or

Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

The Russell Hotel

143a George Street, The Rocks, Sydney, Australia (Show on map)

Book now!

The Russell Hotel Sydney - Single Room with Shared Bathroom The Russell Hotel Sydney - Standard Room with Shared Bathroom The Russell Hotel Sydney - Standard Room with Shared Bathroom The Russell Hotel Sydney - Standard Room with Shared Bathroom The Russell Hotel Sydney - Superior Room with Shared Bathroom The Russell Hotel Sydney - Superior Room with Shared Bathroom The Russell Hotel Sydney - Superior Room with Shared Bathroom The Russell Hotel Sydney - Standard Room with Ensuite The Russell Hotel Sydney - Standard Room with Ensuite The Russell Hotel Sydney - Standard Room with Ensuite The Russell Hotel Sydney - Standard Room with Ensuite The Russell Hotel Sydney - Superior Room with Ensuite The Russell Hotel Sydney - Superior Room with Ensuite The Russell Hotel Sydney - Superior Room with Ensuite The Russell Hotel Sydney - Superior Room with Ensuite The Russell Hotel Sydney - Superior Room with Ensuite
The Russell Hotel Sydney - Superior Room with Ensuite The Russell Hotel Sydney - Superior Room with Ensuite The Russell Hotel Sydney - Deluxe Room with Ensuite The Russell Hotel Sydney - Deluxe Room with Ensuite The Russell Hotel Sydney - Deluxe Room with Ensuite The Russell Hotel Sydney - Deluxe Room with Ensuite The Russell Hotel Sydney - Fire Place Detailing The Russell Hotel Sydney - Guest Stairs The Russell Hotel Sydney - Guest Stairs The Russell Hotel Sydney - Fortunes of War The Russell Hotel Sydney - Entrance and Tiles The Russell Hotel Sydney - In Room Detailing
Area: The Rocks Number of Rooms: 29
Free Wi-Fi

Recent customer reviews

Filter by Traveler Type

 

Fantastic

8.2

based on
91 reviews

Value for Money
7.6
Location
9.7
Staff Performance
7.8
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
8.4
Room Comfort/Standard
8.5
Food/Dining
7.1
All reviews (91)
Sort by:
Irene W. Couples Canada, December 19, 2012
Good location to the cruise terminal

Good breakfast
4.7
I must assume that the room price is based on the location only as the room was very small with a shared bathroom nearby. There was no air-conditioning in the room only a window opening onto the street. We were fortunate that the weather co-operated as Sydney can be very hot at this time of the year. The ceiling fan was little help in moving air and it was very noisy. The double bed was not comfortable and the noise from the streets kept us awake until all hours in the night. We finally slept from sheer exhaustion. We wanted to have a quiet beer when we arrived but the pubs around the hotel were noisy and full of smokers. We settled for a small beer in the Russell bar for $7.50! At $169. per night this Hotel is a rip-off. They are charging an arm-and-a-leg for poor accommodation and for location only.
Restaurant Tip: Do not even think of eating near the Hotel unless you are prepared to spend big and sit in smoke. Find better prices at Circular Quay--a short walk away.
William L. Groups Australia, November 28, 2012
Fantastic location, comfortable rooms

The central location in the rocks close to ferries and other public transport. Comfortable and quiet rooms.
9.3
The Russell is a great Hotel if your stay is for sightseeing in Sydney. It is close to harbour ferry services, rail services, inlcuding a service from the domestic and international airports. A range of dining options, hotels and cooffee shops are within walking distance. The Hotel roof top garden is a pleasant spot for a quiet read or drink. The Wine Bar, in the Hotel, has a wide range of quality wines.
Anne M. Couples United Kingdom, September 15, 2012
Welcoming hotel in an ideal location.

Unusual and quirky hotel with friendly staff.
9
The hotel is in a perfect location for seeing Sydney and travelling to places further afield. The staff were all very friendly and helpful. The hotel has individually designed rooms and the hotel's old building makes it a very unusual place to stay. We enjoyed the breakfasts in the wine bar downstairs. Eating out in Sydney can be expensive but there are several reasonably priced restaurants and bars within walking distance.
Ian G. Solo travelers Australia, September 13, 2012
A very convenient place to stay

Location x 3
8
A very clen and comfortable hotel. However, for the price, I would have expected the option of a oooked breakfast rather than the standard "continental". Will stay there again.
Angus M. Couples Australia, September 9, 2012
Great in loads of ways. Location, Staff, Accom

