Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta

Jalan Jenderal Sudirman No. 9, Yogyakarta City Center, Yogyakarta, Indonesia 55233

Recent customer reviews

Filter by Traveler Type

 

Excellent

8.7

based on
1888 reviews

1336 reviews in English

Value for Money
8.7
Location
8.5
Staff Performance
8.8
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
9.0
Room Comfort/Standard
8.9
Food/Dining
8.3
All reviews (1888)
Sort by:
Ajay G. Families with young children India, May 6, 2013
Comfortable

Location,
7.3
Report this review
Yew H. Couples Malaysia, May 5, 2013
A surprisingly comfortable hotel, not spooky

Charming, Surprising, Comfortable
10
Phoenix is an excellent hotel with great decor and charm. In contrary to the reputation it has - said as spooky, it was absolutely elegant and lovely.
Report this review
Cindy K. Solo travelers Singapore, May 5, 2013
Comfortable and semi-luxurious stay

Room, Atmosphere, Staff
9.3
Report this review
Nicola C. Couples Australia, May 1, 2013
Fabulous hotel. Like being in another era.

Lovely, lovely building and surrounds. Experienced and extremely helpful staff. Fast and attentive service
9.7
We loved our stay at the Phoenix hotel. We extended by one night to a total of seven nights. I definitely would stay here again and would recommend this hotel to others. Staff are most helpful. I love the atmosphere of the Phoenix Hotel. Jogyakarta is an amazing city with a great deal to offer.
Report this review
Paul W. Couples United Kingdom, April 29, 2013
A great colonial style hotel

comfort, dining and location
9.7
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay for a family wedding
Report this review
Gary L. Groups United States of America, April 29, 2013
classic colonial gem in the heart of Yogyakarta

clean, well furnished, classic beauty
9
Yes, it's pricey. Food is also pretentious and expensive. But this is the famous Phoenix. We stayed one night in the rice patties outside Borobudur, and then we shifted to the Phoenix. The moment you step in, you feel like you've traveled back in time during the days of British and Dutch explorers. But don't let the classic design of the hotel fool ya. Everything inside is well furnished and quite modern, yet it retains the colonial, exploration-theme look and feel. The rooms could be larger, but it's just perfect for some rest and relaxation after a busy day of touring the famous temples, street markets, etc. There's a convenience store across the street, but do be careful when traversing through the sometimes crazy Yogyakarta traffic. Our balcony had a beautiful view of the city and sunrise, plus the cemetary to the left. Oddly, there's only one outdoor chair. Everything about the room is what you would expect from a 5 star. The bathroom did feel a bit cramped, and there was no bathtub. All the staff are very friendly, although the restaurant staff are not as sharp and professional as I had wanted them to be. Food was expensive but were of large portions. If your stomach can handle it, I recommend you explore the local food joints around the neighborhood instead. Our room was in a wing away from the main lobby, so it required a 5 minute walk through the inside courtyard and through a few corridors. Nothing that will tire you out, but a small bit of inconvenience. Overall, a fantastic experience still.
Report this review
Mary L. Couples Philippines, April 29, 2013
Beautiful, quiet hotel

The staff were very nice, the room was big and comfortable, the pool was great and the hotel had a nice, relaxed and quiet vibe.
9
Report this review
Nita G. Families with older children Indonesia, April 28, 2013
Nice and cozy hotel

Clean, Romantic, Heritage
6
Very nice and relax and cozy I enjoy the time when I have a precious weekend
Report this review
Eleni L. Couples Greece, April 27, 2013
It was better than OK for Indonesia

Air Con, air con, air con....
8.7
Report this review
Irvanto H. Solo travelers Indonesia, April 27, 2013
Satisfied

Design, luxury, good food
7.7
Have a quality time sleep, great art hotel and very close to everywhere. Recomended hotel
Report this review
Previous page 461 - 470 of 1336 reviews Next page
The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta YogyakartaThe Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta Yogyakarta - InteriorThe Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta Yogyakarta - InteriorThe Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta Yogyakarta - RestaurantThe Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta Yogyakarta - InteriorThe Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta Yogyakarta - Guest RoomThe Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta Yogyakarta - InteriorThe Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta Yogyakarta - Meeting RoomThe Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta Yogyakarta - RestaurantThe Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta Yogyakarta - RestaurantThe Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta Yogyakarta - InteriorThe Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta Yogyakarta - ReceptionThe Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta Yogyakarta - Guest RoomThe Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta Yogyakarta - SpaThe Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta Yogyakarta - ExteriorThe Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta Yogyakarta - Business Center & ShopThe Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta Yogyakarta - Fitness RoomThe Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta Yogyakarta - Chef TableThe Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta Yogyakarta - Swimming PoolThe Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta Yogyakarta - Guest RoomThe Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta Yogyakarta - Fitness CenterThe Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta Yogyakarta - Suite RoomThe Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta Yogyakarta - Suite RoomThe Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta Yogyakarta - SpaThe Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta Yogyakarta - ExteriorThe Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta Yogyakarta - Business CenterThe Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta Yogyakarta - RestaurantThe Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta Yogyakarta - Swimming PoolThe Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta Yogyakarta - RestaurantThe Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta Yogyakarta - Balcony/TerraceThe Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta Yogyakarta - RestaurantThe Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta Yogyakarta - InteriorThe Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta Yogyakarta - Swimming PoolThe Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta Yogyakarta - Guest RoomThe Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta Yogyakarta - InteriorThe Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta Yogyakarta - InteriorThe Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta Yogyakarta - InteriorThe Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta Yogyakarta - Fitness RoomThe Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta Yogyakarta - Guest RoomThe Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta Yogyakarta - Guest RoomThe Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta Yogyakarta - Deluxe Legacy 2 Single BedsThe Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta Yogyakarta - Deluxe Legacy 2 Single BedsThe Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta Yogyakarta - Superior Heritage 2 Single BedsThe Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta Yogyakarta - Superior Heritage 2 Single BedsThe Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta Yogyakarta - RestaurantThe Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta Yogyakarta - Interior


Agoda.com is part of The Priceline Group, the world leader in online travel & related services.

AS-AGWEB-3B06