or

Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

The Saffron

32/5, Galpotte Road, Koswatte, Nawala,, Nawala Area, Colombo, Sri Lanka Colombo 005 (Show on map)

Book now!

The Saffron Colombo - View The Saffron Colombo - Exterior The Saffron Colombo - Garden The Saffron Colombo - Budget Double Room The Saffron Colombo - Front The Saffron Colombo - Canal by the Hotel The Saffron Colombo - Canal by the hotel The Saffron Colombo - Canal by the Hotel The Saffron Colombo - Canal by the Hotel The Saffron Colombo - Canal by the hotel The Saffron Colombo - Deluxe Double The Saffron Colombo - Lobby The Saffron Colombo - Deluxe The Saffron Colombo - Budget Single Room The Saffron Colombo - Deluxe Double The Saffron Colombo - Deluxe Double
The Saffron Colombo - Garden The Saffron Colombo - Deluxe Double The Saffron Colombo - Garden The Saffron Colombo - Deluxe Double The Saffron Colombo - Garden The Saffron Colombo - In House Restaurant The Saffron Colombo - In House Restaurant
Area: Nawala Area Number of Rooms: 12
Free Wi-Fi

Recent customer reviews

Filter by Traveler Type

 

Good

7.0

based on
31 reviews

Value for Money
7.2
Location
5.9
Staff Performance
7.0
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
7.4
Room Comfort/Standard
7.7
Food/Dining
6.6
All reviews (31)
Sort by:
Gulira K. Couples United Arab Emirates, April 8, 2014
Hate it

Nothing
2
Hate it so much.
Hussain I. Couples Maldives, November 12, 2013
Couple for medical

Clean and comfortable rooms, friendly staffs, quiet surroundings
6.7
Big and clean rooms with a comfortable bed. Love the quiet surrounding and it was the perfect place for our purpose, because it was near to the main hospitals.Though hotel is located little bit away from the main street and difficult to find,I marked it in my google maps and it was not a problem. The staffs were kind and friendly. We truly enjoyed our stay.
Achira L. Solo travelers Sri Lanka, August 25, 2013
Avarage Hotel

City View - AC rooms
4
Betty L. Solo travelers Philippines, August 7, 2013
very hard To Locate

comfortable bed, friendly staff, cheap transpo to kandy
5.3
When I arrived at the airport I went to the airport taxi counter to double check with them if they knew the location of the hotel. I even gave the driver a rough map of the location. However we still got lost and had to phone the hotel. I was given a room on the second floor with a window that should have a good view of the front yard if only those vines were not hanging out from the frontage of the hotel. It is a huge house with 14 rooms. The furnitures were made of hard wood and most rooms have poster beds. They arranged for my trip to Kandy by their 3 wheeler vehicle (Similar to tuktuk) a. I was also given a breakfast of omelet and toast before we headed off to Kandy. The room was comfortable and my bathroom was clean and had a good shower. Unfortunately when I came back after my Kandy trip I found that my room wasnt even cleaned(I stayed for two nights), So that night I had some small ants in my bed and I had to remove them one by one before I went to bed. On my check out the owner(lady) only billed me for the tuktuk service to kandy for the drive to the airport. So I gave her additional payment for my breakfasts and 2 drinks. Well for hospitality the owners and people there are always smiling. The only thing that I dont like is the location which is very hard to find and a bit out of the way.
Satyendra P. Business travelers India, July 4, 2013
Great affordable quick checkin out hotel.

The rooms were spacious. The food was satisfying and the wifi was good
9.3
The hospitality was just amazing. I was very happy with my stay at THE SAFFRON
Muhammad H. Solo travelers Pakistan, July 2, 2013
I went to attend a conference in BMICH

comfortable, breakfast, clean room
7
The hotel stay was good. The staff was friendly. The location is difficult to find though. But one thing that annoyed me was that on my 4th day of hotel stay, I came back to hotel and I found my room not clean. The staff told me that they forgot to clean the room !? But the good things are: the room/washroom is well maintained, breakfast is very good. So a good choice amongst budget hotels.
James B. Business travelers United Kingdom, April 7, 2013
Ideal for my one night stay in Colombo

The room smelt really good and a hearty breakfast was provided!
8
Howard O. Families with older children Canada, March 28, 2013
Difficult to find, overpriced and poor breakfast

The main staff and owners spoke good English and were helpful. The furniture was nice.
4.7
Personally we found it overpriced and in a remote location which was very difficult for drivers to find. Though this seemed to be the case now in Colombo and Sri Lanka in general and may not be the hotel's fault. Sri Lanka hotels and attractions were much more expensive than other areas in Asia. Colombo could use some good budget traveller friendly accommodation. Until then I would opt for spending a few more dollars and picking a more central location than The Saffron. The breakfast was nothing to write home about either... Sorry saffron but we were underwhelmed and overcharged.
Lurlene C. Solo travelers Australia, March 12, 2013
Quiet hotel with nice grounds

Garden; quiet atmosphere; friendly staff
6
Arshad M. Business travelers Pakistan, March 8, 2013
Over all it was good stay

Owner was friendly,breakfast was also good and service was also good
6.7
Owner was friendly,breakfast was also good and service was also good and specialy out side sitting area was so romantic.

Book now!

Sale ends soon!

The Saffron ColomboThe Saffron Colombo - ViewThe Saffron Colombo - ExteriorThe Saffron Colombo - GardenThe Saffron Colombo - Budget Double RoomThe Saffron Colombo - FrontThe Saffron Colombo - Canal by the HotelThe Saffron Colombo - Canal by the hotelThe Saffron Colombo - Canal by the HotelThe Saffron Colombo - Canal by the HotelThe Saffron Colombo - Canal by the hotelThe Saffron Colombo - Deluxe DoubleThe Saffron Colombo - LobbyThe Saffron Colombo - DeluxeThe Saffron Colombo - Budget Single RoomThe Saffron Colombo - Deluxe DoubleThe Saffron Colombo - Deluxe DoubleThe Saffron Colombo - GardenThe Saffron Colombo - Deluxe DoubleThe Saffron Colombo - GardenThe Saffron Colombo - Deluxe DoubleThe Saffron Colombo - GardenThe Saffron Colombo - In House RestaurantThe Saffron Colombo - In House Restaurant


AS-AGWEB-3C04