Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

The Royal Guest House

5 Kotchasarn soi 4 Tambon changkland Amphur Muang Chiangmai, Old City, Chiang Mai, Thailand 50100

Recent customer reviews

Filter by traveler type

 

Good

6.8

based on 256 reviews

134 reviews in English

Value for Money
7.2
Location
7.9
Staff Performance
6.9
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
6.1
Room Comfort/Standard
6.3
Food/Dining
6.1
All reviews (256)
Sort by:
Nicolas C. Solo travelers France, April 24, 2016
2 awesome barmen and great little pool to chill !
6.7
Budget hotel but very good value for money. The building looks quite old and needs a new paint but after a few hours you will forget about it as this place was really great! i ended up staying there almost 2 weeks. The room price was perfect, the AC was strong enough, there is a little balcony and the matress is comfortable. The location is the best, between old town with all the temples, and the night market to go out shopping and eating. The pool is awesome, not crowded at all and in the sun, you can just lay there all day as its very hot at the moment, sipping a yummy mojito prepared by the cool barman Jay (who speaks eglish and dutch fluently!). All staff speaks great english. There is a big open common room and a bar with 2 awesome very friendly and funny barmen, please spend some time with them they love to talk and have fun with the customers until late at night! Grab a beer or a 100 bahts yummy mai tai coktail and enjoy the pool!
Report this review
Rebecca A. Solo travelers United States of America, April 24, 2016
basic but great for what i needed it for
6
this is not a 5 star hotel - but it has everything you need in working condition plus a pool and friendly helpful staff. Its a great location and quiet. I was just here for 2 nights between travels and it was a great cheap option.
Report this review
Emily E. Couples United States of America, April 14, 2016
Do not book tours through guesthouse!
4.7
Do not book a tour through this guesthouse! We were told we had booked a particular elephant camp but were hugely mislead! Our guides did not know how to get to the camp so we drove around for an extra 45 minutes trying to find it. Once they found our way, we passed the camp we thought we were going to and finally arrived at "their own camp." All of the 6 elephants were chained up and we were repeatedly encouraged to ride the elephant. It was not what we had signed up for at all. The guesthouse overall was great for the money, just do not book tours through them.
Report this review
Jonathan D. Couples Australia, April 7, 2016
Awesome in every way
6.7
Best in Chiang Mai
Report this review
Tessa B. Solo travelers Canada, April 3, 2016
Royal guesthouse
6.7
This place is awesome! We had a basic room and the value was amazing for what we paid also the pool was great!
Report this review
James P. Solo travelers United States of America, March 31, 2016
Fine Loi Kroh spot
6.3
It's a little bit off Loi Kroh, but it's close enough. Do your research or know where you are going to be ahead of time. This is not mountain view resort. It is what it is. Big plus in the dry hot season is the pool. At this price point a pool is just amazing. They're in the midst of renovation which is a good thing.
Report this review
Emma F. Solo travelers Norway, February 29, 2016
Good Staff but bad Conditioned Hotel!!

Staff, Free Internet, Could by bears.
6
There rooms and other areas were not in a good condition and desperately need a paint job, but the staff was helpful!!
Report this review
Peggie M. Families with young children United States of America, February 3, 2016
Swimming Pool Very Cold

location
6
I only booked this hotel so I could swim in the pool. But the water was terribly cold and swimming was impossible. So I left a day early, even though there was no refund.
Report this review
Jaime R. Solo travelers United Kingdom, January 30, 2016
Freezing cold

Location is ok
3
I have never been so cold in my life, the room was on the 6th floor(top) & I had to put on layers of clothes because I was shivering so much. The window had been left wide open before I checked in. The room was very depressing, basic, unclean. Did not provide toilet paper or towel. You had to pay extra for these. The hotel does not have an elevator & I couldn't carry my suitcase up or down 6 floors of stairs. Most of the staff can not communicate in English at all!!! Would not stay here again & was desperate to leave.
Report this review
Jiwan Y. Couples South Korea, January 25, 2016
Not clean , old,

Location, pool
4.7
I stayed for 4 night on 2nd floors. I request about making up bed linen . They didn't change linen at all and clean the room. Air conditioner is so noisy and has no settings temperature options. Only 1 electricity power plug. Very dark room. Wifi is not working very well with ipad in the room. Balcony is not useless in my room. Hotel is very old.
Report this review
1 - 10 of 134 reviews Next page
The Royal Guest House Chiang MaiThe Royal Guest House Chiang Mai - Swimming PoolThe Royal Guest House Chiang Mai - EntranceThe Royal Guest House Chiang Mai - RestaurantThe Royal Guest House Chiang Mai - ExteriorThe Royal Guest House Chiang Mai - InteriorThe Royal Guest House Chiang Mai - InteriorThe Royal Guest House Chiang Mai - Coffee Shop/CafeThe Royal Guest House Chiang Mai - FacilitiesThe Royal Guest House Chiang Mai - Swimming PoolThe Royal Guest House Chiang Mai - Swimming PoolThe Royal Guest House Chiang Mai - LobbyThe Royal Guest House Chiang Mai - Swimming PoolThe Royal Guest House Chiang Mai - InteriorThe Royal Guest House Chiang Mai - Doi Suthep viewThe Royal Guest House Chiang Mai - LobbyThe Royal Guest House Chiang Mai - RestaurantThe Royal Guest House Chiang Mai - Entrance


Agoda is part of The Priceline Group, the world leader in online travel & related services.

AS-AGWEB-3C04