Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

The Smokehouse Hotel

By the Golf Course,Tanah Rata, Tanah Rata, Cameron Highlands, Malaysia 39000 (Show on map)

Book now!

The Smokehouse Hotel Cameron Highlands - Deluxe Room The Smokehouse Hotel Cameron Highlands - Room Facilities The Smokehouse Hotel Cameron Highlands - Bathroom The Smokehouse Hotel Cameron Highlands - Lobby The Smokehouse Hotel Cameron Highlands - Restaurant The Smokehouse Hotel Cameron Highlands - Restaurant The Smokehouse Hotel Cameron Highlands - The Facade The Smokehouse Hotel Cameron Highlands - Hotel Exterior The Smokehouse Hotel Cameron Highlands - Garden The Smokehouse Hotel Cameron Highlands - Guest Room The Smokehouse Hotel Cameron Highlands - Guest Room The Smokehouse Hotel Cameron Highlands - Restaurant The Smokehouse Hotel Cameron Highlands - Exterior The Smokehouse Hotel Cameron Highlands - Exterior The Smokehouse Hotel Cameron Highlands - Guest Room The Smokehouse Hotel Cameron Highlands - Entrance
The Smokehouse Hotel Cameron Highlands - Interior The Smokehouse Hotel Cameron Highlands - Garden The Smokehouse Hotel Cameron Highlands - Guest Room The Smokehouse Hotel Cameron Highlands - Pub/Lounge The Smokehouse Hotel Cameron Highlands - Exterior The Smokehouse Hotel Cameron Highlands - Facade The Smokehouse Hotel Cameron Highlands - Guest Room The Smokehouse Hotel Cameron Highlands - Interior The Smokehouse Hotel Cameron Highlands - Interior The Smokehouse Hotel Cameron Highlands - Guest Room The Smokehouse Hotel Cameron Highlands - Restaurant The Smokehouse Hotel Cameron Highlands - Guest Room
Area: Tanah Rata Number of Rooms: 20
Free Wi-Fi

Recent customer reviews

Filter by Traveler Type

 

Very Good

8.0

based on
963 reviews

Value for Money
7.6
Location
8.2
Staff Performance
8.0
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
7.9
Room Comfort/Standard
8.2
Food/Dining
7.8
All reviews (963)
Sort by:
Sarah W. Couples United Kingdom, August 3, 2013
Fantastic setting but in need of refurbishment

Gardens, traditional English design, wood fire
6.7
Historic hotel in beautiful gardens. Lovely breakfast in the greenhouse. Staff a little cool and service slow. Didn't see any of the rooms in the main building but the two adjoining rooms we shared in the annex were nice but desperately needed some work- the bathroom in one room was very damp, the shower in the other alternating between scalding and freezing to the extent that it couldn't be used. While the decor was lovely and traditional, replacement of damp and worn bedding and carpets wouldn't take away from this. Hopefully the owners will make some minor renovations in order to preserve this otherwise fantastic hotel.
Bart V. Families with young children Netherlands, July 26, 2013
Home away from home

English design, attentive treatment, location
8.3
We stayed two nights in this "over the top" English style hotel. Great reception with tea during checkin and excellent building and room deco! For dinner you can sit at the woodfire until your food is ready. Staff was very helpful in organizing our day trip. Room was spacious and clean.
Bonnie A. Couples Australia, July 22, 2013
Quaint hotel, beautiful English garden.Service avg

Pretty garden view. Antique styled room. Mulligatawny soup
7
Lovely old English Tudor themed hotel, very pretty English cottage gardens. Afternoon tea in the gardens very nice. Hotel a bit run down. Service very slow and they forgot our wake up call and early breakfast
Beng H. Families with young children Malaysia, July 20, 2013
good

clean, friendly, relex. really a good place for relex. sure will enjoy.
9.7
Very good, really a relex place. You can enjoy the enviroment and the air is free. The feel just like stay in england. Nice place, staff also very friendly, my children enjoy a lot. Sure will go back again......
Paul M. Couples United Kingdom, July 18, 2013
Very picturesque.

location, building and breakfast
7
Expect a very Brit menu which is fine if your an expat but on holiday we like to widen our culinary experience past Beef Welly! Room fittings were very tired and housekeeping pretty much emptied the bins and made the bed - thats it. Not family friendly in the restaurant - no kids menu so you have to pay adult prices for a 5 yr old and the portions are big. When we went for breakfast we had to ask for a setting for our small person too. Otherwise staff were friendly and attentive. Internet was a bit slow. Oh and the bathrooms could do with a good scrub! All in consideration your paying for a long established reputation and the very aestheticly pleasing building.
Susanne S. Couples Australia, July 17, 2013
Surprisingly quiet

