Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

The Secret Sanctuary Boutique Cottage Kuching

133, Taman Stutong Indah, Lorong 12 A, Jalan Setia Raja, Kuching. Sarawak. Malaysia., Kuching City Center, Kuching, Malaysia 93350

Recent customer reviews

Filter by traveler type

 

Very good

7.5

based on 72 reviews

54 reviews in English

Value for Money
7.6
Location
6.6
Staff Performance
7.8
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
7.4
Room Comfort/Standard
7.7
Food/Dining
7.8
All reviews (72)
Sort by:
Adrianna T. Families with young children Poland, April 16, 2016
Peaceful place for tolerant people
4.3
Dont expect host and staff to be available at all time. They appear sometimes Do expect trust to you as a guest, a lot of freedom and mellow atmosphere. The only minus is a monkey that may be aggressive to children. You have to onserve it all the time. Location is close to airport but quite far to central Kuching.
Report this review
Lek Y. Families with older children Singapore, December 30, 2015
Extremely helpful staff and very awesome rooms

Jaccuzi, Pool, Extremely awesome rooms
10
Probably the best boutique type hotel i stayed in. Very photogenic place. Staff is very helpful and friendly. Loved the jacuzzi and pool. Great place to relax. Only setback is the mosquitoes. However if we do come back to kuching again will definitely come back for a stay.
Report this review
Anuar M. Solo travelers Malaysia, December 14, 2015
no comment
2
bad feeling
Report this review
Chan H. Families with young children Malaysia, November 23, 2015
The Secret Sanctuary Boutique Cottage Kuching

The staff service is good..
3.7
So dirty of the environment, (maybe they want it look like natural ...(sorry for my broken English)
Report this review
Frank J. Couples Netherlands, October 15, 2015
Great and original place

Great environment created, Nice pool and good and big rooms
8.3
Great place. Only negative thing I can think of is the simple breakfast. And you have to know before you go here that there is a monkey, which can be agressive to new people
Report this review
Ally K. Couples Malaysia, October 1, 2015
Nice view hotel but I won't visit again.

Nice view,special decorations,natural environment
5
Food is so so only.breakfast was worse.hot water is not working well in our room.toilet door is spoiled.mirror is outside our room.no provide mineral water and room service.we can't boil hot water also.wifi is very slow in our room.
Report this review
Kevin G. Couples United States of America, August 17, 2015
nice stay

easy check in, friendly staff, good food
5.7
Overall nice stay. If your looking for traditional style hotel then this one is not for you. This is more like homestay with separate rooms around the property. Food was good the one night we ate there. Bar is self serve on the honor system. Décor is a little different and with a lot clutter everywhere. I felt the bar could have been cleaner since people are cutting fruit and making drinks. Several times there was old fruit around on the counters. That may bother some people. Overall it was still nice stay.
Report this review
Sangeetha G. Solo travelers Malaysia, August 2, 2015
Beware of monkey visits & poor bath facilities

Food.
5.3
Very poor. We left first thing in the morning after a nights stay. 1) Visited by a monkey whilst on the loo. No doors to loo. Apparently the monkey is a regular visitor from the jungle nearby. Was very scary. 2) No hot water in the bathroom-which had to be accessed by leaving the room. Had no lights to see at night. 3) We booked the twin room which was essentially a double bed split into two (mattress & base). My roommate got the base, and did not sleep a wink all night. 4) No real doors or locks to bath facilities 5) Water feature everywhere-so sound of running water keeps you up constantly. No quiet. Breeding ground for mosquitoes!
Report this review
Boban Z. Families with young children United States of America, April 15, 2015
Probably our favorite place in Malaysia

Cyril (the owner), the food, the atmosphere
9.3
We loved our stay at the Secret Sanctuary! It's a kind of place that deserves a movie made about it... Very relaxing (we all loved the fish spa pool!) + some of the best "fusion" food we had in Malaysia + very helpful owner (Cyril) who helped us with our sightseeing itinerary and drove us everywhere. Perhaps not for business travelers or people who want their hotels perfectly neat and sterile, but if you like the relaxed california hot springs vibe, this place will feel like your second home!
Report this review
Andrew H. Couples United Kingdom, March 4, 2015
Wonderfully Bohemian Friendly Little Hidden Palace

