Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

The Spier Hotel

R310 Lynedoch road, Stellenbosch, Stellenbosch, South Africa 7599 (Show on map)

Book now!

Formerly : Village At Spier Hotel
The Spier Hotel Stellenbosch - Suite Bedroom The Spier Hotel Stellenbosch - Hotel Avenue The Spier Hotel Stellenbosch - Hotel Avenue The Spier Hotel Stellenbosch - Signature Garden Terrace Fireplace The Spier Hotel Stellenbosch - Signature Riverside Garden Terrace Room The Spier Hotel Stellenbosch - Suite Bedroom The Spier Hotel Stellenbosch - Main Swimming Pool The Spier Hotel Stellenbosch - Signature Garden Room Terrace The Spier Hotel Stellenbosch - Hotel Wine Bar The Spier Hotel Stellenbosch - Suite Bedroom The Spier Hotel Stellenbosch - Signature Riverside Room The Spier Hotel Stellenbosch - Signature Riverside Room The Spier Hotel Stellenbosch - Signature Riverside Garden Terrace Veranda The Spier Hotel Stellenbosch - Courtyard Swimming Pool The Spier Hotel Stellenbosch - Internal Village Setting The Spier Hotel Stellenbosch - Hotel Avenue
The Spier Hotel Stellenbosch - Facilities The Spier Hotel Stellenbosch - Guest Room The Spier Hotel Stellenbosch - Exterior The Spier Hotel Stellenbosch - Exterior The Spier Hotel Stellenbosch - Guest Room The Spier Hotel Stellenbosch - Exterior The Spier Hotel Stellenbosch - Exterior The Spier Hotel Stellenbosch - Balcony/Terrace The Spier Hotel Stellenbosch - Swimming Pool The Spier Hotel Stellenbosch - Surroundings The Spier Hotel Stellenbosch - Facilities
Area: Stellenbosch Number of Rooms: 155

Recent customer reviews

Filter by Traveler Type

 

Excellent

8.2

based on
48 reviews

39 reviews in English

Value for Money
7.8
Location
8.5
Staff Performance
8.0
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
8.5
Room Comfort/Standard
8.3
Food/Dining
8.0
All reviews (48)
Sort by:
Margaret D. Business travelers South Africa, August 25, 2014
Experience at Spier

The location, the ambiamce, the non-hotel facilites
7.7
the stay was enjoyable, with one big disappointment - the restaurant menu for dinner. It was very limited, no vegetables with only potato wedges being added. this made it very expensive. For a hotel that prides itself on local produce it could do a lot better. Breakfasts were good.
Report this review
Michael K. Couples South Africa, June 26, 2014
Heaven at Spier!

The room, the food, the fantastic atmosphere!
9.7
What can I say other than it was a weekend of pure bliss at Spier! The room is unbelievable with King size+ bed, an incredible bath, beautiful finishes and the perfect fire place to top it all off! The restaurants (Eight and the hotel's restaurant) are all 5 star, with the most incredible selection! The breakfast buffet is particularly impressive! The staff are all fantastic, the wine is remarkable, the bird sanctuary is a must, and the whole vibe of the place puts you in paradise in the winelands! It was truly a weekend of heaven at Spier!
Report this review
Eugene K. Couples South Africa, March 16, 2014
Very good and enjoyable

Rooms food and service
7.3
Report this review
Michael W. Couples United Kingdom, February 11, 2014
Very good

The location, the staff and the room
7.7
The hotel was lovely and was in a great location to explore Stellenbosch and the Wine Farms
Report this review
Andrew H. Families with young children Canada, January 14, 2014
Awesome

Location, history, charm
10
We loved this place. The rooms are as good as the wines. We were treated like gold and I would go back in a heartbeat - we regret only booking 3 days here, could have stayed a month. Beautiful scenery around and on hotel grounds, and with childminding included, it let mommy and daddy sneak out for a spa date. 100% recommended!
Report this review
Anna R. Families with young children Sweden, January 3, 2014
Comfortable stay with small children

