Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

The Strand Hotel

92 Strand Road, Downtown Yangon, Yangon, Myanmar 11181 (Show on map)

Book now!

Formerly : The Strand Hotel by Hotel G
The Strand Hotel Yangon - Lobby The Strand Hotel Yangon - Lobby The Strand Hotel Yangon - Interior The Strand Hotel Yangon - Deluxe Suite The Strand Hotel Yangon - Deluxe Suite The Strand Hotel Yangon - Superior Suite The Strand Hotel Yangon - Suite Room The Strand Hotel Yangon - Bathroom The Strand Hotel Yangon - The Strand Suite The Strand Hotel Yangon - The Strand Suite The Strand Hotel Yangon - The Strand Suite The Strand Hotel Yangon - The Strand Suite The Strand Hotel Yangon - The Strand Suite The Strand Hotel Yangon - The Strand Bar The Strand Hotel Yangon - The Strand Grill The Strand Hotel Yangon - The Strand Grill
The Strand Hotel Yangon - The Strand Cafe The Strand Hotel Yangon - Spa The Strand Hotel Yangon - Spa The Strand Hotel Yangon - Spa Suite The Strand Hotel Yangon - Spa The Strand Hotel Yangon - The Strand Hall The Strand Hotel Yangon - Ballroom The Strand Hotel Yangon - Ballroom The Strand Hotel Yangon - Shops The Strand Hotel Yangon - Discover The Strands famous Afternoon Tea as part of your Tailor-Made holiday in Myanmar. The Strand Hotel Yangon - Food and Beverages The Strand Hotel Yangon - Food and Beverages
Area: Downtown Yangon Number of Rooms: 31
Free Wi-Fi

Recent customer reviews

Filter by Traveler Type

 

Fantastic

8.6

from 41 reviews

Value for Money
7.8
Location
8.1
Staff Performance
9.3
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
9.1
Room Comfort/Standard
9.1
Food/Dining
8.2
Solo travelers (41)
Sort by:
Sam D. Solo travelers United Kingdom, June 7, 2015
.

Mohinga noodles, staff, history.
7.7
Report this review
Tze K. Solo travelers Hong Kong, June 4, 2015
Sweet home in Yangon

Food, Air-con, Location
9.7
Everything's fine except the refillable bottle for bath jel, shampoo and conditioner, I will not like to use what I can't see it through.
Report this review
Peter B. Solo travelers United Kingdom, April 26, 2015
An escape from the heat

the strand bar is the social point of the hotel, a great place to chat to others who are either casually having a cold one or two, or as the evening progresses other residents staying for the night.
9.3
i loved the Strand. i always have, the first time i visited was as a walk in visitor over christmas / new year 1994. It was always my intention if ever i visited to stay there. i finally managed this about 20 years after my initial visit and i was not dissapointed. The hotel as a timeless feel the staff carry out their role to perfection. On a return visit to Yangon i tried another place, it wasn't long before i was back in a taxi and heading back their for cocktails. It is quite simply the only place that matters in Yangon..
Report this review
Rowena E. Solo travelers United Kingdom, March 19, 2015
Yangon - The Strand

sympathetically restored
5.7
Honestly, its like staying in a morgue. The main restaurant was empty which is understandable since the food is grossly overpriced for what it is. The bar has all the atmosphere of an airport lounge. Staff were polite but kept trying to put me down as 2 persons despite I was clearly checked in and reserved as one person. The lack of any form of courtyard or pool area to relax outdoors with a wine or tea is a big problem and frankly would be why I would not recommend this hotel.
Report this review
Donald D. Solo travelers Australia, March 15, 2015
MORE THAN GOOD BUT NOT A GREAT HOTEL

LOCATION, HISTORY, SPACE
9.3
This was a tick on the bucket list. I have stayed at all the other Sarkies Brothers hotels - Peninsular, E&O, Raffles, Oriental, and now the Strand. I was not disappointed with the ambiance, the history or the rooms....mine was so huge I got lost. Wonderful service, staff were great, all the makings of a grand hotel in the old style. EXCEPT....the elevator was not working the two days I was there and although I could manage it, older people would have found it very difficult to climb the stairs to their rooms. But a nice bottle of quality French wine soothed my ruffled feathers!!!!
Report this review
Elizabeth E. Solo travelers United Kingdom, November 18, 2014
Yangon in Style

