My Account (sign in)

Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

The South China Hotel

No.67-75 Java Road, North Point, Hong Kong (Show on map)

Book now!

The South China Hotel Hong Kong - Executive Room The South China Hotel Hong Kong - Executive Room The South China Hotel Hong Kong - Executive Room The South China Hotel Hong Kong - Hotel Exterior The South China Hotel Hong Kong - Entrance The South China Hotel Hong Kong - Executive Room - Bathroom The South China Hotel Hong Kong - Executive Room - Bathroom The South China Hotel Hong Kong - In-room safe The South China Hotel Hong Kong - Wine Storage Cabinet The South China Hotel Hong Kong - Room Amenities The South China Hotel Hong Kong - Room Amenities The South China Hotel Hong Kong - Closet The South China Hotel Hong Kong - Superior Room The South China Hotel Hong Kong - Room Amenities The South China Hotel Hong Kong - Lobby The South China Hotel Hong Kong - Corridor
The South China Hotel Hong Kong - Lobby The South China Hotel Hong Kong - Lobby The South China Hotel Hong Kong - Executive Room The South China Hotel Hong Kong - Lobby The South China Hotel Hong Kong - Superior Room The South China Hotel Hong Kong - Executive Room  Bathroom The South China Hotel Hong Kong - Executive Room The South China Hotel Hong Kong - Lobby
Hotel Area: North Point Number of Rooms: 202

Recent customer reviews

Filter by Traveler Type

 

Good

7.0

based on
428 reviews

Value for Money
7.2
Location
7.8
Staff Performance
7.0
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
7.1
Room Comfort/Standard
7.0
Food/Dining
6.1
All reviews (428)
Sort by:
Dariya U. Business travelers Russia, April 12, 2014
very pleasant stay

1 - location; 2 - room itself; 3 - value for the money
9.3
I was nicely surprised by the quality of the room, and the friendliness of the staff. The hotel is a nice choice for business trips.
Pichet C. Solo travelers Thailand, April 7, 2014
Decent sized room by Hong Kong standard.

Good location, close to public transportation & shopping area.
5.7
The hotel is a little old, but room size is not too bad by Hong Kong standard. No fridge in the room but a non-working wine cooler.
Apisa F. Families with older children Thailand, April 3, 2014
good

good
6
Neil H. Business travelers United Kingdom, March 31, 2014
Convenient for our basic needs

Location to MTR, simple effecient room layout
6.7
Satisfactory for our needs
In P. Couples United States of America, March 31, 2014
The hotel was well worth for the money.

Cleanliness, near to many good eating and shopping places.
8
I was upgraded to the executive room. The room was clean and had wifi even though the reception was not good. In general, it was well worth it.
Soi C. Couples Singapore, March 30, 2014
Reasonably priced

Location, public transport to n from airpot n city
5.7
Acceptable. Howver, the restaurant where breakfast is serve need a new facelift. Breakfast was bad.
Ananpong C. Solo travelers Thailand, March 24, 2014
Good location, Friendly staff, Small room

Close to North Point MTR, Close to Java Road Cooked Food Centre, Lost of local eateries nearby, Nice breakfast, Friendly staff but housekeeping does not speak English
7.7
I stayed there for 2 nights. The hotel is a bit old, but they keep it in a clean condition. Front desk staff was great. The hotel was one long-block away from North Point MTR exit A1. It was right across the street from the Java Road wet market and Cooked Food Centre. I was told that it would be great for those who speak Mandarin and Cantonese to dine inexpensive meals. Apart from that, there are many small local restaurants around that one can dine inexpensively as well. A Chinese restaurant occupies the first floor of the hotel (one above ground floor). The lobby can be crowded and noisy, as there were a lot of local customers who would not walk up the stairs but rather wait for the lift to go up one floor. The sofa seats at lobby was always occupied with Chinese tourists, who either were wait to check-in or were waiting for their group to assemble before heading off somewhere. So there was constantly no space to sit and hang out in the lobby. The housekeeping staff does not speak English. But the housekeeping lady was nice enough to communicate with me by sign language and bear with my request to move the bed-side tables out and push the two beds together. The next time I visit Hong Kong and need to stay on the island side, I would stay there again. This is not a budget hotel! So I would recommend it to those wanting a middle-class hotel.
Lilly C. Couples Philippines, March 22, 2014
Superb Relaxation

Relaxing, Good view, Good location
7.3
Allan T. Solo travelers Philippines, March 15, 2014
Nice stay.

Location, cheap restaurants nearby and close to wet market.
7.7
Stay was ok. I don't have much expectations since I chose the hotel because it's the closest to my grandmother's house, so it makes my visits to her note convenient. The room is a bit small, relatively clean. I felt the price I paid for the room is a bit expensive than what the room offers in terms of its amenities, comfort and size. The location is ok. Staffs were friendly and attentive. I just hope they can lower their room price or maybe they can upgrade their hotel amenities to deserve what they're charging customers.
Billy C. Groups Philippines, March 5, 2014
Wonderful location, cheap and good hotel

Easy access to transportation, close to market/shoppping/dining areas, fast and hassle free check-in/check-out
7.3
Had a wonderful stay at this hotel. First off, the location is excellent. Easy access to MTR and bus. It's just a few minutes walk from the hotel. Good places to eat are also just around the corner. There's a supermarket, wet market and convenience stores close by. All in all, my stay was practically hassle free and the room itself was very comfortable. There was breakfast included in my accommodation. The food was ok, would have been better if the food they offered wasn't the same every single day. Upon first entering the room, it smelled as if someone smoked in there. We were already expecting it considering the number of people smoking in the country but would have been better if they took that extra step when they cleaned and prepared the room for us. No room wifi access, only in the lobby but it is pretty fast.

Book now!

Sale ends soon!

The South China Hotel Hong Kong - Executive RoomThe South China Hotel Hong Kong - Executive RoomThe South China Hotel Hong Kong - Executive RoomThe South China Hotel Hong Kong - Executive RoomThe South China Hotel Hong Kong - Hotel ExteriorThe South China Hotel Hong Kong - EntranceThe South China Hotel Hong Kong - Executive Room - BathroomThe South China Hotel Hong Kong - Executive Room - BathroomThe South China Hotel Hong Kong - In-room safeThe South China Hotel Hong Kong - Wine Storage CabinetThe South China Hotel Hong Kong - Room AmenitiesThe South China Hotel Hong Kong - Room AmenitiesThe South China Hotel Hong Kong - ClosetThe South China Hotel Hong Kong - Superior RoomThe South China Hotel Hong Kong - Room AmenitiesThe South China Hotel Hong Kong - LobbyThe South China Hotel Hong Kong - CorridorThe South China Hotel Hong Kong - LobbyThe South China Hotel Hong Kong - LobbyThe South China Hotel Hong Kong - Executive RoomThe South China Hotel Hong Kong - LobbyThe South China Hotel Hong Kong - Superior RoomThe South China Hotel Hong Kong - Executive Room  BathroomThe South China Hotel Hong Kong - Executive RoomThe South China Hotel Hong Kong - Lobby

Customer Reviews - The South China Hotel, Hong Kong

AS-AGWEB-3C04