Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

The Russell Hotel

143a George Street, The Rocks, Sydney, Australia (Show on map)

Book now!

The Russell Hotel Sydney - Fortunes of War The Russell Hotel Sydney - Exterior The Russell Hotel Sydney - Exterior The Russell Hotel Sydney - Exterior The Russell Hotel Sydney - Roof Garden The Russell Hotel Sydney - Sitting Area for guests to enjoy The Russell Hotel Sydney - Opera House The Russell Hotel Sydney - Harbour Bridge The Russell Hotel Sydney - Circular Quay The Russell Hotel Sydney - The Historic Rocks Area The Russell Hotel Sydney - Push Bar The Russell Hotel Sydney - Push Bar The Russell Hotel Sydney - Exterior The Russell Hotel Sydney - Interior The Russell Hotel Sydney - Bespoke Doors The Russell Hotel Sydney - Superior Room with Shared Bathroom
The Russell Hotel Sydney - Balcony/Terrace The Russell Hotel Sydney - Guest Room The Russell Hotel Sydney - Guest Stairs The Russell Hotel Sydney - Guest Room The Russell Hotel Sydney - Guest Room The Russell Hotel Sydney - Entrance and Tiles The Russell Hotel Sydney - Lobby The Russell Hotel Sydney - Guest Room The Russell Hotel Sydney - Guest Room Bathroom The Russell Hotel Sydney - Guest Room The Russell Hotel Sydney - Guest Room The Russell Hotel Sydney - Surroundings
Area: The Rocks Number of Rooms: 29
Free Wi-Fi

Recent customer reviews

Filter by Traveler Type

 

Fantastic

8.2

from 104 reviews

Value for Money
7.6
Location
9.7
Staff Performance
7.9
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
8.4
Room Comfort/Standard
8.3
Food/Dining
7.1
All reviews (104)
Sort by:
Dong H. Couples South Korea, May 27, 2015
Good location

good location good view and nice people
7.7
Codie-Lee G. Families with young children Australia, May 8, 2015
great location and staff

location staff price
10
Very nice. Just where we needed to be to get on our cruise ship. It was just a small bedroom. It was just a place to come back to after going out. Just to sleep. If i wAs going to spend any more time other than sleep id need a tv in room. Great staff let us leave bags there why we explored sydney and even when we came back from cruise they let us drop bags there for few hrs as we had to wait for plane. Staff were kind n helpful. Breakfast included was great. Pretty good price to for location can ask for anything better.
Linda R. Solo travelers United States of America, March 22, 2015
A boutique hotel with lots of charm

The best things about the hotel The location being next to the wharf is easy to access any type of transportation. I enjoyed the unique layout of the hotel. The staff were so helpful.
9
I would recommend The Russell Hotel for anyone going to Sydney. Even though it is right next to the wharf, train, and main street, it was extremely quiet. The entrance is on the side street and possible to miss if you aren't paying attention. There is an elevator that takes you to the reception and room levels. Be aware if you have physical disabilities and stairs are a challenge, this may not work well for you. The staff is very helpful. The room I stayed in had a window that looked onto a courtyard and the hallway to other rooms. There wasn't a hair dryer but there was an iron with ironing board and small fridge.
Stephen J. Couples Australia, February 8, 2015
Great Hotel we have been before & will stay again

The room the staff & accommodation
9
We have stayed at The Russell Hotel before & would have no hesitation in staying again. The staff are so friendly & professional. They were also very knowledgeable any questions about the area & services we needed we provided & very helpful. Would highly recommend The Russell Hotel for all your accommodation needs.
Tove A. Couples Denmark, January 31, 2015
fine hotel

optimal location, old style, nice and clean
9
Very good. However, begot a room directly above the bar which was VERY noisy. The problem was sold, since we were moved to another room (upgrade however costed 60 dollars extra/night) Apart from this everything fine.
Glenn R. Couples Australia, January 27, 2015
air conditioning would be nice for summer weather

location
5.7
Beth I. Solo travelers Australia, December 30, 2014
Great location and terrific staff

Location, staff and views.
9.3
Terri B. Couples Australia, December 10, 2014
Give the Russell a wide berth

The location to Circular Quay
4.7
Very ordinary. I was expecting the room (or something similar) that I had seen on the Internet. The room we were allocated was too small and cramped for an adult couple. Most disappointing was that we were led to believe that our bed was queen size - there was a queen size mattress on a double bed frame with no under support which resulted in my husband rolling out of bed on a number of occasions. In the end he went and slept in an armchair in the lounge. As he is 186 cms this was not an ideal situation. The lounge itself was filthy and grimy as were the shared bathrooms. I am very disappointed with the Russell and will never stay there again. Furthermore. although its location to the Quay is fantastic, I won't be recommending it to anyone I know who is travelling to Sydney. It's a real shame as its location, the originality and history of the building and its quirkiness could be such a drawcard. Please ensure that you show potential customers what they are actually getting for their money - not some poky room with inadequate bedding.
Tayler J. Solo travelers United States of America, December 6, 2014
LOUD!