I love the colonial grandeur, something of days gone by, with a sense of the history of that period in Yangon. Very comfortable. A good place to relax.
9.7
I stayed only one night but wished I had longer (partly because there was more that I wanted to see in Yangon). This hotel is expensive but it is value for money. The room was very spacious, beautifully decorated with antique furniture. It gives a real sense of the colonial history of the place. Great spa - I had an Asian Foot Massage (better than I have had in Singapore). Good Myanmar food both for dinner and breakfast. Close to the Chinese area and also the wharf where a lot of the produce comes in, so still close to the action and places of interest. I was there on the second full moon night and Chinatown was full of good street food and monk led mediation. Its a good time to be in Yangon.
Report this review
Lawrence L. Solo travelers United States of America, September 29, 2014
Two nights at the Strand

Service, the charm of a restored building, quiet at night.
9.3
The service was excellent, the best that I have ever had at a hotel. My room was large and very comfortable. The bathroom was large also, with a separate shower and bathtub. The area is quiet at night. The only reason that I did not rate the hotel as all fives is because I did not eat dinner in the restaurant. The complimentary breakfast was excellent, though. I would be delighted to stay at the Strand again and recommend it to others.
Report this review
Aishath D. Solo travelers Maldives, September 22, 2014
Travel back in time.

Hotel itself, staff & ambience.
9
The Strand Hotel reflects an era gone but not forgotten. It is like travelling back in time to period when the most minute details mattered and time moved at a slower pace. The staff are top -notch friendly and efficient in a manner that is not obstructive. The location is excellent. Lots to see within walking distance and not far from other major sites. Art lovers will also find many treasures hanging on the wall of the gallery found in the Strand itself.
Report this review
Wong H. Solo travelers Hong Kong, August 6, 2014
Good luxury hotel

Service, Breakfast, Atmosphere
9
A luxury hotel with colonial atmosphere. Very attentive service by the butlers and front desk staffs. Breakfast was great, can choose whatever you like in the menu, and freshly made.
Report this review
Viktoriya K. Solo travelers Italy, June 25, 2014
Fantastic!

Once you are in Yangon , you should stay at this colonial style hotel , for feeling the atmosphere of the country! It's worth it!
9.7
If you want to be in a calm place with a high quality service, big comfort rooms , The Strand is for you! Very Attentive personal!!! Thanks to Lily who was so professional and helped me with problems with visa before my arrival! If not her help , I wouldn't come over!!!
Report this review

Book now!

Sale ends soon!

The Strand Hotel Yangon - Hotel Main PhotoThe Strand Hotel Yangon - LobbyThe Strand Hotel Yangon - LobbyThe Strand Hotel Yangon - InteriorThe Strand Hotel Yangon - Deluxe SuiteThe Strand Hotel Yangon - Deluxe SuiteThe Strand Hotel Yangon - Superior SuiteThe Strand Hotel Yangon - Suite RoomThe Strand Hotel Yangon - BathroomThe Strand Hotel Yangon - The Strand SuiteThe Strand Hotel Yangon - The Strand SuiteThe Strand Hotel Yangon - The Strand SuiteThe Strand Hotel Yangon - The Strand SuiteThe Strand Hotel Yangon - The Strand SuiteThe Strand Hotel Yangon - The Strand BarThe Strand Hotel Yangon - The Strand GrillThe Strand Hotel Yangon - The Strand GrillThe Strand Hotel Yangon - The Strand CafeThe Strand Hotel Yangon - SpaThe Strand Hotel Yangon - SpaThe Strand Hotel Yangon - Spa SuiteThe Strand Hotel Yangon - SpaThe Strand Hotel Yangon - The Strand HallThe Strand Hotel Yangon - BallroomThe Strand Hotel Yangon - BallroomThe Strand Hotel Yangon - ShopsThe Strand Hotel Yangon - Discover The Strands famous Afternoon Tea as part of your Tailor-Made holiday in Myanmar.The Strand Hotel Yangon - Food and BeveragesThe Strand Hotel Yangon - Food and BeveragesThe Strand Hotel Yangon - Food and BeveragesThe Strand Hotel Yangon - Food and BeveragesThe Strand Hotel Yangon - Food and BeveragesThe Strand Hotel Yangon - Food and BeveragesThe Strand Hotel Yangon - Food and BeveragesThe Strand Hotel Yangon - Food and BeveragesThe Strand Hotel Yangon - Food and BeveragesThe Strand Hotel Yangon - Food and BeveragesThe Strand Hotel Yangon - Suite BathroomThe Strand Hotel Yangon - Executive SuiteThe Strand Hotel Yangon - Sitting AreaThe Strand Hotel Yangon - Sitting AreaThe Strand Hotel Yangon - Spa


Agoda.com is part of The Priceline Group, the world leader in online travel & related services.

AS-AGWEB-3B03