Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta

Jalan Jenderal Sudirman No. 9, Yogyakarta City Center, Yogyakarta, Indonesia 55233

Recent customer reviews

Filter by traveler type

 

Excellent

8.7

based on 1935 reviews

1371 reviews in English

Value for Money
8.7
Location
8.6
Staff Performance
8.8
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
9.0
Room Comfort/Standard
8.9
Food/Dining
8.3
All reviews (1935)
Sort by:
Kathleen C. Groups United States of America, August 24, 2013
An old merchant's mansion made into a hotel

beautiful, helpful staff, good breakfast
10
Very nice. I had stayed there some years ago and wanted to return due to the ambience and feeling of history. I wasn't disappointed.
Lawrence F. Solo travelers United States of America, August 23, 2013
Comfortably, clean, and conveniently located

Beautiful colonial decor, very clean and comfortable rooms, friendly staff
8.7
The Phoenix is a beautiful hotel centrally located in the city. I stayed here for only a night w/ a friend and was unable to check out all of its offerings (pool, restaurants, gym and spa). The room was spacious and clean. I slept very comfortably in my bed. I wish that we could've found more time to fully experience everything that it has to offer. Overall, a very pleasant experience. I would recommend this to others.
Stephane B. Families with older children France, August 22, 2013
3 Jour à Yogjakarta

Well located, easy way out to reach Borobudur and Prembanan, charming hotel design
8.3
Room are a bit small, bathroom is correct. Surroundings: Phoenix is very well located, close from station, travel agencies, kraton, museums, and exits to Borobudour and Prembanan' Breakfast is superb, first class. Personnel is friendly and helpful. Price is correct going thru Agoda, we paid 65€ per room per day (breakfast not included, purchased locally). Restaurant is almost European prices, hence not very interesting. Gajah Wong, a nearby restaurant (10 mn by car) is the best Indonesian food we had, although a bit more expensive than normal. Avoid this restaurant´s deserts though, ice creams are tasteless, tiramisu is just a subpar coffee ice cream. Swimming pool is a bit cooler than usual in java, but very nicely designed. Activities are essentially exploring surroundings and temples, viavia can be a good option for exploring alternative tours.
Stephane B. Families with older children France, August 22, 2013
Well located, classy hotel

Well Located stylish hotel with good service
9.3
Room are a bit small, bathroom is correct. Surroundings: Phoenix is very well located, close from station, travel agencies, kraton, museums, and exits to Borobudour and Prembanan' Breakfast is superb, first class. Personnel is friendly and helpful. Price is correct going thru Agoda, we paid 65€ per room. Restaurant is almost European prices, hence not very interesting. Gajah Wong, a nearby restaurant (10 mn by car) is the best Indonesian food we had, although a bit more expensive than normal. Avoid this restaurant´s deserts though, ice creams are tasteless, tiramisu is just a sub par coffee ice cream. Swimming pool is a bit cooler than usual in java, but very nicely designed. Activities are essentially exploring surroundings and temples, viavia can be a good option for exploring alternative tours.
Wahyu J. Couples Indonesia, August 22, 2013
Nice exterior and beautiful

Location, exterior and price
8
Pauline C. Couples Malaysia, August 19, 2013
Beautiful colonial style hotel

comfortable room with a lovely balcony overlooking the pool
9.3
Overall, I m very pleased with the hotel. Very good standard of cleanliness and comfort. The staff are friendly and accommodating.they do try their very best to make our stay enjoyable. The hotel is centrally located thus it was easy to get to places. There is a nice travel agent at the corner of the street which you can book the tour to Borobudur. Breakfast was good too. A wide range of food , ranging from local and international cuisines. Totally value for money
Christophe D. Families with young children Belgium, August 12, 2013
Tranquility in 20's style design

