or

Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

The Saffron

32/5, Galpotte Road, Koswatte, Nawala,, Nawala Area, Colombo, Sri Lanka Colombo 005 (Show on map)

Book now!

The Saffron Colombo - View The Saffron Colombo - Exterior The Saffron Colombo - Garden The Saffron Colombo - Budget Double Room The Saffron Colombo - Front The Saffron Colombo - Canal by the Hotel The Saffron Colombo - Canal by the hotel The Saffron Colombo - Canal by the Hotel The Saffron Colombo - Canal by the Hotel The Saffron Colombo - Canal by the hotel The Saffron Colombo - Deluxe Double The Saffron Colombo - Lobby The Saffron Colombo - Deluxe The Saffron Colombo - Budget Single Room The Saffron Colombo - Deluxe Double The Saffron Colombo - Deluxe Double
The Saffron Colombo - Garden The Saffron Colombo - Deluxe Double The Saffron Colombo - Garden The Saffron Colombo - Deluxe Double The Saffron Colombo - Garden The Saffron Colombo - In House Restaurant The Saffron Colombo - In House Restaurant The Saffron Colombo - Budget Double The Saffron Colombo - Standard The Saffron Colombo - Deluxe Double The Saffron Colombo - Line Entrance
Area: Nawala Area Number of Rooms: 12
Free Wi-Fi

Recent customer reviews

Filter by Traveler Type

 

Pleasant

6.7

based on
9 reviews

Value for Money
7.1
Location
4.9
Staff Performance
6.7
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
7.3
Room Comfort/Standard
7.6
Food/Dining
6.4
Solo travelers (9)
Sort by:
Achira L. Solo travelers Sri Lanka, August 25, 2013
Avarage Hotel

City View - AC rooms
4
Betty L. Solo travelers Philippines, August 7, 2013
very hard To Locate

comfortable bed, friendly staff, cheap transpo to kandy
5.3
When I arrived at the airport I went to the airport taxi counter to double check with them if they knew the location of the hotel. I even gave the driver a rough map of the location. However we still got lost and had to phone the hotel. I was given a room on the second floor with a window that should have a good view of the front yard if only those vines were not hanging out from the frontage of the hotel. It is a huge house with 14 rooms. The furnitures were made of hard wood and most rooms have poster beds. They arranged for my trip to Kandy by their 3 wheeler vehicle (Similar to tuktuk) a. I was also given a breakfast of omelet and toast before we headed off to Kandy. The room was comfortable and my bathroom was clean and had a good shower. Unfortunately when I came back after my Kandy trip I found that my room wasnt even cleaned(I stayed for two nights), So that night I had some small ants in my bed and I had to remove them one by one before I went to bed. On my check out the owner(lady) only billed me for the tuktuk service to kandy for the drive to the airport. So I gave her additional payment for my breakfasts and 2 drinks. Well for hospitality the owners and people there are always smiling. The only thing that I dont like is the location which is very hard to find and a bit out of the way.
Muhammad H. Solo travelers Pakistan, July 2, 2013
I went to attend a conference in BMICH

comfortable, breakfast, clean room
7
The hotel stay was good. The staff was friendly. The location is difficult to find though. But one thing that annoyed me was that on my 4th day of hotel stay, I came back to hotel and I found my room not clean. The staff told me that they forgot to clean the room !? But the good things are: the room/washroom is well maintained, breakfast is very good. So a good choice amongst budget hotels.
Lurlene C. Solo travelers Australia, March 12, 2013
Quiet hotel with nice grounds

Garden; quiet atmosphere; friendly staff
6
Nisar S. Solo travelers United States of America, March 1, 2013
Nice reception..hard to find in small unknown road

Good for the price.. nice breakfast area.
8.3
The reception was helpful, washed cloth, did not charge for it, boiled an egg at night, when restaurants were closed, a home treatment. Do not know what to compare with, but must be good for the price. Away from everything, but tuk tuk will take you around for $3. Had a lot of trouble finding the location by the can driver from airport, which does cost as much as room.
Tedde L. Solo travelers Sweden, January 16, 2013
Decent hotel a bit far from the center of Colombo

