or

Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

The Spier Hotel

R310 Lynedoch road, Stellenbosch, Stellenbosch, South Africa 7599 (Show on map)

Book now!

Formerly : Village At Spier Hotel
The Spier Hotel Stellenbosch - Avenue Walk The Spier Hotel Stellenbosch - Garden The Spier Hotel Stellenbosch - Swimming Pool Area The Spier Hotel Stellenbosch - Garden The Spier Hotel Stellenbosch - Swimming Pool The Spier Hotel Stellenbosch - Garden and Pathway The Spier Hotel Stellenbosch - Hotel Interior The Spier Hotel Stellenbosch - Hotel Interior The Spier Hotel Stellenbosch - Hotel Interior The Spier Hotel Stellenbosch - Hotel Interior The Spier Hotel Stellenbosch - Suite Room The Spier Hotel Stellenbosch - Suite Room The Spier Hotel Stellenbosch - Suite Room The Spier Hotel Stellenbosch - Signature Room Fireplace The Spier Hotel Stellenbosch - The Spier Hotel Aerial View The Spier Hotel Stellenbosch - Suite Bedroom
The Spier Hotel Stellenbosch - Terrace and Garden Area The Spier Hotel Stellenbosch - Hotel Avenue The Spier Hotel Stellenbosch - Hotel Avenue The Spier Hotel Stellenbosch - Signature Garden Terrace Fireplace The Spier Hotel Stellenbosch - The Spier Exterior The Spier Hotel Stellenbosch - Signature Riverside Garden Terrace Room The Spier Hotel Stellenbosch - Suite Lounge The Spier Hotel Stellenbosch - Suite Lounge The Spier Hotel Stellenbosch - Suite Bedroom The Spier Hotel Stellenbosch - Garden Path The Spier Hotel Stellenbosch - Main Swimming Pool The Spier Hotel Stellenbosch - Avenue Bench
Area: Stellenbosch Number of Rooms: 155

Recent customer reviews

Filter by Traveler Type

 

Fantastic

8.1

based on
33 reviews

Value for Money
7.8
Location
8.5
Staff Performance
7.8
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
8.5
Room Comfort/Standard
8.3
Food/Dining
7.9
All reviews (33)
Sort by:
Margaret D. Business travelers South Africa, August 25, 2014
Experience at Spier

The location, the ambiamce, the non-hotel facilites
7.7
the stay was enjoyable, with one big disappointment - the restaurant menu for dinner. It was very limited, no vegetables with only potato wedges being added. this made it very expensive. For a hotel that prides itself on local produce it could do a lot better. Breakfasts were good.
Eugene K. Couples South Africa, March 16, 2014
Very good and enjoyable

Rooms food and service
7.3
Michael W. Couples United Kingdom, February 11, 2014
Very good

The location, the staff and the room
7.7
The hotel was lovely and was in a great location to explore Stellenbosch and the Wine Farms
Andrew H. Families with young children Canada, January 14, 2014
Awesome

Location, history, charm
10
We loved this place. The rooms are as good as the wines. We were treated like gold and I would go back in a heartbeat - we regret only booking 3 days here, could have stayed a month. Beautiful scenery around and on hotel grounds, and with childminding included, it let mommy and daddy sneak out for a spa date. 100% recommended!
Anna R. Families with young children Sweden, January 3, 2014
Comfortable stay with small children

Big room, great breakfast and nice swimming pool
6.3
Everything was good at the Spier in regards to the room and food. I would have given it a higher rating if the wifi truly was free. You only receive a 100 MB per day, which they don't inform you of. An extra 100 MB would cost 100 ZAR (downtown you would pay for 500 MB). There was no understanding in this or willingness to help from the staff. It was also new codes to access the internet needed every day. Quite inefficient.
Feng C. Business travelers Taiwan, June 8, 2013
cozy but can be improved

good view and nice staff
7
I paid off at Agoda when I made the reservation, but I was told to pay the accommodation when I checked out. Spier hotel staff told me that they didn't receive payment from Agoda and they had never done it because tourist always paid off when they checked out instead of pay in advance. It was very confusing and I showed Agoda's reservation sheet, unfortunately, it couldn't be a proof to them. I don't what's going on between Agoda and The Spier hotel, but I was not happy to have this experience in my last day of trip and I was also hurry for my flight to fly back to my country. Although this issue is settled when I got home, they charged me first and refund me, however just two days, I lost USD15 because of the exchange rate. My suggestion is reminding hotel that the payment has been done when you check in. Besides, hotel staff is nice but room service is slow.
Kevin V. Couples Zambia, December 30, 2012
Great location

Lots of activities from one location
7.3
The rooms need to be updated, the shower head was tiny and the tv was not very clear
Sightseeing/Attractions Tip: Always book the wine tours well in advance to avoid being disappointed by not securing a place
Woon S. Couples Singapore, November 30, 2012
Nice hotel

All in one
7.7
Nice hotel,we say for one night..room is a bit old but everything is fine..have dinner at hotel MOYO restaurant seating near to the big tree n is was fun.. Overall a good place to stay in stellenbosch area
Daniel R. Couples South Africa, November 18, 2012
Bit of a disappointment!

