Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

The Spier Hotel

R310 Lynedoch road, Stellenbosch, Stellenbosch, South Africa 7599

Recent customer reviews

Filter by traveler type

 

Very good

8.0

based on 34 reviews

45 reviews in English

Value for Money
7.8
Location
8.5
Staff Performance
7.6
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
8.3
Room Comfort/Standard
8.2
Food/Dining
8.1
Couples (34)
Sort by:
Gobisha A. Couples South Africa, April 17, 2016
A bit dated
4.7
3 of us couples booked away for a friend's wedding at Hidden Valley. (Side bar: you must try Overture restaurant there). The staff were friendly but I was surprised that the rooms were not as charming as the pics suggested. Cold floors and a rough rug greeted us. Although the art on the walls suggested something modern and trendy, the rooms themselves didn't bear this out. Very dated I thought. No curtains so light streamed in from one of the wood covered windows in the mornings. We were also woken up both mornings with a knock and call of "MINI BAR" (my hubby thought they were yelling for someone called Phillipa) despite the Do Not Disturb sign on the doorknob. The staff also had walkie talkies on full blast outside so I could hear all the very loud arrangements being made for rooms to be cleaned. Not exactly relaxing. Made me grumpy. On the upside: breakfast was simply divine. Try the chilli cheese omelette. And really beautiful café with yummy lunch at Hogshead; 10 minute walk away. Would I stay there again? Probably not. Oh yes, pillows were very hard so we all got up with a sore neck. I'll try somewhere else.
Peter K. Couples United Kingdom, February 26, 2016
Spier
4
Expensive for what you get Glass of wine on arrival nice
Peter K. Couples United Kingdom, February 26, 2016
Spier
4
Expensive for what you get Glass of wine on arrival nice
Zehra A. Couples South Africa, January 17, 2016
nice place
6.7
the hotel is massive with lots to do. We did the picnic & the wine tasting. both were fantastic. The rooms are spacious, clean & comfortable. We were woken up at 1am with someone trying to get into our room but we had the latch on so they couldnt open the door. This scared us quite a bit!
Ramavilasan G. Couples South Africa, December 18, 2015
Wine Route Resort

Activities, Layout of Resort, Restaurant 8
10
Excellent all round
Tara K. Couples United Kingdom, March 2, 2015
Lovely Rooms and large estate

smaller pools for rooms, wine tasting, large rooms
8.3
We had a lovely stay at the Spier hotel. The rooms were large and comfortable with garden and pool access. We only stayed for 1 night, but could of had a few days as there is lots to do with wine tasting, Segway tours and picnics. Restaurant is nice and easy check in and check out.
Karel B. Couples Netherlands, January 6, 2015
Goodbut not 4 star

Beautiful property, Segway tour is a must, the Spier wines
6.3
Monty S. Couples South Africa, November 23, 2014
Great

Relaxed atmosphere, Location. Wonderful feel
7.3
Scenery great, very relaxed - we enjoyed it a lot.
Lizette W. Couples South Africa, October 26, 2014
Spier

private, romantic stay
8.3
We enjoyed our stay, friendly helpful staff, nice private room
Jacquelynn M. Couples Bermuda, October 8, 2014
Slightly disappaointed

Staff were very friendly, breakfast was decent, hotel cat named Jesse
7
The rooms weren't luxurious in any way, very sparse and simple. We had to walk long way outside from the room to main part of hotel. Many of the facilities seemed closed (no craft market, restaurant closed certain days and Moyo restaurant closed for good). Location was decent but saw many other vineyard hotels which looked just as nice- not sure it was best value for money.
1 - 10 of 54 reviews Next page
The Spier Hotel Stellenbosch - Main Swimming PoolThe Spier Hotel Stellenbosch - Suite BedroomThe Spier Hotel Stellenbosch - Hotel AvenueThe Spier Hotel Stellenbosch - Hotel AvenueThe Spier Hotel Stellenbosch - Signature Garden Terrace FireplaceThe Spier Hotel Stellenbosch - Signature Riverside Garden Terrace RoomThe Spier Hotel Stellenbosch - Suite BedroomThe Spier Hotel Stellenbosch - Main Swimming PoolThe Spier Hotel Stellenbosch - Signature Garden Room TerraceThe Spier Hotel Stellenbosch - Hotel Wine BarThe Spier Hotel Stellenbosch - Suite BedroomThe Spier Hotel Stellenbosch - Signature Riverside RoomThe Spier Hotel Stellenbosch - Signature Riverside RoomThe Spier Hotel Stellenbosch - Signature Riverside Garden Terrace VerandaThe Spier Hotel Stellenbosch - Courtyard Swimming PoolThe Spier Hotel Stellenbosch - Internal Village SettingThe Spier Hotel Stellenbosch - Hotel AvenueThe Spier Hotel Stellenbosch - FacilitiesThe Spier Hotel Stellenbosch - Guest RoomThe Spier Hotel Stellenbosch - ExteriorThe Spier Hotel Stellenbosch - ExteriorThe Spier Hotel Stellenbosch - Guest RoomThe Spier Hotel Stellenbosch - ExteriorThe Spier Hotel Stellenbosch - ExteriorThe Spier Hotel Stellenbosch - Balcony/TerraceThe Spier Hotel Stellenbosch - Swimming PoolThe Spier Hotel Stellenbosch - SurroundingsThe Spier Hotel Stellenbosch - Facilities


Agoda is part of The Priceline Group, the world leader in online travel & related services.

AS-AGWEB-3C08