Clean, spacious room with WiFi and A/C
7.3
I booked this hotel on Agoda before arriving in Sri Lanka to have a set place to go directly from the airport. I used the airport transfer service and was greeted by the very nice owner of the hotel who drove me to the hotel for a fair price. The room was big and clean but smelled a bit moldy initially. The smell disappeared once the aircondition was up and running. Staff were very nice and friendly. Breakfast was uninspiring which probably is to be expected if it is included, but it was not in any way bad. Unfortunately the hotel was located a bit from the city center and it was quite expensive to go back and forth between the sights and the hotel. Tuktuk drivers always had a hard time finding the hotel but the card I received from the hotel staff had a map on the back which sorted things out eventually.
Marie-Rose V. Solo travelers Germany, July 21, 2012
Haven of peace among the chaos

The view from the roof terrace is breathtaking
10
The Saffron is a very nice hotel among the chaos of Colombo. The hotel staff is very friendly and helpful even if a big spider get lost in your room. The service is outstanding and the breakfast which is inclusive in the price is very tasty and every morning we got an other freshly pressed juice. The Saffron is located close to the centre of Colombo which you could easily reach by took took. That location is also very surprisingly because if you enter the hotel you leave the noise and chaos of the streets of Colombo behind. The rooms are very quiet and the view from the breakfast room or the roof terrace is breathtaking. It seams like you are at the margin of the jungle. You can listen to and observe birds even as little chipmunks. The rooms have all air-condition, roof fan and TV (even English speaking channels). Altogether I can say it was nice accommodation and the value for money was more than good. If I come back to Colombo I would stay there again.
Sightseeing/Attractions Tip: There are so many things to see in Colombo. From the Liberty hall to the parliament over the museum of history to the Buddhist temple. Every thing is well worth seeing. The peculiar of the Buddhist temple is that they have an elephant there.
Noman N. Solo travelers Canada, June 14, 2012
A guest house rather a hotel

staff co operative
7.3
Good for solo traveller. Breakfast was good. Staff very nice. Internet was slow. Washroom not in good condition, Overall not bad in such amount.
Goria G. Solo travelers Canada, June 7, 2012
No a location for a solo traveler

Nice and clean, owners very nice people and cooperative.
4.7
the location of this hotel is out of nowhere, about 3kms away from the main road and nothing around the hotel, no restaurant, just nothing. the room i had (standard) was very small, i find for the price. the owner picked me up at midnight at the airport (which was very nice), but the price is 28$ us, cause the hotel is about 30kms away. so, as there is no restaurant around, i had no choice than to order my dinner at the hotel, i don't like that because they can charge the price they want, i don't even have a choice. same with the tuk-tuk, they can ask any price, what can you do, you're stuck.and no luck, it rained from 1pm till 9pm. so, would i recommend this hotel to a friend, i have to say no!
 

Book now!

Sale ends soon!

The Saffron ColomboThe Saffron Colombo - ViewThe Saffron Colombo - ExteriorThe Saffron Colombo - GardenThe Saffron Colombo - Budget Double RoomThe Saffron Colombo - FrontThe Saffron Colombo - Canal by the HotelThe Saffron Colombo - Canal by the hotelThe Saffron Colombo - Canal by the HotelThe Saffron Colombo - Canal by the HotelThe Saffron Colombo - Canal by the hotelThe Saffron Colombo - Deluxe DoubleThe Saffron Colombo - LobbyThe Saffron Colombo - DeluxeThe Saffron Colombo - Budget Single RoomThe Saffron Colombo - Deluxe DoubleThe Saffron Colombo - Deluxe DoubleThe Saffron Colombo - GardenThe Saffron Colombo - Deluxe DoubleThe Saffron Colombo - GardenThe Saffron Colombo - Deluxe DoubleThe Saffron Colombo - GardenThe Saffron Colombo - In House RestaurantThe Saffron Colombo - In House RestaurantThe Saffron Colombo - Budget DoubleThe Saffron Colombo - StandardThe Saffron Colombo - Deluxe DoubleThe Saffron Colombo - Line Entrance


AS-AGWEB-3C03