Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

The Strand Hotel

92 Strand Road, Downtown Yangon, Yangon, Myanmar 11181

Recent customer reviews

Filter by Traveler Type

 

Excellent

8.7

based on
207 reviews

150 reviews in English

Value for Money
7.9
Location
8.3
Staff Performance
9.2
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
9.0
Room Comfort/Standard
9.2
Food/Dining
8.4
All reviews (207)
Sort by:
Dongik L. Families with young children South Korea, December 28, 2015
fantastic but ...

staff ambience location
8.3
Staff attitude and ambience were really nice But building itself is old and isnt well maintained Outside window was broken and wasnt closesd which are never supposed in the 5 star hotel such as hilten sheraton etc
Report this review
Thitinut P. Couples Thailand, November 21, 2015
Back to the good old day.

Staffs, location and services.
9
The stuffs will made everything happens. Friendly and helpful. Log yourselves out of the craziesness from the Yangon town. Don't take me wrong, I liked the craziesness that this town have to offer and for sure will be back and stay as this hotel again.
Report this review
Elise K. Families with young children Netherlands, October 18, 2015
Colonial Grandeur

Giant rooms, comfy beds, lovely tea served in room and the butler service
9.7
The Strand is a haven of tranquility and colonial grandeur in the busy city of Yangon. All staff were super friendly. And the French GM even came over for a chat. We were a bit surprised that the hotel does not have a pool.
Report this review
Florian H. Solo travelers Germany, September 7, 2015
Wonderful hotel

the breakfast was outstanding, staff very friendly and room comfortable
10
brilliant experience. Couldn't ask for more.
Report this review
Brian H. Couples United Kingdom, September 6, 2015
Colonial luxury

Location, breakfast, history
9.7
We had a quick overnight stop in Yangon before continuing to Inle Lake and stayed at The Strand because of its central location. The hotel is a well-preserved, historical place with very large and comfortable rooms. When we woke up in the morning we had a delicious breakfast then went for a walk to Sule Pagoda and around the colonial center of the city before heading back to the airport for our next flight. It was perfect for that stop and would be a great place to stay for a longer time in Yangon too.
Report this review
Chee H. Couples Singapore, August 12, 2015
The best in Yangon

Luxury, best service and huge huge room
9.3
The best service that I ever encountered, all the staff still remembered me when I returned from Bagan. Strand has extremely luxury and huge room, really super super beautiful and comfy. The breakfast is ala carte order with a wide spread but the local items are better than western. The hotel location is really good too. Highly recommended.
Report this review
Chee H. Couples Singapore, August 8, 2015
Beautiful, historical and luxurious

Service, service, service
8.7
Coffee and tea were served to your room. 24 hours bulter serving you. I returned after a short detour to Bagan and the staff still remembered me. A personalized note was signed by the general manager. The room was decorated nicely for a special occasion. The breakfast was good (the local dishes were better than western). The room was large and luxury. But the TV is too far so larger TV is needed. I really love the receptionist and its exchange rate was good. Can change money with safely. Location is good. Near many attractions and jetty.
Report this review
David M. Couples United Kingdom, August 5, 2015
Hotel stay

everything
10
10/10
Report this review
Ari K. Couples United States of America, July 4, 2015
Lives up to the hype

Service, comfort, thoughtfulness
9.3
One of the best hotels I've stayed in. Very gracious, understated service. All the amenities are thought through and add to your comfort. The only problem was the smoke from the bar that permeated the air throughout the hotel - wish they could do something about that. Otherwise, this is a wonderful, friendly place to stay.
Report this review
Juan L. Couples Mexico, July 1, 2015
STRANDed in Yagon

The staff, the room and the hotel itself
10
As a baby boomer couple who had to spend 5 additional days in Yangon, the Strand Hotel was our oasis during those days. We enjoyed every minute of our stay at the hotel starting with the daily breakfasts which were so abundant and the personal attention provided by the hotel staff and having our own personal butler. It was a great stay and I would not hesitate staying here again or recommending it to family and friends.
Report this review
1 - 10 of 150 reviews Next page
The Strand Hotel Yangon - Hotel Main PhotoThe Strand Hotel Yangon - LobbyThe Strand Hotel Yangon - LobbyThe Strand Hotel Yangon - InteriorThe Strand Hotel Yangon - Deluxe SuiteThe Strand Hotel Yangon - Superior SuiteThe Strand Hotel Yangon - Deluxe SuiteThe Strand Hotel Yangon - Suite RoomThe Strand Hotel Yangon - BathroomThe Strand Hotel Yangon - The Strand SuiteThe Strand Hotel Yangon - The Strand SuiteThe Strand Hotel Yangon - The Strand SuiteThe Strand Hotel Yangon - The Strand SuiteThe Strand Hotel Yangon - The Strand SuiteThe Strand Hotel Yangon - The Strand BarThe Strand Hotel Yangon - The Strand GrillThe Strand Hotel Yangon - The Strand GrillThe Strand Hotel Yangon - The Strand CafeThe Strand Hotel Yangon - SpaThe Strand Hotel Yangon - SpaThe Strand Hotel Yangon - Spa SuiteThe Strand Hotel Yangon - SpaThe Strand Hotel Yangon - The Strand HallThe Strand Hotel Yangon - BallroomThe Strand Hotel Yangon - BallroomThe Strand Hotel Yangon - ShopsThe Strand Hotel Yangon - Discover The Strands famous Afternoon Tea as part of your Tailor-Made holiday in Myanmar.The Strand Hotel Yangon - Food and BeveragesThe Strand Hotel Yangon - Food and BeveragesThe Strand Hotel Yangon - Food and BeveragesThe Strand Hotel Yangon - Food and BeveragesThe Strand Hotel Yangon - Food and BeveragesThe Strand Hotel Yangon - Food and BeveragesThe Strand Hotel Yangon - Food and BeveragesThe Strand Hotel Yangon - Suite BathroomThe Strand Hotel Yangon - Executive SuiteThe Strand Hotel Yangon - Sitting AreaThe Strand Hotel Yangon - Sitting AreaThe Strand Hotel Yangon - SpaThe Strand Hotel Yangon - Superior Suite


Agoda.com is part of The Priceline Group, the world leader in online travel & related services.

AS-AGWEB-3C05