Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta

Jalan Jenderal Sudirman No. 9, Yogyakarta City Center, Yogyakarta, Indonesia 55233

Recent customer reviews

Filter by Traveler Type

 

Excellent

8.7

based on
1888 reviews

1335 reviews in English

Value for Money
8.7
Location
8.5
Staff Performance
8.8
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
9.0
Room Comfort/Standard
8.9
Food/Dining
8.3
All reviews (1888)
Sort by:
Roxane D. Solo travelers France, February 1, 2016
Stylish hotel but aging

Style, staff, peaceful
7.7
Report this review
Wenchyan K. Couples Malaysia, January 14, 2016
SATISFIED

CLASSIC
8
GOOD
Report this review
Randall H. Business travelers United States of America, January 12, 2016
Old World Charm in the Heart of Yogyakarta

Ambiance - Staff - Location
9.7
Over the past 25 years I have visited Yogyakarta many times both for business and for sight seeing. As with so many 'hidden' treasures it took the recommendation of a close friend to bring me to the Phoenix Hotel. Like myself she has been to Yogya many times and The Phoenix Hotel is her favorite home away from home when she is in the area. My first impression was of a timeless elegance from an earlier time. The staff are warm and gracious and the open-air central courtyard makes you feel you are in a lovely tropical setting not in the middle of a busy city. After a full day of travel and business in traffic and heat it is a welcome retreat to enter the lobby and be transported into cool colonial elegance. The food service was excellent and the morning breakfast buffet one of the most creative and impressive in Indonesia. The rooms are on the small side with only a few centimeters between twin beds the amenities are lovely and the snacks are in hanging bird cages. We stayed on the send level with a balcony from which volcanos could be seen to the north. Loved our stay and highly recommend it!
Report this review
Faizal K. Business travelers Indonesia, December 28, 2015
very disappointed
3.3
We booked 5 rooms for my colleague. We do very disappointed about the room condition. I was complaining twice. Firstly, when we came at 12.30, the receptionist told that many guests were late for checked out. Then, we have to wait 1-1,5 hours to get the (only) 2 rooms. Till we decided to et around the town until 18.30, we got 5 rooms then. Unfortunately, my unlucky was still going on when I got in into my room, the central Air conditioning didn't work well and the staff was very lazy to clean up our room. It was beyond our expectations that it is 5 star hotel. We hope that it is never happen in the future.
Report this review
Janty L. Couples Indonesia, December 27, 2015
Best classic hotel in Jogyakarta

Location, Room comfort and cleanliness
8.7
We stayed in deluxe room and facing the pool, which is very convenience if want to swim or to do spa. which also give a good picture spot. The bed is very comfortable also.
Report this review
Zhern L. Families with older children Singapore, December 27, 2015
Great service

Staff, spa, gym
8.7
Report this review
Dominik Z. Couples Germany, December 26, 2015
.

.
6.7
.
Report this review
Feby F. Couples Indonesia, December 23, 2015
The pool was so narrow, but the food was excellent

Food, vintage and near town
8
Report this review
Siew T. Solo travelers Singapore, December 23, 2015
Good location but hotel condition can be better

Good location, comfortable bed
6.7
Personally I liked the location of the hotel and the comfortable bed. It's heritage decor is also pretty good. However, the room and the toilet are much smaller than I expected. The room that I stayed in is not very clean. The floor has black substances (ash like dirt), and there are sounds coming from the walls. The water temperature for the shower is also very inconsistent. Just went I thought I have adjusted the temperature well, the water turned scalding hot. Breakfast offers a good variety of food but quality wise is pretty average. The hotel needs to be better maintained. Service at the restaurant is not bad. I ordered ala carte items (crabmeat fried rice) and the staff did came over to ask me if the food is acceptable. The fried rice is a tad spicy for me but their warm chocolate cake is worth trying out if you are looking out for a great dessert!
Report this review
Peter C. Solo travelers Australia, December 20, 2015
A confortable and restful hotel.

The friendliness of all the staff, the quality of the furnishings, and the easy access to the main tourist attractions.
10
A very enjoyable stay made very pleasant by the friendliness of all the staff. I enjoyed the high quality of the furnishing and the delicious meals - especially the Friday night buffet. It was a pity that the quality of the bathroom was not higher - the toilet was the worst flushing I had experienced in Indonesia.
Report this review
1 - 10 of 1335 reviews Next page
The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta YogyakartaThe Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta Yogyakarta - InteriorThe Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta Yogyakarta - InteriorThe Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta Yogyakarta - RestaurantThe Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta Yogyakarta - InteriorThe Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta Yogyakarta - Guest RoomThe Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta Yogyakarta - InteriorThe Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta Yogyakarta - Meeting RoomThe Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta Yogyakarta - RestaurantThe Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta Yogyakarta - RestaurantThe Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta Yogyakarta - InteriorThe Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta Yogyakarta - ReceptionThe Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta Yogyakarta - Guest RoomThe Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta Yogyakarta - SpaThe Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta Yogyakarta - ExteriorThe Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta Yogyakarta - Business Center & ShopThe Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta Yogyakarta - Fitness RoomThe Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta Yogyakarta - Chef TableThe Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta Yogyakarta - Swimming PoolThe Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta Yogyakarta - Guest RoomThe Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta Yogyakarta - Fitness CenterThe Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta Yogyakarta - Suite RoomThe Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta Yogyakarta - Suite RoomThe Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta Yogyakarta - SpaThe Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta Yogyakarta - ExteriorThe Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta Yogyakarta - Business CenterThe Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta Yogyakarta - RestaurantThe Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta Yogyakarta - Swimming PoolThe Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta Yogyakarta - RestaurantThe Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta Yogyakarta - Balcony/TerraceThe Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta Yogyakarta - RestaurantThe Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta Yogyakarta - InteriorThe Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta Yogyakarta - Swimming PoolThe Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta Yogyakarta - Guest RoomThe Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta Yogyakarta - InteriorThe Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta Yogyakarta - InteriorThe Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta Yogyakarta - InteriorThe Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta Yogyakarta - Fitness RoomThe Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta Yogyakarta - Guest RoomThe Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta Yogyakarta - Guest RoomThe Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta Yogyakarta - Deluxe Legacy 2 Single BedsThe Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta Yogyakarta - Deluxe Legacy 2 Single BedsThe Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta Yogyakarta - Superior Heritage 2 Single BedsThe Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta Yogyakarta - Superior Heritage 2 Single BedsThe Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta Yogyakarta - RestaurantThe Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta Yogyakarta - Interior


Agoda.com is part of The Priceline Group, the world leader in online travel & related services.

AS-AGWEB-3B05