Back to hotel info

2015
Excellent 8.7
Based on 1981 reviews

Verified traveler reviews

Filter by traveler type
Excellent



based on 1981 reviews
  • Hotel Condition/Cleanliness 9.0
  • Facilities 8.5
  • Location 8.5
  • Room Comfort/Standard 8.9
  • Service 8.8
  • Value for Money 8.6
  • Food/Dining 8.3
Sort by

chong M. from Malaysia
Couples
Stayed 2 nights in May 2013
Fantastic Hotel with friendly staff, WIFI in Room
Lovely and Well decorated hotel, WiFi in Room, comfy Room with kettle
Amazingly lovely hotel, attractive balcony, comfy Room.
Reviewed May 23, 2013

Selvy W. from Indonesia
Groups
Stayed one night in May 2013
A fantastic hotel
Beautiful historical hotel, cleanliness, location
I really love this hotel. The hotel design is so beautiful. The room was nice and comfortable. The staff were very helpful.
Reviewed May 22, 2013

Robert S. from United States
Families with young children
Stayed 3 nights in March 2013
Wonderful historic hotel, nicely updated
Tasteful historic design, nice room, friendly staff
I stayed at the Phoenix for 4 nights with my wife and young son and would have happily stayed longer; I'll definitely go back. The hotel is beautiful, historic colonial style very nicely updated with local art throughout. Rooms were very nice (especially the suite we were upgraded to the first night), service was attentive and very friendly, and the buffet breakfast was good and extensive. (There is also a great local restaurant right across the street.) The only minor shortcoming was that the pool is relatively small; but still very good to relax in or next to. Overall I can't recommend the hotel enough, and look forward to going back.
Reviewed May 17, 2013

Robert S. from United States
Families with young children
Stayed one night in March 2013
Beautiful, friendly historic hotel, good location
Beautiful decor and ambience, nice rooms, friendly service
We had a very nice stay at the Phoenix and will definitely go back. We were upgraded to a suite the first night, which was great. Our regular room was nice as well; the decor in both and throughout the hotel is very nice, with regional art everywhere. Breakfast was not cheap but was very good with a wide selection. Staff were friendly and helpful though not all spoke English, they were quick to assist whenever we needed anything. The pool is too small for serious lap swimming but very nice to relax and cool off in. Our 4-year old son enjoyed the hotel as well. We'll definitely go back.
Reviewed May 17, 2013

Ajay G. from India
Families with young children
Stayed 2 nights in May 2013
Comfortable
Location,
Reviewed May 16, 2013

jonathan C. from Australia
Couples
Stayed 3 nights in April 2013
very nice hotel
the three best things about this hotel are the rooms, pool and the gardens
The phoenix hotel yogyakarta was very nice. The rooms are large and clean as was the bathroom. The hotel had a nice breakfast with a good choice of both western and Indonesian food. The hotel has a nice pool. The hotel is not far from shopping malls. The airport also is not far. A good stay at this hotel.
Reviewed May 16, 2013

Simon N. from Singapore
Couples
Stayed one night in May 2013
Feels like you're at your home.
Nice decoration, Good security and Polite staff.
Reviewed May 13, 2013

Yew K. from Malaysia
Couples
Stayed one night in May 2013
A surprisingly comfortable hotel, not spooky
Charming, Surprising, Comfortable
Phoenix is an excellent hotel with great decor and charm. In contrary to the reputation it has - said as spooky, it was absolutely elegant and lovely.
Reviewed May 13, 2013

Nicola C. from Australia
Couples
Stayed 6 nights in April 2013
Fabulous hotel. Like being in another era.
Lovely, lovely building and surrounds. Experienced and extremely helpful staff. Fast and attentive service
We loved our stay at the Phoenix hotel. We extended by one night to a total of seven nights. I definitely would stay here again and would recommend this hotel to others. Staff are most helpful. I love the atmosphere of the Phoenix Hotel. Jogyakarta is an amazing city with a great deal to offer.
Reviewed May 11, 2013

PAUL W. from United Kingdom
Couples
Stayed 4 nights in April 2013
A great colonial style hotel
comfort, dining and location
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay for a family wedding
Reviewed May 10, 2013