The owner Cyril, his beautiful staff, the style, the feeling, the decor... the absolute pleasure of feeling welcome and accepted.
9.7
We loved it here - in fact so much so we stayed an extra week. Cyril the owner went all out to give us the best time possible - he made us feel so welcome and even took us out to see the sites, without expecting anything in return. He was a true gentleman. The energy and sheer style of the place is all created entirely from his passion - every corner reveals an unexpected room in which to lounge, a beautiful little pool complete with waterfall, a fish spa to sooth one's aching feet. His staff were so friendly, there was an honesty bar in which it was up to you to be just that - honest. In fact the whole place felt authentic and honest - it was a dream - we did not want to leave. I'm sure the place is not for everyone, but if you want to experience true hospitality and a non judgmental, almost spiritual vibe, then don't let this place remain a secret to you - go and see Cyril - he works so hard to make the place a mini paradise and really deserves to have punters to share it with - that seems to be his love. We would return annually if we could. Thanks Cyril, for making our stay so memorable xx
Report this review
1 - 10 of 54 reviews Next page
The Secret Sanctuary Boutique Cottage Kuching KuchingThe Secret Sanctuary Boutique Cottage Kuching Kuching - Guest RoomThe Secret Sanctuary Boutique Cottage Kuching Kuching - Guest RoomThe Secret Sanctuary Boutique Cottage Kuching Kuching - Guest RoomThe Secret Sanctuary Boutique Cottage Kuching Kuching - Guest RoomThe Secret Sanctuary Boutique Cottage Kuching Kuching - Guest RoomThe Secret Sanctuary Boutique Cottage Kuching Kuching - RoomThe Secret Sanctuary Boutique Cottage Kuching Kuching - Guest RoomThe Secret Sanctuary Boutique Cottage Kuching Kuching - Guest RoomThe Secret Sanctuary Boutique Cottage Kuching Kuching - Guest RoomThe Secret Sanctuary Boutique Cottage Kuching Kuching - BathroomThe Secret Sanctuary Boutique Cottage Kuching Kuching - BathroomThe Secret Sanctuary Boutique Cottage Kuching Kuching - Hot TubThe Secret Sanctuary Boutique Cottage Kuching Kuching - LobbyThe Secret Sanctuary Boutique Cottage Kuching Kuching - Balcony/TerraceThe Secret Sanctuary Boutique Cottage Kuching Kuching - InteriorThe Secret Sanctuary Boutique Cottage Kuching Kuching - InteriorThe Secret Sanctuary Boutique Cottage Kuching Kuching - InteriorThe Secret Sanctuary Boutique Cottage Kuching Kuching - InteriorThe Secret Sanctuary Boutique Cottage Kuching Kuching - Swimming PoolThe Secret Sanctuary Boutique Cottage Kuching Kuching - Swimming PoolThe Secret Sanctuary Boutique Cottage Kuching Kuching - Swimming PoolThe Secret Sanctuary Boutique Cottage Kuching Kuching - Swing The Secret Sanctuary Boutique Cottage Kuching Kuching - RestaurantThe Secret Sanctuary Boutique Cottage Kuching Kuching - Main EntranceThe Secret Sanctuary Boutique Cottage Kuching Kuching - RestaurantThe Secret Sanctuary Boutique Cottage Kuching Kuching - RestaurantThe Secret Sanctuary Boutique Cottage Kuching Kuching - RestaurantThe Secret Sanctuary Boutique Cottage Kuching Kuching - Honesty BarThe Secret Sanctuary Boutique Cottage Kuching Kuching - HammockThe Secret Sanctuary Boutique Cottage Kuching Kuching - Native market The Secret Sanctuary Boutique Cottage Kuching Kuching - SpaThe Secret Sanctuary Boutique Cottage Kuching Kuching - SurroundingsThe Secret Sanctuary Boutique Cottage Kuching Kuching - SurroundingsThe Secret Sanctuary Boutique Cottage Kuching Kuching - SurroundingsThe Secret Sanctuary Boutique Cottage Kuching Kuching - Nearby AttractionThe Secret Sanctuary Boutique Cottage Kuching Kuching - Nearby AttractionThe Secret Sanctuary Boutique Cottage Kuching Kuching - Nearby AttractionThe Secret Sanctuary Boutique Cottage Kuching Kuching - ExteriorThe Secret Sanctuary Boutique Cottage Kuching Kuching - ExteriorThe Secret Sanctuary Boutique Cottage Kuching Kuching - ExteriorThe Secret Sanctuary Boutique Cottage Kuching Kuching - ExteriorThe Secret Sanctuary Boutique Cottage Kuching Kuching - ExteriorThe Secret Sanctuary Boutique Cottage Kuching Kuching - Infra- red sauna The Secret Sanctuary Boutique Cottage Kuching Kuching - BeachThe Secret Sanctuary Boutique Cottage Kuching Kuching - Damai beach Santubong mountain The Secret Sanctuary Boutique Cottage Kuching Kuching - Guest RoomThe Secret Sanctuary Boutique Cottage Kuching Kuching - Guest RoomThe Secret Sanctuary Boutique Cottage Kuching Kuching - ExteriorThe Secret Sanctuary Boutique Cottage Kuching Kuching - Meditation room


Agoda is part of The Priceline Group, the world leader in online travel & related services.

AS-AGWEB-3C05