a comfortable bed, a beautiful garden, helpful staff
9.7
The hotel sign says "Ye Olde Smokehouse' hotel. "Ye Olde'... probably tells you more about what to expect inside i.e. dark beams, comfy chairs and lowish ceilings. There's even an English style bar with an open fireplace which was lit during our stay as it gets cold at night. Upon arrival, you will be sat down and welcomed with a pot of tea. We also enjoyed a delicious dinner here and really liked the (English?) custom of sitting in the bar with a drink prior to dinner and being shown your table when the meal is actually ready to serve. Then, as we were leaving early on our last day (and couldn't have our paid for breakfast), the staff arranged a little takeaway picnic of sandwiches, fruit, water bottles and shortbread biscuits. This was very much appreciated. The hotel is a fair walking distance from the main shops at Tanah Rata. However, it is well located just off the main road and taxis into and out of the town are not expensive.
Xou G. Couples Malaysia, July 15, 2013
Old English style hotel, quiet and comfortable.

Quiet surroundings, beautiful garden, good privacy
8
Generally the hotel is very beautiful and comfortable. Breakfast is simple and nice. The only thing is Wifi range need to be extended so that the room can get the smooth connection as well. Price is slightly higher compared to other hotel but if budget allows, good to try to stay for a night.
Larry L. Couples Malaysia, July 6, 2013
Amazing service

Customer service, the garden and the interior
9.3
It was awesome. Like it Vry much .
Alireza G. Groups Malaysia, July 5, 2013
Nice place

Nice, Clean and fantastic
9.3
Liyana L. Couples Singapore, July 5, 2013
comfortable, luxurious, elegant

Design off the hotel and the rooms were unique, peaceful and quiet surroundings, many picture worthy areas in and around the hotel
8
The staff were really friendly are were able to provide us with directions, even though it wasn't in the area. Which without, we would have gotten lost. The hotel was really beautiful. The rooms were big, and even though the bed was a bit hard, it was okay. Classic, traditional English styled hotel that looks fabulous in and out of pictures. However, knowledge of the activites in the area was a bit lacking - for instance, it was 7pm and we wanted to go see the waterfalls nearby. The staff said it might be too late, but still possible to do so. However, the gates to the waterfall closes at 7pm, and it takes aproximately 3 hours to walk to the waterfalls. The staff failed to informed us,even though we specificially asked for information. Room service was lacking as well - hot water tap weren't working and after 3 hours we decided to inform the staff (we took a walk a round the nice surroundings). It took anothef 2 hours for the staff to rectify and solved the problem. This was really bad as it was freezing cold at night and not possible to take a bath without hot water. Overall, we would probably recommend this hotel to our friends, but would not stay here again.

Book now!

Sale ends soon!

The Smokehouse Hotel Cameron HighlandsThe Smokehouse Hotel Cameron Highlands - Deluxe RoomThe Smokehouse Hotel Cameron Highlands - Room FacilitiesThe Smokehouse Hotel Cameron Highlands - BathroomThe Smokehouse Hotel Cameron Highlands - LobbyThe Smokehouse Hotel Cameron Highlands - RestaurantThe Smokehouse Hotel Cameron Highlands - RestaurantThe Smokehouse Hotel Cameron Highlands - The FacadeThe Smokehouse Hotel Cameron Highlands - Hotel ExteriorThe Smokehouse Hotel Cameron Highlands - GardenThe Smokehouse Hotel Cameron Highlands - Guest RoomThe Smokehouse Hotel Cameron Highlands - Guest RoomThe Smokehouse Hotel Cameron Highlands - RestaurantThe Smokehouse Hotel Cameron Highlands - ExteriorThe Smokehouse Hotel Cameron Highlands - ExteriorThe Smokehouse Hotel Cameron Highlands - Guest RoomThe Smokehouse Hotel Cameron Highlands - EntranceThe Smokehouse Hotel Cameron Highlands - InteriorThe Smokehouse Hotel Cameron Highlands - GardenThe Smokehouse Hotel Cameron Highlands - Guest RoomThe Smokehouse Hotel Cameron Highlands - Pub/LoungeThe Smokehouse Hotel Cameron Highlands - ExteriorThe Smokehouse Hotel Cameron Highlands - FacadeThe Smokehouse Hotel Cameron Highlands - Guest RoomThe Smokehouse Hotel Cameron Highlands - InteriorThe Smokehouse Hotel Cameron Highlands - InteriorThe Smokehouse Hotel Cameron Highlands - Guest RoomThe Smokehouse Hotel Cameron Highlands - RestaurantThe Smokehouse Hotel Cameron Highlands - Guest RoomThe Smokehouse Hotel Cameron Highlands - EntranceThe Smokehouse Hotel Cameron Highlands - ExteriorThe Smokehouse Hotel Cameron Highlands - Family Suite

Customer Reviews - The Smokehouse Hotel, Cameron Highlands

AS-AGWEB-3C06