My Account (sign in)

Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

The Strand Hotel

92 Strand Road, Downtown Yangon, Yangon, Myanmar (Show on map)

Book now!

The Strand Hotel Yangon - Lobby The Strand Hotel Yangon - Bathroom The Strand Hotel Yangon - The Strand Hall The Strand Hotel Yangon - Spa Suite The Strand Hotel Yangon - Meeting Room The Strand Hotel Yangon - Spa Suite The Strand Hotel Yangon - Lobby The Strand Hotel Yangon - The Strand Cafe The Strand Hotel Yangon - The Strand Grill The Strand Hotel Yangon - The Strand Bar The Strand Hotel Yangon - Hotel Interior The Strand Hotel Yangon - Superior Suite The Strand Hotel Yangon - Deluxe Suite The Strand Hotel Yangon - The Strand Suite The Strand Hotel Yangon - Superior Suite The Strand Hotel Yangon - Sun Room (The Strand Suite)
The Strand Hotel Yangon - Dining Room(The Strand Suite) The Strand Hotel Yangon - The Strand Suite The Strand Hotel Yangon - The Strand Grill The Strand Hotel Yangon - Spa Suite The Strand Hotel Yangon - Lobby The Strand Hotel Yangon - Hotel Interior The Strand Hotel Yangon - Bathroom The Strand Hotel Yangon - Hotel Interior The Strand Hotel Yangon - Spa Suite The Strand Hotel Yangon - The Strand Hall The Strand Hotel Yangon - Superior Suite The Strand Hotel Yangon - Deluxe Suite
Hotel Area: Downtown Yangon Number of Rooms: 31
Free Wi-Fi

Recent customer reviews

Filter by Traveler Type

 

Fantastic

8.7

based on
133 reviews

Value for Money
7.8
Location
8.3
Staff Performance
9.2
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
9.2
Room Comfort/Standard
9.3
Food/Dining
8.5
All reviews (133)
Sort by:
Janet B. Couples United Kingdom, April 7, 2014
Wonderful historic hotel

size of rooms, butler service, restaurant
9
Raymond L. Couples United Kingdom, April 2, 2014
great experience

service,history,the property
10
wonderful
Donall B. Couples United States of America, March 6, 2014
a historic gem that's earned back 5-star status

1) historic charm, 2) attentive service, 3) super-central yangon location
9.3
a stunningly restored taste of colonial rangoon, the strand offers old world charm *and* world-class service. we had read complaints that the operation did not live up to the potential and history of the property, that rooms were tired, that staff were so-so, etc. we found none of this to be true: the strand is surely on the list of the top historic luxury hotels in the world. our room was nearly the size of our new york city apartment, with high ceilings, dark-wood floors and a huge bathroom that retains some historic fixtures but has clearly been recently renovated. contrary to what we read in lonely planet, there were both a flat-screen television and fast internet access in the room. we were staying on the third floor on the west side of the building, which meant the room was flooded with light in the late afternoon/early evening, as the sun descended. we spent lovely interludes in the room during this time, a wonderful respite from the wonderful chaos of central yangon just outside. another tip: we adored the traditional myanmar dishes during the generous breakfast service, the only time during our trip such dishes were on the menu. others here have complained about the strand's location, that it's in the hurly-burly of city and directly adjacent to traffic and crowds. that's the biggest reason we loved it here! there are leafy districts of yangon and luxury hotels aplenty there, but none where you can walk out of historic opulence and into the busy, teeming, wonderfully alive streets of this fantastic city. and yes, the hotel is expensive, but so are most other hotels in the country (for now, with such a limited supply of them). we felt we got more than our money's worth for the premium we paid here (as opposed to 2- or 3-star hotels charging 4- or 5-star prices in bagan, for example). we could not have enjoyed our two-night stay at the strand more! i look forward to seeing it appear on more world's-best lists as visitors continue to flock to myanmar.
Chun W. Solo travelers United Kingdom, February 26, 2014
Not return anymore

