Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

The Royal Guest House

5 Kotchasarn Soi4, Loi Koh Road, Night Bazaar, Chiang Mai, Thailand 50100

Recent customer reviews

Filter by Traveler Type

 

Good

6.8

based on
236 reviews

124 reviews in English

Value for Money
7.3
Location
7.8
Staff Performance
6.9
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
6.0
Room Comfort/Standard
6.4
Food/Dining
6.1
All reviews (236)
Sort by:
Jaime R. Solo travelers United Kingdom, January 30, 2016
Freezing cold

Location is ok
3
I have never been so cold in my life, the room was on the 6th floor(top) & I had to put on layers of clothes because I was shivering so much. The window had been left wide open before I checked in. The room was very depressing, basic, unclean. Did not provide toilet paper or towel. You had to pay extra for these. The hotel does not have an elevator & I couldn't carry my suitcase up or down 6 floors of stairs. Most of the staff can not communicate in English at all!!! Would not stay here again & was desperate to leave.
Report this review
Jiwan Y. Couples South Korea, January 25, 2016
Not clean , old,

Location, pool
4.7
I stayed for 4 night on 2nd floors. I request about making up bed linen . They didn't change linen at all and clean the room. Air conditioner is so noisy and has no settings temperature options. Only 1 electricity power plug. Very dark room. Wifi is not working very well with ipad in the room. Balcony is not useless in my room. Hotel is very old.
Report this review
Shinapat K. Solo travelers Thailand, January 11, 2016
Good value for money

(1) Fantastic location, close to the old city (2) 15 mins walk to Yellow Zoey Bar!!!!! (great place to drink & party) (3) the swimming pool
9.7
The guesthouse is close to everything that you need - taxis, bike for rentals, 7-11, gym, night bazaar, weekend market, restaurants, local market, and pub & bars.
Report this review
Mary K. Couples Canada, January 2, 2016
It was OK

Location, Pool, Having a restaurant
6.3
It was OK. The sound in these older hotels tranfer and echo through the hallways so getting a sound sleep could be an issue as it was with us. Location is great as it is close to most everything. I am not sure why but the place could use a paint job in and out. Pictures on site are not totally representative. Beds are hard if you like them like that.
Report this review
Cari B. Couples Canada, December 30, 2015
Lost Reservation - Awful Room

Pool
3.3
We made the reservation paid in full on Agoda a week ahead of time. Upon arrival we were told that we had no reservation although we showed proof of. Although the lobby and pool look lovely, please do not let this fool you. We were placed on the ground floor in a room that did not reflect the photos on the booking site whatsoever. The room looked as if it had not been painted or touched in general since the 70's. Many mosquitos in the evening and night. Normally we only want basics while travelling - but we do expect to get what we've booked and paid for. Staff was unhelpful at The Royal Guest House. Save the hassle and stay elsewhere.
Report this review
Paul M. Couples New Zealand, December 29, 2015
double fan room . very very basic . would not stay

staff accomadating , location ok
4.7
double fan room , very very basic , would not recommend , had to bye water to drink , not clean, dirty and torn bed sheets , no fridge, no tv , just bed and shower , water ran dirty not clear, way over priced , paid two nights , stayed one
Report this review
Sittisak B. Couples Thailand, December 28, 2015
The best ever

cheap
6
Report this review
Kevin P. Families with older children Belgium, November 25, 2015
old hotel

location
4.3
ancient hotel only good thing was the location for the test very poor rooms
Report this review
Roberta J. Solo travelers Australia, November 13, 2015
Full of Character

Location-central yet quiet. Pool - clean and private from road. Room- comfortable, spacious, small balcony, hut water.
6.7
Generally good. Wifi access was intermittent and prone to drop out. Despite being open-air the lobby seemed to be always smoky. Rooms Clean and serviced daily. Surprising little touches such as soap, Shampoo and conditioner sachets. Having no tea making facilities in or closer to rooms and notices asking guests not to bring their own food or drink into the guest house was a little inconvenient us there are no lifts and I was up 8 flights of stairs. Staff always pleasant and helpful. Place could really use a fresh paint job inside and out. An inexpensive investment would be a chair in each room so that guests could sit out on the small balcony in the cool.
Report this review
Shaun C. Solo travelers New Zealand, August 11, 2015
Fantastic!!

Staff, relaxed atmosphere, value
9.3
I can't speak highly enough of this place! But perhaps this says it all- I came here for a night and have now been here 3 weeks. O.k, if you are that kind of traveller that complains about some marks on the walls, or that the duvet is a bit old (who needs a duvet in Chiangmai?) then perhaps you should go to one of those generic, box-like guest-houses. But if you want outstanding value in a central location I recommend you try this place. It's within easy walking distance of the main pub area, the night bazar and plenty of eating options in all price categories. But its far enough from the bars that noise isn't an issue (you'd have to be a really early sleeper for it to matter anyhow now that the police have started rigidly enforcing the 12 o'clock bar-closing rule). My room is spacious, has a ceiling fan (much nicer than the wall ones) and has a kind of patio that means i can leave an external door open at night. Really non-claustrophobic! As stated there is the odd mark on the wall, and o.k the decor is dated (tho i notice they are doing a lot of repainting at the moment), but this place is clean where it matters. The friendly cleaning staff do a great job of cleaning the room every day if you want them to.As with all places there is a sign saying not to leave your valuables but I really feel like i can trust the people here. The staff are friendly and helpfull in a nice hands-off way--none of that overly officious attitude that gets to be a drag in some places.You can come and go as you like without being interrogated (if you have spent some time in Asia you might know what i mean). Did I mention that it has character and a kind of an old-world charm?? Congratulations on a job well done and I know that when i return to Chiang mai this will be where I stay.
Report this review
1 - 10 of 124 reviews Next page
The Royal Guest House Chiang MaiThe Royal Guest House Chiang Mai - ExteriorThe Royal Guest House Chiang Mai - EntranceThe Royal Guest House Chiang Mai - Swimming PoolThe Royal Guest House Chiang Mai - EntranceThe Royal Guest House Chiang Mai - EntranceThe Royal Guest House Chiang Mai - LobbyThe Royal Guest House Chiang Mai - RestaurantThe Royal Guest House Chiang Mai - LobbyThe Royal Guest House Chiang Mai - Guest RoomThe Royal Guest House Chiang Mai - Guest RoomThe Royal Guest House Chiang Mai - Guest RoomThe Royal Guest House Chiang Mai - Guest RoomThe Royal Guest House Chiang Mai - FacilitiesThe Royal Guest House Chiang Mai - InteriorThe Royal Guest House Chiang Mai - LobbyThe Royal Guest House Chiang Mai - Recreational FacilitiesThe Royal Guest House Chiang Mai - InteriorThe Royal Guest House Chiang Mai - ExteriorThe Royal Guest House Chiang Mai - Recreational FacilitiesThe Royal Guest House Chiang Mai - EntranceThe Royal Guest House Chiang Mai - InteriorThe Royal Guest House Chiang Mai - Interior


Agoda.com is part of The Priceline Group, the world leader in online travel & related services.

AS-AGWEB-3C02