Lovely views
5.7
The views was very nice, but we was disappointed with the rooms. It was a bit outdated and room was not the so clean (spiderwebs in bathroom). Tea and cofee was not replaced for second day. The Sunday morning just before 10 am the cleaners wants to clean the room!! The breakfast was very nice!
Shopping Tip: Stellenbosch not more than 10km away.
Johan H. Couples South Africa, November 4, 2012
Awesome place, very nice staff and facilities

Private Resort style accomodaion
7.7
We had a wonderful stay and enjoyed the onsite wine tasting, different restaurants and the beautiful gardens. The service was efficient and always with a smile. I would definitely recommend it for a weekend getaway. Only down side is that the room we stayed in needs some TLC and fresh coat of paint.

Book now!

Sale ends soon!

The Spier Hotel Stellenbosch - Main Swimming PoolThe Spier Hotel Stellenbosch - Avenue WalkThe Spier Hotel Stellenbosch - GardenThe Spier Hotel Stellenbosch - Swimming Pool AreaThe Spier Hotel Stellenbosch - GardenThe Spier Hotel Stellenbosch - Swimming PoolThe Spier Hotel Stellenbosch - Garden and PathwayThe Spier Hotel Stellenbosch - Hotel InteriorThe Spier Hotel Stellenbosch - Hotel InteriorThe Spier Hotel Stellenbosch - Hotel InteriorThe Spier Hotel Stellenbosch - Hotel InteriorThe Spier Hotel Stellenbosch - Suite RoomThe Spier Hotel Stellenbosch - Suite RoomThe Spier Hotel Stellenbosch - Suite RoomThe Spier Hotel Stellenbosch - Signature Room FireplaceThe Spier Hotel Stellenbosch - The Spier Hotel Aerial ViewThe Spier Hotel Stellenbosch - Suite BedroomThe Spier Hotel Stellenbosch - Terrace and Garden AreaThe Spier Hotel Stellenbosch - Hotel AvenueThe Spier Hotel Stellenbosch - Hotel AvenueThe Spier Hotel Stellenbosch - Signature Garden Terrace FireplaceThe Spier Hotel Stellenbosch - The Spier ExteriorThe Spier Hotel Stellenbosch - Signature Riverside Garden Terrace RoomThe Spier Hotel Stellenbosch - Suite LoungeThe Spier Hotel Stellenbosch - Suite LoungeThe Spier Hotel Stellenbosch - Suite BedroomThe Spier Hotel Stellenbosch - Garden PathThe Spier Hotel Stellenbosch - Main Swimming PoolThe Spier Hotel Stellenbosch - Avenue BenchThe Spier Hotel Stellenbosch - Signature Garden Room TerraceThe Spier Hotel Stellenbosch - Hotel Wine BarThe Spier Hotel Stellenbosch - Suite BedroomThe Spier Hotel Stellenbosch - Suite TerraceThe Spier Hotel Stellenbosch - Signature Riverside RoomThe Spier Hotel Stellenbosch - Signature Riverside RoomThe Spier Hotel Stellenbosch - Courtyard Swimming PoolThe Spier Hotel Stellenbosch - Signature Riverside Garden Terrace VerandaThe Spier Hotel Stellenbosch - Signature Garden Terrace RoomThe Spier Hotel Stellenbosch - The Spier Hotel at DuskThe Spier Hotel Stellenbosch - Suite Sitting AreaThe Spier Hotel Stellenbosch - Suite BedroomThe Spier Hotel Stellenbosch - Signature Riverside Garden Terrace RoomThe Spier Hotel Stellenbosch - Hotel RestaurantThe Spier Hotel Stellenbosch - Suite Day BedThe Spier Hotel Stellenbosch - Courtyard Swimming PoolThe Spier Hotel Stellenbosch - Lounge AreaThe Spier Hotel Stellenbosch - Suite GardenThe Spier Hotel Stellenbosch - Internal Village SettingThe Spier Hotel Stellenbosch - Hotel AvenueThe Spier Hotel Stellenbosch - Lounge Area


AS-AGWEB-3B03