Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

The Russell Hotel

143a George Street, The Rocks, Sydney, Australia (Show on map)

Book now!

The Russell Hotel Sydney - Fortunes of War The Russell Hotel Sydney - Exterior The Russell Hotel Sydney - Exterior The Russell Hotel Sydney - Exterior The Russell Hotel Sydney - Roof Garden The Russell Hotel Sydney - Sitting Area for guests to enjoy The Russell Hotel Sydney - Opera House The Russell Hotel Sydney - Harbour Bridge The Russell Hotel Sydney - Circular Quay The Russell Hotel Sydney - The Historic Rocks Area The Russell Hotel Sydney - Push Bar The Russell Hotel Sydney - Push Bar The Russell Hotel Sydney - Exterior The Russell Hotel Sydney - Interior The Russell Hotel Sydney - Bespoke Doors The Russell Hotel Sydney - Superior Room with Shared Bathroom
The Russell Hotel Sydney - Balcony/Terrace The Russell Hotel Sydney - Guest Room The Russell Hotel Sydney - Guest Stairs The Russell Hotel Sydney - Guest Room The Russell Hotel Sydney - Guest Room The Russell Hotel Sydney - Entrance and Tiles The Russell Hotel Sydney - Lobby The Russell Hotel Sydney - Guest Room The Russell Hotel Sydney - Guest Room Bathroom The Russell Hotel Sydney - Guest Room The Russell Hotel Sydney - Guest Room The Russell Hotel Sydney - Surroundings
Area: The Rocks Number of Rooms: 29
Free Wi-Fi

Recent customer reviews

Filter by Traveler Type

 

Fantastic

8.2

from 109 reviews

Value for Money
7.6
Location
9.7
Staff Performance
7.9
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
8.3
Room Comfort/Standard
8.3
Food/Dining
7.1
All reviews (109)
Sort by:
Kate D. Couples United States of America, August 28, 2015
charming Sydney hotel

Location decor staff
10
Report this review
Joan E. Couples Australia, August 21, 2015
Second Time Disappointment

Location to station & opera House
7
First time - a great room, large comfortable queen bed well appointed' This visit a small room with double bed - looking out on a brick wall with people walking by in a corridor - no privacy. Fridge with glass door shone and hummed all night till we turned it off! Breakfast however was great!
Report this review
Elena B. Business travelers Russia, August 20, 2015
Fantastic location but a bit overpriced

Location and people at the reception!
7.7
It was a short one. So, I can only say that I liked the place because it's not like the others and in a very nice area. The only 2 things is that it's not quite clean, especially under the bed (though it can be dealt easily) and the price. I'm not an expert but i believe that it should be less expensive. And it's a bit noisy...otherwise, a great place to stay!
Report this review
David B. Business travelers New Zealand, August 7, 2015
Russell Hotel's Charms

Location close to CBD. Rooftop garden was fabulous. Room was charmingly furnished.
8.7
Memorably charming
Report this review
Ricardo G. Families with young children United States of America, July 9, 2015
Not your standard hotel, bu that's a good thing.

Quaint, friendly staff, great location.
9
Great!
Report this review
Dong H. Couples South Korea, May 27, 2015
Good location

good location good view and nice people
7.7
Report this review
Codie-Lee G. Families with young children Australia, May 8, 2015
great location and staff

location staff price
10
Very nice. Just where we needed to be to get on our cruise ship. It was just a small bedroom. It was just a place to come back to after going out. Just to sleep. If i wAs going to spend any more time other than sleep id need a tv in room. Great staff let us leave bags there why we explored sydney and even when we came back from cruise they let us drop bags there for few hrs as we had to wait for plane. Staff were kind n helpful. Breakfast included was great. Pretty good price to for location can ask for anything better.
Report this review
Linda R. Solo travelers United States of America, March 22, 2015
A boutique hotel with lots of charm

The best things about the hotel The location being next to the wharf is easy to access any type of transportation. I enjoyed the unique layout of the hotel. The staff were so helpful.
9
I would recommend The Russell Hotel for anyone going to Sydney. Even though it is right next to the wharf, train, and main street, it was extremely quiet. The entrance is on the side street and possible to miss if you aren't paying attention. There is an elevator that takes you to the reception and room levels. Be aware if you have physical disabilities and stairs are a challenge, this may not work well for you. The staff is very helpful. The room I stayed in had a window that looked onto a courtyard and the hallway to other rooms. There wasn't a hair dryer but there was an iron with ironing board and small fridge.
Report this review
Stephen J. Couples Australia, February 8, 2015
Great Hotel we have been before & will stay again

The room the staff & accommodation
9
We have stayed at The Russell Hotel before & would have no hesitation in staying again. The staff are so friendly & professional. They were also very knowledgeable any questions about the area & services we needed we provided & very helpful. Would highly recommend The Russell Hotel for all your accommodation needs.
Report this review
Tove A. Couples Denmark, January 31, 2015
fine hotel

optimal location, old style, nice and clean
9
Very good. However, begot a room directly above the bar which was VERY noisy. The problem was sold, since we were moved to another room (upgrade however costed 60 dollars extra/night) Apart from this everything fine.
Report this review

Book now!

Sale ends soon!

The Russell Hotel SydneyThe Russell Hotel Sydney - Fortunes of WarThe Russell Hotel Sydney - ExteriorThe Russell Hotel Sydney - ExteriorThe Russell Hotel Sydney - ExteriorThe Russell Hotel Sydney - Roof GardenThe Russell Hotel Sydney - Sitting Area for guests to enjoyThe Russell Hotel Sydney - Opera HouseThe Russell Hotel Sydney - Harbour BridgeThe Russell Hotel Sydney - Circular QuayThe Russell Hotel Sydney - The Historic Rocks AreaThe Russell Hotel Sydney - Push Bar The Russell Hotel Sydney - Push BarThe Russell Hotel Sydney - ExteriorThe Russell Hotel Sydney - InteriorThe Russell Hotel Sydney - Bespoke DoorsThe Russell Hotel Sydney - Superior Room with Shared BathroomThe Russell Hotel Sydney - Balcony/TerraceThe Russell Hotel Sydney - Guest RoomThe Russell Hotel Sydney - Guest StairsThe Russell Hotel Sydney - Guest RoomThe Russell Hotel Sydney - Guest RoomThe Russell Hotel Sydney - Entrance and TilesThe Russell Hotel Sydney - LobbyThe Russell Hotel Sydney - Guest RoomThe Russell Hotel Sydney - Guest Room BathroomThe Russell Hotel Sydney - Guest RoomThe Russell Hotel Sydney - Guest RoomThe Russell Hotel Sydney - SurroundingsThe Russell Hotel Sydney - InteriorThe Russell Hotel Sydney - ExteriorThe Russell Hotel Sydney - Superior Room with EnsuiteThe Russell Hotel Sydney - Guest RoomThe Russell Hotel Sydney - Guest RoomThe Russell Hotel Sydney - Superior Room with EnsuiteThe Russell Hotel Sydney - Guest StairsThe Russell Hotel Sydney - Guest RoomThe Russell Hotel Sydney - Guest RoomThe Russell Hotel Sydney - Fire Place DetailingThe Russell Hotel Sydney - In Room Detailing


Agoda.com is part of The Priceline Group, the world leader in online travel & related services.

AS-AGWEB-3A08