Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

The Scotsman Hotel

20 North Bridge, Edinburgh Old Town, Edinburgh, United Kingdom EH1 1TR

Recent customer reviews

Filter by Traveler Type

 

Excellent

8.5

based on
69 reviews

55 reviews in English

Value for Money
8.0
Location
9.4
Staff Performance
8.7
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
8.6
Room Comfort/Standard
8.6
Food/Dining
7.9
All reviews (69)
Sort by:
Hans L. Couples Switzerland, October 15, 2015
short visit in Edinburgh

location, reception, bar,
6.3
Excellent location, very nice and helpful people at the reception desk (all from Hungary). However, one of the windows in our room could not be closed completely. This window had been defect for a long time and nobody started the repair. Quite obviously, the investments to keep the hotel running at high level are minimal.
Report this review
Hugh M. Families with older children United States of America, September 5, 2015
Avoid this

The Scotsman Hotel
3.7
What a dump. This place was great in 2003 when it opened. Now it's been run into the ground by its new owner, a sheik. Paper napkins in the restaurant. Breakfast was literally not edible. My highschool cafeteria had a better setup. The pool looks like you could catch VD.
Report this review
Keith P. Couples United Kingdom, August 23, 2015
Dark and tired.Needs investment and up-dating.

Location,location,location.
6.3
I do not like negative comments,so will only say,somewhat tired interior,with pool dark,and depressing.Did not eat,so gave average,possibly unfair,but no alternative. There are better,romantic hotels with character,,and ones with better pools. I think lower 4* not 5,until refreshed.I think last time gave glowing report,as had one of best rooms ever,sadly once you notice faults,you end up negative.Make sure you get good room if you go.Convenient location.
Report this review
Michael W. Couples United States of America, August 3, 2015
Scotsman hotel

Large room. Excellent restaurant. Welcoming staff
8.3
The location of the hotel was excellent., within walking district of everything. Our particular room was I believe situated over the kitchen and quite noisy early morning. The room was large and clean and we had a great view over the city. All in all I would consider this a four star hotel. The staff were friendly and the restaurant excellent. Definitely recommend this hotel and would stay here again.
Report this review
John C. Couples United Kingdom, August 2, 2015
Disappointed

Location and staff
4.7
Our stay was disappointing we arrived expecting a five star experience which it most certainly wasn't . The hotel is in need of a refurb, rooms are very tired, carpets, furniture beds are all well worn. The spa is quite a distance through dark and dreary corridors almost like a a concrete car park. Breakfast was only average food served from hot plates not cooked freshly like most five star hotels. Robes in the rooms were also rough and scratchy, no slippers and no complimentary water. Would not recommend and will not be going back.
Report this review
Philip Y. Families with older children Australia, July 14, 2015
Brilliant!!

Customer service was amazing!!! Location was perfect for both sides of the river. Sense of history was wonderful
9.7
The concierge went beyond the call of duty to ensure we had the best possible experience of Edinborough.
Report this review
Atthachai Y. Groups Thailand, April 16, 2015
Good hotel. Closed to the main train station

close to train station. Walking distance to the old town and good room
7.3
very good. Good service and very nice staff.
Report this review
Anne R. Groups Ireland, March 21, 2015
Edinburgh in March

Staff, location, hotel itself.
7.3
Report this review
Paul A. Couples Philippines, December 27, 2014
lovely few hours

staff. location. and staff once more
9.7
lovely!
Report this review
Stephen L. Couples Australia, December 23, 2014
Great historic hotel

Amazing conversion from the old offices, fantastic location between old and new towns, great spa and pool
9.7
We loved this hotel. Best we have stayed in in edinburgh. A winner on all fronts.
Report this review
1 - 10 of 55 reviews Next page
The Scotsman Hotel Edinburgh - Scotsman ExteriorThe Scotsman Hotel Edinburgh - BarThe Scotsman Hotel Edinburgh - ExteriorThe Scotsman Hotel Edinburgh - ExteriorThe Scotsman Hotel Edinburgh - ExteriorThe Scotsman Hotel Edinburgh - The Brasserie PortraitThe Scotsman Hotel Edinburgh - The Scotsman Swimming PoolThe Scotsman Hotel Edinburgh - The Scotsman foodThe Scotsman Hotel Edinburgh - Mani Pedi Area The ScotsmanThe Scotsman Hotel Edinburgh - The Treatment Room at The ScotsmanThe Scotsman Hotel Edinburgh - The Scotsman North Bridge EntranceThe Scotsman Hotel Edinburgh - The Scotsman foodThe Scotsman Hotel Edinburgh - The Scotsman foodThe Scotsman Hotel Edinburgh - Afternoon TeaThe Scotsman Hotel Edinburgh - The Scotsman Sign with Window boxesThe Scotsman Hotel Edinburgh - Evening Edinburgh ViewThe Scotsman Hotel Edinburgh - The Scotsman foodThe Scotsman Hotel Edinburgh - The Retail Area at The Scotsman SpaThe Scotsman Hotel Edinburgh - Atlas holding the WorldThe Scotsman Hotel Edinburgh - The Scotsman foodThe Scotsman Hotel Edinburgh - SurroundingsThe Scotsman Hotel Edinburgh - SpaThe Scotsman Hotel Edinburgh - Balcony/TerraceThe Scotsman Hotel Edinburgh - InteriorThe Scotsman Hotel Edinburgh - InteriorThe Scotsman Hotel Edinburgh - Food and BeveragesThe Scotsman Hotel Edinburgh - InteriorThe Scotsman Hotel Edinburgh - RestaurantThe Scotsman Hotel Edinburgh - InteriorThe Scotsman Hotel Edinburgh - Food and BeveragesThe Scotsman Hotel Edinburgh - Food and BeveragesThe Scotsman Hotel Edinburgh - RestaurantThe Scotsman Hotel Edinburgh - Guest RoomThe Scotsman Hotel Edinburgh - InteriorThe Scotsman Hotel Edinburgh - Fitness RoomThe Scotsman Hotel Edinburgh - Meeting RoomThe Scotsman Hotel Edinburgh - RestaurantThe Scotsman Hotel Edinburgh - RestaurantThe Scotsman Hotel Edinburgh - RestaurantThe Scotsman Hotel Edinburgh - RestaurantThe Scotsman Hotel Edinburgh - InteriorThe Scotsman Hotel Edinburgh - BuffetThe Scotsman Hotel Edinburgh - Meeting RoomThe Scotsman Hotel Edinburgh - SpaThe Scotsman Hotel Edinburgh - Meeting RoomThe Scotsman Hotel Edinburgh - SurroundingsThe Scotsman Hotel Edinburgh - InteriorThe Scotsman Hotel Edinburgh - SpaThe Scotsman Hotel Edinburgh - InteriorThe Scotsman Hotel Edinburgh - RestaurantThe Scotsman Hotel Edinburgh - InteriorThe Scotsman Hotel Edinburgh - Meeting RoomThe Scotsman Hotel Edinburgh - InteriorThe Scotsman Hotel Edinburgh - Interior


Agoda.com is part of The Priceline Group, the world leader in online travel & related services.

AS-AGWEB-3B05