Big room, great breakfast and nice swimming pool
6.3
Everything was good at the Spier in regards to the room and food. I would have given it a higher rating if the wifi truly was free. You only receive a 100 MB per day, which they don't inform you of. An extra 100 MB would cost 100 ZAR (downtown you would pay for 500 MB). There was no understanding in this or willingness to help from the staff. It was also new codes to access the internet needed every day. Quite inefficient.
Report this review
Feng C. Business travelers Taiwan, June 8, 2013
cozy but can be improved

good view and nice staff
7
I paid off at Agoda when I made the reservation, but I was told to pay the accommodation when I checked out. Spier hotel staff told me that they didn't receive payment from Agoda and they had never done it because tourist always paid off when they checked out instead of pay in advance. It was very confusing and I showed Agoda's reservation sheet, unfortunately, it couldn't be a proof to them. I don't what's going on between Agoda and The Spier hotel, but I was not happy to have this experience in my last day of trip and I was also hurry for my flight to fly back to my country. Although this issue is settled when I got home, they charged me first and refund me, however just two days, I lost USD15 because of the exchange rate. My suggestion is reminding hotel that the payment has been done when you check in. Besides, hotel staff is nice but room service is slow.
Report this review
Kevin V. Couples Zambia, December 30, 2012
Great location

Lots of activities from one location
7.3
The rooms need to be updated, the shower head was tiny and the tv was not very clear
Sightseeing/Attractions Tip: Always book the wine tours well in advance to avoid being disappointed by not securing a place
Report this review
Woon S. Couples Singapore, November 30, 2012
Nice hotel

All in one
7.7
Nice hotel,we say for one night..room is a bit old but everything is fine..have dinner at hotel MOYO restaurant seating near to the big tree n is was fun.. Overall a good place to stay in stellenbosch area
Report this review
Daniel R. Couples South Africa, November 18, 2012
Bit of a disappointment!

Lovely views
5.7
The views was very nice, but we was disappointed with the rooms. It was a bit outdated and room was not the so clean (spiderwebs in bathroom). Tea and cofee was not replaced for second day. The Sunday morning just before 10 am the cleaners wants to clean the room!! The breakfast was very nice!
Shopping Tip: Stellenbosch not more than 10km away.
Report this review
Previous page 11 - 20 of 39 reviews Next page
 

Book now!

Sale ends soon!

The Spier Hotel Stellenbosch - Main Swimming PoolThe Spier Hotel Stellenbosch - Suite BedroomThe Spier Hotel Stellenbosch - Hotel AvenueThe Spier Hotel Stellenbosch - Hotel AvenueThe Spier Hotel Stellenbosch - Signature Garden Terrace FireplaceThe Spier Hotel Stellenbosch - Signature Riverside Garden Terrace RoomThe Spier Hotel Stellenbosch - Suite BedroomThe Spier Hotel Stellenbosch - Main Swimming PoolThe Spier Hotel Stellenbosch - Signature Garden Room TerraceThe Spier Hotel Stellenbosch - Hotel Wine BarThe Spier Hotel Stellenbosch - Suite BedroomThe Spier Hotel Stellenbosch - Signature Riverside RoomThe Spier Hotel Stellenbosch - Signature Riverside RoomThe Spier Hotel Stellenbosch - Signature Riverside Garden Terrace VerandaThe Spier Hotel Stellenbosch - Courtyard Swimming PoolThe Spier Hotel Stellenbosch - Internal Village SettingThe Spier Hotel Stellenbosch - Hotel AvenueThe Spier Hotel Stellenbosch - FacilitiesThe Spier Hotel Stellenbosch - Guest RoomThe Spier Hotel Stellenbosch - ExteriorThe Spier Hotel Stellenbosch - ExteriorThe Spier Hotel Stellenbosch - Guest RoomThe Spier Hotel Stellenbosch - ExteriorThe Spier Hotel Stellenbosch - ExteriorThe Spier Hotel Stellenbosch - Balcony/TerraceThe Spier Hotel Stellenbosch - Swimming PoolThe Spier Hotel Stellenbosch - SurroundingsThe Spier Hotel Stellenbosch - Facilities


Agoda.com is part of The Priceline Group, the world leader in online travel & related services.

AS-AGWEB-3A06