Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

The Portswood Hotel

Portswood Square, Portswood Road, V & A Waterfront, Cape Town, South Africa 8001 (Show on map)

Book now!

The Portswood Hotel Cape Town - Arial View The Portswood Hotel Cape Town - View of Table Mountain The Portswood Hotel Cape Town - Breakfast Buffet The Portswood Hotel Cape Town - Reception The Portswood Hotel Cape Town - Outdoor Swimming Pool The Portswood Hotel Cape Town - Lounge The Portswood Hotel Cape Town - Boardroom The Portswood Hotel Cape Town - Reception The Portswood Hotel Cape Town - Business Centre The Portswood Hotel Cape Town - Waterfront View The Portswood Hotel Cape Town - Bar The Portswood Hotel Cape Town - Hotel Entrance The Portswood Hotel Cape Town - Lounge The Portswood Hotel Cape Town - The Quarterdeck Restaurant The Portswood Hotel Cape Town - Garden Setting The Portswood Hotel Cape Town - Passage
The Portswood Hotel Cape Town - Swimming Pool The Portswood Hotel Cape Town - Luxurious Room The Portswood Hotel Cape Town - Luxurious Room The Portswood Hotel Cape Town - Hotel Entrance The Portswood Hotel Cape Town - Luxurious Room The Portswood Hotel Cape Town - Portswood Poolside The Portswood Hotel Cape Town - Portswood Garden Dining The Portswood Hotel Cape Town - Portswood Foyer 2 The Portswood Hotel Cape Town - Portswood Dining The Portswood Hotel Cape Town - Portswood Cape Malay Dinner The Portswood Hotel Cape Town - Portswood Porte Cochere
Area: V & A Waterfront Number of Rooms: 93

Recent customer reviews

Filter by Traveler Type

 

Very good

8.0

based on
56 reviews

48 reviews in English

Value for Money
7.5
Location
9.4
Staff Performance
7.6
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
8.1
Room Comfort/Standard
7.9
Food/Dining
7.8
All reviews (56)
Sort by:
Jan T. Couples Switzerland, January 1, 2016
Good location a bit noisy from the market

Location
7.3
Ok
Report this review
Nigel M. Couples United Kingdom, December 28, 2015
Visit to Portswood Hotel Christmas 2015

Location proximity to the Waterfront area, Spacious bright and newly renovated room, Staff in the food and beverage area were excellent
8.7
The stay was pleasant and the hotel staff in the main were excellent. The front desk staff were not as polished as other support staff. The only real negative point was that the internet service was terrible, this was pointed out to the front desk and they agreed but it is a longstanding problem definite room for immediate improvement there. Not sure on the rating system in South Africa but would mark down from the 4 star mainly on supporting amenities however I would stay in the PortsWood Hotel again if I needed to stay in the Waterfront area.
Report this review
Clifford S. Couples Namibia, November 6, 2015
Always a pleasant stay

Location practical
5.3
For the 1 night stay it was practical the room however was very impractical as it had no privacy the blinds had to be kept drawn at all times which made it dark we've had better even for a discounted rate the room was not worth the money
Report this review
Blu A. Couples South Africa, September 25, 2015
Cimfortable stay

Location, comfort , quiet
9.7
We stayed for two nights in a comfortable room. I was very happy with the location of this hotel as we could walk to the waterfront in 5 minutes. It was quiet and the staff were very friendly and helpful during my stay. I loved the bathrooms and the cleanliness a and standard of comfort and fittings for the room are lovely. It was affordable!!I'd recommend this Hotel to other travelers as it has a history attached to it aswell!!
Report this review
Michelle S. Couples Canada, September 25, 2015
Meh

Next to Hop On Hop Off bus office
4.3
Thinly veiled disdain from staff, small bed, rooms not soundproof, breakfast adequate but food quite poor quality compared to some of the guest houses we stayed at. Overall, poor value for money in the area. Could not recommend.
Report this review
Weng C. Business travelers Singapore, September 6, 2015
Great Stay, Convenient

Clean, quiet, friendly staffs
10
It is very near to V&A waterfront. Convenient to food and shopping mall. The staffs are very friendly, clean up the room every day and prepare the room for bedtime. Enjoy the stay :)
Report this review
Nicoletta M. Families with older children Italy, August 24, 2015
Highly enjoyable stay

Food, location, comfort
10
Such an enjoyable stay, hotel so clean & very helpful staff. Excellent breakfast & South African cuisine in restaurant. 5 mins walk from lovely V&A Waterfront. Free use of gym in sister hotel next door. We will definitely come back.
Report this review
Cathy S. Solo travelers United Kingdom, August 7, 2015
location is everything.....

Location, cleanliness and breakfast
10
Great stay at the Portswood, special mention to the exceptionally clean rooms, fantastic breakfast each and every morning. Staff were all very helpful and Internet was very good. The best thing about the hotel is its proximity to the waterfront, 5 minute walk through a very safe area.
Report this review
Barry G. Couples Australia, July 27, 2015
A Gem

Location. Staff.Rooms
10
A great little Gem of a place in a safe and great location ,the staff are pleasant and very attentive we loved our 5night stay and we will definitely go back ..thank you all for making our stay great
Report this review
Keita S. Families with young children Japan, July 19, 2015
Excellent location, great staff service

Excellent location, great staff service, comfortable room
8.3
We enjoyed our stay very much thanks to the great services offered by all staffs of the hotel which is located just next to the waterfront.
Report this review
1 - 10 of 48 reviews Next page
 

Book now!

Sale ends soon!

The Portswood Hotel Cape Town - Hotel EntranceThe Portswood Hotel Cape Town - Arial View The Portswood Hotel Cape Town - View of Table Mountain The Portswood Hotel Cape Town - Breakfast BuffetThe Portswood Hotel Cape Town - Reception The Portswood Hotel Cape Town - Outdoor Swimming Pool The Portswood Hotel Cape Town - Lounge The Portswood Hotel Cape Town - Boardroom The Portswood Hotel Cape Town - Reception The Portswood Hotel Cape Town - Business Centre The Portswood Hotel Cape Town - Waterfront ViewThe Portswood Hotel Cape Town - Bar The Portswood Hotel Cape Town - Hotel EntranceThe Portswood Hotel Cape Town - Lounge The Portswood Hotel Cape Town - The Quarterdeck RestaurantThe Portswood Hotel Cape Town - Garden SettingThe Portswood Hotel Cape Town - Passage The Portswood Hotel Cape Town - Swimming PoolThe Portswood Hotel Cape Town - Luxurious RoomThe Portswood Hotel Cape Town - Luxurious RoomThe Portswood Hotel Cape Town - Hotel EntranceThe Portswood Hotel Cape Town - Luxurious RoomThe Portswood Hotel Cape Town - Portswood PoolsideThe Portswood Hotel Cape Town - Portswood Garden DiningThe Portswood Hotel Cape Town - Portswood Foyer 2The Portswood Hotel Cape Town - Portswood DiningThe Portswood Hotel Cape Town - Portswood Cape Malay DinnerThe Portswood Hotel Cape Town - Portswood Porte Cochere


Agoda.com is part of The Priceline Group, the world leader in online travel & related services.

AS-AGWEB-3C06