, somehow got translated to mean 1 King sized bed 'for two'. 2. the shaving razors are quite terrible and I hope they can try it out themselves and change this immediately. For a hotel this standard, toileteries too can be improved. 3. Whilst the breakfast spread was good and impressive with no sense of a rush, the food tends to run out (on both our stays within 1 year) by 9 am. By 9.30, many items are gone and plates left empty. Food does not seem to be replenished very well. This is a pity. 4. We had a few rooms with two adults to each room but somehow we are only given one access card. 5. There was a conference at the hotel and cutlery and plates, etc were left by the corridors overnight. This should not happen. Either it is fully laid out or kept away till the next day, not bits and pieces left. Please don't get me wrong. I would still go back there on my next trip but the above are some areas which I hope will be looked at.
Report this review
Renee P. Groups Australia, September 13, 2015
Lovely hotel & pool

Pool, breakfast buffet & hotel
6.7
The breakfast was extensive & enjoyed hanging by the pool, however was disappointed by staff performance by the pool
Report this review
Belinda B. Couples United States of America, September 7, 2015
So Happy I Stayed Here!

Superb breakfast buffet; unique and very Indonesian style; varied and interesting nooks to read or relax throughout the hotel
10
The Phoenix is a gem of a hotel, with a small footprint but tons of charm! Conveniently located in central Yogyakarta, the hotel is full of character - beautiful examples of local crafts and craftsmanship abound, the food is excellent and varied, and the breakfast buffet contains so many delicious choices that it would take a week to sample everything! I deeply regretted having to leave after only two peaceful nights.
Report this review
James P. Families with young children United Kingdom, September 6, 2015
Great Hotel

Clean, staff are friendly, good food
9.7
All are fantastic, will be stay stay there again when we visiy Jogja
Report this review
Juliana G. Couples Malaysia, September 2, 2015
Don't order local for ala carte

The room and pool view was great. Like the colonial feel and ambience.
9
I would caution one against ordering local ala carte like Nasi Gudeg because the same food is served for breakfast. The noodles soup was like that of instant noodles with some vege etc which you can cook at home. You can try the local food at breakfast (without the ala carte price attached). The room and surroundings were good though.
Report this review
Carol L. Couples Singapore, September 1, 2015
Colonial ambiance with a friendly team of staff

friendly and warm staff; easy access to taxi; good locale
8.7
it is a beautiful hotel with a fantastic team of knowledgeable and friendly staff. Amir at front desk who checked us in was most helpful in answering all our questions on where to go and arranging for transport. The room was rather small which was surprising given its status as a 5-star hotel. Our room had a balcony that looked out to the back of some old buildings; so it was not conducive for sitting there for a cup of tea. For a classical hotel, the bathroom amenities don't match up. shampoo/bath gel/lotion bottles were old school and cheap looking. while every part of the hotel is beautiful, the swimming pool is located in a fairly tight space. the pool is small and not compelling for lounging around and getting some sun.
Report this review
Xiaoyin Y. Couples China, August 31, 2015
Lovely stay

location, interior decoration, staff
10
Report this review
Kornkamol C. Solo travelers Singapore, August 30, 2015
Good comfortable hotel

Comfortable room, pretty swimming pool and good location
8
It was a good hotel, near to the central shopping area. Room was comfortable and nice. There was also a very pretty pool.
Report this review
Dan Y. Couples Singapore, August 30, 2015
A relaxing and wonderful vacation

Old colonial feel, great service and near marlin orzo
8.3
very pleasant, warm Javanese service, staff very helpful and sincere
Report this review
Previous page 31 - 40 of 1336 reviews Next page
The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta YogyakartaThe Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta Yogyakarta - InteriorThe Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta Yogyakarta - InteriorThe Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta Yogyakarta - RestaurantThe Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta Yogyakarta - InteriorThe Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta Yogyakarta - Guest RoomThe Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta Yogyakarta - InteriorThe Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta Yogyakarta - Meeting RoomThe Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta Yogyakarta - RestaurantThe Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta Yogyakarta - RestaurantThe Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta Yogyakarta - InteriorThe Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta Yogyakarta - ReceptionThe Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta Yogyakarta - Guest RoomThe Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta Yogyakarta - SpaThe Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta Yogyakarta - ExteriorThe Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta Yogyakarta - Business Center & ShopThe Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta Yogyakarta - Fitness RoomThe Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta Yogyakarta - Chef TableThe Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta Yogyakarta - Swimming PoolThe Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta Yogyakarta - Guest RoomThe Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta Yogyakarta - Fitness CenterThe Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta Yogyakarta - Suite RoomThe Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta Yogyakarta - Suite RoomThe Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta Yogyakarta - SpaThe Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta Yogyakarta - ExteriorThe Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta Yogyakarta - Business CenterThe Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta Yogyakarta - RestaurantThe Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta Yogyakarta - Swimming PoolThe Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta Yogyakarta - RestaurantThe Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta Yogyakarta - Balcony/TerraceThe Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta Yogyakarta - RestaurantThe Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta Yogyakarta - InteriorThe Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta Yogyakarta - Swimming PoolThe Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta Yogyakarta - Guest RoomThe Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta Yogyakarta - InteriorThe Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta Yogyakarta - InteriorThe Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta Yogyakarta - InteriorThe Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta Yogyakarta - Fitness RoomThe Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta Yogyakarta - Guest RoomThe Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta Yogyakarta - Guest RoomThe Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta Yogyakarta - Deluxe Legacy 2 Single BedsThe Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta Yogyakarta - Deluxe Legacy 2 Single BedsThe Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta Yogyakarta - Superior Heritage 2 Single BedsThe Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta Yogyakarta - Superior Heritage 2 Single BedsThe Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta Yogyakarta - RestaurantThe Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta Yogyakarta - Interior


Agoda.com is part of The Priceline Group, the world leader in online travel & related services.

AS-AGWEB-3A08