Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

The Royal Guest House

5 Kotchasarn Soi4, Loi Koh Road, Night Bazaar, Chiang Mai, Thailand 50100 (Show on map)

Book now!

The Royal Guest House Chiang Mai - Lanna Style Room	The Royal Guest House Chiang Mai - Guest Room The Royal Guest House Chiang Mai - Guest Room The Royal Guest House Chiang Mai - Guest Room The Royal Guest House Chiang Mai - Guest Room The Royal Guest House Chiang Mai - Standard room with air-con The Royal Guest House Chiang Mai - Guest Room The Royal Guest House Chiang Mai - Guest Room The Royal Guest House Chiang Mai - Bathroom The Royal Guest House Chiang Mai - Restaurant The Royal Guest House Chiang Mai - Swimming Pool The Royal Guest House Chiang Mai - Restaurant The Royal Guest House Chiang Mai - Interior The Royal Guest House Chiang Mai - Interior The Royal Guest House Chiang Mai - Interior The Royal Guest House Chiang Mai - Interior
The Royal Guest House Chiang Mai - Exterior
Area: Night Bazaar Number of Rooms: 60

Recent customer reviews

Filter by Traveler Type

 

Pleasant

6.8

from 222 reviews

Value for Money
7.3
Location
7.8
Staff Performance
7.0
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
6.1
Room Comfort/Standard
6.4
Food/Dining
6.2
All reviews (222)
Sort by:
Joelle R. Couples Canada, April 15, 2015
little details would make it better

location, service, food
8.3
We were expecting a normal fan room with a bed and a shower, no more, since we pay 400 baht. thats exactly what we got. Its nice as it is, little details make it not be a 3 stars, but then again, for 400 ,you cant expect luxury. the fan is noisy, the shower lacks pressure, the sheets are clean but have cigarette holes and the towels could be better cleaned. Its little details that are not dramatic, but that would make this placea lot better if they were fixed. The staff is super nice and helpful, the food is amazing and fairly priced (considering you are in a guesthouse, and chiang mai is kind of expensive already), the location is perfect! The place could use a hand of paint and there is no elevator, but thats not a problem as long as you know it beforehand. Overall, i would recommend for anyone travelling on a budget and doesnt need luxury.
Report this review
Amy W. Couples United Kingdom, April 4, 2015
Lovely stay

Location, staff, resturant area
7.3
Stayed here twice within 10 days. Very good for the money. First we stayed in the standard air con and it was fine by basic. Then we stayed in the Lanna room which was smaller but nice and with a fridge. Only problem was the bathroom would flood when using the shower. The resturant area is nice to sit in (just remember your DEET!) and the food was good and at a decent price. Location is good and just a 10 minute walk to the night bazaar.
Report this review
John L. Solo travelers United States of America, February 3, 2015
OK place

cheap
7
Just stayed a couple nights here. Didn't try the food but it looked ok - typical stuff. Place has a little pool. It's a bit run down, but the room was clean.
Report this review
Sara M. Solo travelers Italy, February 1, 2015
Nice place but internet never worked!

Lenzuola pulite, balconi x fumatori e silenziosa
6
Discreto
Report this review
Mohamad S. Groups Malaysia, January 11, 2015
creepy

choose for the last
8
Report this review
Jia-Yin C. Couples China, January 9, 2015
Just ok

decoration is very thai style
7
Location is fine,the room is ok,but the 1.5m double-bed is too small for two person.the air-condition is antique,The noise like a jet landing.
Report this review
Bounthay K. Couples Thailand, January 5, 2015
Horrible condition.

Cheap beer, good location, have parking.
3.7
So dirty we had to move to a new place.
Report this review
Lauren C. Solo travelers United States of America, December 27, 2014
Needs a good cleaning

Low price, close to center
4.7
The outtside and lobby are impressive, but the staff was fairly indifferent. The room had the potential to be nice but it was very dirty and worn out-- walls were filthy, bedsheets were old and worn. I felt a bit uncomfortable staying here. Fine for 1 night if you are on a tight budget, but for just a little more money you could find something cleaner and nicer.
Report this review
Andrew F. Couples Canada, December 26, 2014
It's not perfect but it has character.

The place looks very old which gives it a lot of charm, it has a pool, it's close to the old city.
7
We stayed in one of the nicer lower floor rooms which are a bit pricier. I can't imagine what the upper rooms are like. It smelled quite musty in the room and the smell stayed for three nights, the mattress had a decent sized tear in it which you couldn't avoid sleeping on and it was pretty uncomfortable. The bed has a great wide flat headboard to put things on which was great. You can flush toilet paper, always a bonus. The staff was very nice and friendly, the food at the restaurant was alright but you can get better for cheaper in the old city. The place must have been amazing in it's day, has a lot of character. The decor is really cool in the lobby and the building, with flowers growing all over, the pool looked fine. If it had a comfortable bed it would be great. Considering it has a pool, it's pretty worth the price. I think we paid 600 ish baht for the nicer suite, probably worth it.
Report this review
Chris C. Couples United Kingdom, December 22, 2014
Fawlty Towers meets The Grand Budapest Hotel

Leaving
5
Out-dated multi-storey car park with mint green furnishings. We stayed one night and then realised the place might fall down so went to 'My Mum's House'in the top right of the walled city which is much better value for money!
Report this review

Book now!

Sale ends soon!

The Royal Guest House Chiang MaiThe Royal Guest House Chiang Mai - Lanna Style Room	The Royal Guest House Chiang Mai - Guest RoomThe Royal Guest House Chiang Mai - Guest RoomThe Royal Guest House Chiang Mai - Guest RoomThe Royal Guest House Chiang Mai - Guest RoomThe Royal Guest House Chiang Mai - Standard room with air-conThe Royal Guest House Chiang Mai - Guest RoomThe Royal Guest House Chiang Mai - Guest RoomThe Royal Guest House Chiang Mai - BathroomThe Royal Guest House Chiang Mai - RestaurantThe Royal Guest House Chiang Mai - Swimming PoolThe Royal Guest House Chiang Mai - RestaurantThe Royal Guest House Chiang Mai - InteriorThe Royal Guest House Chiang Mai - InteriorThe Royal Guest House Chiang Mai - InteriorThe Royal Guest House Chiang Mai - InteriorThe Royal Guest House Chiang Mai - Exterior


Agoda.com is part of The Priceline Group, the world leader in online travel & related services.

AS-AGWEB-3C04