Quiet rooms, Superb (FAST Internet), Good food
8
Stay in the hotel was very good - the staff is very friendly & helpful. Some remarks with respect to that: - some services do take (a bit of) time - having a quick drink in the courtyard takes quite a while ;-) - Not all staff have a high level of English skills. Usually not a problem, though. The room is truly very nice and the view from the balcony into the courtyard quite nice. The courtyard in the back building, where the swimmingpool is, looks nice indeed, even if the pool itself is typically quite crowded. Quality of food is excellent & varied, but not really cheap.
Rui L. Couples August 11, 2013
value for money

friendly staff, clean rooms, rich heritage
8
Rahul P. Couples United States of America, August 11, 2013
Beautiful hotel, fabulous decorations

Location, Decorations, Food
8
We found our stay at this hotel to be excellent, and one of the best hotels we stayed at in Asia. It was convenient, not too expensive, and really beautiful. They had an excellent breakfast and meal choices, as well as a great extensive buffet dinner which had a number of different selections. We enjoyed our stay here and would recommend this to anyone.
Alexander S. Solo travelers Singapore, August 7, 2013
Centraly located colonial style hotel

Ambience, location and friendliness
7.3
It was a very pleasant and relaxing stay at this hotel. The hotel itself is an old colonial style building that is very well kept and run! The location of the hotel is also very convenient near to the Malioboro main shopping area in the city. Hotel facilities were very good. The staff were very friendly! It's a good place to start your exploration of the famous heritage temple sites Jogjakarta is so famous for. Finally this hotel is really value for your money! I'd recommend it to all whenever they plan to come to Jogjakarta!
Previous page 411 - 420 of 1371 reviews Next page
The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta YogyakartaThe Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta Yogyakarta - InteriorThe Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta Yogyakarta - RestaurantThe Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta Yogyakarta - InteriorThe Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta Yogyakarta - Guest RoomThe Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta Yogyakarta - InteriorThe Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta Yogyakarta - Meeting RoomThe Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta Yogyakarta - RestaurantThe Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta Yogyakarta - RestaurantThe Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta Yogyakarta - InteriorThe Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta Yogyakarta - ReceptionThe Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta Yogyakarta - Guest RoomThe Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta Yogyakarta - SpaThe Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta Yogyakarta - ExteriorThe Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta Yogyakarta - Business Center & ShopThe Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta Yogyakarta - Fitness RoomThe Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta Yogyakarta - Chef TableThe Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta Yogyakarta - Guest RoomThe Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta Yogyakarta - Fitness CenterThe Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta Yogyakarta - Suite RoomThe Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta Yogyakarta - Suite RoomThe Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta Yogyakarta - SpaThe Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta Yogyakarta - ExteriorThe Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta Yogyakarta - Business CenterThe Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta Yogyakarta - RestaurantThe Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta Yogyakarta - Swimming PoolThe Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta Yogyakarta - RestaurantThe Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta Yogyakarta - Balcony/TerraceThe Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta Yogyakarta - RestaurantThe Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta Yogyakarta - InteriorThe Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta Yogyakarta - Swimming PoolThe Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta Yogyakarta - Guest RoomThe Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta Yogyakarta - InteriorThe Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta Yogyakarta - InteriorThe Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta Yogyakarta - InteriorThe Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta Yogyakarta - Guest RoomThe Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta Yogyakarta - Guest RoomThe Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta Yogyakarta - Deluxe Legacy 2 Single BedsThe Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta Yogyakarta - Deluxe Legacy 2 Single BedsThe Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta Yogyakarta - Superior Heritage 2 Single BedsThe Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta Yogyakarta - RestaurantThe Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta Yogyakarta - InteriorThe Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta Yogyakarta - FacilitiesThe Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta Yogyakarta - Swimming PoolThe Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta Yogyakarta - Guest RoomThe Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta Yogyakarta - Guest RoomThe Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta Yogyakarta - Fitness RoomThe Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta Yogyakarta - InteriorThe Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta Yogyakarta - Meeting RoomThe Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta Yogyakarta - InteriorThe Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta Yogyakarta - ExteriorThe Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta Yogyakarta - InteriorThe Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta Yogyakarta - Guest RoomThe Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta Yogyakarta - FacilitiesThe Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta Yogyakarta - SpaThe Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta Yogyakarta - ShopsThe Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta Yogyakarta - Facilities


Agoda is part of The Priceline Group, the world leader in online travel & related services.

AS-AGWEB-3A06