Back to hotel info

2015
Excellent 8.7
Based on 1977 reviews

Verified traveler reviews

Filter by traveler type
Excellent



based on 1977 reviews
  • Cleanliness 9.0
  • Facilities 8.4
  • Location 8.5
  • Room Comfort/Standard 8.9
  • Service 8.8
  • Value for money 8.7
  • Food/Dining 8.3

Veronica B. from United Kingdom
Groups
Stayed 3 nights in June 2013
The Hotel is a beautiful haven of Yogyakarta
Helpful staff, it has a lovely colonial feel with an easy access to visit all near by areas.
I'm a regular traveller, I would highly recommend your hotel for travellers or couples , whom would like to explore the area. The hotel staff was very helpful, they are even packed a sandwich box for my friend for the day trip when we had an early start. It is one of the most romantic hotel I've stayed in! (European Lady traveller )
Reviewed June 13, 2013

Joyce X. from Singapore
Groups
Stayed one night in May 2013
Unique accommodation with character
Colonial feel bar, bed, ambience
Perfect ambience in colonial setting. Worth the go! There's a nonya restaurant that's pretty famous right opposite the hotel. Delicious food. Check if the security guards could help you in crossing the bustling busy traffic to get there!
Reviewed June 12, 2013

Mazdurah Z. from Malaysia
Business travelers
Stayed 3 nights in June 2013
comfortable
the service is good
the service is great, small room but sufficient. Okay for 1 person
Reviewed June 11, 2013

Widie T. from Indonesia
Solo travelers
Stayed one night in June 2013
Its Nice
the staff and services very fast and very polite
everything is good, just the bed it self need to be change and the toilet looks old
Reviewed June 10, 2013

Witchuda D. from Thailand
Couples
Stayed 2 nights in April 2013
The Memorable Hotel Indeed!
Beautiful Place, Best Service, Relaxing Atmosphere
The hotel is beautifully design and has its own historical background. The location is great, it is about 30 min walk to the city center where you can dine and shop. The breakfast is nice with the mix of Indonesian and western food. The Indonesian herbal medicine drink is a unique experience for us. The hotel also offers van with driver service for a-day trip to visit historical sites around the area. After a long day trip, it is very nice to relax in the pool or go to the spa for massage. The gym is very well-equipped with a personal trainer on duty all day. We spent truly amazing and relaxing time at the Phoenix Hotel and will recommend the place for our friends and family.
Reviewed June 10, 2013

SueAnn T. from United States
Solo travelers
Stayed 2 nights in May 2013
Luxurious, iconic hotel in funky neighborhood
Luxurious, gorgeous decor, friendly staff
This hotel was amazingly luxurious and beautifully decorated for the price. The restaurant was a bit too expensive for our budget, but the buffets looked delicious. The pool is lovely as well, but the surrounding area is pretty down-trodden and away from most of the city's attractions, although we were able to walk to the Batik school, where we purchased quite a few (at a much better price for higher quality). There aren't very many good restaurants in the area, so you're kind of stuck eating at the hotel, but it's well worth it to experience such an iconic hotel.
Reviewed June 06, 2013

Paul D. from United States
Solo travelers
Stayed 2 nights in May 2013
A very unique hotel
History, service, comfort
Great hotel. Love the history in the building and how well it has been renovated. Had one small water leak during a rain storm, but otherwise the room was fantastic. Staff are outgoing and very friendly. There are many unique, high-quality items for sale in the hotel (batik, etc) although the price is not as low as you'll find outside. A convenient stepping off point, including easy access to Jl Malioboro. I will go back.
Reviewed June 05, 2013

Valter V. from Portugal
Couples
Stayed 2 nights in May 2013
not surprising
the building, the pool and the food
Reviewed June 03, 2013

Budi H. from Indonesia
Business travelers
Stayed 2 nights in March 2013
the worse five star hotel ive been check-in
for me, is very bad experiane
Reviewed June 02, 2013

PERLITA M. from Philippines
Families with older children
Stayed 2 nights in May 2013
Relaxing and classy
Elegant,quiet,relaxing
We enjoyed our stay in Phoenix, the staff were friendly and attentive. The food was excellent. The atmosphere was homey.
Reviewed June 02, 2013