Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

The Russell Hotel

143a George Street, The Rocks, Sydney, Australia

Recent customer reviews

Filter by Traveler Type

 

Excellent

8.2

based on
117 reviews

90 reviews in English

Value for Money
7.6
Location
9.7
Staff Performance
8.0
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
8.4
Room Comfort/Standard
8.3
Food/Dining
7.1
All reviews (117)
Sort by:
Toni P. Couples Australia, September 4, 2014
satisfactory

location ,clean, comfortable
8
good no real issues
Report this review
William L. Couples Australia, August 9, 2014
A great spot and a great Hotel

Location. Room standard. General ambience/friendly staff
9.3
An enjoyable experience. The Russell is in a great location and provides a great atmosphere for a holiday in Sydney
Report this review
Alison K. Couples New Zealand, July 10, 2014
Very comfortable and relaxing. Very convenient.

Old fashioned quaintness and charm; convenience of situation; lovely breakfast area.
8.7
We had a most enjoyable stay. The staff were friendly and helpful and our room was attractive and comfortable. We thoroughly recommend The Russell.
Report this review
Deborah S. Couples Australia, June 14, 2014
Disappointing experience

Location, reasonably priced internet,
5.3
We were disappointed with our stay. Many years ago, my husband and I frequented this establishment and enthusiastically recommended it to friends visiting Sydney. We found it to be 'dated' - furnishings and fittings look tired, bathroom pokey and shower recess needed a good clean. The 'bar' downstairs has replaced wwhat was once a delightful breakfast room with access to George street. The breakfast is now served in the pub next door! The fruit was days old, the cereal stale and the whole thing not pleasant. So sad to think such a beautiful old building no longer exudes the charm and elegance of years gone by. Our room was tiny - yes, a standard, but tiny. No wine glasses, and bottles of water $3.50! Our bed had a 'floppy' matress and it squeaked.The wardrobe didn't shut properly. Not happy customers. We won't return.
Report this review
Deborah E. Couples Australia, June 5, 2014
Fantastic location and good value accommodation

Location in the heart of the rocks, historic building and proximity to public transport.
10
The Russell hotel was the perfect location for our stay in Sydney to see Vivid. Being close to Circular Quay train station, we did not need to bring a car and the Rocks provided numerous pubs, cafes and restaurants.
Report this review
Suzanne F. Families with older children Australia, May 25, 2014
Will most certainly stay here again next time.

Location, fabulous breakfast room, historical older premises.
10
Comfortable. Location is the best. Staff most accommodating.
Report this review
Suzanne F. Families with older children Australia, May 25, 2014
Comfortable and enjoyable stay

Location, full of character, attentive staff.
10
Report this review
Andrew O. Couples Australia, April 8, 2014
excellent

location, staff, location
8.7
Report this review
Zhou T. Business travelers China, March 20, 2014
Good location

close to opera house, antique room, affordable price
8
Report this review
Tommy L. Couples Sweden, February 17, 2014
Short stay in Sydney

Location, friendliness, easy access from airport
9.3
Our stay could not be better. All worked out perfect for us in spite of some unexpected rain
Report this review
Previous page 21 - 30 of 90 reviews Next page
The Russell Hotel SydneyThe Russell Hotel Sydney - Fortunes of WarThe Russell Hotel Sydney - ExteriorThe Russell Hotel Sydney - ExteriorThe Russell Hotel Sydney - ExteriorThe Russell Hotel Sydney - Roof GardenThe Russell Hotel Sydney - Sitting Area for guests to enjoyThe Russell Hotel Sydney - Opera HouseThe Russell Hotel Sydney - Harbour BridgeThe Russell Hotel Sydney - Circular QuayThe Russell Hotel Sydney - The Historic Rocks AreaThe Russell Hotel Sydney - Push Bar The Russell Hotel Sydney - Push BarThe Russell Hotel Sydney - Push BarThe Russell Hotel Sydney - ExteriorThe Russell Hotel Sydney - InteriorThe Russell Hotel Sydney - Bespoke DoorsThe Russell Hotel Sydney - Superior Room with Shared BathroomThe Russell Hotel Sydney - Balcony/TerraceThe Russell Hotel Sydney - Guest RoomThe Russell Hotel Sydney - Guest StairsThe Russell Hotel Sydney - Guest RoomThe Russell Hotel Sydney - Guest RoomThe Russell Hotel Sydney - Entrance and TilesThe Russell Hotel Sydney - LobbyThe Russell Hotel Sydney - Guest RoomThe Russell Hotel Sydney - Guest Room BathroomThe Russell Hotel Sydney - Guest RoomThe Russell Hotel Sydney - Guest RoomThe Russell Hotel Sydney - SurroundingsThe Russell Hotel Sydney - InteriorThe Russell Hotel Sydney - ExteriorThe Russell Hotel Sydney - Superior Room with EnsuiteThe Russell Hotel Sydney - Guest RoomThe Russell Hotel Sydney - Guest RoomThe Russell Hotel Sydney - Superior Room with EnsuiteThe Russell Hotel Sydney - Guest StairsThe Russell Hotel Sydney - Guest RoomThe Russell Hotel Sydney - Guest RoomThe Russell Hotel Sydney - Fire Place DetailingThe Russell Hotel Sydney - In Room Detailing


Agoda.com is part of The Priceline Group, the world leader in online travel & related services.

AS-AGWEB-3A08