Staff was friendly.
6.3
The hotel over all was decent. My issues were that the room was extremely small. With this said the size isn't that big of a deal, however, with such a small room and being a few stories up, it gets warm and stuffy. So to remedy this problem you would generally turn on the AC. However this hotel only had AC in the reception area and not for guests in their rooms. So opening a window and turning on the ceiling fan is the next logical step. This is why I wount give this hotel a good review. The amount of noise was outrageous! There is a pub connected to the hotel and We must have had the worst luck with the room we were assigned, because The noise from the pub and the alleyway below us, kept us up all night! Also the ceiling must be thin as well for the people who had the room above us made the equivalent racket of an elephant trying to stomp on a dozen mice! All this at 1:00am. The hotel can't help its location or its old building, but adding some modern things like an AC would have kept us cool without having to open the window and letting in more of the street noise. Listening to drunken fools yelling at each other and hearing bottles break is not what I had in mind for my Holliday. If I were staying there on business I would have demanded my mony back because there was no way to get a reasonable amount of sleep with that much noise. At least on vacation I wasn't too worried about the lack of sleep. A good point, is that the breakfast was good and the staff was friendly. When we complained about the noise the receptionist was understanding but unable to do anything about it. Hotel is located in the rocks and is Walking distance to the bridge and to plenty of night life and pubs. No T. V. In our room but they did offer a sitting room elsewhere. The shared bathroom was very small but seemed clean.
Toni P. Couples Australia, September 4, 2014
satisfactory

location ,clean, comfortable
8
good no real issues

Book now!

Sale ends soon!

The Russell Hotel SydneyThe Russell Hotel Sydney - Fortunes of WarThe Russell Hotel Sydney - ExteriorThe Russell Hotel Sydney - ExteriorThe Russell Hotel Sydney - ExteriorThe Russell Hotel Sydney - Roof GardenThe Russell Hotel Sydney - Sitting Area for guests to enjoyThe Russell Hotel Sydney - Opera HouseThe Russell Hotel Sydney - Harbour BridgeThe Russell Hotel Sydney - Circular QuayThe Russell Hotel Sydney - The Historic Rocks AreaThe Russell Hotel Sydney - Push Bar The Russell Hotel Sydney - Push BarThe Russell Hotel Sydney - ExteriorThe Russell Hotel Sydney - InteriorThe Russell Hotel Sydney - Bespoke DoorsThe Russell Hotel Sydney - Superior Room with Shared BathroomThe Russell Hotel Sydney - Balcony/TerraceThe Russell Hotel Sydney - Guest RoomThe Russell Hotel Sydney - Guest StairsThe Russell Hotel Sydney - Guest RoomThe Russell Hotel Sydney - Guest RoomThe Russell Hotel Sydney - Entrance and TilesThe Russell Hotel Sydney - LobbyThe Russell Hotel Sydney - Guest RoomThe Russell Hotel Sydney - Guest Room BathroomThe Russell Hotel Sydney - Guest RoomThe Russell Hotel Sydney - Guest RoomThe Russell Hotel Sydney - SurroundingsThe Russell Hotel Sydney - InteriorThe Russell Hotel Sydney - ExteriorThe Russell Hotel Sydney - Superior Room with EnsuiteThe Russell Hotel Sydney - Guest RoomThe Russell Hotel Sydney - Guest RoomThe Russell Hotel Sydney - Superior Room with EnsuiteThe Russell Hotel Sydney - Guest StairsThe Russell Hotel Sydney - Guest RoomThe Russell Hotel Sydney - Guest RoomThe Russell Hotel Sydney - Fire Place DetailingThe Russell Hotel Sydney - In Room Detailing


Agoda.com is part of The Priceline Group, the world leader in online travel & related services.

AS-AGWEB-3A01