or

Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

The Portswood Hotel

Portswood Square, Portswood Road, V & A Waterfront, Cape Town, South Africa 8001 (Show on map)

Book now!

The Portswood Hotel Cape Town - Arial View The Portswood Hotel Cape Town - View of Table Mountain The Portswood Hotel Cape Town - Breakfast Buffet The Portswood Hotel Cape Town - Reception The Portswood Hotel Cape Town - Outdoor Swimming Pool The Portswood Hotel Cape Town - Lounge The Portswood Hotel Cape Town - Boardroom The Portswood Hotel Cape Town - Reception The Portswood Hotel Cape Town - Business Centre The Portswood Hotel Cape Town - Waterfront View The Portswood Hotel Cape Town - Bar The Portswood Hotel Cape Town - Hotel Entrance The Portswood Hotel Cape Town - Lounge The Portswood Hotel Cape Town - The Quarterdeck Restaurant The Portswood Hotel Cape Town - Garden Setting
Area: V & A Waterfront Number of Rooms: 93
Free Wi-Fi

Recent customer reviews

Filter by Traveler Type

 

Very Good

7.8

based on
36 reviews

Value for Money
7.1
Location
9.4
Staff Performance
7.3
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
7.7
Room Comfort/Standard
7.7
Food/Dining
7.6
All reviews (36)
Sort by:
Anita M. Solo travelers Canada, June 12, 2014
Budget hotel

Great location, close to the waterfront and shopping areas
7.3
Good value, carpets worn, tiles chipped in bathroom but otherwise clean and adequate. Breakfast a bit disappointing as most fruit was canned, local seasonal fruits seemed to be sparce.
Alan D. Business travelers United Kingdom, February 26, 2014
Once was more than enough!

Location, location, location
4.3
Disinterested staff. Faulty airconditioner that was never fixed. Room not made up one day when I got back at three. Tiny rooms. Their offer of "Free Wifi" is limited daily. Tired, stuffy hotel. Why stay there and pay so much when there are so many other hotels on offer.?
Zaman C. Solo travelers United Kingdom, February 24, 2014
Ruin the mood, not even 3 star

location, location, location
5
Paid soo much for 4 star but the hotel rooms, facilities are just or close to 3 star. One of the worst experiences as the staff performance ruin the mood. Booked the car 2 days earlier from travel desk, the person didn't have a clue on the day suppose to receive it. Complained to manager on duty, she listened as a courtesy and just walked away. Finally had to rush to Avis to get a car. Ordered airport taxi a day earlier than check out. When reached lobby and inquired, she replied casually "taxi will be here if u have ordered". Waited 15 minutes and asked again and finally she come to know taxi is waiting for 25 minutes already. Very layed back, care free and disappointing performance from staff. I will never stay there again.
Natalie W. Couples United Kingdom, January 2, 2014
Rude and unfriendly checkin staff, TINY twin

Location
4.3
I am waiting to hear back from the hotel as they insist we have not paid for both the stay we upheld and a cancelled stay. I have sent them the confirmations you have sent but they are basically completely confused and have no idea what's going on! Our room was a tiny twin, a considering we booked a double/twin and it was new years eve this was rather disappointing. The cooked breakfast was of poor quality (cereals etc were better) and the outside area was so small that only one sunbed at a time could be in the sun!
Andrew B. Business travelers United Kingdom, December 1, 2013
nice hotel, good location

location, surrounding area
8.3
I had a good stay at the Portswood. It has a nice atmosphere although perhaps not as good as the Commodore next door of the same chain, generally good service and reasonable food. Best of all is the location on the waterfront near the various free music events, the massive mall and loads of excellent restaurants.
Anusha N. Business travelers South Africa, September 27, 2013
Pleasent, comfortable and enjoyable

the location, the room size and the service
6
Stay was good, and the room and hotel were very clean and the service was good.
Ng Y. Solo travelers Malaysia, September 17, 2013
Exceed expectation nice stay experiences.

Breakfast, comfort bed, location.
9.3
Really a nice experience with truly value for money. Superb service from all staffs especially the restaurant serving the breakfast. I got personalized service from the restaurant and the staffs treat every guest equal. Really make my stay a memorable one. I love it!
Alex H. Business travelers South Africa, September 10, 2013
Fantastic hotel Staff allways prepaired to help

Location, and there staff and there food is good
9.7
There is just one word and that it is FANTASTIC. If there was one complane it was the WINE Prices is over the top If you think about it the Cape is wine country it should not be that expensive.
Catherine H. Couples United States of America, September 9, 2013
small, hot room, and noisy if you open the window

location
6.7
First room had head of bed 6 inches lower than the foot. Asked to be moved to better bed. Double beds are smaller than American Queen size. Rooms are small.
Thean H. Couples Malaysia, September 7, 2013
Extremely Rude and Unfriendly Check-in Staff ..

Location
3
Unfriendly check-in staff. Only 300MB free wifi per day. I received a internet code from check-in staff during check-in. I tried connect to the code using password given but fail, so the staff gave me new password. I managed to connect and used only about 1hr time and i was told that my limit for 2 days (600MB) has exceeded. How can i use 600MB in 1hr time (i was just checking my email). I asked the check-in staff and he told me he didn't know and he can't too anything. He asked me to purchase more data by using credit card. This is ridiculous. I suspect that the staff used my code before my arrival, that's the reason i got lesser data limit when i connected. I heard from other staffs from kitchen that there used to be free wifi in the hotel, due to some staffs are spending more time on browsing internet instead of working, the hotel has removed the free wifi. It seems like this hotel has really bad system controlling their staff. Room is small, not comfortable. This aint a 4 stars hotel. Maximum 2-3 stars.

Book now!

Sale ends soon!

The Portswood Hotel Cape Town - Hotel EntranceThe Portswood Hotel Cape Town - Arial View The Portswood Hotel Cape Town - View of Table Mountain The Portswood Hotel Cape Town - Breakfast BuffetThe Portswood Hotel Cape Town - Reception The Portswood Hotel Cape Town - Outdoor Swimming Pool The Portswood Hotel Cape Town - Lounge The Portswood Hotel Cape Town - Boardroom The Portswood Hotel Cape Town - Reception The Portswood Hotel Cape Town - Business Centre The Portswood Hotel Cape Town - Waterfront ViewThe Portswood Hotel Cape Town - Bar The Portswood Hotel Cape Town - Hotel EntranceThe Portswood Hotel Cape Town - Lounge The Portswood Hotel Cape Town - The Quarterdeck RestaurantThe Portswood Hotel Cape Town - Garden Setting


AS-AGWEB-3A06