Location
9.3
was a very warm and welcoming experience. the creaky floorboards adds to the old world experience offered at the rocks. we dined at some great places and the location is just so easy to get to wherever you might want to go. the breakfast in the morning was a nice range and got the engines started each day to go out and discover the delights right on your doorstep.
Sightseeing/Attractions Tip: Nice restaurants
Therese J. Couples Australia, August 11, 2012
Perfect location

location
8.7
We travel by train to the Quay and The Russell is in the perfect location. All you need to do is drop your bags, after being greeted by friendly staff, and just walk out the door. Explore, drink, eat, and watch the world go by!
Sightseeing/Attractions Tip: You will not have trouble finding things to do or places to go from this central location.
Kathy L. Couples Australia, July 15, 2012
Lovely hotel and great location

Beautifully decorated, lovely touches, rooftop seating and view
9
Wonderful stay and lovely staff. Great bar downstairs. Perfect location for The Rocks and Circular Quay. Quiet hotel and also quiet at night.
Robert B. Couples Australia, June 21, 2012
Great hotel and location

Very good hotel with helpful staff
9.3
enjoyed staying in a historical hotel in the heart of the rocks area very good value for money standard of rooms very clean and well maintained establishment
Fiona L. Couples Australia, June 8, 2012
What a lovely boutique hotel in a great location!

Location to attractions, shopping, restaurants & pubs
10
This was the second time I have stayed at the Russell Hotel & I just love it. The atmosphere is great and the rooms are just gorgeous. An older style boutique hotel in the perfect location in the rocks.
Marivic P. Groups Philippines, May 23, 2012
intimate hotel

fantastic location!
8
i was with my sister when we stayed here and the location was really fantastic! we had so much fun with the hotel, not much and our bathroom was shared but it was always clean and fresh. if you want to just have a hotel to sleep in and fresh up, this is a great hotel. the people were really awesome and it's perfect for travelers.
Restaurant Tip: pancakes on the rocks is a must try place to eat, you can just go down the block, less than a 10-minute walk. lots of places to drink around the hotel also.

Book now!

Sale ends soon!

The Russell Hotel SydneyThe Russell Hotel Sydney - Single Room with Shared BathroomThe Russell Hotel Sydney - Standard Room with Shared BathroomThe Russell Hotel Sydney - Standard Room with Shared BathroomThe Russell Hotel Sydney - Standard Room with Shared BathroomThe Russell Hotel Sydney - Superior Room with Shared BathroomThe Russell Hotel Sydney - Superior Room with Shared BathroomThe Russell Hotel Sydney - Superior Room with Shared BathroomThe Russell Hotel Sydney - Standard Room with EnsuiteThe Russell Hotel Sydney - Standard Room with EnsuiteThe Russell Hotel Sydney - Standard Room with EnsuiteThe Russell Hotel Sydney - Standard Room with EnsuiteThe Russell Hotel Sydney - Superior Room with EnsuiteThe Russell Hotel Sydney - Superior Room with EnsuiteThe Russell Hotel Sydney - Superior Room with EnsuiteThe Russell Hotel Sydney - Superior Room with EnsuiteThe Russell Hotel Sydney - Superior Room with EnsuiteThe Russell Hotel Sydney - Superior Room with EnsuiteThe Russell Hotel Sydney - Superior Room with EnsuiteThe Russell Hotel Sydney - Deluxe Room with EnsuiteThe Russell Hotel Sydney - Deluxe Room with EnsuiteThe Russell Hotel Sydney - Deluxe Room with EnsuiteThe Russell Hotel Sydney - Deluxe Room with EnsuiteThe Russell Hotel Sydney - Fire Place DetailingThe Russell Hotel Sydney - Guest StairsThe Russell Hotel Sydney - Guest StairsThe Russell Hotel Sydney - Fortunes of WarThe Russell Hotel Sydney - Entrance and TilesThe Russell Hotel Sydney - In Room DetailingThe Russell Hotel Sydney - EntranceThe Russell Hotel Sydney - ExteriorThe Russell Hotel Sydney - ExteriorThe Russell Hotel Sydney - Ceiling FanThe Russell Hotel Sydney - Push BarThe Russell Hotel Sydney - Bespoke DoorsThe Russell Hotel Sydney - Guest Room BathroomThe Russell Hotel Sydney - InteriorThe Russell Hotel Sydney - Roof GardenThe Russell Hotel Sydney - Sitting Area for guests to enjoyThe Russell Hotel Sydney - Opera HouseThe Russell Hotel Sydney - Harbour BridgeThe Russell Hotel Sydney - Circular QuayThe Russell Hotel Sydney - The Historic Rocks Area


AS-AGWEB-3C04