Internet excellent only.
4.7
1. I don't like the breakfast provide A la cart services instead buffet style. 2. Room was dark. 3. So amazing not provide any coffee and tea in room also, no water boiler amenities. I asked the butler above the services and they said with charges !!!! What ? 4. The wood on floor many area was damaged. 5. No bathroom amenities provide but, they can offer to u if call. 6. The restaurant (breakfast) was too hot. 7. Around the hotel was noisy form the motor bike at early morning. 8. Cubic shower area was too small (of coz only for one person only). 9. The shower towel was too big with heavy after used. 10. The bedding size too small As I mentioned this hotel only one thing was excellent - Internet. No more return and "not" suggest u stay for waste money.
Gini T. Couples United Kingdom, February 4, 2014
very comfortable

position, luxury,tradition
8.3
very good, loved it. I had been there in 1982 but could only afford to have lunch , as was impoverished teacher, which cost the equivalent of £2 so I was very keen to go back and see the change. In 1982 it was shabby and tired, but it now very smart but has not lost all its character unlike some places I have seen.
Marika H. Couples Sweden, December 7, 2013
Relaxing surrounded by history

Fast internet, beautiful environment, lots of athmosphere
9.7
Very much enjoyed our days at The Strand. Newly renovated, but the feeling of the old colonial days are still there. And they had the fastest internet we came across during our two weeks in Myanmar.
Ludwig V. Couples Switzerland, November 29, 2013
Short stay in a calm oasis

Old charm, history, spacious rooms
9
Pleasant, nice place to wind down after a busy sight seeing day
Rhea D. Couples United Kingdom, October 16, 2013
Old world colonial charm

Hotel character, service, room
9
Had an amazing stay, like stepping back in time.
Andrew J. Solo travelers United Kingdom, September 22, 2013
Impressive colonial era luxury hotel

elegant room, friendly staff, historical interest
9
The Strand exceeded my high expectations and was well worth the cost. The hotel has an air of understated luxury and is an oasis of calm in downtown Yangon. The staff look after you well and respond quickly, positively and helpfully. The rooms are large and well equipped.
Pei C. Couples Singapore, September 22, 2013
Excellent stay!

Heritage luxury, Welcoming staff
10
The Strand is very well located and close to restaurants and shops etc. We took a suite for our honeymoon and was pleasantly surprised by all the nice touches (sparkling wine, candlelight bath, etc) provided by the staff! The staff also had very good (English) language skills and were at hand immediately whenever assistance was required (the electricity went off in our room, and was fixed promptly). The hotel itself exuded a sense of heritage luxury, without being pompous. The bed was the most comfortable one we had experienced and the bathroom had a dressing table as well which was nice. We had dinner at the Strand Cafe and the food was great. However, we did find the service in the Cafe a little slow... we had to order breakfast from a menu (we had expected a buffet), and waited at least 25min for it to be served. Overall, we would still recommend this hotel!

Book now!

Sale ends soon!

The Strand Hotel YangonThe Strand Hotel Yangon - LobbyThe Strand Hotel Yangon - BathroomThe Strand Hotel Yangon - The Strand HallThe Strand Hotel Yangon - Spa SuiteThe Strand Hotel Yangon - Meeting RoomThe Strand Hotel Yangon - Spa SuiteThe Strand Hotel Yangon - LobbyThe Strand Hotel Yangon - The Strand CafeThe Strand Hotel Yangon - The Strand GrillThe Strand Hotel Yangon - The Strand BarThe Strand Hotel Yangon - Hotel InteriorThe Strand Hotel Yangon - Superior SuiteThe Strand Hotel Yangon - Deluxe SuiteThe Strand Hotel Yangon - The Strand SuiteThe Strand Hotel Yangon - Superior SuiteThe Strand Hotel Yangon - Sun Room (The Strand Suite)The Strand Hotel Yangon - Dining Room(The Strand Suite)The Strand Hotel Yangon - The Strand SuiteThe Strand Hotel Yangon - The Strand GrillThe Strand Hotel Yangon - Spa SuiteThe Strand Hotel Yangon - LobbyThe Strand Hotel Yangon - Hotel InteriorThe Strand Hotel Yangon - BathroomThe Strand Hotel Yangon - Hotel InteriorThe Strand Hotel Yangon - Spa SuiteThe Strand Hotel Yangon - The Strand HallThe Strand Hotel Yangon - Superior SuiteThe Strand Hotel Yangon - Deluxe SuiteThe Strand Hotel Yangon - The Strand BarThe Strand Hotel Yangon - Meeting RoomThe Strand Hotel Yangon - Spa SuiteThe Strand Hotel Yangon - Deluxe Suite


AS-AGWEB-3B02