Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

The Russell Hotel

143a George Street, The Rocks, Sydney, Australia

Recent customer reviews

Filter by Traveler Type

 

Excellent

8.2

based on
117 reviews

90 reviews in English

Value for Money
7.6
Location
9.7
Staff Performance
8.0
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
8.4
Room Comfort/Standard
8.3
Food/Dining
7.1
All reviews (117)
Sort by:
Hilton T. Couples Australia, January 22, 2016
The Russell steps back in time

Its character, its location - the Rocks, it's where we spent our wedding night 25 years ago
9.3
The lady at reception, Maxine, was positively delightful, so helpful and accommodating. The room was spacious and comfortable. There were no serious issues to speak of and the complimentary chocolates were a nice touch. All round, well done, we'll be back for our 50th!
Report this review
Frank S. Couples Australia, December 6, 2015
Weekend at the Russell

Location, location, location
8
Fine but noisy at night till 11pm.
Report this review
Craig D. Couples United Kingdom, December 4, 2015
Nice stay at russell

Location , the bars are great, nice bathrooms
8
it was great really liked it lovely little place.
Report this review
Sai C. Couples Hong Kong, October 22, 2015
nice room

Good spots at the Rocks, pretty room, nice view at the local working office right next to my room
6.7
i think it was lovely to have stayed at the Russell Hotel, the room is lovely and clean, good location, and a great view from our room's window, that we could look right at the local working office and they also have a good view at our room. Privacy is absolutely zero in this room, Awesome!!! Not!!!
Report this review
Jonas H. Business travelers Sweden, September 25, 2015
Russel Hotel

Friendly staff, location, spacious rooms
8
Very good location ++++
Report this review
Kefyn J. Couples New Zealand, September 15, 2015
no

no
8.7
No
Report this review
Kate D. Couples United States of America, August 28, 2015
charming Sydney hotel

Location decor staff
10
Report this review
Joan E. Couples Australia, August 21, 2015
Second Time Disappointment

Location to station & opera House
7
First time - a great room, large comfortable queen bed well appointed' This visit a small room with double bed - looking out on a brick wall with people walking by in a corridor - no privacy. Fridge with glass door shone and hummed all night till we turned it off! Breakfast however was great!
Report this review
Elena B. Business travelers Russia, August 20, 2015
Fantastic location but a bit overpriced

Location and people at the reception!
7.7
It was a short one. So, I can only say that I liked the place because it's not like the others and in a very nice area. The only 2 things is that it's not quite clean, especially under the bed (though it can be dealt easily) and the price. I'm not an expert but i believe that it should be less expensive. And it's a bit noisy...otherwise, a great place to stay!
Report this review
David B. Business travelers New Zealand, August 7, 2015
Russell Hotel's Charms

Location close to CBD. Rooftop garden was fabulous. Room was charmingly furnished.
8.7
Memorably charming
Report this review
1 - 10 of 90 reviews Next page
The Russell Hotel SydneyThe Russell Hotel Sydney - Fortunes of WarThe Russell Hotel Sydney - ExteriorThe Russell Hotel Sydney - ExteriorThe Russell Hotel Sydney - ExteriorThe Russell Hotel Sydney - Roof GardenThe Russell Hotel Sydney - Sitting Area for guests to enjoyThe Russell Hotel Sydney - Opera HouseThe Russell Hotel Sydney - Harbour BridgeThe Russell Hotel Sydney - Circular QuayThe Russell Hotel Sydney - The Historic Rocks AreaThe Russell Hotel Sydney - Push Bar The Russell Hotel Sydney - Push BarThe Russell Hotel Sydney - Push BarThe Russell Hotel Sydney - ExteriorThe Russell Hotel Sydney - InteriorThe Russell Hotel Sydney - Bespoke DoorsThe Russell Hotel Sydney - Superior Room with Shared BathroomThe Russell Hotel Sydney - Balcony/TerraceThe Russell Hotel Sydney - Guest RoomThe Russell Hotel Sydney - Guest StairsThe Russell Hotel Sydney - Guest RoomThe Russell Hotel Sydney - Guest RoomThe Russell Hotel Sydney - Entrance and TilesThe Russell Hotel Sydney - LobbyThe Russell Hotel Sydney - Guest RoomThe Russell Hotel Sydney - Guest Room BathroomThe Russell Hotel Sydney - Guest RoomThe Russell Hotel Sydney - Guest RoomThe Russell Hotel Sydney - SurroundingsThe Russell Hotel Sydney - InteriorThe Russell Hotel Sydney - ExteriorThe Russell Hotel Sydney - Superior Room with EnsuiteThe Russell Hotel Sydney - Guest RoomThe Russell Hotel Sydney - Guest RoomThe Russell Hotel Sydney - Superior Room with EnsuiteThe Russell Hotel Sydney - Guest StairsThe Russell Hotel Sydney - Guest RoomThe Russell Hotel Sydney - Guest RoomThe Russell Hotel Sydney - Fire Place DetailingThe Russell Hotel Sydney - In Room Detailing


Agoda.com is part of The Priceline Group, the world leader in online travel & related services.

AS-AGWEB-3B02