Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

The Small Chiang Mai Hotel

148, 150 Tha-Phae Road. Tambon Chang Moy, Amphur Muang, Night Bazaar, Chiang Mai, Thailand 50000 (Show on map)

Book now!

The Small Chiang Mai Hotel Chiang Mai - Bathroom The Small Chiang Mai Hotel Chiang Mai - Lobby The Small Chiang Mai Hotel Chiang Mai - G-Bar The Small Chiang Mai Hotel Chiang Mai - G-Bar The Small Chiang Mai Hotel Chiang Mai - Hotel Entrance The Small Chiang Mai Hotel Chiang Mai - Lobby The Small Chiang Mai Hotel Chiang Mai - Restaurant The Small Chiang Mai Hotel Chiang Mai - Restaurant The Small Chiang Mai Hotel Chiang Mai - Reading Corner The Small Chiang Mai Hotel Chiang Mai - Lobby The Small Chiang Mai Hotel Chiang Mai - Lobby The Small Chiang Mai Hotel Chiang Mai - Bathroom The Small Chiang Mai Hotel Chiang Mai - Bathroom The Small Chiang Mai Hotel Chiang Mai - Entrance The Small Chiang Mai Hotel Chiang Mai - Entrance The Small Chiang Mai Hotel Chiang Mai - Entrance
The Small Chiang Mai Hotel Chiang Mai - Guest Room The Small Chiang Mai Hotel Chiang Mai - Lobby The Small Chiang Mai Hotel Chiang Mai - Lobby The Small Chiang Mai Hotel Chiang Mai - Lobby The Small Chiang Mai Hotel Chiang Mai - Facilities
Area: Night Bazaar Number of Rooms: 35

Recent customer reviews

Filter by Traveler Type

 

Very good

7.5

based on
1259 reviews

586 reviews in English

Value for Money
7.3
Location
8.2
Staff Performance
7.3
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
7.4
Room Comfort/Standard
7.4
Food/Dining
6.9
All reviews (1259)
Sort by:
Estelle F. Solo travelers France, October 2, 2014
great stay and super friendly staff

warm welcome, very clean and great location
9
Report this review
Leanne M. Couples Australia, September 22, 2014
Surprising

Standard of the room, staff, location
9.7
Report this review
Alejandro C. Groups Spain, September 18, 2014
Good Location

Staff hotel, location and room accomodation
8.7
A very good start point to visit Chiang Mai and sorrounding. Great staff at reception. Good breakfast. Awful extra bed. Very good relation accomodation-price
Report this review
Nathan O. Couples Australia, September 7, 2014
well done

great location , great staff, easy transport
7.7
Report this review
Anssi M. Solo travelers Finland, September 6, 2014
Great location, nice staff

location, staff, price
7.7
Very comfortable stay. Location is great and so is staff as well. Quiet and nice hotel overall.
Report this review
Alex K. Solo travelers Australia, August 24, 2014
Needs refurbished

The bed was king size, could fit 4 people in it. The staff were always very helpful. Handy for night and day markets.
7.7
Stayed for 4 nights in August. The staff were very helpful, the room was spacious with a huge bed and the hotel was handy for the markets and the main gate of the old city. The downside is that the hotel needs a bit of TLC, a bit of refurbishment. Don't get me wrong, it is not faling apart but, the the wood on the stairs is cracking due to wear. Few other esthetic issues. All in all, I would recommend the hotel and would stay again.
Report this review
Eliza Z. Couples Poland, August 8, 2014
Comfortable stay in good location

Location close to Thapae Gate and Night Market, extremely friendly staff, good size bathroom
8
We had a comfortable stay in The Small but were a bit disappointed after reading some great reviews and seeing hotel photos. The hotel is conveniently located in one of the main streets. Less than 5 minutes to the Night Market and afternoon food market and about 10-15 min to the old part of the town and Thapae Gate. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful and the bathroom was large and clean. On the other hand, the hotel photos must have been taken long time ago and the rooms have serious signs of wear. Forget about beautiful decor details and flowers seen in the photos. Also, no welcome tray with champagne is awaiting you either ;) We did receive welcome drinks vouchers and thought it was a great start but we changed our minds after having been served a glass of watery orange-y liquid... Our room was large but had no window that you would like to look through so we ended up having our curtains closed at all times. The bed was ok but very soft and uneven. Our bedsheets were stained at the heads so we had to ask to have them changed. A big bummer is the red lcv covered floor. It really spoils the overall look and feel. You'll be better off taking a cheaper option without breakfast which has limited options and is not really tasty. It's survey on a roof terrace which is a nice touch but don't expect stunning views. Forget about the pool which is really small and we've never seen a single person there. And if you don't like throwing money away, don't use the travel agency desk in the lobby. Just go to any of the nearby guesthouses and you'll get every trip way cheaper (e.g. a bus to Pai was quoted as 250 baht while every single guesthouse charges you 180 baht max including hotel pickup...). All in all, an ok stay in good location and with super friendly staff. However, we would look for a newer hotel within the same price range next time.
Report this review
Muhammad R. Couples Malaysia, August 2, 2014
A good hotel at the main road

location and comfort
8
My stay was pleasant. Very near to the night market and halal food street. The breakfast was ok. Just i was not given early check in, was told to wait till 2pm. maybe the room was occupied, hitel full.
Report this review
Stephen F. Solo travelers Australia, July 21, 2014
Nice clean friendly great place for budget

Clean location price
9
Easy and comfortable would recommend for anyone wanting to stay in Chiang Mai
Report this review
Richard C. Solo travelers Australia, July 14, 2014
Nice hotel, where the staff stand out.

Staff..value..location
8.3
Spent a nice few days at the Small. It has a great location if you want to explore the night markets as they are within easy walking distance, as is the inner moat area. The breakfast room has a nice view of the rain forest in the morning with the clouds tumbling over it. The staff where very nice as was the hotel itself, although the lock on my door defeated me at times, being a key not a card.
Report this review
Previous page 81 - 90 of 586 reviews Next page
 

Book now!

Sale ends soon!

The Small Chiang Mai Hotel Chiang MaiThe Small Chiang Mai Hotel Chiang Mai - BathroomThe Small Chiang Mai Hotel Chiang Mai - LobbyThe Small Chiang Mai Hotel Chiang Mai - G-BarThe Small Chiang Mai Hotel Chiang Mai - G-BarThe Small Chiang Mai Hotel Chiang Mai - Hotel EntranceThe Small Chiang Mai Hotel Chiang Mai - LobbyThe Small Chiang Mai Hotel Chiang Mai - RestaurantThe Small Chiang Mai Hotel Chiang Mai - RestaurantThe Small Chiang Mai Hotel Chiang Mai - Reading CornerThe Small Chiang Mai Hotel Chiang Mai - LobbyThe Small Chiang Mai Hotel Chiang Mai - LobbyThe Small Chiang Mai Hotel Chiang Mai - BathroomThe Small Chiang Mai Hotel Chiang Mai - BathroomThe Small Chiang Mai Hotel Chiang Mai - EntranceThe Small Chiang Mai Hotel Chiang Mai - EntranceThe Small Chiang Mai Hotel Chiang Mai - EntranceThe Small Chiang Mai Hotel Chiang Mai - Guest RoomThe Small Chiang Mai Hotel Chiang Mai - LobbyThe Small Chiang Mai Hotel Chiang Mai - LobbyThe Small Chiang Mai Hotel Chiang Mai - LobbyThe Small Chiang Mai Hotel Chiang Mai - Facilities


Agoda.com is part of The Priceline Group, the world leader in online travel & related services.

AS-AGWEB-3C01